Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Careyclan 2 reviews from this member

 We were very lucky to have found this lovely campsite with a super friendly owner and beautiful surroundings.

The toilets were always very clean and the showers were nice and hot with plenty of water. Just a tip, use the 50p ones because the water runs out very quickly on the 1 ones.

The only set back was the fact that we had to drive for about 15 min to get the basics like bread and milk because there is no shop on site, apart from that we loved the site and will be back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheMightyFloss 3 reviews from this member

 Really nice location with views over open fields.

We were there when there was a VW camper rally in the nearby (and well worth a visit) village of Lavenham and despite being pretty much full up the site was fine and facilities generally seemed to cope. The only criticism would be that there were limited washing up facilities - there's a huge room but only two sinks!

The owner was really helpful and made us really welcome.

There was no official children's play area but the layout of the site meant they could play safely and without interfering with others' enjoyment.

Although we didn't try the local hostelries the site owner was able to provide us with directions and a menu for what is said to be a good local pub.

There is a farm walk and plenty of other paths to the nearby village and pubs.

A lovely campsite that I'd be happy to re-visit and to recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wardies 1 review from this member

 Lovely, lovely site. Nice flat spacious pitches surrounded by mature and newly planted trees with views across open fields. Lots of room for the children to run around and play and still not get in anyone's way.
Grass kept nice and short. Despite small number of loos, no queues and we were there when the site was full. Showers a bit dated, but good & warm. We were part of a group of 13 adults and 10 children (age between 8 and 11) and everyone had a fab time. Will be back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gill102 1 review from this member

 What a great site for a secluded short stay ( or Longer if you like peace and Quiet)

This was our first time out with a motor home and a first at setting up an awning so wanted some where that we wouldn't look silly as we treid This site was perfect as it has lots of little hide aways and is set in loverly surrondings

The site is clean and well maintained and seems to be family run and very soon you feel part of it Toilet facilities are good and very clean as are the showers the grounds are well maintained and there are some excelent walks, I have a mobility problem but the walks were flat and kept mown so walking was easy

The site is Dog welcome and very few restrictions provided you consider other dog owners and the non dog owners and of course Clean up after your pet ( bins provided)

The only small problem we had was that the shop mentioned on the site is in fact closed so the nearest shop is possibly in Bury but on the plus side there is an excelent pub withing strolling distance that serves meals from 12 to 2 pm it is situated up by the church which can be seen from the site and it is called The Swan

Nice place for a lunchtime stroll with the dog which is welcom in the garden at the rear good food nice land lord and well worth the walk

I would recomend this site for it's friendly atmophere and peaceful surroundings

We will most certainly be Back 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fuffy 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend (bargain at 10 per night) and the site was full - but there was a nice bit of space in between units. The toilets and showers were always clean. No play area but the kids were more than happy just running about and soon made some friends.
Lots of dogs on site - and plenty of surrounding fields to walk them in - dogs did not bother us but this is not the place if you don't like dogs! Very peaceful site, and very rural - lovely views over the farmland. Friendly and helpful owners.
Only downside that we found was there is no shop nearby - so nearest place we found to buy basic supplies was over 5 miles drive away - which is a long way for a pint of milk for my breakfast. That is okay if you are organised and prepared for it. Another point to note is that it was very windy when we went - but noticeably more sheltered in the 'garden' part of the campsite which is surrounded by high trees. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wellinever 1 review from this member

 We have just had the most lovely weekend at Brighthouse farm. The site is beautiful and well kempt, owner friendly and helpful, toilets clean, men's a little small I heard but nothing drastic.

I loved that you could set up pitch where ever you wanted, and leave when you were ready on Monday, we weren't hurried off, but encouraged to take our time and enjoy the sunshine. Not having cars on the field was lovely, you didn't have to worry about children kicking balls and damaging other peoples cars, they could also run around quite freely, I hope other campsites do the same, it made a real difference.

The 50p showers were a bit old and grubby, but serviceable, they could of been improved by having a mop and bucket in them so people could clear up after themselves.

The owner was really helpful and had great advice and local knowledge, we told him what we fancied doing and he had great suggestions for bike rides and places to eat.

There was quite a noisy group on the field (you know who you are) they weren't outrageous but did have voices that carried, to the the early hours. How they managed to be up so early the following morning I'll never know. (stomachs of steel!)

I hope to be back at this campsite very soon for another wonderful weekend. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carpenter18 5 reviews from this member

 We booked for Saturday night, as my partner left work early on the Friday, I phoned to see if it was ok to come a day early, this was no problem.

We arived and O'dell came out and helped us to unhitch and pulled the Van onto the site as the ground was very wet and he was not letting cars on.

Within a few moments we where pluged in and the tea was on.

The showers and toilets where very clean and worked well.

We Spent all weekend on the site, this was a very quite and relaxing site even down to the way the vans where pitched, no regimented set out that you had to follow, you faced the way you wanted.

So if your looking for a quite retreat to relax then this is a site that you should visit. It would also make a good site to base visits from.

When Sunday came, and time to leave, O'dell came around and asked us what time we would like to leave, we plumbed for 3'ish, he arived in his little green thing and towed the van to our car and helped to hitch up.

Thank you for a very relaxed stay. We will be back when we next need some relaxation time. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitzoe 1 review from this member

 We stayed here in the last couple of days in March, horrible weather but lovely campsite with welcoming and friendly owners. Our stay was short lived due to weather conditions (so hardly used the facilities at the site) but felt from what we saw that they were to an average standard. The campsite had great views all around and was extremly peaceful.

If your looking for somewhere to eat out we would recommend 'The Bush' in Lawshall, we had a fantastic meal there which we really enjoyed and felt that it was a decent price.

The price for our stay was extremly good and we would love to go back again (hopefully with better weather). To sum up our stay we were very welcomed and enjoyed ourselves. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darryn 2 reviews from this member

 After a long drive around the M25 to get to Suffolk, it was such a welcome to finally reach the site and be greeted by the friendly owner who showed us around the grounds and the facilities available. Whilst pitching camp on an immaculately kept lawn surrounded by well- placed trees (that ensured protection from the wind and privacy without blocking sunlight and causing dmaping of soil) our one year old and nearly three year old sons played happily on the grass.

The family showers are good value for one's 50p - can shower baby and yourself (although you do need two adults: one to shower baby and then other to dress baby whilst you soap yourself off). Although the showers were marked male/female, we took liberty of this since it was out of season and this worked well for us.

Toilet block nice and clean. And it was nice to have a light on during the night should you need to use the amenities!

The pubs within the area are fab! Highly recommend The Bush in Shimpling St and the local Swan (which you can walk to from the campsite).

Having access to a fridge was sooooo nice and also appreciated the touch of a hair dryer in the ladies. Many thanks to the Truins for being so thoughtful!

Visits to Sudbury and Bury St Edmunds a must. We also did the Colne Valley Steam Railway; it was a 'Day out with Thomas' - a real birthday treat for the 'three' year old. Had a great time!

Highly recommended. Would love to come back. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eric Ward 14 reviews from this member

 What an excellent site. First I give you the run down on the usual: Toilets absolutely spotless, ground level, showers 1 a go but clean, tidy and very hot, local pub within walking distance but about 3 miles away and finally the location; lovely views across open farm land. This site is perfect for a relaxing weekend or longer holiday.
The grounds are immaculate but informal. The owners are friendly and helpful. We stayed there at short notice but were concerned due the the very bad weather that we may get stuck. No problem, we were told that if the ground was too wet they would pull us in place and pull us off if necessary. Fortunately the ground was OK and the weather turned out to be fine and sunny. There are some lovely places to visit in the surrounding areas. I would recommend this site for all occasions. At only 11 with hook up it cant be bad. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59784 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement