Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meandmyboys 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our first camping break. I was really impressed with the site, the toilet/shower block was really clean, good variety of food in the shop, and the local meat sold there was amazing. The play area is good for the little ones. We visited 2 pubs during our stay, and found both to be a lovely atmosphere as well as have nice beer and food.
There were some lovely walks, although with a 1 year old and 5 year old, we didn't venture far. The views are breathtaking. On our second night we had torrential rain, which had cleared by morning, we went out until after lunch, and when we had got back the ground had drained really well.

Our friends stayed in the camping pods, and were very impressed, there was only the 2 of them, and they thought any more would be over crowded, although its supposed to cater for 4 people.

All in all this was a great campsite, and I'm so glad we chose this one as our first camping trip.

We will certainly be going back again next year.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

After booking our August break early in the year I did the unthinkable and forgot to book somewhere for May bank holiday. After spending 2 or 3 days contacting every C&CC site in the NW & NE, followed by non C&CC sites, I was giving up hope of finding anywhere with availability, especially as there was less than 2 weeks to go.

Then I realised I had missed calling the C&CC site in Eskdale, and was amazed to find that the chap said he would fit us in, EHU and all!

I'd previously been over Hardknott/Wrynose many times but have to say I'd not noticed this site before, not that I'd been looking. And what a site it is, very well kept with clean facilities.

It was very windy on a couple of the days but we were in the first field as you drive in which has trees down one side, offering some protection.

We found it an excellent place to start our walks plus there is the added benefit of the Ravensglass railway to ride upon. The two local pubs offer a great selection of beers and the food is pretty good too.

No noise issues and wasn't at all overcrowded, even for bh weekend.

All in all a great site and one that we will return to in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianpw 1 review from this member

I wanted to write simply 'BOOK / GO' but realised that wouldn't be too helpful.

Staff, facilities, ground conditions, shop, local pubs, views are all excellent.

There are some great walks from here (we did Scafell and the path back led us straight to door of one of the local pubs)

Nearby are:

L'il Ratty steam train runs to Ravenglass

River Esk

Woods (loads of bats at night)

There are two areas to pitch. One has the site road running through it and the other doesn't. I don't know how much choice you get but if you will be coming and going in the car then maybe ask for the former. There are children's play facilities nearby that I didn't make use, but then again I'm 41.

Anyhow. My original idea might just have been better. If you are looking for that 'special' site that is clean, quiet but close to the best that the Lakes can offer. BOOK / GO.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wright4 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here after planning on staying at another site nearby which couldn't be pre-booked only to find it was full. When we arrived this site was also full but a camping pod was available, very reasonably priced and fun to stay in though not much room for 4 people but great for couples.
Staff were very helpful and were able to book us in for 2 more nights in our tent. Pitches were spacious and though site was full it didn't seem crowded. Toilets and showers were immaculate, very modern and heated. There was also a well stocked shop and plenty of sinks for washing dishes. There was also a room for drying off your wet walking boots. Our kids (age 12,6) enjoyed the play area which included swings and a trampoline.
The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of walks and places to visit including wastwater where the kids could swim in the lake, luckily the weather was gorgeous throughout our stay. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daz3223 7 reviews from this member

All previous reviews are highly accurate on this site. The only reason I am adding my comments is to fill in a few gaps as it may encourage you to visit this site sooner as it really is an excellent place to visit.

All the three pubs near by are CAMRA recommended and allow dogs in for all you pet lovers. The ingredients for the food, which is excellent, are locally sourced. The drive over Hardknott Pass is a right giggle but do not attempt with anything larger than a 4x4 or in winter as the road is very steep and twisting but the views take the breath away.

The railway near site is a narrow gauge track which regularly run small size steam loco's to and from Ravenglass. Train spotters will love this small line. And finally if you're like me and enjoy a good walk and great scenery this place is hard to beat as most of the lake district 'must see's' are only a short car ride or walk away.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janso100 11 reviews from this member

We stopped here for a walking weekend in july. The weather was great to start with on Friday (false dawns).

The site is immaculately clean and the toilet/shower block in the most modern I've seen on a campsite. The team is friendly and I noticed that the warden works in the boot inn as soon as he finishes on the campsite. The pods also look very appealing and I shall visit them during the winter months. The two pubs in walking distance are excellent.

The only down side to the site is the drain like smell coming from the stream that runs down the east side of the site but this is no fault of the site and may be a weather based thing. It made sitting outside your tent a little off putting but not over bearing.

Scafell pike is approx a 5 mile hike. We attempted the horseshoe of slightside scafell and scafell pike. All started so well with all three peaks clearly visible. It all went wrong when we reached the peak of slight side,gale force winds,driving rain and pea soup fog. In the interest of safety we aborted and descended:-(. We drove to wasdale the next day and completed early morning.

Overall a very pleasant stay apart from the weather on the Saturday and sunday but it doesn't rain in the pub as they say.!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oggie_gb 3 reviews from this member

We were at this site for the May half term and had a thoroughly great time. The team are extremely friendly and the boys spent hours playing with their kids plus others on site. There are 2 children's play areas and a fab well-stocked shop which even sold wine etc at reasonable prices. Everything has been very well thought out.

The only down side to all this was the water pressure which sometimes meant no water in peak times. We were assured this was being sorted out by the water company so should not be an issue in the future.

We would recommend this site to families and couples as it is very well managed (also a Camping and Caravanning Club site). The facilites were always clean and the bins were constantly being emptied.

Lots of great walks from the site too - we walked to Scafell Pike from the tent.

All in all a really top class site. Thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowmoore 4 reviews from this member

We stayed with friends over the Bank Holiday and would like to completely agree with the review by Scarymamma. Would just like to add that the wardens where fantastic as our daughter had a tick and they were brilliant with advice and even removed the tick the following morning. The shop was open even when officially closed which was always useful. The site did become windy despite being at the bottom of the pass. FANTASTIC, we will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scarymamma 5 reviews from this member

Eskdale campsite is in the Eskdale valley in the western lake district. It’s location is stunning and the site is flat, with the fells on one side and the village of Boot (a small collection of cottages, 2 nice pubs and a shop) on the other. There is a small stream running down one side of the site (great for the kids to paddle in) and a children’s activity/play area (there are plans to enlarge this from talking to the owners). The site has a ‘small’ feel to it, which we liked as it felt safer for the children. We were there on an extremely busy May half term/BH and it didn’t feel crowded at all.

The site facilities are EXCELLENT. The newly done facilities block houses a well stocked shop (camping essentials, fresh and frozen food, beers and wine(chilled if needed!)) and reception, mens and ladies toilets/showers, a family bathroom, laundry, and 2 wash up areas (one inside and one out). The facilities are superb – lovely clean white walls, slate floors, hi spec showers and fresh flowers. Great efforts are made to ensure that these were kept clean. There were queues in the morning for the showers – but we showered straight after our walk (mid-late afternoon) and never had to wait. Apparently there is an issue with water pressure affecting the showers but to be honest we had no complaints – the showers were better than many expensive hotels we’ve stayed at – the temperature stayed constant, but the pressure just dropped slightly occasionally. The owners are aware and getting it sorted soon.

There is fantastic walking in this area (Scafell Pike is a days walk from the site) and the site is just off the road to Hardknott Pass. The Ravenglass and Eskdale narrow gauge railway is 300m down the road towards Boot. You can get a return ticket to Ravenglass (on the coast), spend an hour or so exploring/walking in Ravenglass then catch the train back to Boot (Dalegarth station). The trip is about 40 mins one way and is a fun way of spending a drizzly Lakeland day. The Boot Inn (good food, real ales and beer garden with children’s play area) is a 5 minute stroll across a field.

NB – watch out for ticks, especially with kids and dogs who may go through long grass. Our dog came home with two ‘passengers’. Also, the site has two inches of top soil and then you hit stones - so pegging out took quite some time (and a bit of swearing!)

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

This is a great site in an accessible, yet one of the remotest parts of the lake district. Situated at the foot of Hardknott Pass, this site is a gem.

The site is spread over 2 paddocks. All the pitches are level and grassy but the soil is shallow so I recommend rock pegs or delta pegs - the default pegs will bend.

The facilities are excellent. The shop is very well stocked for such a remote site and the staff are friendly and helpful. I will visit this site again.

The pubs have already been mentioned - nothing more to add. If you are an angler, Burnmoor Tarn is a 3 mile hike (no road access) and offers free trout fishing. I caught nothing but the sun, though I could see loads of the little blighters!

If you want to get away from it all this site is perfect - no mobile phone signal [:)]

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2487 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.1016