Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bryan w 1 review from this member

Just returned after a weeks holiday at this site, in a word FANTASTIC.
Facilities were spotless. As mentioned before fresh meat from site shop is excellent. Owners are friendly and very helpful. Beautiful walks direct from site. Stunning views. 2mins to friendly pub. Will be back next year. Stayed in camping pods last night as we decided to take monty 6 down while it was dry after 3 days of rain. Just as well as heavens opened again on Saturday.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Phiwinuk 3 reviews from this member

Stayed in one of the camping pods here. Really good, though only just enough room with 2 adults and 2 children. If the weather had been bad it would have been a tight squeeze. However the pods are great as long as you recognise their limitations.

The site itself is in a superb location, has great facilities and is really well run. Lots to do nearby. Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meandmyboys 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our first camping break. I was really impressed with the site, the toilet/shower block was really clean, good variety of food in the shop, and the local meat sold there was amazing. The play area is good for the little ones. We visited 2 pubs during our stay, and found both to be a lovely atmosphere as well as have nice beer and food.
There were some lovely walks, although with a 1 year old and 5 year old, we didn't venture far. The views are breathtaking. On our second night we had torrential rain, which had cleared by morning, we went out until after lunch, and when we had got back the ground had drained really well.

Our friends stayed in the camping pods, and were very impressed, there was only the 2 of them, and they thought any more would be over crowded, although its supposed to cater for 4 people.

All in all this was a great campsite, and I'm so glad we chose this one as our first camping trip.

We will certainly be going back again next year.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

After booking our August break early in the year I did the unthinkable and forgot to book somewhere for May bank holiday. After spending 2 or 3 days contacting every C&CC site in the NW & NE, followed by non C&CC sites, I was giving up hope of finding anywhere with availability, especially as there was less than 2 weeks to go.

Then I realised I had missed calling the C&CC site in Eskdale, and was amazed to find that the chap said he would fit us in, EHU and all!

I'd previously been over Hardknott/Wrynose many times but have to say I'd not noticed this site before, not that I'd been looking. And what a site it is, very well kept with clean facilities.

It was very windy on a couple of the days but we were in the first field as you drive in which has trees down one side, offering some protection.

We found it an excellent place to start our walks plus there is the added benefit of the Ravensglass railway to ride upon. The two local pubs offer a great selection of beers and the food is pretty good too.

No noise issues and wasn't at all overcrowded, even for bh weekend.

All in all a great site and one that we will return to in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianpw 1 review from this member

I wanted to write simply 'BOOK / GO' but realised that wouldn't be too helpful.

Staff, facilities, ground conditions, shop, local pubs, views are all excellent.

There are some great walks from here (we did Scafell and the path back led us straight to door of one of the local pubs)

Nearby are:

L'il Ratty steam train runs to Ravenglass

River Esk

Woods (loads of bats at night)

There are two areas to pitch. One has the site road running through it and the other doesn't. I don't know how much choice you get but if you will be coming and going in the car then maybe ask for the former. There are children's play facilities nearby that I didn't make use, but then again I'm 41.

Anyhow. My original idea might just have been better. If you are looking for that 'special' site that is clean, quiet but close to the best that the Lakes can offer. BOOK / GO.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wright4 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here after planning on staying at another site nearby which couldn't be pre-booked only to find it was full. When we arrived this site was also full but a camping pod was available, very reasonably priced and fun to stay in though not much room for 4 people but great for couples.
Staff were very helpful and were able to book us in for 2 more nights in our tent. Pitches were spacious and though site was full it didn't seem crowded. Toilets and showers were immaculate, very modern and heated. There was also a well stocked shop and plenty of sinks for washing dishes. There was also a room for drying off your wet walking boots. Our kids (age 12,6) enjoyed the play area which included swings and a trampoline.
The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of walks and places to visit including wastwater where the kids could swim in the lake, luckily the weather was gorgeous throughout our stay. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daz3223 7 reviews from this member

All previous reviews are highly accurate on this site. The only reason I am adding my comments is to fill in a few gaps as it may encourage you to visit this site sooner as it really is an excellent place to visit.

All the three pubs near by are CAMRA recommended and allow dogs in for all you pet lovers. The ingredients for the food, which is excellent, are locally sourced. The drive over Hardknott Pass is a right giggle but do not attempt with anything larger than a 4x4 or in winter as the road is very steep and twisting but the views take the breath away.

The railway near site is a narrow gauge track which regularly run small size steam loco's to and from Ravenglass. Train spotters will love this small line. And finally if you're like me and enjoy a good walk and great scenery this place is hard to beat as most of the lake district 'must see's' are only a short car ride or walk away.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janso100 11 reviews from this member

We stopped here for a walking weekend in july. The weather was great to start with on Friday (false dawns).

The site is immaculately clean and the toilet/shower block in the most modern I've seen on a campsite. The team is friendly and I noticed that the warden works in the boot inn as soon as he finishes on the campsite. The pods also look very appealing and I shall visit them during the winter months. The two pubs in walking distance are excellent.

The only down side to the site is the drain like smell coming from the stream that runs down the east side of the site but this is no fault of the site and may be a weather based thing. It made sitting outside your tent a little off putting but not over bearing.

Scafell pike is approx a 5 mile hike. We attempted the horseshoe of slightside scafell and scafell pike. All started so well with all three peaks clearly visible. It all went wrong when we reached the peak of slight side,gale force winds,driving rain and pea soup fog. In the interest of safety we aborted and descended:-(. We drove to wasdale the next day and completed early morning.

Overall a very pleasant stay apart from the weather on the Saturday and sunday but it doesn't rain in the pub as they say.!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oggie_gb 3 reviews from this member

We were at this site for the May half term and had a thoroughly great time. The team are extremely friendly and the boys spent hours playing with their kids plus others on site. There are 2 children's play areas and a fab well-stocked shop which even sold wine etc at reasonable prices. Everything has been very well thought out.

The only down side to all this was the water pressure which sometimes meant no water in peak times. We were assured this was being sorted out by the water company so should not be an issue in the future.

We would recommend this site to families and couples as it is very well managed (also a Camping and Caravanning Club site). The facilites were always clean and the bins were constantly being emptied.

Lots of great walks from the site too - we walked to Scafell Pike from the tent.

All in all a really top class site. Thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowmoore 4 reviews from this member

We stayed with friends over the Bank Holiday and would like to completely agree with the review by Scarymamma. Would just like to add that the wardens where fantastic as our daughter had a tick and they were brilliant with advice and even removed the tick the following morning. The shop was open even when officially closed which was always useful. The site did become windy despite being at the bottom of the pass. FANTASTIC, we will be back.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019