Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pete+Phil 1 review from this member

 Stayed 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend, myself and a mate and three children 10 and under. A bit busy as you’d expect at that time of year, but not overcrowded. The site was absolutely what we wanted, no site shop or amusements etc. Farmer Green tours the site regularly and talks to every camper. As far as I was aware no curfew was enforced but by 10:30 the site goes delightfully quiet.

Eco-loos were fine and no flies despite it being warm weather. They were thoroughly cleaned daily and an ample supply of loo-rolls provided.

A nice level site with fire buckets at the end of each row and washing up sinks provided.

Ideally situated for West Wittering and shops within easy reach.

Definitely recommended for those looking for a “back-to-basics” site with no noise. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Misspea 3 reviews from this member

 We found this to be a lovely, safe , friendly and quiet (Sunday to Tuesday!) family campsite. The facilities are basic but adequate, and even our four year old children had no problem with the eco loos.
There is a good selection of shops in nearby East Witterings. We visited Itchenor, Bracklesham Bay , Chichester Marina and the excellent beach at West Witterings, well worth the £5 parking fee. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tannfamily 1 review from this member

 This was only our 2nd camping trip so we are fairly new to all this.  This was a rural and quiet site which was ideal for us and our young kids.  The evenings were nice and quiet by 11pm (not that our kids were worried by any noise - so tired they were fast asleep by 9pm).
The facilities are fairly basic but functional my only gripe is that it is quite a big site and 3 showers is not enough when the 3 fields are full as they were for 2 of the nights we were there.  The ecoloos are certainly an experience and we did get used to them but the kids weren't willing to give them a go!
The beaches at east and west wittering are only a short drive away and are fab.  You can walk to these beaches but having a 4yr old walking 40mins to a beach may not be bad to get there but back again would be a very different story!
East wittering has plenty of shops to get everything you might need.
All in all we had a really good time. For a short trip this is a lovely place to go, however not sure that I would stay any longer than 3 or 4 days as the facilities are very basic. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunbunny 2 reviews from this member

 I am reluctant to write anything nice about this site in case too many people visit it! We chose it partly because of its location near the beaches and partly because it was the first environmentally friendly site we have found and we were not disappointed on either count.  
 
To us, this site is what camping should be. The site is simple & undeveloped with a very old fashioned feel to it. It may not suit those wanting lots of home comforts, clubhouses or shops but if you are looking for a simple "back to basics" site in a lovely secluded location this is it. It is unregimented, there is plenty of room and there are no pre-marked pitches so you can go wherever you want. The Ecoloos are a brilliant idea, why don't more sites use them?
 
Facilities are basic but adequate, the showers were cleaned regularly & there were plenty of toilet rolls supplied (we have got used to taking our own for some sites but they werent needed here). The washing up sinks only had cold water taps but it was no problem to take a kettle of hot water over and hey any washing up sinks are a bonus anyhow on many rural sites!
 
Another bonus of this site is the other campers. It may be that they are all drawn by the same thing or the relaxing feel of the site but they all seem very friendly and pleasant, a mix of families with children & couples. It may be that the basic facilities & lack of clubhouse means that the noisier element go elsewhere but the peace & quiet of this site is well worth almost any price & more than counters the simple facilities!
 
There is plenty to do locally & good shops & beaches within walking distance but bicycles would be useful to explore the harbour area fully. Take your own firewood, they allow fires as long as they are off the ground - we used our barbie after cooking to keep the early season evening chill at bay!
 
For eats check out the Beach House in West Wittering, the Moonlight Indian in East Wittering (best curry I've had for years!) and the nearby Thatched Tavern only a short walk away does decent food & beer.
 
All in all highly recommended - we will be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dianne249 8 reviews from this member

 We used this site for our first camping trip of the season and were not disappointed. It "delivered" in terms of being rural and tranquil. Noise levels at night were excellent with everyone seemingly asleep, or at least quiet, by 10:30pm. We were rudely awoken by hungry labs at 5:30am but that just added to the charm! The fact that you could light a fire (off the ground - take your own wood) added to the site's attraction.
 
The owner was very friendly and helpful. The charges (£5 per person and £2.50 per child) suited us as we took two small tents (rather than our large Vango) so not having to pay per pitch was a bonus.
 
The facilities are basic and may not suit all campers for a longer stay. The eco-loos are admirable, odour-free and functional. The kids were fascinated! The two dish washing stations (there may be a couple more in another field that was closed when we visited) were a bit grubby and had only cold water. It's a shame not all campers clean up behind them (but it may help if the owner did a daily cleaning round). We didn't use the facilities in the wooden block as we couldn't find the light switch, but the "shower room" in the main house was clean enough and warm and welcoming. There were plenty of cloths/cleaning products and it was well stocked with toilet paper.
 
This site is very good if you want back-to-nature camping within proximity of the beaches and nearby East Witterings has everything you need in terms of provisions &  take aways. I would recommend the site wholeheartedly for a short camping trip. Don't forget to take a suitable container and some wood if you want a fire! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomnali 1 review from this member

 This is a delightful, peaceful site in a lovely secluded location (but do follow the directions - it is a bit off the beaten track!) Whilst it is quiet & secluded it is not isolated, there are good shops, pubs & places to eat nearby in East Wittering and the beaches are only a 15 minute walk.
 
If you love the countryside you will like this site, it is on a working sheep farm and the field is well sheltered with trees & hedges. If you are an urban townie and want loads of facilities this site is not for you - stick to the bigger sites with shops, bars & clubhouses (please!)
 
We loved it because it felt like a "proper" campsite, the facilities are basic but adequate & clean (I think Josiecat misread the shower sign - it actually says "please leave the showers clean & tidy" which is only common courtesy!) The location & "feel" of the campsite far outweigh the lack of a shop, clubhouse etc. Indeed the site would lose its rather old fashioned "retro" charm if it became overdeveloped. The other campers on site seemed very friendly, the "eco friendly" approach to the site is refreshing and seems to have the additional bonus of filtering out the noisier "chav" element that can make staying on a bigger sight a nightmare.
 
We recommend this site and will be returning to recharge our batteries as soon a possible. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Josiecat 1 review from this member

 Good size flat pitches although had to remove a large amount of sheep droppings before we could pitch, but then it is a working farm not a holiday camp. Quiet rural site with moderate walk to nearby pebble beach.
Kids really excited about feeding the lambs.
We found the owner friendly and pleasant.
Interesting eco toilets and alfresco wash up sinks and full quota of re-cycling bins.
No shop on site. Spa supermarket short drive away.
Flushing toilets ok but unfortunately in same cubicle as shower so sometimes had to wait for a flushing toilet. Showering facilities very disappointing. One free shower in the house and two paying showers (£1). One of these out of order. The one that worked was not powerful. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubnuts2 3 reviews from this member

 Delightful, peaceful & reasonably priced site (only £5 per person per night!) - no clubs, bars or noisy drunks - what bliss! This site is well away from the main roads but only a 10 minute walk to the village which has some good shops & eateries.

Super beaches nearby. Site is spacious - plenty of room to pitch up in. The other plus is that this is the first environmentally friendly site we have been on - you have a choice of either using waterless composting ecoloos (which are very simple - just a shovel of sawdust after using!) or they have three shower units with conventional flush toilets & washbasins (I think that the previous reviewer Jess 1702 must have missed the two extra shower rooms near the farmhouse!)

It has a simple old fashioned charm to it, if you want loads of facilities try elsewhere - if you want a traditional peaceful campsite then we highly recommend this one. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elmsfamily 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site. We were lucky to arrive in the middle of lambing & our children were allowed to bottle feed the lambs which was a real treat for them. There was plenty of space to pitch up & the owners were friendly & helpful. The site is simple with a delightful old fashioned feel about it - no bars or shops! They had just finished putting in some new flush toilets although we found the ecoloos out on the field were fine. Showers were clean & tidy which were essential after a day on the beach.

Do take the harbour tour from Itchenor it is a great way to see Chichester Harbour & East Head has some great sand dunes. We also enjoyed the Weald & Downland Open Air Museum. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jess1702 2 reviews from this member

 This is a really individual camp site with its own charm. We are a young couple and we really loved this campsite. Just a few draw backs with the facilities, but these would not stop us from visiting again.

Quiet and peaceful setting on the farm, surrounded by fields. Plenty of room so you can be as far or near to other campers as you wish (I guess this may not be the case in the really busy periods though). Plenty of room for children to play, and quiet corners for people looking for privacy too.

Made even more unique camping experience because its a working farm, so we were camping right next to a field with lambs in it. It was a real treat, because we saw the new born lambs go into the field for the first time, and they were fascinating to watch.

Toilet facilities are pretty poor - the Eco-loos are a great idea, but don't feel too hygienic when your perched over a huge hole full of excrement! However, it does fit in with the feel of the campsite, and you do get used to it. We didn't mind to much.

Also, there is one normal toilet in the farmhouse that is open 24-7 for the campers to use. This also felt a bit unclean, as it was left to the campers to clean after they'd used it.

Shower facilities are also poor. There was only one shower.

Farmer is really friendly and helpful.

Loads of different country walks to do straight from the campsite. We walked to Bracklesham Bay beach (pebbles) in 20 mins. East Wittering beach (pebbles and sand) in 40 mins, and West Wittering beach (just sand) in 1 hr 15 mins. You can choose whether to walk along the coast or through the countryside. East and West Wittering are MUCH nicer than Bracklesham Bay, even though they are slightly further to walk. However, we did have really good chip-shop chips from the fish bar on the left on the road down to the beach at Bracklesham. 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3760 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement