Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChoudrysOnHoliday 7 reviews from this member

 Well run site, toilets and showers are first class, shop items were reasonable priced.

Awesome sunsets. Well placed for Harlech and it's fantastic beach. We were there for three days and there was a strong sea breeze everynight but the staff were great and helped out anyone who was having trouble with their tent.

Would definitely come again, but with a smaller tent that isn't such a windbreak. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jumpers4Goalposts 8 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay and will be returning very soon. Facilities very clean and modern. Its about a 20 minute walk to the beach or a 2 minute drive to the sister static site across the road. At the sister site you follow the road in, past reception and the shop and down the hill towards the gate / beach entrance and turn right. Follow the road and park on the corner of the football pitch near the boat storage compound, there is another gate and access to the beach there. Very clean sandy and empty beaches.

Only 2 things that I think could improve this site. One is the play area for the kids. Its a quality climbing frame with swings and bench seats for parents to sit about with a sea view but they have gone and covered the base in what I can only describe as hard sharp cat litter. It gets in your shoes / sandals immediately and is all over everything. My one year old crawled across the climbing frame and his knees where bleeding within seconds, so couldn't use the play park.

The majority of the pitches around the site are very nice with neat grass and hard standing or a nice pea shingle but there are about half a dozen pitches which have a grey, big lumpy hardcore base which is very unpleasant to walk on. I wouldn't recommend putting an awning on it and every time a car drives past there is a massive cloud of dust which goes on everything. Its the few pitches on the left as you drive into the site, all the rest around the site are great except these few!

All in all a top class site, nice people on site, very clean facilities and near a great beach. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dorsetcampers 1 review from this member

 What a great site! We were a family party of two tents and could not have wished for a better site. The kids were happily playing on the playpark most of the time we were at camp and the owners were helpful and friendly.

The site itself is immaculate, so clean and tidy with beautiful showers and toilets. The dog walking was great as we had two boisterous dogs, and the view was lovely.

The only down side was we had to pack up quickly due to bad weather and because the site is very exposed we lost our tent due to wind ripping it! Not the owners fault but do beware if its windy and bad weather. Very exposed. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topmasher 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site. Situated just outside Barmouth, with sea views. The toilet / shower block is second to none and even during what was a very busy (bank holiday) weekend we never found it anything other than spotless.

The camping field seems a little cramped when full, however there is plenty of space for the kids to play on the playground and the dog walking area was great.

The only thing I feel lets it down is that you can't walk to the beach, however they do give you a pass to allow you to park the car at their sister site, which does have access to the beach.

Will definitely return here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Conway1 1 review from this member

 I recently stopped at this site, after not using them for a few years. The site improvements seem to have gone well, the new toilet, shower and washing facility are very nice indeed.
The layout of the site area has all changed, making more room for motorhomes and touring caravans than anything else. Tents and trailer tents have now been squeezed in together in a very compact way, leaving very narrow drives between the aisles of canvas. A little concious of accident involving moving cars could be a wary thing, with people entering and leaving the camping area, plus the view from your own tent, may simply now be of another tent.

The idyllic views once had from this site are now gone, not unless you book early and get a front row pitch I'm afraid. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spannerrr 2 reviews from this member

 Wow! What a site! Just recently returned home after a 10 day holiday, 5 nights of which we spent at this site, the other 5 in Somerset.

As previously mentioned, facilities wise this site is fantastic - with the shower and toilet room being as good as if not better than changing room facilities at a modern leisure centre. However what made this site even better for us was the couple running it! On our second night, it become horrendously windy (with gusts 55mph plus), and we thought our tent had just about had it and were going to give up, but Sean the manager helped us out by parking his landrover and freelander up against our tent as protection against the wind, and it really helped so we ended up making it through the night even if a little cold and damp and thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the stay.

The managers are also very sociable and we drank and chatted with them in the pub more or less on site on a couple of nights, and because of them we will definitely be returning, even if it is quite a windy location. The pub although quite quiet on weeknights in September is a nice one, with a good range of lagers and real ales.

Barmouth itself is a quiet but lovely little town, and the beaches around the area are divine. I would definitely recommend a meal at the restaurant the Last Inn. Although it is about an hours drive away from Snowdon etc if that is what you are going to Wales for it is in a good location for exploring many other places, and the toll road you have to cross to get to Porthmadog etc is a bargain at only 40p for the day!

Therefore I have nothing but praise for this campsite, especially as we went when there was a special offer on the price of just 15 with electric hook up. (Most pitches have electric hook-ups and there is no problem in accommodating for large tents) 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigbro 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from Wet West Wales and stayed at Trawsdir. The site is a pleasure to stay at and the amenities were well kept and very clean, we especially liked the recycling facilities The site had very good pitches for our motorhome and was the first time during our holiday (due to 14 days of rain) that we had firm ground to step out onto.

The pub was a very short walk away and the food was ok if a little expensive but the welcome was a little cold. The site down the road has a takeaway and they delivered to our site for a pound which was great. The dog walking field was a let down in the fact that there are still some irresponsible dog owners who do not clean up after themselves and when dark you come back with dog mess all over your shoes (not pleasant).

Our children enjoyed the play area even in the wet and it was very helpful that the reception sold a few basic provisions.

The journey to the beach is through the site up the road and with a ticket issued at check in not as straight forward or easily accessible as we expected.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and new they only took over 5 monthe ago and are doing a great job.

We would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woolastonc 2 reviews from this member

 What more can I say that hasn't already been said, Great toilets very clean,plenty of hot water just a shame the showers don't run for more than 30 seconds, but that is my only gripe about the toilet block.

The shop was ok,a little expensive perhaps but all of your basics plus a few extras,not to bad.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly,they recommended were to eat and where not and they were spot on with there recommendations.

Great views when the sun was shinning, which wasn't very often while we were there but there isn't to much you can do about the weather.

The playground was spot on but only for younger children, and I must say we all felt very safe with all cameras around the campsite, probably not the best site for older kids as not much for them to do on site.

Overall a VERY good site and would definitely go again! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holidaymakers 1 review from this member

 Lovely views from this site even when doing your washing up. The shower and toilet facilities are fantastic. The shop has the basics that you need. My only criticism is that the pitches are very close together unlike the cae du lac site which we stayed in the week before but as this is a beach site that's to be expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would return to this site again, a music ban would be appreciated due to the close pitches but that is the only criticism I have, so don't be put off as maybe I'm just getting old!. This site is lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mrmerrit 1 review from this member

 Great Site. Great staff. Shop was a little understocked but it was the new owners first season. We had a sunny week enjoying the beaches the walks in Snowdonia and the Festiniog railway. We have earmarked to go back there eventually but we are off to France in 2008. The toilets and showers were the best I have seen in 30 years of camping and the pub is at the end of the site what more could you want 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement