Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bowler70 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this excellent new site. There is a new toilet block which was kept very clean. Energy saving lighting meant you had to wave at the magic eye occasionally to switch on again - [minor detail].
Pitches were enormous [grass or hardstanding]. As well as EHU we had water and waste disposal on our pitch which was an added bonus. Hedges have been planted between pitches but it will take a few years before they are effective.
Andrew the site owner/manager is brilliant and could not have been more helpful - a genuine 'fountain of knowledge'. Access to the site is so easy as it is so close to the York Ringroad but far enough away from any road noise.
There is a well stocked fishing pond for any anglers. Barrier entry with a 10 deposit [refundable on leaving] Plastic fob, offers good site security. Anyone entering or leaving has to pass Andrew in his office.
Monks Cross shopping centre and a huge Asda Superstore are 5 mins away by car. There is a great Bakery about 2 mins away [Julies] just before Hopgrove Pub. The Pub has a Carvery. A park and ride scheme is operated from Monks Cross into the City. However we used the Coastliner bus service which has a stop right outside the Site entrance. Our Senior Citizen Free Bus Passes were accepted which was a great saving. Buses run every half hour and go through the City centre West to Leeds or East to Scarborough, Bridlington and Whitby [via Malton].

Places we visited included:- York Jorvik Centre, York Dungeons, Eden Camp [near Malton], Air Museum [Elvington], Castle Howard, York Minster [4 entry] and of course Shambles, Stonegate, Bettys Cafe, High Petergate Fish and Chip Restaurant and do try a curd pie from Browns bakery.

We had a wonderful 2 weeks in York despite the rainy weather and would recommend YCP to anyone wanting a lovely quiet site at a very reasonable price.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chasethecheese 4 reviews from this member

One of the best sites I imagine you could find. 21 pounds a night for 4 adults, clean, new and modern bathroom facilities, dead flat, and within easy reach of the town.

The site was also on a rather quiet spot behind a caravan storage shed and surrounded by farm type land and country houses. There was an unfenced small pond so if you have small children you might need to keep an eye on them. They had a life preserver next to it in case of emergencies.

We stayed for 2 nights, arrived at 3pm (I think you have to arrive before 5 or make an arrangement). They ask for a 10 pound deposit for the electronic entry boomgate so its secure overnight. As we left early we weren't able to receive our refund, but I sent of an email and he paid the money into my account within the day, so no worries.

Buses catchable from directly outside the site about every 30 mins-hour in either direction and might have even been 24 hours. Had dinner in the opposite direction the first night at the fox inn in stockton, which also has a bus stop right out front, very simple. There is a toby carvery about 10-15 mins walk away as well.

If I was staying near York again I would definitely use this site again, and recommend it to others.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billdavies 1 review from this member

Just got back from a long Bank holiday weekend,weather was a mixed bag, some heavy showers but ground was fine, very few wet patches.Shower block is excellent, very clean and well lit at night. Main entrance has a security barrier opened by a fob.

Great location, pub The Hopwood, not too far to walk (15 mins) and they have a nice carvery.The bus stops right outside the site to go to York it takes about 10 minutes and costs 2.40 return for an adult.

Andrew, the landlord had time to talk to everybody, very friendly, good local knowledge of good bars,restaurants etc.Will visit site again. 10/10

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerryo231 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site with super facilities. Pitches were flat and huge! Great hook up/water facilities. Toilets and showers were spotless. Barrier controlled by key fobs - pick up on arrival.

Short drive to supermarkets at Monks Cross and to park and ride for trips into york. Pub close by (20 min walk)which does food.

Pond with ducks! Could do with a small playground perhaps for younger visitors to keep them away from the pond.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Annekasmum 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend and this caravan site is highly recommended. We were lucky to be pitched in one of the huge corner pitches. I have never seen such huge sized pitches!

The site feels very spacious and is quiet even when almost full. There is ample space for children to play safely without annoying others. It feels secure due to the electronic barrier in place and that there are so few pitches available.

The toilet block is new and is clean and well maintained. The shower cubicles aren't spacious but are adequate. A privacy cubicle would have been helpful as there was nowhere to wash a toddler who is too small for a shower. But this is a very minor detail!

The location is excellent, yes there is some road noise from the nearby A64 but the mooing cows cover it very well! The park and ride at Monks Cross is excellent as is the retail park at Monks Cross which is open until 8pm with a 24 hour Asda. The pub is in walking distance and the food is the usual excellent standard of a Toby Carvery.

The site is superb and highly recommended. I hope that it dosen't extend and become too big as the space and quiet are a rare find in this area.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glocky1966@yahoo.co 2 reviews from this member

Just visited York Caravan and Camping Park and it was an excellent site. Very spacious pitches and nice and peaceful. The shower and toilet block were also very clean and tidy. If visiting make sure your hook up cable is long enough, mine didnt reach apart from that little problem it was great. Bus stop just outside campsite takes you into York city center also swimming baths about two miles away and shopping center.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luke22 1 review from this member

Stayed for 4 nights at this lovely site in July (when it was pouring with rain!)

Even with all the rain, the pitch was well drained and we didn't get waterlogged.

The pitches were huge! We've never seen a campsite with such large amounts of space alloted to each person - it was great!

The toilets and showers were spotless and plenty of hot water. The washroom was clean and had 2 deep sinks for washing clothes and pots.

The bus service outside the site was spot on - ran every 30mins and the last bus wasn't until almost midnight (not that we ever stayed out that long).

Access is via a automatic barrier, which is operated by a keyfob - great for security.

The pitches are level, well maintained and have dividing hedges. They each have a 16amp electric, drinking water, digital tv and waste water hook-up.

The site is really peaceful and we have already booked our next stay there in a few weeks time.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simon23 6 reviews from this member

What can I say, stayed 2 nights kids loved it although no park but a big pitch of grass to play on.

Soap dispensers must have been fitted since earlier comments as they were there this week.

Owner very nice and helpful

Pitches are huge place was full when we arrived on the saturday but still plenty of space and felt empty.

Shops very near, walks for kids and dogs very close.

Even though we had a week of rain the pitch was a little soggy but dried after only 1 day with no rain.

We are so impressed with place we have booked all our weekends between now and september(and booked for the family) and will be a regular.

Even offer you the option of putting your van on pitch and putting it back in storage (if you have storage there.For a small charge).

So all in all a great place if you just want a quiet place to chill out. Just lacks a play ground for kids but the family of ducks at tea time on the hunt for food make up for this.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fatties 3 reviews from this member

This site is easy to find just off the York Ringroad, ideal for visiting York and surrounding areas.

Pitches were large and fully serviced although the services were shared between three pitches, so long leads, waste pipes etc required. Toilet/shower facilities were clean and warm but lacked soap dispensers! Ladies toilet block also included seperate room with two large washing up sinks etc.

Security is good, entrance by electronic gate which is outside Reception. No shop on site, but large Reception could quite easily stock basic food items, which would save having to drive to Monks Cross Shopping area. No play area for children, although site could easily accomodate one, this wasn't a problem for us on this occassion as we only used the site as a base.

Overall good site for visiting York and surrounding area, with bus stop directly outside site entrance, which saves having to park in the city.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Stayed for four night (Wed - Sun) in our tent, Impressed with this small site.

The site is in its second season and everything is new and fresh. Advertised (and named) as a Caravan Park it welcomes us tenters too. Fees for us (2 people, tent, car, EHU) were 13 per night, which I consider good value.

Access is through a fob-activated barrier watched over by the reception office, so security is good.The short access road opens onto the site itself, which contains only 20 pitches.

These pitches vary in size from very big to absolutely huge - especially the vast triangular corner pitches. All are grassy and flat, and are served by power and water. Below the grass the ground is stony, so have decent pegs to hand. However, this assists drainage and I would be surprised if the site ever became waterlogged. At night the site is well-lit.

The pitches are well marked by borders of young plants which will in time develop into hedges. To the rear of our pitch was a large shed used to keep caravans, which will also soon be obscured by shrubs and trees.

There is a grass area in the centre of the site kept clear of pitches, and also a newly-dug pond (which attracted serious-looking anglers from the early hours, so presumably with fish). There isn't anything such as a playground aimed specifically at kids.

The reception contains only a few leaflets, though the staff are friendly and helpful. There is no shop.

The single toilet block is a large portacabin-like construction containing men's, womens and disabled facilities plus a sluice and dishwashing, attractive from outside due to its veranda and log-hut type cladding. The facilities are utilitarian but spotless (contract cleaners scrubbed the place from top to bottom every morning while we were there), but toilet and shower cubicles (2 & 3 in the men's) were on the small side. There are sinks (no soap dispensers) but no washing cubicles for those who like a little privacy.

The showers are the type that need the button pressing very 30 seconds and deliver water at a preset temperature. Energy conservation seemed the order of the day - at night lights were activated by motion sensors and went off after only a few seconds, which could be disconcerting when having a 'long ponder' at night, and meant having to wave at them continually.

Extraordinarily, the dishwashing facilities could be accessed only from the women's facilities, which meant that we men (tragically) couldn't do washing-up. My wife still doesn't believe me that there weren't sinks on the men's side!

The site is less than 15 mins from York centre by bus and there is a stop directly outside the site entrance. Couldn't have been planned better and much better than trying to park in York (& cheaper too). The Coastliner service also goes to Whitby and Scarborough via many tourist spots, so ideal for campers using public transport, especially as the service continues until late at night.

When we arrived on a Wednesday we were one of only four occupied pitches. By Friday evening the site was pretty well full up, but such is the spaciousness of the pitches that it did not seem remotely cramped.

For us, the pitch quality and size, the laid-back atmosphere of only 20 pitches, the proximity to many visitor spots and the resonable pricing would certainly attract us back to this site. The toilet block could have been better thought out, but this is not a major concern since it is very well maintained. This is a site which can only improve as it matures.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7557 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019