Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisalou1970 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely brilliant weekend away with friends, we sat around the camp fire until the early hours.
Cannot comment on the kids play area as we had a child free weekend but the other kids seem to be enjoying it.
Loved the campfire, I was an expert fire-builder by the time we left lol.
Did not venture to the pub, but did have a take away from the Indian restaurant in Egremont, which was a long journey but the food was OK.
The owners are lovely people and came round regularly to check that all was OK,
Liked the 10.30 quiet rule, it meant that if you wanted an early night you could have one.
Would defiantly recommend this site to everyone, and have a go at the Esk trail to find the waterfall just go through the gate opposite the camp it is about 45 Min's away by foot (through fields full of sheep) but worth it. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenina 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first time camping and were recommended this site by many friends and also on the message boards of this site. We packed up the car and the kids and headed off on mid friday afternoon. We arrived about three o clock and found ourselves a pitch as there was no one at the gate. However as we started to pitch someone arrived to welcome us and made us feel at home straight away. We found that there was a wide mix of families, singles, couples and were suprised how well everyone got on. The facilities were good and had everything we needed. We loved sitting round the fire of an evening and the whole site felt relaxed and homely. The ten thirty rule for noise was kept to and we had a great time! We are definitely hooked on camping and after quizzing fellow campers on their tents are looking to getting something bigger and better than our cheap tent. we went with a one year old and a two year old and they had a fantastic time. We definitely plan to return this summer and would whole heartedly recommend this site. It was fab! 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louisaj 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights, late May bank holiday. Arrived about 3.30pm on the Friday and the site was pretty empty. We were a group of 3 families and by 7pm we were glad we had arrived early as although there were still pitches available, to get our 3 fairly large tents together may have been a problem. By Saturday midday the full sign had gone up.

The site is flat but some parts were quite waterlogged as we had rain for most of the weekend. There are 3 or 4 showers in the ladies so there were queues and 50p will get you a VERY quick hair wash and shower, take a spare 50p in with you. The foot/car paths were very muddy due to the weather and the owners worked really hard to keep the toilet/shower block clean but I would recommend flipflops for the showers. The sinks for dishes were fine, 1 washing machine, 1 dryer and boot drying cupboard were in constant use.

It was great being able to have a campfire although as there were so many fires going the air was very smokey and we did end up croaking and with watery eyes! Take loads of clothes for the kids if weather wet as smallish play area was very muddy and the pond/stream is a magnet even fully clothed! The site could do with an open space for footballl/cricket etc as there was no room at all for ball games because it was so busy.

The pub, 5-10 min walk away, is nice with board games, but the shop is a good 20 minute walk up very steep hills,it is a fairly remote site. We enjoyed our stay and the kids aged 4-12 had a great time, no frills,' old fashioned' camping, great for walkers/climbing and it would be a fab stay if you have the weather. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ratrat 1 review from this member

 Fisherground as always is lovely for kids and adults, you can forget your kids as they spend all their time on the excellent adventure playground. Top marks for allowing fires.we have been to this site several times per year for about fifteen years now, so have seen the recent change in management in all its glory. Our only real gripe is that they let way too many people on. I know theres a bit of give and take, when camping, but its nice to have a little bit of grass to call your own. Sometimes you are literally falling all over other people or drunken folk are trudging through your pitch at all times of the day and night. Still, catch the site when its quiet and its a belter. Give the King George pub a miss. Its an absolute rip off, crap food and dear ale, and the slowest, least interested staff you could get.
 
Shame the site isnt open in the winter any more. The stars are a sight to behold. No light pollution at all. Gorgeous.  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisybev 12 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a brilliant week at Fisherground tell me why I didnt go there Monday ? My last visit to this site was approx 1993 wow its not changed so much just the odd thing, nice to see the owners are the same and they work so hard to kee this place good.
Have never had a bad word about this site great fun, great views, some brilliant people yes you get the loud mouths but not as often as youd be led to believe.

It was great to see kids having a really good time and chilled out parents I dont think that a heard a parent have to shout at their child at all. Id say everyone was chillin big time. Loved it go there and try it. Good value too 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squiff 4 reviews from this member

 This is an absolutely beautiful site, in a great location. Facilities are excellent, there is a great adventure park for the kids and you can also have a camp fire! The near by river is great for swimming, and diving!  There is a pub close by that does decent food, and there are a couple more in the near by village "Boot". 

The minature railway from Ravensglass runs by the campsite and is a great way to get out without driving!  The walks and views are second to none!  The only problem is they are really strict when it comes to the slightest noise!  If the owners were more relaxed I would give it 10/10.  I still give it 9/10 though! 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site especially for children and perfect for adults. We pitched up Maundy Thursday 5 families, 12 adults 10 kids and 4 dogs. Well worth the money. £16 night 2 adults and 2 kids. As mentioned in reviews before only 4 showers and 5 toilets in men's and women's but they were kept immaculate and clean the owners were even there at 11 o'clock at night cleaning basins and loos. 3 dryers and 1 washing machine 6 washing up sinks, a boot dryer and a freezer for ice packs.

No shop on site but 20min walk to Eskdale stores will get you most items or a 20min drive to Holmrook petrol station a greater choice. Great campfires could be made with logs purchased on campsite or locally. You can even go looking for wood near by. L'al Ratty railway and a bubbling brook behind the tent,what more could you ask for. We did two short walks to Boot to the pubs! First by the river just across the road from campsite. The other up the fell and over Blea Tarn with some tremendous views. Boot inn we decided was the best value for food ,beer, and having entertainment for kids.

The kids kept themselves occupied on the water rafts and the adventure playground including zip wire. The ice cream van visited the site about 7ish where you would queue for about 10mins. It was lovely to wake up at this campsite listening to the early chorus of birds, the woodpecker drumming the seep a bleating and the brook a bubbling.

This campsite you can't book unless you want a hook up but it is well worth the visit and it has just been mentioned in the top 50 campsites in the Saturday independent magazine.  


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JudyS 4 reviews from this member

 My husband and I and our 7 year old daughter visited last August with two other families.

On the plus side the views are stunning, you can make real fires, the railway, the stream.

On the minus side: Facilites (shower block - womens) inadequate to cope when site full. Noisy neighbours: There were an awful lot of dogs on the site and this did lead to some noise nuisance. The gate was also not shut at 11p.m. resulting in some rowdy bunch/family coming back to the site at after midnight and not only disturbing us with their car but also their rowdy/drunken shouting. Another tent consisted of two men who seem to forget that their voices will carry at night and that we didn't all want to hear what happened on their last ski trip!

However, it was a pleasant site despite the little nuisances. Stunning views, walks and good pubs (child friendly too) with good grub if a little on the pricey side on occasion. I would definitely visit this part of the lakes again but would probably try and find a smaller quieter site!

This was my first camping trip and it didn't put me off. I will be investing in some thermals though for future trips. It can be cold at night at the foot of the mountains even in August. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Leyla 4 reviews from this member

 The reviews don't do this campsite justice. It is a wonderful getaway in a breathtakingly beautiful part of Cumbria.

Basic, yes it is, but it has other luxuries that no commercial site can live up to. Such as campfires right outside your tent, or a little further away if you so wish, constantly cleaned toilet block and emptied bins, a good ole country pub within staggering distance, a steam railway on the edge of the site to take you to the beach, and a choice of gentle or strenuous walks in the area. The owners are genuinely lovely people, and the site itself is small and picturesque.

Mind you, I'm sure it gets very busy in peak season, so to get maximum enjoyment, go outside the school holidays.

One other word of warning: the farm dogs across the way are eryu noisey!

I thoroughly recommend this site to anyone wanting a quiet getaway. 


Reviewer: Debs37 4 reviews from this member

 August 2005
just got back from this site today after 3 lovely days. Everything is the same as in many reviews & with 2 kids aged 5 & 9. This has got to be the best site yet even if we did travel 140 miles to get there! I suppose its good if u dont want to spend money as u do have to travel far for extra ameneties suchas our craving for fish & chips. However it does prevent your purse from drying up. We had no problems what so ever with the owners & didnt see much of them only at the log hut & when paying & they appeared to be very friendly. The valley we pitched in was georgeous & the campfires where the highlight of our trip there. I would give this site 10/10 for the kids benefits & adventures of the streams & forests & for the relaxing environment for adults.

we will return next year!

good luck to the owners as it seems a hard long days job! 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement