Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map
Tel: 01736 753127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 246 Reviews
                9/10 from 246 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  246 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steandjen 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a 2 week holiday at Gwithian Farm Campsite and I think we can honestly say that it was one of the nicest campsites we've been to in a while. After travelling 400 miles to get there, it was nice to find that it was very reasonable (only £9 a night) and the facilities were spot on. New, clean, free and plentiful! Lots of daddy long legs though, much to the disgust of my fiance, but hey, you can't have everything.

Access to the beach was good and perfect for an evening stroll. Also, as it was towards the end of the season there was plenty of space to fly our kite from Cornish Kites in Mullion. We were even allowed to take up 2 pitches, mainly so that we didn't have to camp on the less grassy, worn areas. Nice beer from the pub just outside the campsite and even some great live entertainment in the pub too. One benefit to the site were the high hedges near the edge which we tucked our tent behind to hide from the wind. One lightweight nylon tent pitched in the middle was not so lucky. Definitely a good idea having an old yet trusty cotton tent. All in all there isn't anything particularly bad to say about Gwithian as it was peaceful (in the main - only the last night did we have a bunch of roudy surfers who I politely told to shut up), spacious, well located for access to south west cornwall and very well looked after. We'll definitely be visiting again in the future. Thanks for a lovely holiday!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abimarauder 2 reviews from this member

Once again after our fourth visit can we say Claire & Mike what an excellent job you do in making our stay on your site so good . The facilities are very good & the site is always clean & tidy. We could not ask for any more to make our stay more enjoyable I mean you only have to read the previous reviews to see that this is the best campsite we have been to, WELL DONE. P.S. We are already planning our next visit as I write this review.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisaj33 1 review from this member

Nice site but expensive for what it is. (a big field) Nice shower block and toilets, washing up facilities lots of sinks but luke warm water. The washing machines are rubbish so don't bother.

Also if you are in the non electric field it is pitch black on a night and I mean pitch black make sure you take a torch.

As someone else said there are no facilities for kids which we knew we chose this site because we could take our dog but the only downside of this is dogs are supposed to be on leads at all times unfortunately 99% of the owners ignored this which spoilt it for us.

Lovely quiet site if you don't have kids this is ideal. If you have kids st ives bay holiday park (just down the road) where we normally go has 2 clubs a swimming pool and kids playgrounds plenty of shower blocks and is half the price.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kickingking 1 review from this member

Just spent a week at the campsite and found it excellent in all its facilities from pitches to the shower blocks that where constantly cleaned, to the the shop, which was well stocked with hire equipment and groceries, all of Cornwall's attractions are very accessible and the beaches are as good as any you will find abroad(Praa Sands 10/10).
 
Only thing to watch out for is "The Monster Stunt Show" we had four children with us and decided that for the last day we would head off to Flambards(Excellent), visit the Travel lodge in Hayle for a family meal then finish our last night with the monster show, What a disappointment this should be called the great rip off show as there was no trucks or motorbikes and it consisted of 3 kids on bmx riding over wooden ramps.  

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliesarah 1 review from this member

Well a very enjoyable holiday !  Just spent 2 weeks at the site and thoroughly enjoyed it !
 
Great facilities and loved the family shower and bath rooms!  Very strict noise rules which was nice !
 
Great idea with the food trucks visiting!  Fish and chips on Sunday, Pizza on Tuesday, Curry on Wednesday, Spaghetti Bolognaise on Friday and Bacon rolls on Saturday morning!  All very nice and mostly cooked to order !
 
Walk to the beach is ok if you don't have a pushchair or v young children.
 
Def recommend the site and my son loved the surfing !
 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mzzy 10 reviews from this member

First went here in 2004 and we liked it then, but now with all the new improvements - new loo block and better marked pitches, we love it!
 
There is a short path to the nearby beach, as long as you can clamber over the wall! Or a short drive with large car park to Godrevy beach which is just like being abroad!
 
Nearly every night there was some kind of takeaway van, fish and chips, pizza, curry we decided it would be rude not to test the food out! It was all nice and not too expensive either.
 
Just down the road in Hayle you have lots of supermarkets for any shopping you need and a new M & S, Next so no need to worry if you have forgotten anything!
 
Definitely recommend a visit and we will be going back again soon!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maxandpaddy 12 reviews from this member

Shhhhhhh ! we have all found a perfect site!  if we don t tell anyone else no one will come and clutter up this more than perfect site!
 
Joking aside, having just pitched the caravan on my drive back I felt driven to put a glowing report on this heavenly site having done a 8 hour journey home!  
 
Again a long journey down,  but after 20 odd years of hayle and the surrounding area,  a change was in need on site  choice. and oh what a site !.  Firstly a M&S food-hall! on approach,  do things get any better! sorry lilde! the site, lets get detailed now. Slight slope but with a caravan not an issue,excuse to get out the level chocks. Reception was friendly, professional and informative, "obviously waiting for the change in tempo once leaving!" , chilled. Clear indication on the main feature, the direction to beach, a small walk and then onto the most glorious of views to Godfrey lighthouse. ( a view that has never changed in 20 years but never fails to move me, from a little lad to, a grow man with his own caravan) the electrics worked superbly and the overall ambiance on site was of family s /surf doods/ surfdood dads escaping the grinding nine to five! stressed out scousers and anyone else that owned a tent or van , quite , well lovely and uplifting."We hasten to add that we had spent a week in Skegness before so this was a vast improvement!"  loos and amenities were exceptionally clean functional, and well designed. The site was not too big to be intrusive and pitch size over the norm that we have been to. the area well I would if kids involved , take them to the beach and just enjoy time together,we  had horrendous weather throughout but the place and pitch as I allways said made the difference!  company as well of course! 
 
Negatives:Thinking i,m quite a jolly old soul by now eh! a small critique on parents with small kiddies! I have a very heavy a dangerous BMW that can kill ,i was doing 5mph and kids on bikes in the dark on site don't mix. I m a"VERY"careful driver but not interested in "SO" Chilled out parents that they forget childrens saftey
 
weather, the site IS windy if the Celtic sea at full-mast but due to the superb owners informed us every day of the changing weather, DO peg things down as the lovely people from Devon found out ! gazebos dont mix with the site when windy!
 
if I dont stop typing the site will give me a free week!hint hint!seriously take the family and go, its simple we have already booked for 2008 ,they havent started booking for 2009 but we would if we could!   xx max and paddy, pitch 33 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scarab15 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from this great campsite.pitches were large and and the campsite was well maintained.
there was a lot of space for the kids to run around and it was only a short walk to a fantastic surfing/body boarding beach.walking back from the beach the sunset cafe 'well worth a visit after a hard day on the beach'.
the toilets and showers were always clean. the shop was well stocked and wet suites and body boards could be hired.
if you did not want to cook,there was always the visiting fish and chip van or pizza van or you could try the homemade curries. The red river pub is opposite the campsite great for a change although the food is a bit pricey.10 minutes down the road you now have marks and Spencer, boots, next, costa coffee, lidl and the co-op.i will definitely be booking again for next year.cant forget the proprietors mike and clair always there to help.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krakinka 11 reviews from this member

This was my family's first 'proper' camping holiday - I've been trying to persuade them for years & finally they are converted! 
 
The site is fantastic - 1st rate showers/family bathrooms/toilets & a well stocked shop/reception that pretty much caters for all needs.
 
Pitches are spacious & either based around the recreation area or the outskirts - if you have young children I would suggest asking for a pitch skirting the recreation area so that a) you are closer to the toilets & b) away from the main car routes. A 5mph speed limit is stated all over the campsite but unfortunately 1 or 2 (childless) campers were unable to adhere to this :-(
 
There is free use of freezers for ice packs - just make sure you name your packs & put them in a named bag else they may go walkabout (as ours did unfortunately).
 
The site is well maintained & the owners, Clair & Mike are always around & about if you have any queries. 
 
Takeaway vans come on-site for delicious meals - we had pizza on Tuesday, curry on Wednesday & fish & chips on Sunday - all excellent & value for money :-)  I can also recommend the cream teas which are served 3pm-5pm everyday in the farmhouse garden - freshly baked scones & the best cup of tea I had in the whole 10 days - YUM!  Not surprising I put on a good few pounds!
 
Gwithian beach is easily reached by a walk through a field & a stroll downhill although I wouldn't recommend it for the less mobile as its uphill on the way back!  Not good when you're loaded down like a carthorse! 
 
I adore this area of Cornwall & by the end of our trip we were all sad to be coming home - even my husband (the previous non camper!) was talking about booking ready for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TENPIN 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two week stay at Gwithian Farm. On the whole this is a decent site, in fact having visited other sites whilst there this is an excellent site.
 
The location is great, a lovely 10/15 minute walk through the dunes (exiting through the gate by the farm house) and you are on a fabulous beach with waves to die for. The exit through the upper field is a little more fraught due to traffic.
There is only one access road onto the site which is a little narrow and also acts as both footpath and, bike lane making things a bit hairy at times.
Disappointingly it has no children’s playground i.e. Swings, slides, climbing frame etc. What it does have is a field in the middle of the site where ball games may be played but we found the location off putting because the area is surrounded by tents
Our pitch was not level (the same for the majority) and it also had a few craters in it. Because our tent is quite long we had to pitch diagonally to fit it on and go with the slope.
The ablutions block is great compared to others we viewed. It is clean and spacious and only a few years old. There are 12 showers altogether (6 male 6 female) with ample hooks and a shelf on which to arrange your belongings. However the water pressure was inadequate at peek times and the spray nozzles with the exception of one in the family shower room did not deliver a full jet of water. Queueing for a shower was a regular occurrence with the site at full capacity. The family shower room does require some form of drainage installed on the lower level as it was frequently flooded. The  eight toilets on the female side had only two that contained a sanitary bin which was not adequate.
You will find only one chemical waste point on site which is basically an open drain with a broken grill at the bottom and a hose pipe. The best set up we have seen was at Warcombe Farm campsite where they had two open toilet cubicles with no seats etc, a hose and of course the all important flush.
We used the washers and dryers, there are two of each costing 2.50/50p for ten minutes respectively. Sadly there is no deep sink in which to remove stains or hand wash.
The washing up area located undercover at the rear of the toilet block houses 6 sinks. The hot water in these was not hot enough and the sinks were very shallow.
The site shop was well stocked, had papers every day and supplied wet suits and boards at quite reasonable prices. The shop opened at 8.45am-12.30pm closing until 4.30pm-6.30pm.
There is a Normid supermarket in Hayle and also a Lidl plus a large Boots and M&S just opposite MacDonalds off the main roundabout on the A30 as you enter the town. Only a 6 mile trip down the A30 from there and you have a Morrisons store and a B&Q.
Overlooking the superb beach we found the lovely Sunset Café which serves food all day until turned 7pm and gives you 20mins internet access for a pound. 

Previous     246 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth £457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12270 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1328