Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda1977 3 reviews from this member

On arrival at the site the facilities on this site appeared great - reasonably large toilet & shower block, play area & field for kids and a bar on site.

Like the reviewer before me though (maybe we visited on the same weekend?) I found the site to be very noisy late into the night due to large family groups who let their kids do what they wanted.

As our first day/night wore on it also became apparent that the toilets & showers weren't really adequate for the size of the site/number of campers and this was bourne out by the state of them the following morning.

I'd recommend the site to those with older kids (up to early teens?) but probably not to younger families. The play area is mainly climbing frames with nothing for smaller children.

Having said all that we did have a good weekend & would return to the area again.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craig278 5 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site and as the first visit we were satisfied again! the pitches are allocated which was good as there were 6 tents with our party and they went out of the way to put us all together

The pitches are quite level and the facilities are some of the best that we have seen! on site pub,very clean toilet/shower block, freezer for ice packs and a great childrens playpark with football field adjacent to it.

The site can get very full and is advisable to pre-book but is well worth it as everyone is very friendly and get on with each other.

It can be noisy with the children about,but in two stays have never had any noise after 11.

I keep thinking of any negative points about this site but hard as I try I can,t find any!

We visit a lot of campsites and have found this to be the best one ever and recommend it everyone and they always come back with the same views as us!

A VERY RECOMMENDED SITE!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linda R 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the bank holiday week, it was busy but this did not spoil the trip. Toilets, showers etc were kept clean and were more than adequate. Lots of washing up sinks. A good dog walk. The bar was a bonus but it NEVER got rowdy like other sites. Another plus point was the coffee machine at reception, it was great being able to get a brew when you first arrived or just before you left. Bakewell is a lovely little town and we can recommend the Fish and Chip shop and the chinese takeaway just near the police station. Don't go into the tea shops in Bakewell as they are a bit pricey. However, if you walk down into Ashford (village), it takes about 20 mins, there is a gorgeous little tea shop where we had a delicious cream scone and lovely cup of tea, they were really friendly and were very happy for us to bring our dog inside. We will be returning to this site

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Micknlesaldred 1 review from this member

Nice to see this year they've updated the toilet and shower areas. All very modern looking with more sinks, although showers are still a little on the small side. Cleaned regularly but other people can be such slobs before you ! Under cover washing facilities as well as freezer for us campers with no electric cooler so ice packs can be frozen again.

Safe playground area which is next to the pub bar, excellent for those with small ones. Pub also has entertainment on the main weekends in the season too !

Shop has all the items you forgot, when shut the staff will not hesitate to open up for you but in reception they keep the more ' needy items ' as well so not a problem either way. I know I needed gas when I needed to see in the evening and bread when I woke up for my bacon butty.

A relaxed atmosphere on the site, everybody very friendly, does sometimes go past eleven in the evening at the weekends but most of the campers respect others and keep it down.

There is only a short walk into Bakewell itself, this if you walk along the river is very picturesque. The town is busy at peak season but this adds to the atmosphere. Monsal head is only a few miles away, fantastic for the walkers amongst you.

We have returned to this site many times, our favorite by far !

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steadybreeze 4 reviews from this member

Great campsite but be warned !

Second year in a row we’ve visited, both times myself and two kids. Since last year the toilet block has been updated and portaloo / showers added (handy when the main block is being cleaned). The new showers are very small but seemed at least warm no matter how busy they got though you’re risking a ’cooler’ shower around 9-9. 30am.

Even at busy times there is no great wait for dishwashing, never used the Laundry room but it never seemed overly busy

The on site pub is a little cracker, a renovated barn with a well kept bar, plenty of guest & local beers though no food. Smoking allowed outside under Marquee cover it’s also next to the kids playground that my kids loved, it really is an idyllic spot.

Great location, a half an hour walk to Bakewell one way or slightly less to ‘Ashford on the Water’ the other.

The ‘Ashford Arms’ is as friendly as it gets, quality food and a nice old charm.

The staff are knowledgeable and friendly but BUSY !

Unfortunately I have one big reservation about the place and that’s the noise, I’m not too bothered usually having been to festivals etc but travelling with kids is different, a site that has a 11pm noise limit should really stick to it. Last year we had the family from hell next to us and after a quiet word with the staff the following morning they quietened down, no problem.

This year it wasn’t worth the hassle of complaining, it seemed to be the whole site (especially Friday night), luckily the kids got to sleep ok but I was awake till after 2am.

The owner needs to make a decision whether to keep it as a peaceful family site or go for the megabucks and open up to all especially at weekends, Two of the showers were wrecked during our stay probably by young groups they allow but the main noise is more likely to come from huge groups of adults & kids that seem to turn up towards the weekend.

It’s one of the best sites I’ve ever stayed on and it would be a real pity if it became a victim of it’s own success, I would love to 100% recommend it yet we’re looking to go elsewhere next year, either that or take the stereo & spotlights and join in the fun !

5/10 on the noisy nights, 9/10 on the quieter ones.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamjawz 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip with kids. Although we've been camping loads of times before children appeared. Our first impressions of the site were very good. There was plenty to see and do for our family.

We were impressed with the size of the site and the facilities on hand. Two toilet blocks with showers, pot washing, launderette, bar, well stocked shop, play ground (no swing mainly climbing frames), sports field with goal nets. Bakewell's pretty close if you fancy a good stroll.

There a plentiful supply of bricks for your BBQ and stand pipes are with easy reach.

We noticed that the site seems to attract rather large family groups 4-5 families with their own encampment. All well and good for fun for the nippers but when evening comes is becomes a very rowdy site of drunken adults and kids who don't want to go to bed. The band of merry revelers over the way from us carried on until 2am with the final ones in the next field quietening down at a mere 3.30am. I did go and ask for them to quieten down at 11ish but the hostile reception was not pleasant.

When I questioned the site rules of 11pm quiet time the reception said 'that's just the way it is, always a bit booze filled on the friday night.'

We're were glad to see the weather turn sour on Saturday night as the site volume was reasonable by 12.

I must echo the point made earlier that there's a minority of campers who don't seem to have any respect for anyone else and just abuse the great facilities on offer!

One positive to come from the site is the reception knows the area very well so if you looking for anything they're sure to know the best play place for the kids to the best pub for good food.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spencergang 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip as a family - 2 adults, boy (6), girl (8) and 5 month old puppy, so we chose a site fairly near to home, and used the reviews as a very helpful guideline. Our first impressions of the site were very favourable - pleasant staff, and wonderful views.
The pitch was perfectly adequate for our medium sized tent, and the neighbouring campers were a good mix of ages, with children ranging from babies to teenagers, and several visitors from other European countries.
There were a few dogs, and all of them were kept under control and on leads (as requested in the rules). The site was clean, and tidy, other than a stray piece of toilet paper that was unfortunately seized on and eaten by our pup! There are plenty of walks that can be done from the site, and 2 excellent pubs in Ashford for food and proper beer.
The children thought the play area was great, and we enjoyed sitting in the outside bar area with a pint of local brew. Most of the families started to go to bed around 9.45, and the majority of children seemed to be asleep by 10, with only a few people still chatting until 11 (some slightly later than this).
There was some noise from the nearby road, and from aeroplanes overhead, and this may disturb light sleepers. As usual, our children were up by 6.00, and we had all showered by 6.30. The showers were fine, perfectly warm and clean, although my daughter was not happy about having to repeatedly press the button to keep the water flowing. At this early time, there was no rush, and no queues, and it was still quiet at 7.00 which seemed to be when other people started to get up and move about.
We would certainly visit this campsite again, as it is family / dog friendly, with good facilities, and is very well situated.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chapelcottage 3 reviews from this member

Toilet block nice and clean. Playground is under the trees and had become abit green from the wet - which the kids came back covered in! Seem to pack them in quite tightly, and there was a large field full of tents when we arrived. A bit too busy for us, but nice location with fabulous views.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sallybtravels 11 reviews from this member

The campsite is well laid out but obviously relatively new as the trees marking the pitches are more like twigs. When the trees have grown each pitch will be both sheltered and secluded.
Owners were friendly and helpful. The only downside was lack of showers / toilets but the few they did have were spotless.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Nice site in a great position. Lovely views and only a short walk into Bakewell town, although the best route is a footpath along the main A6 which is a really busy road. Pitches weren't massive but big enough for our motorhome. The first pitch we were put on had overhanging trees that contstantly banged on the roof in the wind so we asked if we could move to a different pitch. This was no trouble at all and we ended up on pitch 2 which we feel was the best pitch on the site.
Close to the toilet block which was very busy in the mornings. Plenty of toilets. Only 4 sinks and 3 showers though (in the ladies) which were the smallest cubicles ever! Powerful showers - but it would be nice if other campers looked after them and at least attempted to keep them clean - certainly NOT the owners fault. Under-cover washing up area, which was great in the rain! Shop was only open for a few hours each morning (for ordered papers and essentials) and again for a few hours in the evening. Not much in there and overpriced in our opinion, but maybe that's how it is 'out of season'?
The bar was brilliant though. Nice cosy indoor area (no dogs) and gazebos for outside cover. Nice choice of beers (not much choice of cider) and not overpriced. The little village of Ashford in the Water (about 1/2 mile walk from the site) is worth a visit and a wander around. Bakewell gets very busy on Mondays as it's market Day. The Wheatsheaf (right next to the market) is a great pub that does traditional pub grub, prices were OK (coffee wasn't up to much though!) and they allow dogs in certain areas.
From Bakewell you can walk the Monsal Trail (it's about 4 miles to Monsal Head). You pick up the trail out of town at the old railway station and then it's a flat walk most of the way along the disused railway line. Great views over Monsal Dale and the viaduct once you reach Monsal Head. Well worth the walk. There's a hotel, pub/bar, tearoom and ice cream van up there too! The walk back to Ashford in the Water is along a 'b' road with no footpath and can be a bit dicey in places - care needed!
All in all a nice site, looked after well by the friendly owners - it's just a pity that some campers don't seem to have any respect for anyone else and just abuse the great facilities on offer!

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6632 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019