Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmanealy 2 reviews from this member

 Spent my first family camping trip here and would recommend highly for location and setting. We were right on the lake with a Short walk into Pooley Bridge. Never had a pitch assigned so we were able to pitch all of our tents in circle (5 families) cowboy style. All the kids loved it because of the weather we swam in the lake twice a day and THIS WAS FANTASTIC! Some of our group said it was a tad expensive 36 for two nights 2 adult and 2 kids but I have nothing to compare it to so I don't know. Also they said the toilets / showers were OK but not great. Nice family Field and terrific location made up for anything. Would go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DizzyDi 1 review from this member

 Whitsun BH weekend.

We went to Waterside farm at Ullswater at the weekend what a fab site (no EHU) but we pitched our tent about 50ft from the lake an absolutely amazing view when you wake up in the morning! The kids thoroughly enjoyed it, very safe there was a kiddies park, a tree swing over the lake, the showers and toilets were spotless and you could also hire canoes, boats etc.

On Sunday night we went down to the beach with a picnic and lit a campfire, we were there until about 11.30pm toasting marshmallows, a few cans it was very romantic and the kids also loved it, they were out on the lake with their wetsuits on. I must say this was an absolutely brilliant find and I would recommend it to anyone.

The site wasn't cramped just nice, kids all playing together we didn't want to come home, never mind my advice is if you want a site at Ullswater and aren't bothered about EHU go here it's absolute fab! 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Krd1 1 review from this member

 This is a very large site consisting of three large fields, one of which is two thirds hill. The toilet facilities were adequate but a long way from the furthest two fields. There were only four male and four female showers and a good deal of time was spent queing for a warm to cold shower. Whilst we were there they held a Barn Dance which went on until 12.30am. Fortunately we were in the furthest field, however the noise, coupled to the returning drunken revellers made it impossible to sleep until 2.00am. There appeared to be no policing of the event and this was not the kind of thing I wanted my children exposed to. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Tallulah_bb 3 reviews from this member

 Just visited this campsite for one night and have mixed feelings about it. It is in a lovely location and is right on the waters edge, which is fantastic. There were flat areas available across the three fields although most of one field is taken up by a hill. We ended up at the bottom of the hill because we wanted to be fairly near to the toilets and showers. The facilities were clean although there was no toilet roll in the ladies toilet from about eight o'clock in the evening till the following morning. There weren't nearly enough showers, (only 4 for 3 fields worth of women,) and the shop opened at funny times. I would suggest a visit to the shop at Park Foot as it is well stocked and opens for longer.

This campsite is a working farm which does add to the atmosphere of camping. The lakeside walk into Pooley Bridge is lovely and it only takes about 15 mins. I enjoyed staying at this campsite and we are returning in a couple of weeks for a longer stay. I would definitely recommend this campsite over the larger campsite on the same road even though it takes a little bit longer to walk in to Pooley Bridge. 


Reviewer: Csg65 1 review from this member

 July 2005
went on a weekend and not to pleased with the amount of noise and drunken behavior going on until what seemed like the next morning. Meant to be a family and couples only site. A large site and I'd recommend pitching in the first field near the reception as it seemed a lot quiter after 10 pm. Shop well stocked and owners seemed friendly. A nice walk into Pooley Bridge on an evening with a choice of 3 pubs. Could do with more showers to accomodate the amount of people.  

Advertisement

Reviewer: Ron gates 4 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Arrived on Friday afternoon to an almost empty site and found a perfect pitch with a view of the mountains at the southern end of the lake, we were not alone for long tho and the camp quickly filled up. On sunday the camp emptied just as fast and we had a very peacefull week. As regards the facilities, yes at busy times they could use more, I also understand that there was a problem with the water pressure due to overuse by Parkfoot campsite down the road. This stopped the toilet cisterns from filling up fast enough to cope , this is being sorted,( we always take our porta potti with us, available at any car boot sale for about a tenner) 


Reviewer: Legless 1 review from this member

 May 2005
I have to say we were very disappointed with this site. The fee was quite steep and we expected better.

The fields were tidy and had a lot of level areas and the location was great, close to good pubs and local shops with fantastic views of the lake. However, it was let down by the facilities.

There were 6 toilets for the ladies but they were frequently blocked and the smell made the whole block very unpleasant. 4 showers for 3 fields worth of lady campers meant there were long queues, but they were hot and free.

The washing up area was unlit and the bins were overflowing, there was no water in the top field.
 


Reviewer: Teepee 4 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We stayed Whitsun bank hol, 2 adults, 3 children, 1 tent and 1 car. We paid 23.50 per night and just couldnt help feeling ripped off. The site was absolutely crammed full, we went out to find a tent pitched in our car space when we returned, tents in front of each other and very close to the road.

There are only 4 female and 4 male showers for the whole of the site, needless to say there were queues to use them. Children's play area is close to the busy road where cars enter and leave the site and we didnt feel it was ok to let our children age 7, 4 and 4 play there alone. If the shower and toilet facilities were improved, this would be a lovely campsite as it would be possible at quieter times to pitch near the water with a lovely view. Please, please move the play area and definitely improve those showers! 


Reviewer: Ronnierhino2000 9 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Just spent one night here

Lovely site. Facilities were good plenty of toilets, 4 showers that were free and lots of hot water. shop with plenty of stock. Lovely walk to the nearby village by the waterside where plenty of pubs can be found. The wind is quite strong coming off the water but not problem. Very large site.

Just remember it is a working farm so the cows may wake you up in the morning. Will go back there again as everything that I needed in a camp site was available. A very relaxing place to be and if you are into watersports, a great place for getting onto the water. 


Reviewer: Worththemost 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
This is an excellent site for families, the shop is brilliantly handy for morning supplies and the food van is a real credit to the site. The footpath to Pooley bridge is fantastic, you must take a trip on the Ullswater steamer and hire boats.
The toilet facillities are top notch and all staff friendly. If you are looking to enjoy the beautiful lake district from a well run site this is it. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1531 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement