Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waterlogged 1 review from this member

 Campsite is in a lovely location with nice walks from the site. Due to lots of rain the field we stayed in was waterlogged and did not have a proper road all the way round which made every trip out in the car stressful in case the car got stuck. The site did not have marked out pitches, I think it would have been better if it did.

The toilet block in the far field where we stayed is a portaloo which was smelly at times, it also had a very muddy area outside it which the owner did nothing about until the bank holiday weekend campers arrived at which point he covered it with wood chips. It would appear the weekend campers get preferential treatment. The main toilet block was a good walk away but was much better and clean.

During the week this was a reasonably quiet site, but like other reviews its not the site for a quiet weekend. Friday night we had people making noise until well into the early hours and some bright spark sounded an air horn at 1.00 am and again at 5.00 am and the site was noisy from that time. Thankfully we left on Saturday morning.

Showers were nice and hot but too few (only 4 ladies for the whole site) so be prepared to queue although they were always nice and hot. I didn't use the shop but it did have essentials.

Pooley bridge has plenty of pubs mainly for eating in and is the starting point for the 'steamers' around the lake. Its a good area for walks and attractions and central for other parts of the lake district. I would not return to the campsite as it was expensive for the facilities we got, and despite printing on the owners website and ticket issued on arrival 'complete quietness is required from 11.00pm' the owner did not appear to do anything to enforce this. Avoid weekends if you want a quiet visit. The lake district however is lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vik J 1 review from this member

 Campsite is in a lovely location. Lucky to get a pitch no more than 100ft from the waters edge. Fantastic to open up tent in the morning to the view over the lake.

Good shop for any little bits you may need. Freezers for ice packs and can hire bikes and canoes. Fast food van, good for breakfast on the last day when you've packed up the stove.

Had no problem with noise whilst we were there but as weekend came the campsite got very busy. Campsite kept clean, rubbish cleared away daily.

Toilets were kept clean and always had toilet paper! But there were not enough of them. Same with the showers. They were lovely and hot but only 4 female showers for the whole campsite (assume only 4 mens showers as well). I would make sure you get up early to avoid queuing for them.

Lovely walk along the waters edge to Pooley Bridge. Good selection of small shops and pubs. If you visit any pub go to The Sun, brilliant food and friendly service. Ferry in Pooley Bridge which takes you down the lake. Penrith only 15 mins drive. A nice small town with places to eat, a variety of shops and a large Morrisons.

Going back again this year and looking forward to going mountain biking in the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kasandjas 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay at this site with a prime pitch right on the lake with fantastic views across the lake. We found the site very clean and the showers were lovely and hot. We stayed during the week through to the Sunday and the first few days were fantastic we could not have wished for a better view or location with swans with signets and sheeps baaring in the background. The lake walk to Pooley is really lovely.

Unfortunately the site was very different over the weekend with extreamly loud music and lots of noise going on really late into the night. They say they do not except party groups but this is quite clearly not the case as there were some very large single sex parties that were clearly on a drinking mission.

If you want peace and quite go during the week as it really is super but if you are looking for a relaxing peaceful stay avoid the weekends. Although the weekend was a disappointment we really would recommend a stay during the week. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jcs5patter 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend at beginning of May.

The location is fantastic, the view over the Lake is great and there is a lovely walk in to Pooley Bridge.

We found the site very noisy and not particlarly clean.

Have stayed at much better sites in the Lake District. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blackrainbow 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from bank holiday weekend at Waterside campsite.

I cannot believe how noisy this campsite was - yes it was busy but there seemed to be no regard for some us that like to sleep at midnight! The campsite had notices all over saying no fires - but there were loads of them (maybe not on the ground) but definitely fires!

I can see that if you went to this campsite at quiet times it would be a really nice campsite - but 4 showers and one hairdyer is no where near enough for this site if it is full. The location is quite nice overlooking the lake and the walk into pooley bridge is really nice too. There is a small shop on site which seems to stock a little of everything. There are facilities to freeze ice blocks however we had come ice packs in there over night and they weren't even frozen - just a bit chilly!

Good Points - View from campsite, walk into village, toliets and showers kept clean 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peterthe painter 2 reviews from this member

 The best of the Lakes with the best campsite on it. The views alone are worth it. And you're right 'on the water', if you want to sail it or just look at it and the surrounding Fells. I've been going about 20 years, so I know. It Is a working farm, which is of great interest to kids for the animals, and it is a Family orientated site too. But there is plenty of room to avoid them if you want to, with quiet corners, LOTS of area to camp. A short mile walk takes you into Pooleybridge along the Lake shore, pubs and shops and the Ferry to all of the rest of the Lake. By the way, you can hire boats and canoes if you hav'nt got your own, bikes too. Small shop and a hot food kiosk supplies most needs if you need them, breakfast onwards ! The 'hosts' are nice working farmers, and will listen to you should you need to talk to them. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julester66 12 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is idyllic, being on the shores of the lake. The site wasn't very busy when we arrived so we were able to find a good, flat pitch with plenty of space. We were in the family field which is relatively close to the toilet block, however for those at the end of the site it would be a real trek to get to them. ** OWNERS NOTE: Portaloos are provided in the far field during busy times, on mains water and hot water Also, the toilet block was quite small and one morning we were unable to get in due to the queue of people They were however clean if you ignore the dead midges everywhere!

The site was generally reasonably quiet. Though there is a noise curfew from 11pm personally it doesn't bother me if people are up talking and laughing much later but it does bother me to be able to hear booming, thudding music from the other end of the field at 7.30am which was being played by one large group of families.

There is a nice walk along the lakeside into Pooley Bridge where there are a couple of stores and a shop selling camping supplies. There is also a Morrisons in Penrith which isabout a 15 minute drive away. The site also has a permanent food van selling breakfasts and chips and burgers etc

The Ullswater Steamer also leaves from Pooley Bridge, it goes to Howtown and then to Glenridding which takes about an hour and has breathtaking scenery all the way.

We really liked this campsite but I'm not sure I would be very keen to visit at peak times. I would also advise anyone going to this site to take a good midge repellent. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sportsboat-racing 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed at this site although it was 2 years ago, nothing changedover that time.lovely place to stay, and plenty to do.
Site was a bit muddy, but that didn't affect us. And the weather got out nice and sunny just as we left.
The only down side I could see was that as there are a lot of water sports going on people in and out of the showers with wet suits on, the shower floors were rather muddy which im sure most people will understand the problems getting dressed with mud on there feet. Showers were nice and hot.

The other problem was that it is still a working farm and the workers seem to have a habit of leaving tractors in the most awkward of places, ok if you have a tent, and the last day trying to
Squeeze past one I caught the side of my camper and damaged the back and side of it severely.(perhaps I should have tried to find the driver and ask him to move it)

I do think also that it is a bit pricey per night for what you get? But it is a nice site. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KwakaFB 6 reviews from this member

 A group of us stayed on this site on the way up to Scotland.
The site was busy with quite a few campers and fairly waterlogged in places after all the rain we've had.
I also found the site expensive compared to all the others on our trip, but this may be the going rate for sites in this area.
We were in the far field just down from the hilly bit and we had a toilet block close by which was quite good. However as there were only a few other toilets I'm not sure how they would cope when the site was full. Queueing for toilets in the morning is not my cup of tea!
As to the location although it rained almost constantly whilst we were there it was a stunning location with truly magnificent views. We also took the path by the side of the lake to one of the pubs in Pooley Bridge for a good bite to eat and a few pints. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluenoes 4 reviews from this member

 We spent a few days here from Friday until Sunday; me, the wife and 6 our month old Stan.

It was very quiet due to the weather of late, and we expected it to be very wet but we were not going to be put off.

Happy we did go as planned, the weather was okay considering the forecast!

The site is very easy to find off the M6, about 10 minutes away, and about 15 minutes away from Penrith.

Drainage on the site was excellent, you wouldn't have thought there had been any rain when we arrived.

There is a small shop on site, along with shower block, laundry and freezer for ice blocks

We pitched a little bit away from the waters edge as we wanted to avoid any midges and wind if it picked up like expected, waterside is a very large site, and we had the one field to our selves for the first night. So, we had plenty of toilets and showers available! Would be interested to find out if there are enough facilities when the site is full.

The showers are free, and are very good. The heat settings are not adjustable, so you may find they are a bit hot for kids. The power of the showers could knock you off you feet if you are expecting the usual dribble coming from the shower head! One tip: keep any clothes off the floor. The power of the shower will reach under the shower curtain and soak anything you think may be safe!


Will have to try another midge repellent as our Clear lite lamp and Avon skin so soft did not work this time!

We enjoyed our short stay and will go back hopefully when the summer arrives, and would recommend it to all. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


37223 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement