Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian Stevens 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed for one night at Odell`s camp site - we were not disappointed - Odell was lovely (despite not telling us that there was a  short cut to the Bush pub! )
Facilities were excellent, we used the 50p showers and had no complaints, the site was very clean & tidy.
 
It was very peaceful and lots of nice bushes dotted around. It was very relaxed and everyone was pleasant and chatty. We hope to go back there mid September - we are not looking elsewhere as Odells site met all our needs.
 
I am told Lavenham is the place to visit so we are going there for a cream tea as we will stay longer this time. The rest has been said by other very satisfied campers.
 
Trust me you will love it
 
 
PS - Check out the lovely tranquil water feature and plants by the showers - such a nice touch.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 46 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site. Shower and toilet blocks in good order. Hot water no problem.
Strictly the area without mains hook up is nearly level, you might need some leveling chocks. The non regimented nature of the site means that if you have no awning erected and go out for the day you take pot luck on the pitch when you return. The view from the outer field we used really is across arable fields, no hedge or fence between field and pitch.
You will need to get organised, before putting your £1.00 in the slot for a shower or you might find yourself with shampoo still in your hair.
We never did find the facility for freezing your ice packs and should have asked.
I would recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacko21 4 reviews from this member

 Upon arriving we were told we could choose a pitch, so chose one with electrical hookup and near the toilet block.  Just started to set up but unfortunately the owner came along to greet us and explained that pitch was already booked, but showed us other places and we quickly got set up, with him apologising profusely.   The site was spaced out nicely, not too busy and set in a very quiet area away from major roads. 
A lovely drive through the countryside to get there. Two sinks for dishes in a room with a fridge/freezer there also for use.  Great to refreeze ice blocks and storing fridge items whilse they froze. 
No childrens playarea, which wasnt a problem for our children, they played with other children and all shared eachothers games. 
Footballs and kites were allowed on site and no problems with tents being bashed.  We used the 50p showers which were not very warm, but not a problem, we were advised by other campers that the pound showers were also not very warm, but it was fine to clean up in.   It did seem that by the evening the toilet rolls had run out there (replenished in the mornings) so maybe an idea to take a loo roll incase of emergencies. 
Dogs are allowed on site.  There is the farm trail walk, we did it, but our young children did get a little bored and we cut back across the field.  But I would say ideal for dog walking.   Did not try to local pubs, but heard positive comments on them.  Bury St Edmunds is 5 miles away, only negative comment would be that the only supermarket we found is Bury is Waitrose and it was very expensive, we later found out there is a Tescos in other direction, we would suggest using that. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G Bates 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed here in April what a lovely site, the grass is well cut (almost manicured) the owner takes great pride in the site.
The toilets are portacabin type but are lovely and clean. Excellent showers which you pay for I would suggest using the single showers rather than the family room as you seem to get longer for your money.
The site is surrounded by fields and is really scenic, there is a farm walk signposted which is worth doing also a village shop a short walk across a footpath although the shop was up for sale whilst we were there. A very quiet and peaceful site, midway between Bury and Sudbury, we will be back next year. The owner is very helpful if you need anything just ask, also he was doing an offer of 7 nights for the price of 6, Worth asking! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hardencamper 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the site in pouring rain, and was greeted by the owner, who showed us where to pitch and gave us a sheet of A4 of places to visit and general site information.  Which was very useful as the rain showed no signs of stopping and it was handy to know exactly where everything was without having to search for it.
 
After 3 days of continuous rain day and night, I asked Mr. Truin where the nearest laundrette was to dry some of our clothes.  He very kindly offered to dry them for us, although we did decline as the clothes were also quite dirty. (but I thought it was very kind of him to offer).
 
Site facilities were kept clean and tidy considering the adverse weather conditions Mr. Truin managed to keep the showers and toilet areas very clean and tidy, although the ladies loos did keep running out of toilet paper, and we ended up taking our own each visit.  There were two blocks of showers, the 50p showers were the best, a good long shower in a wet room, and the use of a hairdryer.  The other block of showers were in a large porta-cabin and were £1.00 I did not use these.  However, these rooms had a toilet and sink in as well.  So were useful for toileting and teeth cleaning before bed.  Water taps were spaced very well and most pitches were fairly close to a nearby tap.  The chemical loo disposal point was inbetween the shower and toilet blocks which we felt was not very hygenic or private, the disposal point was also a bit like an open sewer with a big black lid which you removed and replaced when you have finished.  The only other criticism would be that the only place to put rubbish was by the entrance of the farm in a large blue industrial type wheelie bin which was overflowing, and there were two big white bags also overflowing with rubbish, I think the site needed extra rubbish collections per week.
 
The washing-up area was in a large hall, the fridge/freezer did not work but Mr. Truin let us freeze our blocks in a large chest freezer in one of the barns.
 
On our 4th day the sun came out and the rain actually stopped, the site took on a whole new lease of life, there was plenty of space for playing cricket, football, etc, for the children, and cycling around the site.  The views were wonderful.  The Brighthouse walk would also be good if it hadn't been raining so much.
 
Whilst staying at Brighthouse we visited:
Banham Zoo, which was excellent. 
The Anglo Saxon settlement - very good. 
The Museum of East Anglian Life - well worth the visit. 
Bury Bowl - very good with plenty of dry indoor activities for our children, two aged 13 and two aged 10.
There was also a continental market in Bury on Monday which was very interesting.
We had a meal at The Swan in Lawsall which was nice, however, the food at The Bush looked better.
 
By the end of our week I felt that the holiday had been very successful, considering the horrendous weather conditions.  I would consider staying at Brighthouse Farm again, and would hope for better weather!
 
I would recommend this site, as I feel the owner has worked very hard to make it a pleasant relaxing place, there is absolutely no traffic noise as you really are in the middle of nowhere.  However, local facilities include a Tesco Express shop which was very useful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tjarrett 5 reviews from this member

 Really nice site for the novice. Inexpensive and friendly. Good level ground, well kept. Toilets and showers are clean. Only drawback, in the middle of nowhere, with no on-site shop, so take lots of snacks for the kids. We will be visiting again later in the year. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Annf 2 reviews from this member

 We spent four days over the Easter break at this site.  We chose the site for the views which lived up to the website description of panoramic views over the Suffolk countryside. 
 
Although we were there over the Easter break there was always plenty of space to play ball games or for the visiting grandchildren to run around without getting in other campers way.
 
In the super-shower block there were four, each contained a shower, wash basin and wc, a shower here cost £1.  There were other showers for 50p.  There were plenty of showers and toilets all in good condition.
 
We spent a relaxing few days on the site or walking our dogs round the footpaths Odel, the campsite owner, had cleared and signposted.
 
A really good site particularly if you are looking for a quiet country break. 


Date of Visit: June 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cat1974 6 reviews from this member

 First time camping with our two kids and found this place to be perfect for our needs. We were the only tent there and there was only about 3 others caravans so we had total privacy. The best thing was the grass - perfectly kept. Showers/toilets are very clean. Very rural site so make sure you have everything you need. There were picnic benches which we ate our meals on. Had a lovely walk to the nearest pub through the farmers fields. We only stayed one night and will return in the future. Just a word of warning - a dog came galloping into our tent sniffing everything insight and was very excitable - jumping up at us etc. He popped our kids brand new ball and scared the living daylights out of them and me. I really didn't appreciate the fact that the owner of the dog just let it run amok through our tent trampling all over our bedding and he didn't give a hoot! The worst thing was that the dog actually belonged to the campsite owner himself! He really should have that dog under control and have some regard for peoples feelings. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silverweb 15 reviews from this member

 In a lovely spot, this campsite is very well laid out and unregimented.  The grass is kept mown and tidy and the planting of trees and bushes makes this a very attractive campsite with far-reaching views over the surrounding fields. The only downside I felt, were the showers - a bit hit and miss to say the least.  They were clean, but temperamental.  They are in portacabins - clean, tidy and well-presented - with a shower cubicle, loo and washbasin and an electric wall heater.  However, the temperature wasn't consistent - boiling hot and then cold. These cost £1.00.   The other showers, were set out as a wet room - two for men and two for women and cost 50p. However, when I tried to take a shower, whilst the other shower was in use - there was no water - only the merest trickle - like a dripping tap!  It would also be useful to have liquid soap in the loos as there is nothing to wash your hands with except water.
 
The nearest local shop isn't up to much at all, so dont rely on it. 
There is a large washing up room - as someone said, like your village hall, but with only one sink.  They could really do with adding a couple more.
 
There are some lovely walks as mentioned in previous reviews and the owner is friendly and helpful.  You have plenty to visit with Lavenham close by and other pretty Suffolk villages.  We enjoyed our stay, despite the rain - and would recommend the setting (dont be put off by the collection of tatty caravans as you drive to the camping field!) - just wish the showers were reliable.  


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deg3y 6 reviews from this member

 I first went to Brighthouse Farm in June 2006, stayed a week with my dogs & enjoyed the peace & quiet of the countryside. O'dell made me so welcome, nothing was too much trouble for him. The site is so clean, tidy and well laid out, with all the facilities needed for a pleasant stay, as soon as a pitch was vacated, out came O'dell on the grass cutter to clean the area up.

I liked it so much I returned for 9 days in October with a friend following me on 2 days later in her camper, she has decided to come back again.

As stated I have dogs, well the walks are well laid out including a 1.5 mile round trek private to Brighthouse Farm visitors.

I plan to go back again in 2007, once in June to see some of my mates & again later on in the year for a peaceful rest. I highly recommend this site. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57586 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement