Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blueplummy 2 reviews from this member

We have been camping for many years, and this is one of the best campsites we have been to. We stayed over the Bank Holiday, but the campsite was not crowded and the facilities were not overloaded. The family that run the site are really friendly and helpful. There are a number of different fields to pitch in, and one field with static caravans. The site is accessed by a barrier card system, for which you are asked to leave a £10 deposit, refunded when you leave.

The River Ribble runs along one side of the site and is lovely for paddles and swimming with the kids. Don't be tempted to try and drive over the stone bridge though, as we did, and nearly got stuck, as it is VERY narrow.

We had asked for an electric hook up and were allocated a pitch near to the playground and shower block. This meant that we could keep an eye on our two as they played, but did get a little noisy sometimes as kids ran around and people passed on the way to the showers/loos. The pitch was very level, although the rest of the field is on a hill, so you would need to choose you pitch carefully.

There is a fairly new shower block, built in 2003, which houses free hot showers (5 x men, 5 x ladies), ample toilets, washbasins and washbasin cubicles with curtains, launderette (with 2 washing machines, 2 tumble driers, hand-washing sink, and iron/board), free pot washing with 4 deep sinks . These were all spotlessly clean. The only time we saw any mess was after the grass had been cut on the site, and it had been walked into the block, but this was soon cleaned up so was not an issue. The block can only be accessed by use of a key which is issued when you arrive. I thought was a very good idea as it stopped kids from running around in them and making a mess.

The on site shop stocked the usual basic supplies and you could order a daily paper, but we tended to shop at Booths supermarket in Settle, which had some lovely fresh produce, and a playground near the car park to bribe the kids, who hated shopping!

During our stay we visited Settle, the beautiful Ribblehead Viaduct, Hawes for the Wenslydale Cheese Factory, White-scar Caves, Skipton, Malham Cove, etc. There is plenty to do in the area.

The only small blip in our stay was the noise made by a large family group that were on the site, who did not seem to think that the 10pm quiet curfew applied to them and insisted in playing football in the dark, until the site owners sorted things out, and restored the site to quiet again.

A thoroughly lovely site, surrounded by beautiful scenery, Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne harding 5 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site this was. We had a fabulous time we were only there for a few days,but we really enjoyed it. Toilets showers and wash up area was kept nice and clean. The staff here were very friendly.The shop was well stocked and NOT over priced.

The games room was well used the night we went in Big Brother had just started[1st night].was on the tv [not my cup of tea] so we had a game of pool and left.there was a couple of video games,a sweet machine and a football table.[pool was only 50p a game] There is a stream that if it had been warmer you can paddle in it or use a dingy with care[adult supervision required] A play park for the under 13s was well used. We will return to this park hopefully it will be a little warmer.

Settle has a market on a tuesday,the day we got there,but sadly by the time we had unpacked and decided to go it was packing up time, 70p an hour for parking,i thought this was cheap compared to york.

We went to Hawes for an afternoon about 40 minuets away,to visit the cheese factory,[not much cheese due to the fire they had recently].

On the way to hawes we stopped at Ribblehead viaduct.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cm1ab 1 review from this member

Loved it.

We found it easy to book at pretty short notice for a tent without electric hookup. We were in the top field near enough to the play area to hear when any of the 5 kids were crying but far enough away to have quality time alone.

The staff were helpful and the shop basic but had the gas, crisps, choc biscuits and the fishing nets we needed. Had a day up Pen y Ghent which was arduous and fun and a brilliant day just playing in the shallow beatiful river 100 yards from the tent.

People were friendly and the kids made friends easily and had games of footy, cricket, and rugby. things settled down soon after dark and sleep was quiet and ok.

Settle was lovely too - the Fisherman was nice chippy to eat in and the camp shop Crag and Cave had some extra equipment needed when we realised son No.1 had outgrown stuff.

As others have said the toilet / showers were spotless and the water sometimes fine and sometimes luke warm

All in all brill and we will go back.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fuddles 2 reviews from this member

Nothing to see her, do not go to this site, tis not true whats been said.

Well ok it is, its fab a truly magical place. Stayed there and my two Springys loved it, that was good enough for me.

Go there and relax but please make sure I've booked in first, I can't face the disapointment again !

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juney 14 reviews from this member

Once again a very pleasant stay at our favourite site.
The gents in reception were as helpful as usual. The site although busy was not cramped. The facilities, while tested, were always clean and available. I think the showers are new for this year too.
The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced for a camp site shop. Papers can be ordered and all the basics are there.
A walk to the nearby pub, picnic and paddling by the river, watching the kids enjoy themselves on the excellent park and the great scenery all made this weekend another great one at the site.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosalind 5 reviews from this member

Stayed over bank holiday weekend, friday till monday.
The site was fully booked, but it didn't seem cramped and there was loads of room to ptich. You could choose where to pitch yourself which was nice and at first we went to the top field but it is on a bit of a hill so we went for a look round and found it flat next to the playing field. The toilet block is only a short walk away from where ever you decide to pitch and it is one of the cleanest we have used, plenty of room in the toilets with wash basins with shower curtains. The showers are down a different door and they just seemed a bit small, there was only 5 for the ladies and 5 for the men. I found that when it was busy the hot water was just not hot enough it, it did wake you up, there is only one button to press and you can't change the temp, but they did the job.
The views are beautiful and the river adds some fun, we followed the river into settle one day, a good 2 mile walk, but well worth it.
The only down side was there we a few campers who didn;t take notice of the 10 oclock rule and where a bit noisey late into the night, but you always get some that are like that who like you to listen to their taste in music!
 
All in all a great site for all, but book early!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goodings 2 reviews from this member

Just came back from a long weekend and must say it is one of the best sites we have visited.Facilities where spotless from the showers to the indoor dish washing area. Kids loved the park and the games room which has sky t.v. There is a stream where you can paddle or fish and even watch scuba divers who where there at the time. We walked along the river for about 2 miles into Settle where we popped into one of the pubs for a well deserved drink or two and a spot of lunch.

The site has a small shop in the reception area which is well equipped.

We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil+ruth 6 reviews from this member

This site has the cleanest toilet and shower facilities of any site we have been to, though water could have been hotter. The site was not overcrowded despite it being a bank holiday with plenty of room around the pitches.
 
The river Ribble runs through the campsite and the kids really enjoyed it. They went swimming and paddling and the field running up to the river is great for sitting having a picnic or lazing in the sun. You can walk along the river and enjoy the wild primroses, wild garlic, waterfalls and deep pools in the river.
 
Settle is only 5 minutes drive away and has a good range of tea shops, pubs, chippies plus a Chinese take away and Indian restaurant.
 
Pitches we had were level and well drained, staff were friendly and helpful. The sites shop has the basics but can nip to the co-op or Spar in Settle. Not to much noise at night even though site was full, but 10pm curfew was not really enforced as far as we could see. 

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firruk 18 reviews from this member

Fantastic setting in the Dales. I went midweek so the site was virtually empty and it was so nice to be able to choose your own pitch.
Toilet block and showers are absolutely immaculate albeit a bit of a hike from the touring area, site itself was very well kept.
 
Take great care to follow the directions, the site is up Stackhouse Lane, you cannot access it from Stainforth itself. The approach road is quite narrow in places so not one for the fainthearted if you have a big van or unit although some had made it.
 
Site is in a valley so TV and mobile phone reception is poor to non existent unless you have a good aerial set up. The site does however have a WI-Fi connection for the internet.
 
Nearest pub (and food), is The Craven Heffer in Stainforth which is only about 10 minutes walk up a fairly steep hill, or if you want to drive there is lots of choice in Settle.
WIll definitely use again.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave+Angela 7 reviews from this member

Knight Stainforth Hall  was recommended to us towards the end of the 2006 season to us by some caravanning friends of ours , and became our first outing of the 2007 season .
 
Well , what can we say , you know when you drive into a campsite for the first time , and it just has that WOW factor about it that you find hard to put into words , well this campsite did that for us . Quite easy to reach ,but the surrounding area so very picturesque that you feel a million miles away from the rat race.
 
A good on-site shop with long opening hours , and we were told on arrival , that if ,say we ran out of gas for instance ,we could press the buzzer up to 10pm , for assistance . 
 
The shop/reception ,proudly displayed it's ukcampsite.co.uk sticker too we noticed
 
Upon checking in we were also given a good welcome guide booklet , full of things to do and places to eat / shop in the area
 
Nice friendly owners and nothing seemed to be much trouble .
 
A £10 refundable deposit is required , for a swipe card for the barrier into the site and also a key for the facilities block .
 
The facilities block , modern and always immaculately clean , and comprised of , Toilets / washbasins ,  Showers , Baby changing facilities , Pot washing and Laundry room
 
A good children's play area with swings, slide, see-saw and climbing stuff , and the area had that special flooring , that is soft and spongy underfoot
 
The site has a rule about space between pitches , so you'll never feel like your being packed in like sardines , and also has a no noise rule after 10.30pm , ( the kind of rules we like )
 
We found a nice pub , just a gentle stroll away , over the old stone bridge across the river at the bottom of the campsite ,called the Craven Heifer ,in the village of Stainforfth .
 
All in all , Knight Stainforth Hall campsite is Superb , and has become one of our favourite ones so far , cannot wait to go back  . SOON !

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3435 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019