Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbrian camper 6 reviews from this member

Living in Cumbria we tend shy away from camping on our doorstep, after visiting this site over the latest bank holiday we decided that we don't know what we've been missing. This is a beautiful site in a glorious setting. The toilet blocks are clean and modern although three showers means a bit of patience is required. The site was full yet at 11pm you could have heard a pin drop. The kids thought it was fantastic spending hours playing in the woods, making swords out of sticks (who needs a game boy). The two nearby pubs are 5 mins walk away and do decent food. There is loads to do, within half an hours drive of the site there's Muncaster castle which we spent all day at. We have to say that the weather was great which can make all the difference but be warned due to the nearby peaks the sun goes down about two hours earlier than other sites in the valley.

All in all a brilliant site, nice staff, clean and only half an hour from home. Cumbria here we come!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ftams 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site found no probs, friendly helpful staff huge pitch sizes excellent toilet facilities. Friendly villagers brill pubs that allow dogs and serve food. Excellnet walking base. Splendid views and wildlife. Going back in june /july this year and again in August

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

Fantastic Site. Toilet block, showers and Laundry area were spotlessly clean, and the family/disabled room was a brilliant addition to the site, especially if you have young children. The site owners could not do enough for you and were very helpful, even opening the shop if you needed something out of hours. Prices in the shop were reasonable too. The site has a great kids play area with a big trampoline in it for the kids to bounce on. Where we were pitched we couldnt have the car next to us, but it really didnt matter. The field was great for our little one to run about in without any impending danger around.
My only gripe isnt with the site. The site is the best ive stayed in. The Local tourist attractions seemed to be very overpriced - especially to families. In particular I felt that the 'all day' ticket on the Lal Ratty railway was far too expensive at 26 for a family, plus 2 for parking your car at the station and really there isnt a lot to do along the route for the kids to enjoy. Also at the end of each route, the cafe's are rather expensive if you are a family on a budget. Better to take a picnic! The other thing to look out for is the Hardknott pass. Dont even attempt it if you are not 100% confident in your vehicle. I got to the top and didnt know that there was a lot more to come - The hill back down was scary to say the least, and then another very steep hill up the way. These hills are clutch killers be aware. A
ll I can say is visit the Eskdale site, as its the real lake district, and its lovely to open your tent door in the morning and see that scenery. Theres a lot of great walking to be had and also a lot of beautiful villages around the area too.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dambuilder 1 review from this member

Well first visit (Fri 25th & Sat 26th April) to this site and what can I say but WOW even if the weather was not that good!

Martyn was great and very helpful, site in beautiful quiet surroundings with many walks on the doorstep, a well stocked shop and the facilities spotlessly clean at all times.

We cooked for ourselves on arrival Friday but as the weather was lousy after our walk on Saturday instead of a BBQ we went down to the Boot Inn. The staff here were very nice, the food was really good (basic selection for kids but enough) and the choice of real ale (7 I think but only tried 5 hiccup!) was unexpected.

We liked the site that much that we have booked for 2 more short breaks (in 4 weeks and then again 3 weeks after that) and are considering a week in August.

Anyway in conclusion I would recommend this site to anyone and probably will.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Retiredtranmere 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable 4 nights at the Eskdale (Hollins Farm) site. The weather for the first two nights was absolutely awful, blowing a gale both nights, with trees being blown over and tents blowing away, but we stuck it out and the weather did improve.

The site is great. Wonderful views, very peaceful, toilets and showers spotless.

Two pubs within walking distance.

The Brookhouse, real ales nice food.

The Boot inn, real ales, didn't manage to try the food as it was always packed, but the menu looked good.

The Woolpack, real ales again but the restaurant we found quite strange they have this policy of only serving local produce and organic and they wont deviate from this no kids menu dont ask for mint sauce or mayo or you will get told in no uncertain terms that they dont provide it. It was also expensive and not much choice. Having said all that there was nothing wrong with the food.

The woolpack is a bit too far to walk from the site.

There are loads of walks without even having to drive away from the site. Although Scafell and Scafell Pike are probably just a bit too far to do direct from Boot presumably unless done during the summer.

We will definitely be returning here hopefully when the weather is a bit better.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susan and Ray 1 review from this member

Our first outinging in our folding camper could have been a disaster if we had gone to any other camp. Martyn and his team were fantasitc and helpful with novices like ray and I, the site was perfect for walkers and views breathtaking at the foot of the Hardnot pass. The facilities were very clean and plentiful and a well stocked shop.
Close to the miniture railway line to Ravensclass, local pubs good food, local brews, friendly locals. We recommend this site to anyone, families, walkers, couples, dogs are welcome too. A big thankyou to Martyn it was a pleasure meeting you.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linwolf 6 reviews from this member

First class facilities and well stocked shop. Very good food at the nearby Boot Inn, also nice trip on the minature railway to Ravenglass, the station at Dalegarth is within a short walk of the campsite.

The stunning area of Wastwater is a short drive away and is well worth a visit.

Can't find anything negative to say about this site or the location.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise39 2 reviews from this member

What can I say. This is the best site I have ever visited. And we have been doing this for 20 years plus. The location for one well gods garden I would say well thats what I would imagine it to be like. The showers/toilet block is so imaculate at all times.And attention to detail fantastic. Ie fresh flowers placed in there each day.There as been no expence spared or corners cut any were. This young couple work so hard and it shows in what they have both achieved. Nothing is two much trouble for them no matter what time day or evening. The laundry is very good a washer /dryer/and a little spin dryer you dont often see them these days. But they are great to just do a bit off hand washing and spin for 20p its great. Nice big hand washing sink.Water is piping hot all the time. There are 2 rotery washing lines for you to peg out your clothes. This is a nice toach your not forced to use the dryer. The dish wasing area inside and out but the out is still under cover it gleams at all times spotless. This couples attention to detail is fantastic.They have thought off everything there is kithchen roll dispencer .In dish washing area clean white dish clothes at all times. The elson point for waste is state off the art. And I've never seen one look so good and smell so clean. Shop well stocked for all your needs. All areas off the site are well maintaned.Its a little retreat to recharge your batteries. The only down side is you never want to leave. Walks from the site are breath taking and the views. I just cant find one single negative thing to say it is spot on .And this young couple with young family deserve to do well. And they care about campers.It shows in every aspect off what they have achieved on the site.Well done is all I can say and thankyou for providing and enviroment that as made us feel relaxed and rested. Not easy when you are full time shift workers

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachelina 5 reviews from this member

2nd time for us this year, fantastic site and discovered the Boot Inn just down the road, highly recommended for good food, playground for kids and good beer

Kids love dabbling in the stream, lovely quiet, clean, friendly site, free showers and hairdryer!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachelina 5 reviews from this member

My first time camping ever and what a site!, stunning surroundings, quiet peaceful location, well stocked shop, lovely showers/toilet block, what more could you ask for? will definitely return even if it is a pain going over the Hardknott Pass (takes an hour to do 10 miles!)

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2421 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0977