Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Eskdale Campsite Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scarymamma 5 reviews from this member

Eskdale campsite is in the Eskdale valley in the western lake district. It’s location is stunning and the site is flat, with the fells on one side and the village of Boot (a small collection of cottages, 2 nice pubs and a shop) on the other. There is a small stream running down one side of the site (great for the kids to paddle in) and a children’s activity/play area (there are plans to enlarge this from talking to the owners). The site has a ‘small’ feel to it, which we liked as it felt safer for the children. We were there on an extremely busy May half term/BH and it didn’t feel crowded at all.

The site facilities are EXCELLENT. The newly done facilities block houses a well stocked shop (camping essentials, fresh and frozen food, beers and wine(chilled if needed!)) and reception, mens and ladies toilets/showers, a family bathroom, laundry, and 2 wash up areas (one inside and one out). The facilities are superb – lovely clean white walls, slate floors, hi spec showers and fresh flowers. Great efforts are made to ensure that these were kept clean. There were queues in the morning for the showers – but we showered straight after our walk (mid-late afternoon) and never had to wait. Apparently there is an issue with water pressure affecting the showers but to be honest we had no complaints – the showers were better than many expensive hotels we’ve stayed at – the temperature stayed constant, but the pressure just dropped slightly occasionally. The owners are aware and getting it sorted soon.

There is fantastic walking in this area (Scafell Pike is a days walk from the site) and the site is just off the road to Hardknott Pass. The Ravenglass and Eskdale narrow gauge railway is 300m down the road towards Boot. You can get a return ticket to Ravenglass (on the coast), spend an hour or so exploring/walking in Ravenglass then catch the train back to Boot (Dalegarth station). The trip is about 40 mins one way and is a fun way of spending a drizzly Lakeland day. The Boot Inn (good food, real ales and beer garden with children’s play area) is a 5 minute stroll across a field.

NB – watch out for ticks, especially with kids and dogs who may go through long grass. Our dog came home with two ‘passengers’. Also, the site has two inches of top soil and then you hit stones - so pegging out took quite some time (and a bit of swearing!)

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

This is a great site in an accessible, yet one of the remotest parts of the lake district. Situated at the foot of Hardknott Pass, this site is a gem.

The site is spread over 2 paddocks. All the pitches are level and grassy but the soil is shallow so I recommend rock pegs or delta pegs - the default pegs will bend.

The facilities are excellent. The shop is very well stocked for such a remote site and the staff are friendly and helpful. I will visit this site again.

The pubs have already been mentioned - nothing more to add. If you are an angler, Burnmoor Tarn is a 3 mile hike (no road access) and offers free trout fishing. I caught nothing but the sun, though I could see loads of the little blighters!

If you want to get away from it all this site is perfect - no mobile phone signal [:)]

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbrian camper 6 reviews from this member

Living in Cumbria we tend shy away from camping on our doorstep, after visiting this site over the latest bank holiday we decided that we don't know what we've been missing. This is a beautiful site in a glorious setting. The toilet blocks are clean and modern although three showers means a bit of patience is required. The site was full yet at 11pm you could have heard a pin drop. The kids thought it was fantastic spending hours playing in the woods, making swords out of sticks (who needs a game boy). The two nearby pubs are 5 mins walk away and do decent food. There is loads to do, within half an hours drive of the site there's Muncaster castle which we spent all day at. We have to say that the weather was great which can make all the difference but be warned due to the nearby peaks the sun goes down about two hours earlier than other sites in the valley.

All in all a brilliant site, nice staff, clean and only half an hour from home. Cumbria here we come!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ftams 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site found no probs, friendly helpful staff huge pitch sizes excellent toilet facilities. Friendly villagers brill pubs that allow dogs and serve food. Excellnet walking base. Splendid views and wildlife. Going back in june /july this year and again in August

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

Fantastic Site. Toilet block, showers and Laundry area were spotlessly clean, and the family/disabled room was a brilliant addition to the site, especially if you have young children. The site owners could not do enough for you and were very helpful, even opening the shop if you needed something out of hours. Prices in the shop were reasonable too. The site has a great kids play area with a big trampoline in it for the kids to bounce on. Where we were pitched we couldnt have the car next to us, but it really didnt matter. The field was great for our little one to run about in without any impending danger around.
My only gripe isnt with the site. The site is the best ive stayed in. The Local tourist attractions seemed to be very overpriced - especially to families. In particular I felt that the 'all day' ticket on the Lal Ratty railway was far too expensive at £26 for a family, plus £2 for parking your car at the station and really there isnt a lot to do along the route for the kids to enjoy. Also at the end of each route, the cafe's are rather expensive if you are a family on a budget. Better to take a picnic! The other thing to look out for is the Hardknott pass. Dont even attempt it if you are not 100% confident in your vehicle. I got to the top and didnt know that there was a lot more to come - The hill back down was scary to say the least, and then another very steep hill up the way. These hills are clutch killers be aware. A
ll I can say is visit the Eskdale site, as its the real lake district, and its lovely to open your tent door in the morning and see that scenery. Theres a lot of great walking to be had and also a lot of beautiful villages around the area too.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dambuilder 1 review from this member

Well first visit (Fri 25th & Sat 26th April) to this site and what can I say but WOW even if the weather was not that good!

Martyn was great and very helpful, site in beautiful quiet surroundings with many walks on the doorstep, a well stocked shop and the facilities spotlessly clean at all times.

We cooked for ourselves on arrival Friday but as the weather was lousy after our walk on Saturday instead of a BBQ we went down to the Boot Inn. The staff here were very nice, the food was really good (basic selection for kids but enough) and the choice of real ale (7 I think but only tried 5 hiccup!) was unexpected.

We liked the site that much that we have booked for 2 more short breaks (in 4 weeks and then again 3 weeks after that) and are considering a week in August.

Anyway in conclusion I would recommend this site to anyone and probably will.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Retiredtranmere 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable 4 nights at the Eskdale (Hollins Farm) site. The weather for the first two nights was absolutely awful, blowing a gale both nights, with trees being blown over and tents blowing away, but we stuck it out and the weather did improve.

The site is great. Wonderful views, very peaceful, toilets and showers spotless.

Two pubs within walking distance.

The Brookhouse, real ales nice food.

The Boot inn, real ales, didn't manage to try the food as it was always packed, but the menu looked good.

The Woolpack, real ales again but the restaurant we found quite strange they have this policy of only serving local produce and organic and they wont deviate from this no kids menu dont ask for mint sauce or mayo or you will get told in no uncertain terms that they dont provide it. It was also expensive and not much choice. Having said all that there was nothing wrong with the food.

The woolpack is a bit too far to walk from the site.

There are loads of walks without even having to drive away from the site. Although Scafell and Scafell Pike are probably just a bit too far to do direct from Boot presumably unless done during the summer.

We will definitely be returning here hopefully when the weather is a bit better.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susan and Ray 1 review from this member

Our first outinging in our folding camper could have been a disaster if we had gone to any other camp. Martyn and his team were fantasitc and helpful with novices like ray and I, the site was perfect for walkers and views breathtaking at the foot of the Hardnot pass. The facilities were very clean and plentiful and a well stocked shop.
Close to the miniture railway line to Ravensclass, local pubs good food, local brews, friendly locals. We recommend this site to anyone, families, walkers, couples, dogs are welcome too. A big thankyou to Martyn it was a pleasure meeting you.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linwolf 6 reviews from this member

First class facilities and well stocked shop. Very good food at the nearby Boot Inn, also nice trip on the minature railway to Ravenglass, the station at Dalegarth is within a short walk of the campsite.

The stunning area of Wastwater is a short drive away and is well worth a visit.

Can't find anything negative to say about this site or the location.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise39 2 reviews from this member

What can I say. This is the best site I have ever visited. And we have been doing this for 20 years plus. The location for one well gods garden I would say well thats what I would imagine it to be like. The showers/toilet block is so imaculate at all times.And attention to detail fantastic. Ie fresh flowers placed in there each day.There as been no expence spared or corners cut any were. This young couple work so hard and it shows in what they have both achieved. Nothing is two much trouble for them no matter what time day or evening. The laundry is very good a washer /dryer/and a little spin dryer you dont often see them these days. But they are great to just do a bit off hand washing and spin for 20p its great. Nice big hand washing sink.Water is piping hot all the time. There are 2 rotery washing lines for you to peg out your clothes. This is a nice toach your not forced to use the dryer. The dish wasing area inside and out but the out is still under cover it gleams at all times spotless. This couples attention to detail is fantastic.They have thought off everything there is kithchen roll dispencer .In dish washing area clean white dish clothes at all times. The elson point for waste is state off the art. And I've never seen one look so good and smell so clean. Shop well stocked for all your needs. All areas off the site are well maintaned.Its a little retreat to recharge your batteries. The only down side is you never want to leave. Walks from the site are breath taking and the views. I just cant find one single negative thing to say it is spot on .And this young couple with young family deserve to do well. And they care about campers.It shows in every aspect off what they have achieved on the site.Well done is all I can say and thankyou for providing and enviroment that as made us feel relaxed and rested. Not easy when you are full time shift workers

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019