Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Futabadirk 4 reviews from this member

Tent with EHU

Just returned from Crows Next yesterday, park is well maintained, club house small for size of park. The shower blocks are old,and not very clean, shower was very small and hard work to get changed in it. The electric hook ups are right besides the kiddy park so can be a little noisy, but that didn't worry us because we had kids. The ground was very stoney so take good pegs with you, also can get windy, as its high up on top of cliff top

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robdpg 1 review from this member

Have been to this site many times over the years and after reading some reviews thought I needed to comment.

The tent area has basic facilities, shower/toilet blocks could do with upgrading. No soap and hand dryers are usually cold. These are my only poor comments

On the plus side. The tent field has a fantastic view of the bay, what a sight to wake up to each morning.

The site is ideal for visiting other resorts, Bridlington to one side and Scarborough to the other.

The on site entertainment has always been first class. We enjoy live music and have never seen a poor band here at all. Ok it may be quite late to finish some nights but if I wanted a quiet and tranquil site I would go elsewhere, there are plenty to chose from.

The onsite shop is as good as any other campsite I have visited and the fish and chip shop is fine for a night off from cooking.

Sunday mornings there is a large market and car boot just off site which is very good

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisiley 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site over Easter weekend, and when we arrived on the Thursday, we were very impressed. We pitched our tent next to the park, which is extremely well equipped. On the Friday, a LOT more people started to arrive, and I have to say we started to feel a little hemmed in, and the park became so busy with kids kicking footballs around and riding bikes, that I did not feel comfortable letting my kids play there. The noise continued late into the night, which is not great when you have a four and two year old. I am all for people staying up and having a laugh and a drink, but shouting and screaming into the early hours is just disrespectful.

Having said all that. (and sounding like all I do is moan!) the people who ran the site seemed very friendly, and we had a drink in the bar one afternoon, and that was nice enough. We had a visit to the swimming pool which is good value, and extremely well kept. Unfortunately the same could not be said of the showers. I don't know if it was just due to the number of guests on the site, or if they were always the same, but they never seemed to be terribly clean.

This site is well positioned though. The view of the bay is lovely, and the town of filey is well worth a visit. Also the pub down the road opposite the garage has a great indoor play area - which was perfect when the weather was not so great (and they showed the football which kept the husband happy).

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarinkov 5 reviews from this member

Visited for Easter weekend. Weather was a bit poor but it didn't deter.

Toilet block could have been heated and generally cleaner although the toilet which kept on blocking was regularly dealt with. Could have done with an extra hand dryer or some paper towels. Shower was great until someone got in the next one then the water went cold. Generally in need of an update.

Pot washing shed very basic and almost cold water for washing.

Bins emptied regularly and site was clean of rubbish.

Kids play area was great, very well maintained and was secure enough to let kids play alone.

Stunning views from the top end of the park, could have camped there but too far to walk to the loo for us.

Great surrounding area - loads to do.

Shop was well stocked, could just have opened a bit earlier than 8.30.

Overall a good visit, will go again.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tat506 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site 2 years ago when we first got our folding camper only stayed for two nights, so we thought we would go back for a second visit.

We booked for 3 night stay but left early due to bad weather, the kids play area is ok, the toilet block could do with some soap, another hand dryer or paper towels.

We only used the washing up hut once, it had just 3 sinks no hot water and the sinks were very dirty, had to take out left over food and clean them before use, decided not to use them again.

The site has a cliff top walk which is over the other side of the tent field without electric hook up has some very nice views.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daz3223 7 reviews from this member

The name of this site gives it away somewhat as it mostly caters for caravans. I read the previous reviews from last year with interest but felt I needed to make comment.

Yes the tent pitching is informal but the facilities near the field leave a lot to be desired. The pot washing hut, for that is what it is, has three sinks with only luke warm water, the toilet block for the tenters has no heating but the block nearest the caravans is fully heated. There are several wash basins but only one hand blower and no paper towels and some of the toilet stalls are that old they have no locks left on the doors.

The on site pub serves soapy tasting drinks which, apparently, was caused by too much dishwasher solvent when cleaning the glasses and, when we were there, no access for dogs.

This is a no frills site but has great views and good walking around it but won't be returning any time soon.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craigsville 2 reviews from this member

Just spent the Easter weekend at this campsite and feel that I must leave my comments on this site, as I rely heavily on reviews left by people when looking for a site.

We stayed right on the top over looking the sea, it was a bit windy however lovely views. The site got extremely busy as it was Easter and where we were it got rather packed. As we had our two dogs with us we did not use any of the on site facilities. The site had easy access to Filey, Bridlington and Scarborough and there was plenty to do and see around and about.

On a down side, there is no toilet block on the actual camping field and it is a good trek down hill on the way there to get to the block. There are only 7 toilets in the ladies and were not that clean and on a number of occasions there was no loo roll ! There were not many of the showers actually working however the ones that did work were nice and hot. My husband was extremely annoyed by the young girls cleaning the block who just walked into the gents without any announcement, (there would have been hell to pay if this was blokes walking into the ladies). From around 5pm the toilet block becomes packed with young kids getting ready to go out to the club.

On the whole an ok campsite more geared to families and groups. One more thing, allow extra time on a Sunday if you are going out as the car boot sale / market at the roundabout clogs all the traffic up and it takes an age to get out.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: POPCORN69 4 reviews from this member

Visited crows nest for the Easter break for 4 nights in a tent.

Good Points

The views out to see are lovely from this site, although if you pitch up that end of the site I would imagine it to be very windy (and a long walk to the loo!)

The site is very relaxed about where you pitch with no marked pitches

There is an onsite club room and also an indoor swimming pool (there is a charge for this) I did not use the pool so cannot comment on what its like

There is a lovely children's play area

There is also on onsite shop which sells a good selection and also a CHIP SHOP which is very welcome when you don't feel like cooking, some people have mentioned that the portions are small, and they are to be honest

The reception area has several menu's for Chinese take-aways that deliver to the site, they meet you at reception with your order we had one on the Saturday and it was lovely (check the delivery charges, they seem to vary)

The onsite club room gets very busy, so if you want a seat, get there early, there are quiet a lot of kids running about as well,this did not bother us as we have a 4 year old and a 9 year old, but thought it only fair to warn you if you don't have kids!

Bad Points

The toilet blocks had no soap to wash your hands

The pot washing area water was cold all the time we were there (we started boiling a kettle in the tent in the end)

The site can be a bit loud late at night, this did not bother me, but if you like your site to be all quiet by 10:30pm this is not the site for you

The guy on reception was a bit of a miserable devil, all the other staff however were lovely, especially the ladies who work behind the bar in the club room

The shower block needs some heating! it could do with an update generally to be honest.

Even if it sounds like I've moaned a lot, I just wanted to be honest, I'm very new to camping, and I would definitely visit crows nest again

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: R a blenkinsop 4 reviews from this member

We have used crows nest now for the past three years now. And we just love the place its clean, child friendly. Its got a nice safe play area for the kids. Good swimming baths at 1 50 a day. Fantastic sea views. And cliff top walks. Good clean amenities. We used caravan in the past. But now go there in motor home. I thoroughly recommend the place for a break.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve+Ange 1 review from this member

We've just had our first camping trip (2 nights)

At the crows nest and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

A well maintained, clean site with a relaxed attitude towards its campers.

The beach is difficult to get to but it is possible with a bit of mountaineering.Lovely cliff top walk & gorgeous views from the camping field.

We'll be back next year.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019