Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
                8/10 from 207 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jess1702 2 reviews from this member

 This is a really individual camp site with its own charm. We are a young couple and we really loved this campsite. Just a few draw backs with the facilities, but these would not stop us from visiting again.

Quiet and peaceful setting on the farm, surrounded by fields. Plenty of room so you can be as far or near to other campers as you wish (I guess this may not be the case in the really busy periods though). Plenty of room for children to play, and quiet corners for people looking for privacy too.

Made even more unique camping experience because its a working farm, so we were camping right next to a field with lambs in it. It was a real treat, because we saw the new born lambs go into the field for the first time, and they were fascinating to watch.

Toilet facilities are pretty poor - the Eco-loos are a great idea, but don't feel too hygienic when your perched over a huge hole full of excrement! However, it does fit in with the feel of the campsite, and you do get used to it. We didn't mind to much.

Also, there is one normal toilet in the farmhouse that is open 24-7 for the campers to use. This also felt a bit unclean, as it was left to the campers to clean after they'd used it.

Shower facilities are also poor. There was only one shower.

Farmer is really friendly and helpful.

Loads of different country walks to do straight from the campsite. We walked to Bracklesham Bay beach (pebbles) in 20 mins. East Wittering beach (pebbles and sand) in 40 mins, and West Wittering beach (just sand) in 1 hr 15 mins. You can choose whether to walk along the coast or through the countryside. East and West Wittering are MUCH nicer than Bracklesham Bay, even though they are slightly further to walk. However, we did have really good chip-shop chips from the fish bar on the left on the road down to the beach at Bracklesham. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shready 3 reviews from this member

 Went to this campsite over the August Bank Holiday weekend, Friday to Monday. As expected, the site was full but it never felt overcrowded, the owner ensured each tent was a good 6 metres away from the next.

The site is in a good location for the Wittering beaches and we opted to pay the £6 per car and go to the beach at West Wittering. A lovely beach with plenty ofsand, good parking and clean facilities. Unfortunately, I doubt that we will ever use this site again, for a variety of reasons .The compost toilets are pretty nasty but I did get used to them, the rest of my family did not, plus the lights in all 3 near to us did not work. You have to try and get used to them however, as the only conventional flush toilet had a constant queue, not helped by the fact that the only free shower was incorporated into the same room as this toilet. Two other chemical toilets were also in shower rooms and these were full, almost to the brim, quite early in the day. These showers, which you pay £1 to use are quite pathetic, and you would need to run around to get wet! As regards washing there are hand basins in the 3 shower rooms but again these are constantly busy, they do have hot water though. For dish washing there are about 4 sinks outside, in the elements with just cold water. These were often used by people who couldn't be bothered queuing for the 3 sinks in the shower rooms, so yet more queues! You would think that a site with so few facilities would be fairly cheap, but no, I paid £51 for 3 nights for a medium sized tent, the pitch charge is based on your tent size, this is for 2 adults, children are extra per night! For what? It's hardly like they will be using any facilities.

If you are in a caravan or camper, or have your own toilet facilities then this site would be good during the week, when it is very quiet.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ewout 3 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site that enables traditional camping. The owner was friendly and helpful. If you want good facilities such as showers and lavatories then I would suggest you use this site at quiet, weekday times only. When we were there one of the three showers were broken and three fields were full of campers- 100s of people! Not a satisfactory arrangement. The ecoloos were ok once you get used to the smell and the flies and they make eco sense. So avoid high season weekends and you will enjoy it.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hentyfamily 4 reviews from this member

 Per site, very informal & non-regimented which has become one of our favourite sites this year. It’s pretty & secluded, surrounded by hedges & trees, well away from main roads but close enough to the beaches & village to walk. We stayed a fortnight & had a wonderful time, there is lots of room on the fields (which was great for the children) & it was nice being able to relax & not worry about or hear any traffic. There are fields of sheep nearby & when we were there harvest was underway & the kids loved watching the combine harvester & tractors working. It’s a simple, un-commercialised, no frills site, its not luxurious but adequate and does have all the basics you need, showers (one free & two coin operated), loos, drinking water & washing up facilities which were well maintained. There are plenty of shops nearby for supplies & lots of good places to eat within 20 mins walk or a few minutes drive which is great if your lazy like us & don’t like cooking every night! There was a good mix of people on the site, mainly couples & families many of whom were regulars which I guess is a good recommendation in itself. If you are looking for a simple, informal site in a nice rural location then this site is for you, if you want lots of modern facilities, amusements & bars etc. Then look elsewhere. We highly recommend this site 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Surfdude 1 review from this member

 At a lovely site & very different from most sites we are used to going to. Very secluded along lovely farm lanes,  a bit difficult to find so do follow the directions but well worth it. It was like going back in time, no shops or amusements just a plain camping field with everything you need for basic camping, spacious & clean showers, plenty of toilets including the famous waterless “ecoloos” which are a brilliant idea especially with the current water shortages & pleasant enough to use. 
Lots to do locally with some good places to eat & shops nearby including a great surf shop in East Wittering village. The beaches are excellent, & good for windsurfing - miles of sand with a shingle bank & wooden groynes & some wonderful dunes at West Wittering (although we found it got very crowded there at weekends so it was better to go to Bracklesham beach where it was quieter). We liked the eco friendly approach to this site & will definitely go back soon to top up the suntan. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alleycat 2 reviews from this member

 Unusual site, very different from most mainstream sites. Weekdays were very peaceful & although the weekends were busy due to the hot weather there was a nice atmosphere & “buzz” to the site & everyone seemed very friendly.
Even when it was full at the weekend it was still surprisingly quiet at night, one or two groups chatting away but no music or rowdy drunks. It isn’t signposted (which I guess is why you don’t get the noisier passing trade) but its easy enough to find if you follow the directions.
There was plenty of room between pitches even at the weekend & plenty of room for the children to play. The ecoloos are ok, better than most of the festival loos I’ve come across in the past & much better than the smelly portaloos found on some sites but if you are of a particularly fastidious nature & not into the eco-tourist stuff then maybe this isn’t the site for you.
We liked the idea of this site, the facilities are basic but it had a lovely atmosphere & there are some good sandy beaches and attractions nearby. We particularly like the harbour water tour from Itchenor jetty and the Weald & Downland open air museum just north of Chichester is well worth a visit. Will definitely come back again 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Happydad 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 days at this site, had a great time. The owners are very helpful yet not in your face. If you want the pristeen shower block and flushing loo campsite, then this site is not for you.
Every aspect is geared towards green eco camping which wears slightly thin after a day or two but we managed it and it has made us appreciate flushing toilets and hot running water. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boogiebabe 1 review from this member

 Ol, very simple, old fashioned back to basics site. Nice & secluded but close enough to pubs, village shops & good sandy beaches that you can walk to so its not too isolated. Best beach is at West Wittering, loads of dunes which are ideal for sunbathing & sheltered from any wind.
Spent the evenings watching shooting stars, sheep & hedgehogs, owners ok about having campfires as long as they are in containers off the ground & don’t scorch the grass so used our tripod barbie but you must bring your own firewood.
Helpful guy running the site, jump started us after our battery went flat due to leaving minifridge plugged in all night in the hot weather! 
The other thing we liked about this site is there is plenty of room even on a busy weekend, there are no pre marked pitches just a simple big field with loos, showers etc.
It’s a pretty chilled out site & most of the people on the site were friendly & even at the weekend it seemed very quiet compared to other sites we’ve stayed on. We liked the eco friendly approach, & the fact that it is a proper working farm, it seems to attract a good bunch of like minded campers. Might not be everyone’s bag but for us that’s part of the attraction.
Tips – print off the written directions, there are no signs to this site. Don’t rely on satnav we did & it took us up the wrong farm lane! Also take your bikes, its quicker to the beaches & shops, pretty flat & there are lots of good rides round the harbour & pubs etc.  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saskia 1 review from this member

 We loved this site & its eco friendly approach. We have stayed in several other sites in the Witterings & along the South Coast & this is one of our favourites. We stayed a week and during the week virtually had the site to ourselves with only 3-4 other tents during mid week although with the recent hot weather the weekend was a lot busier but so were all the other sites in the area. 
 
 I think Northmonkeyboy must have got his sites mixed up or had too much monkey juice, there are miles of sandy beaches nearby, the Witterings are some of the most popular beaches on the South Coast! Indeed at West Wittering there are 50 acres of sand dunes which are National Trust. Bracklesham Bay stretches for 4-5 miles from Witterings to Selsey & is sandy all the way, the only time there is no sand is if the tide is right in but you only have to wait an hour or so for it to go out. East Wittering is a super village with a good selection of local shops & a Co-op and in our experience a good selection of pubs, chippies & cafes.
 
The site has some new showers & whilst there is some queueing a weekend peak time, in our experience this is the same on any site & most of the time you just walked right in. The site does use waterless ecoloos which we found ok, but if you are very fastidious it may not be your cup of tea! There are two conventional flush loos available though if you have kids. We liked it & will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikeydread 2 reviews from this member

 An easy going site, pleasant owner and a nice touch is to be provided with rough map when you arrive. Facilities basic but OK, compost loos fine to use. You can walk 2 ways to the beach, to Bracklesham or East Wittering. Both take about 20 mins. Brackleham is very run down and not much there, East wittering is more happening with a few pubs and restaurants. Beaches are stony with breakwaters, but quite wide when tide goes out. However we took a spin up to West Wittering afterwards and its another story there. The beach is a private estate and you have to pay £5 to park, which sounds steep, but is really worth it. The beach is lovely and big and sandy with great views. A complete and welcome improvement from the other areas.
 


Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3807 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement