Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dibo+Ronnie 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site. As mentioned previously by other members, the facilities are some of the best I've ever seen. The family size wash areas are brilliant for families with small children. All of which are clean and the best standard. It was a lovely touch to have music playing whilst you showered. There are plenty of sinks in the washing up area/ food prep area all of which have fantastic sea views. We stayed in the rear field with EHU, but was still able to enjoy the sea views. All of the staff were friendly and approachable. Would not hesitate to return to this very well run site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Llelligriffith 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping experience. Must admit that I was trepidatious about 'roughing it'. But with this campsite, it couldn't be further from the truth. Certainly no roughing it involved. Very plush toilet and shower block - private, extremely clean and the standard of a 5 star hotel. Particularly impressive were the Dyson hand driers - they dried your hands in a matter of seconds - no more having to wipe your hands on your trousers! The piped music throughout the block is a lovely touch.

We received a warm welcome, and although we were only staying one night, the lady at the reception made sure we had a good pitch close to the playground as we had a 5 year old with us. Handy little shop in the reception area, which was open daily, stocking bacon / eggs / milk etc - so no problem if you camp without electric hook up.

Enjoyed a lovely Thai meal in Barmouth in the Zenthai Restaurant - lovely ambience and fanstastic food.

I can't praise Trawsdir enough. A great site for families, and highly recommended for those, who like me, need some convincing on how good camping can be. I only hope that other sites I visit can live up to this one. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bailey + Co. 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a great long weekend at Trawsdir, we stayed in a tent with EHU in the front field next to friends who we booked with. The views over the beaches and sea from here are fantastic, sunset is gorgeous.
The campsite is very clean and the toilet block / shower facilities are second to none, the dyson hand dryers are ace, all the kids staying seemed to love them and its nice to listen to Terry Wogan on the speakers while you shower?!?!.
The wardens are very helpful and there is a little shop for the essentials if required and they will even delivery food / breakfast direct to your tent for a £1 delivery charge.
We went with our dog and the secure dog exercise field is really good and an added bonus. Barmouth is just a short drive but there is a chip shop within walking distance at the pub (we did not try this though). Location is great, local beaches are lovely and so easy to access so many lovely areas of this coast line, Tywyn, Aberdovey, Portmadog etc.
Only thing I could fault was I had the impression the camp site was nearer the associated static caravan park and that we could access the beach easily which was actaully a bit of a walk. However, we enjoyed it so much we will be going back soon. Highly recommended site from us. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevo31 1 review from this member

 Our stay at Trawsdir was fantastic, it's great for families with small children because of the playground and the football pitch but also good for older kids. The staff are nice and polite which is good, and the toilet blocks are the best Iv'e seen! Always clean and tidy, the only thing I thought could of been better was the amount of things they sell in the shop was not enough but that won't spoil a good stay. There is also a pub only a 5 min walk away which has a fish and chip shop on the side. I would recommend this site to anyone its great look forward to going again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil+ruth 6 reviews from this member

 This site has the cleanest toilet blocks I have seen, they are very modern and well maintained. The tent field has a lot of pitches and some noise from the railway and road can be heard, but there is only about one train an hour. The views over the sea are amazing.

You can park at the sister site to visit the beach which was quiet when we visited, miles of sand and the sea shallow a long way out. Barmouth has a mix of shops including a decent sized Co-op. Overall the site was excellent if a little exposed to the wind on parts of the tent field. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poppy1970 6 reviews from this member

 Just came back from a lovely weekend at Trawsdir, very clean, tidy and well laid out. Toilet's and shower's very clean and modern. Wardens friendly and helpful.
Only two minor niggles, one is the entrance to the children's park, there is no gate so young children can easily run out to oncoming cars entering or leaving the tent field, but was told by a resenditial owner that the park is to be moved into another field behind the tourers. The other is the wind, not very sheltered but there is nothing the wardens can do about that.
Would definitely return, well worth the £30 per night for 2 adults, 3 children, awning on hardstanding with electric point, fresh water and waste all on the pitch.

The views were lovely, especially on a sunny day. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jude013 3 reviews from this member

 Myself and a friend went there last May bank holiday for a couple of nights, the new shower block was excellent. It was very peaceful, as the helpful staff put us in the rear field next to the giant conifers, away from the young families. It was a tad expensive - we were going to use 2 tents, but ended up only using one as the cost was £24 per tent per night. Apart from that it was great! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Danygraig 1 review from this member

 This is a nice clean site with spectacular views over Cardigan Bay and the Llein Peninsula when weather is fine.

I found the closeness of the main road both noisy and unnerving when walking down to the sister site to gain access to the beach -- straight road and high speed traffic.

The new shower and toilet facilities are amazing, but I fear this is reflected in the overnight charge ( £28 inc. Our dog) .

Plenty of hook ups.

Convenient for the Mawddach estuary, Harlech and inland to Bala etc

We'll visit again, if only to get a good shower! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazz05 1 review from this member

 This is the best site we have been to, usually go to another site in Barmouth but fully booked so we took a chance with this one. The facilities are great the new showers and toilet blocks are fantastic. The washing up area is great, plenty of sinks, it is well maintained and owners are so friendly. Good play area for the kids. We only stayed for 3 nights but booking for a week next year. Hope it is still as maintained and is not spoilt by people with no thought for others, as well as all that the views are stunning a great place to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcintyresteven 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a second visit to Trawsdir in the space of 4 weeks! The first camp site we have visited as a family and its superb. On arrival we were surprised by the location with the camp site overlooking the beach and coastline of Cardigan Bay. Its a 5 star panoramic view for all! The site†adopts a first come first served basis, which in early August we found we had the camp site all to ourselves for a day! Bank holiday was a different story though we were lucky enough to arrive early and secure the remaining spot! The site is very clean and very well kept and the toilet/shower blocks is brand new and super clean. There is a field for dog walking which is also a path through to the local pub. Very convenient! The pub also runs a fish & chip shop. A 5 min walk down the coastal road takes you to Trawsdir's sister site Caerdanniel. You are able to use all the facilities of this site too including the two access points to the beach, shop and take-away.

We recommend any family/couple visit here due to excellent location, cleanliness of the site and attractions nearby (Harlech Castle, Flint Mines, beach, Barmouth Harbour). 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5189 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement