Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 177 Reviews
                9/10 from 177 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  177 in total, now showing 171 to 177                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Stayed for four night (Wed - Sun) in our tent, Impressed with this small site.

The site is in its second season and everything is new and fresh. Advertised (and named) as a Caravan Park it welcomes us tenters too. Fees for us (2 people, tent, car, EHU) were £13 per night, which I consider good value.

Access is through a fob-activated barrier watched over by the reception office, so security is good.The short access road opens onto the site itself, which contains only 20 pitches.

These pitches vary in size from very big to absolutely huge - especially the vast triangular corner pitches. All are grassy and flat, and are served by power and water. Below the grass the ground is stony, so have decent pegs to hand. However, this assists drainage and I would be surprised if the site ever became waterlogged. At night the site is well-lit.

The pitches are well marked by borders of young plants which will in time develop into hedges. To the rear of our pitch was a large shed used to keep caravans, which will also soon be obscured by shrubs and trees.

There is a grass area in the centre of the site kept clear of pitches, and also a newly-dug pond (which attracted serious-looking anglers from the early hours, so presumably with fish). There isn't anything such as a playground aimed specifically at kids.

The reception contains only a few leaflets, though the staff are friendly and helpful. There is no shop.

The single toilet block is a large portacabin-like construction containing men's, womens and disabled facilities plus a sluice and dishwashing, attractive from outside due to its veranda and log-hut type cladding. The facilities are utilitarian but spotless (contract cleaners scrubbed the place from top to bottom every morning while we were there), but toilet and shower cubicles (2 & 3 in the men's) were on the small side. There are sinks (no soap dispensers) but no washing cubicles for those who like a little privacy.

The showers are the type that need the button pressing very 30 seconds and deliver water at a preset temperature. Energy conservation seemed the order of the day - at night lights were activated by motion sensors and went off after only a few seconds, which could be disconcerting when having a 'long ponder' at night, and meant having to wave at them continually.

Extraordinarily, the dishwashing facilities could be accessed only from the women's facilities, which meant that we men (tragically) couldn't do washing-up. My wife still doesn't believe me that there weren't sinks on the men's side!

The site is less than 15 mins from York centre by bus and there is a stop directly outside the site entrance. Couldn't have been planned better and much better than trying to park in York (& cheaper too). The Coastliner service also goes to Whitby and Scarborough via many tourist spots, so ideal for campers using public transport, especially as the service continues until late at night.

When we arrived on a Wednesday we were one of only four occupied pitches. By Friday evening the site was pretty well full up, but such is the spaciousness of the pitches that it did not seem remotely cramped.

For us, the pitch quality and size, the laid-back atmosphere of only 20 pitches, the proximity to many visitor spots and the resonable pricing would certainly attract us back to this site. The toilet block could have been better thought out, but this is not a major concern since it is very well maintained. This is a site which can only improve as it matures.

Date of Visit: November 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teemyob 7 reviews from this member

NOV 2007. Spent 2 nights on site for a fleeting Visit into York. Very New, Pitches with pleasant green surroundings. Toilet Facilities spotless and have disabled access. Owner/Staff very helpful and friendly. Bustop literally outside the entrance for 'Coastliner' Trips to Coast, York & Leeds. Highly recomended and we shall return soon, this time maybe for a little longer. Owner also has indoor storage for caravans.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unique0151 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a six night stay at york caravan park and found it to be vey peaceful site although not very busy when we were there, even if it was I think it would be peaceful as pitches are enormous,could of fitted eight of my van on it.Also all superpitches which was a first for us and the shower in the van was used every day because of that which is also a first.

Showers and toilets are new clean and plenty of hot water although may get busy if site does

Pub,York and shops all close by.

Superb site and we'll be back.

Also if you are looking for storage in the area it looks superb.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mr + Mrs T 3 reviews from this member

Just back from having 3 nights here, using it as a base for both visiting York and the Motorhome Show which was at the racecourse. No complaints at all, an excellent addition to camping in vicinity of York. Can't really add much to the other reviews I'm afraid only to say we will definitively return.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taffy7326 2 reviews from this member

have just returned from a mid-week break at YCP site near York,and we have to say what a fantastic site this turned out to be.From our arrival to departure we were very impressed.The Layout of the site, giving everyone loads of room on every pitch, to the very clean and thought out shower block was something else.The owners have only had this site from March this year, but utmost thought has gone into the design. Every pitch has access to water-electric & even digital tv very close to their units. The flat and well designed site leaves you wanting for nothing.Even a picnic area next to their lake is tranquil for those lazy evenings.We would highly recommend this site, and advise early booking as these kind of sites are few and far between. We cannot wait for another chance to visit, as it is only a mile or so from the centre of York, with a bus stop right outside the site entrance thus doing away with the need to take your car into what we can only say is a nightmare to park.Good Luck to you and we'll be back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AKB146 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a very pleasant weekend at York Caravan Park. Very easy to find, just off the A64 east of York. Easy to book, friendly owner, tourist info available etc.
 
Clearly marked out pitches with a lot of thought gone into the planning of this park. Our pitch swallowed up our tent - I could have pitched 3 or 4 of them easily. Ground quite level, grassy and not stony. Shared EHU and water between every 2-3 pitches. Nice big square of grass in the middle of all the pitches.
 
Very good washrooms etc, all new and purpose built. The Ladies section had 4 toilet cubicles, 3 shower cubicles, 6 washbasins, hand dryer and hair dryer. The shower cubicles were large and contained a fold down seat and clothes hooks. Fixed head showers operated by push button - loads of HOT water.
Wash hand basins also had lots of hot water.
 
Within the ladies is the washing up area - a separate room containing 2 large sinks and again loads of hot water to be had. Someone did say that there wasn't a washing up area in the gents but the small male spy I sent in to investigate the gents  failed to report one way or another (mainly because he thinks washing up does itself!). No freezer block facility.
 
York city centre is just 2 miles down the road and 2 miles in the opposite direction is Monks Cross heaven with a massive Asda and loads of other shops including Blacks Outdoor. Didn't see any local (walking distance) pubs/facilities etc - but I wasn't really looking.
 
Can heartily recommend YCP - quiet (except for some minor road noise), clean, friendly, will definitely be back if visiting York area again.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Wilde Bunch 2 reviews from this member

We tried this camp as somewhere quiet to go for Easter and we were not disappointed. This is a new site and had only been open for about 3 weeks, the proprietor was a very helpful, polite and friendly young man. The amenities were modern and very clean. The pitches were very spacious with a water supply and drain between 3 caravans and there is a bus stop right outside the camp. There is also a pub that does food not too far away, we enjoyed it that much we went back again May Bank holiday.

Previous     177 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 177     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019