Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Reviewer: Tawny Owl 1 review from this member

 August 2005
We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. I was annoyed as we couldn’t book despite several attempts. We went with another family; both of us have children and therefore didn’t want to risk arriving Friday evening and being turned away so 2 of the adults took the day off work on the Friday and arrived at lunchtime with 2 of the children.

The site is in a wonderful position, flat and surrounded by beautiful scenery. We pitched in what we thought was a good position with our tents adjacent to each other with a campfire in what we considered was ‘our area’. We had worried that our tents were too close together (6 feet between corners) but decided that we hadn’t seen any rules specifying the distance between tents – that should have prepared us for what was to come!

We returned a couple of hours later and found ourselves surrounded by a large group of about 5 or 6 families who appeared to have no consideration for our ‘personal space’. We struggled to park our cars in the spaces we had left for them.

In our view the campsite owners should have intervened; they were quick to enforce the 10:30 curfew (even though the website says 11:00). To make matters worse, the toilets were overcrowded so much so that they often wouldn’t flush. If you were lucky enough to get a shower it wasn’t guaranteed to be warm and in my view was only just long enough, that’s if it worked when you put your 50p in. We had to queue for the washing up sinks and were lucky if we got a trickle of hot water.

Although this review sounds very critical, I would return, but only if the facilities were very much improved. The children loved the playground and pond and the camp fires were an enjoyable experience. 


Reviewer: Emmo76 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Just come back from this site for the first time having been visiting Eskdale for the Last 30 years.

Site is lovely although a bit busy for my liking.. one of the great attractions about Eskdale is the peace.

Will be going back at the end of Sept.

One tip though I would give to regular visitors who like to ride the Ratty but find it a bit expensive. There is a preservation society which you can join for about £14 pounds per person per year. For this you get unlimited free travel on the ratty and can go on working holiday's helping the line keep running.

Worth the £14 even if you and the family only ride the train for one day. 


Reviewer: Widnes 1 review from this member

 August 2005
2nd visit to this site. We chose it primarily for its location right next to the Ratty Railway which the kids absolutely love.

We thought the site would be jampacked but we easily found a space (at about 5:30pm on the Friday). That evening, the "Camp Full" sign went up and there was room for about 10-20 more tents, we thought.

We got an all-day family ticket (£20 odd) on the railway and went up and down the whole line (with stops in between) twice. Took a walk along the River Esk too.

Muncaster Castle was a pleasant surprise. You can easily spend a full day looking round the (lived-in) house, e-learning centre, owl centre, gardens etc.

Because the owners allow open fires, the campsite gets a bit smoky, but you soon get used to it. Like a previous writer, we too found ourselves next to a foul-mouthed family, which I hope our kids didn't learn too much from.

We liked the idea of a 10:30 quiet time, but the problem was that the owners can't police this all night and we were treated to swearing and arguments until well after 1:30am, but I suppose this is a problem for all camp sites. Perhaps a 10:30pm zone could be established for the people who are happy to conform to such a rule.

The showers lasted a few minutes longer than expected on my 50p, and the queues weren't too bad in the Gents, although my wife complained about the size of the Ladies' queues.

There were rarely enough free tables in the nearby pubs as there are no pub-meal areas, and you often find a couple sat at a 6 seater table, just having a drink.

The round was cheap at the Boot Inn (at the end of the railway) and the food very nice, like the staff!

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Fisherground and will no doubt be back in the future. 


Reviewer: Knottrigg 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
A brilliant place for kids. I've been here many times and it still doesn't lose any of its appeal. The scenery is wonderful, the owners are friendly and in the main it attracts the right sort of camper. OK, there's no shop or bar on site, but some (including myself) might consider this an advantage. The toilet block is small(ish) considering the size of the site, but they are kept clean and tidy. The owners allow for campfires in various allocated spots and this is one of the best things about Fisherground. The Ravenglass railway is always a favourite with the kids, and it stops right outside the camp. This is a justifiably popular site and it gets busy at the usual times (weekends, bank holidays etc.). The owners 'enforce' a no-noise policy after 10.30pm; I was courteously reminded to keep the noise down after a campfire ghost story resulted in much laughter and screaming. It's a tent-only site and as such retains some of that back-to-basics flavour that so many other sites have lost. I think it's a great place and I'll return again and again.  


Reviewer: Suebea 4 reviews from this member

 August 2005
lovely site but very busy, there was plenty for my 10 year old to keep her amused but my 14 wasn't interested in the play area only complaints were that is was noisy on a night a few people ignored the no noise after rule but I think the owners had words the next night also people pitched where-ever they wanted which meant you could end up very close to your neighbours but we enjoyed ourselves for the two nights we were there don't know if would have liked to stay longer though. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Bossarse 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Great Site, stayed on for an extra few days, local post office walking distance over the railway tracks that lead you in to the Japanese Gardens. Kids loved it! Great play area, very well managed by Alison and Mick who work really hard, bit too strict with telling you to keep the noise down after 11pm. Had campfire every night and did some great stirfrys. Lovely place, lots to see and do, waterfalls a must see, sorry to be home and will be back very soon. 


Reviewer: Janbel 3 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Stayed at this site for four nights, lovely surrounds and views with its own little steam railway stop, great for fell walking, we walked muncaster fell (7 miles) back to camp after getting the steam train from the campsite to Ravensglass, and visiting the "haunted" muncaster castle and gardens.

Lovely quiet campsite that even let campers have campfires (logs could be bought for £3.50 or picked up from the near by forests), adventure playground,water rafting for kids, toilet / showers adaquate, busy all the time, showers cost 50p, use of hairdryer if required.

Lanterns a must, as pathway to toilets are not lit up at all. Local pub supplying good food if in need, nearest shop Eskdale next stop on steam train from campsite. would def go back to this site. 


Reviewer: Liz T 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
We have recently returned from a trip to Fisherground with very mixed feelings.

The setting for the site is wonderful, and we managed to pitch next to the stream and near the railway (which our children loved), with the bracken covered hill as a fabulous backdrop to our tent. The area is great for exploring and walking, and there are lots of pubs close by for those nights you can't be bothered to cook. The wardens do try to enforce the 10.30 noise curfew with some success.

HOWEVER - as the days went by the site got more and more crammed with tents and cars, and at one point we struggled to reach our tent by car. In fact it made us long for those serried rows of tents we had been trying to get away from! This meant that there was unreasonable pressure on the small no. of loos, basins and showers. Also at the risk of sounding really snobby, we did get fed up with having to hear some parents frequent and loud form of discipline being "Shut the f*** up" and other similar versions! Not really come across this before, so perhaps just unlucky.

Overall we expect it is a great off-season site but too crowded, in our opinion, to be enjoyable in the height of summer.  


Reviewer: John M. 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
I visited this site in August 2005 with my two children for a short midweek break. I have been a number of times previously and was tempted to try another site for a change until I refreshed my memory via the UK Camp Site reviews.
This site is basic with tents and camper vans only allowed, which appeals to me. Other than the Kids play area and showers there are virtually no facilities. I have always found the showers and loos clean and they are regularly cleaned by the owners. The showers occasionally have muddy floors however I cannot see how this can be avoided as all the roads and paths on the site are unsurfaced.
The site is informal as you just turn up and pitch where you want. The site owners are constantly present on the site and enforce the quiet rules. During my stay there were no queues for showers or loos although the site appeared quite busy.
The only down side to the site from my point of view is that there are far fewer visitor attractions on the West side of the Lakes compared with the South East Lakes.
If you want kids discos, clubhouses, regimented plots, tarmac roads and luxury then this site is definitely not for you.
If you can tolerate stunning scenery, radios only receiving Manx and Irish radio stations, no mobile phone signal except Orange, the sound of steam trains as they pass the bottom of the field, the five minute walk to the child tolerant pub (only facilities a pool table), the five minute drive to the village store, smoke from the camp fires and the sound of children playing then this is the place for you. 


Reviewer: Orangevie 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Just returned from an enjoyable week in what is a well kept site. Toilet and shower block is kept very clean and tidy.

Only two critisms which are that the site becomes extremely busy at weekends and something of a free for all with tents being pitched just anywhere. It would be better if all pitches were numbered especially as when we booked we requested electric hook up but this wasn't available when we arrived!

Be prepared for very smoky surroundings as everyone seems to have a campfire and when the site is busy you can almost cut the air with a knife!

The adventure playground was enjoyed by our two children although both being under five they couldn't go on everything. A slide or swings would cater to the younger children though this doesn't detract from the site. Especially as the site has its own station for the L'aal Ratty. Greatly loved by young and old.

The local shop is quite well stocked and the pubs around the area are very good.  


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement