Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
                9/10 from 191 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lert75 3 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site.  Incredibly large and private pitches.  We pitched with our back to the road and our front looking at our own little patch of river.  We arrived early and were even given our pick of the pitches available.  Admittedly we did have some of the best weather last year which always helps in a tent, but the layout of the site is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.
 
The facilities are basic but very clean and free with constant hot water and the on site shop has all the basics and if you're quick, home made apple pies and scones - they'll even let you freeze your cooler blocks in the shop freezer!
 
We booked for a week and couldn't bear to come home so we stayed for 10 days, and even then it was a wrench to go.  If only the site was 2 hours away instead of 6 we'd be there every chance we got.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Viv and terry 20 reviews from this member

Can only reiterate the positive comments.  The owners are very helpful and are experienced campers. They have used their extensive knowledge to set up this site to meet virtually every basic camping need plus a bit more but without changing the simplicity or beauty of the site.
 
If you go, walk around to the cricket pitch around the corner the setting is beautiful. 

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rikster 6 reviews from this member

Wow! what a lovely site. The owners live in a beautiful watermill which on Sunday mornings, I believe, is set in motion. The pitches are beside either the fast flowing River Exe (the reason for this site being adults only) or the millstream. There`s no rules as to which way you pitch your unit provided you take your neighbours into consideration. At the far end of the site is a weir with a couple of well placed benches, where at this time of year salmon could be seen jumping against the flow. Our neighbouring campers told us they saw an otter too.

The facilities were immaculate and even had Radio 2 playing in the showers. Another rarely seen nice touch was the hand basin with hot water & soap at the chemical disposal point. There are also a couple of mountain bikes for hire by the day at a very reasonable price.
The very friendly & helpful owners seem to have thought of everything, including a microwave in the laundry & food preperation room, handy for campers without electric.

This really is a very nice site located in a wonderfully scenic area on the Eastern side of Exmoor National Park with Dulverton , Dunster, Minehead, etc just a short drive away. This site is on our favourites list and we`ll definatly be returning in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: DerekP 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this adult only site for ten too short days. When we first arrived we both felt some reservations about the site. Had we made a mistake? It did not take long to realize we had not. The owners are both very friendly & helpful. The shop has all the basics needed to make your stay work. If you ask Ken, his wife makes first class fruit pies, try them if you get the chance.

The facilities are good & well maintained; most of the pitches were large so you are not living on top of your neighbours. There is also plenty of wildlife to watch if you keep your eyes open. The peace & quiet on the site can not be beaten, especially when sitting alongside the river with the bar-B going what more could you ask for?

The location is good for all activities, there is a local pub that offers good food but it is, a little expensive. Dulverton has a good range of shops & tea shops well worth the visit. We intend to revisit this site as soon as we can for hopefully another relaxing stay.

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Steve + Jean 2 reviews from this member

We loved this site, especially the adults only rule as it led to a peaceful, pleasant and untroubled stay. Site is small but well laid out and mainatined, with a mix of specific sites for tents and caravans. Welcome on arrival was excellent, and the showers and facilities were always clean with no waiting even though the site was close to full for most of our stay.

Pitches are well spaced, some more sloping than others, but the location of the site at the foot of the valley alongside the River Exe is superb.
Excellent food is available at Tarr Steps Inn and a number of other pubs in villages close by. Overall an excellent site well worth visiting.


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Thorns67 2 reviews from this member

Very peaceful site with river on one side and stream on the other, lots of wildlife to see including the playful otter and kingfishers.
Short dog walk with grass kept short but there are plenty of other walks from the site entrance, just remember your boots if bad weather as can be very muddy.

Only downfall was the shortage of showers (3 for ladies and I think the same for the men) caused abit of a queue 1st thing in morning. Fresh water taps along side of stream but only 1 waste water disposal down by the toilets and shop, which if you were at the far end of the site is quite a walk with heavy items.

Owners very friendly and were on hand if needed. Shop open for a couple of hours in morning and also for 1 hour at night, small but covers essentials.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Steveco36 4 reviews from this member

A very well run and friendly site, with a mill stream running up one side of the site and a river running down the other, the owners are very friendly and the site is very well kept.

All the pitches are level, either grass or hard standing and have electrical hookups and even TV arial sockets on them so you can plug your TV directly into the local transmitter, even if your arial lead isn't long enough the owners will lend you one! The site shop was open from 8:30 to 10:30am and for an hour in the evening, the toilets and showers are kept very clean our only gripe was there needs to be more than just a couple of shower / toilet cubicles as we found the existing ones to be very busy all the time even people queing!

The only other draw back is if you are parked the far end of the site it can be quite a long walk with your wastemaster and chem toilet as the waste and chemical disposal point is down behind the shop at the entrance to the site.

Apart from those minor gripes, this is a lovely site and we will no doubt visit again

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Tetlee 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weeks stay at this campsite, what can I say....impressed! Fantastic site run by a very helpful & friendly couple, they bend over backwards with help & advise and even lent us a hook-up cable and a multi-plug socket(no charge). Nice large pitches, we have a Coleman Bispace 500 and had plenty open space around us. The surroundings are beautiful, toilets are clean with more than enough scorching hot water for showers/washing (by the way, for the gents, use the shower on the right, more powerful).

There is a small shop on site selling the very basic neccessities, again run by very friendly staff :-) It's a very peaceful site by day & night, just enough lighting at night to find your way to the toilets which is always handy. I don't know if they do this every sunday but they opened the Mill to the visitors and had it working from 10am sunday morning, the owners gave us a little tour around and shared what knowledge they had about the history of the mill, very interesting and a 20 mins well spent.

We've stayed at alot of campsites and we have to say this is by far our favourite. We will definately be planning another visit to this beautiful and well run site, perfect!

Reviewer: Davebakerpurton 5 reviews from this member

May 2004
A very well run and quiet site, superb [and clean] showers and toilets. friendly and helpfull owner A good local pub [3 min walk] serves reasanably priced "pub grub". Good walking and cycling all around. and a nice mill race at the top of te field, and the river at the bottom. I have been back several times

Reviewer: Twinkly 3 reviews from this member

August 2004
We love this site!!
We will be going back!!
Peace and quiet with wondeful facilities, great proper hot showers which do not turn off every twenty seconds and where you can take the shower head off the wall, free proper hairdrier, great location, lovley looking pub just outstide (didn't go in but heard great things)
And adults only! Wonderful!

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019