Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 263 Reviews
                8/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chapelcottage 3 reviews from this member

Toilet block nice and clean. Playground is under the trees and had become abit green from the wet - which the kids came back covered in! Seem to pack them in quite tightly, and there was a large field full of tents when we arrived. A bit too busy for us, but nice location with fabulous views.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sallybtravels 11 reviews from this member

The campsite is well laid out but obviously relatively new as the trees marking the pitches are more like twigs. When the trees have grown each pitch will be both sheltered and secluded.
Owners were friendly and helpful. The only downside was lack of showers / toilets but the few they did have were spotless.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Nice site in a great position. Lovely views and only a short walk into Bakewell town, although the best route is a footpath along the main A6 which is a really busy road. Pitches weren't massive but big enough for our motorhome. The first pitch we were put on had overhanging trees that contstantly banged on the roof in the wind so we asked if we could move to a different pitch. This was no trouble at all and we ended up on pitch 2 which we feel was the best pitch on the site.
Close to the toilet block which was very busy in the mornings. Plenty of toilets. Only 4 sinks and 3 showers though (in the ladies) which were the smallest cubicles ever! Powerful showers - but it would be nice if other campers looked after them and at least attempted to keep them clean - certainly NOT the owners fault. Under-cover washing up area, which was great in the rain! Shop was only open for a few hours each morning (for ordered papers and essentials) and again for a few hours in the evening. Not much in there and overpriced in our opinion, but maybe that's how it is 'out of season'?
The bar was brilliant though. Nice cosy indoor area (no dogs) and gazebos for outside cover. Nice choice of beers (not much choice of cider) and not overpriced. The little village of Ashford in the Water (about 1/2 mile walk from the site) is worth a visit and a wander around. Bakewell gets very busy on Mondays as it's market Day. The Wheatsheaf (right next to the market) is a great pub that does traditional pub grub, prices were OK (coffee wasn't up to much though!) and they allow dogs in certain areas.
From Bakewell you can walk the Monsal Trail (it's about 4 miles to Monsal Head). You pick up the trail out of town at the old railway station and then it's a flat walk most of the way along the disused railway line. Great views over Monsal Dale and the viaduct once you reach Monsal Head. Well worth the walk. There's a hotel, pub/bar, tearoom and ice cream van up there too! The walk back to Ashford in the Water is along a 'b' road with no footpath and can be a bit dicey in places - care needed!
All in all a nice site, looked after well by the friendly owners - it's just a pity that some campers don't seem to have any respect for anyone else and just abuse the great facilities on offer!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Turbobek 4 reviews from this member

Location: good location just outside Bakewell. A short 15 - 20 minute walk past some beautiful scenes of the bus comes at 1 min to the hour, bus stop just 5 mins down the road.

Nice facilities and we were quite near the blocks which was lucky, if you get near the entrance gate its a few mins walk (not good in the middle of night with children)

The water didn't work for a whole day which caused a little bit of a problem but it was back on at 9pm.

Pitches I thought we quite small. Bricks available for bbqs and freezer for ice packs (free!) Shop is decent prices and bar is lovely with huge canopy area for smokers. Small showers and only 4 sinks in the ladies which is a nightmare in peak season so get there as soon as you get up!

All in all we had a few hick ups but we would definitely book there again. Good location and some beautiful views

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Micklaine 9 reviews from this member

We have just had a weekend at this site and loved it, it's the nicest site we've stayed on so far and will be definitely going back again. The pitches are marked out and ours was big enough to get our Tahoma 9 man tent on and the views all around were lovely.
The site's facilities were new and clean, my only small gripe was the very small shower cubicles - ok for one but I take one of the kids in with me aswell - the showers were lovely and hot though.
The shop is small but has all the things you might need or have forgotten. The pub was good too, doesn't do food but the staff gave us a list of take-aways that deliver if you couldn't be bothered to cook.
The little playpark for the kids was nice too, a few things to climb on and no swings or anything dangerous so didn't have to follow them around too much. There were some nice touches too - bricks left around for you to stand your barbecue on and hardcore in the bottom of the water points so there was no mud.
The walk into Bakewell is only about 20 minutes. The site was very full but wherever we went it didn't feel very busy or over run with people - a firm favourite for us.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheMoores 3 reviews from this member

Beautifully located picturesque site - fabulous views!

Visited with another family who were in a tent and were very pleased that we could book pitches next to each other. The pitches were very close together but on this visit it didn't matter as we are good friends! Usually use Caravan Club sites which give you loads of room so maybe we have been spoilt but would not return to this site unless we were travelling again with friends.

Showers were nice and hot but cubicles very small - not easy when you have to take children in with you. Also the showers were not very clean but think this was the fault of the previous occupant not the site itself.

Play area good but not much on it for toddlers.

There were lots of tents pitched in groups and our neighbours partied til 1am - didn't moan as didn't want to be a party pooper and didn't disturb us too much in our van but they kept our friends awake who were in a tent!

Would definitely visit again in a group but not a place to go for a quiet time!

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adele24 4 reviews from this member

When we arrived at the site, it was very rainy and the grass was very boggy! We wondered how we were going to get on our grassed pitch as the car would get stuck. However, the people were very helpful and towed our caravan onto the pitch, using their tractor! Because it was so muddy, the caravan was messed up quite quickly! We had to go out in search for wellies in Bakewell!

The 'roads' within the campsite were more like muddy tracks, with big puddles everywhere. To improve the site, they could maybe resurface the roads to minimize this.

The site is lovely and clean, with gorgeous surroundings. The onsite pub is great, but isnt open enough (only fri and sat nights). The playground is good for the children and you can sit on the pub benches outside as they play.

Toilets and showers are very clean and water is nice and hot.

Bakewell and Ashford are on your doorstep, which is fab.

So many positive, id definitely go again, but not during April.Maybe in the Summer when its drier!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nannapepsi 11 reviews from this member

Toilets and showers clean. Showers small but water hot. Shop has limited selection but basics covered. Difficult to find level pitch in campng field. Main site is level but appears focused on caravans and other hard tops. Bar again basic, no food, but with entertainment on weekends. Grass well cut- it took three days for all fields to be cut and strimmed which caused a minor irritant. The site warden was determined that ball games should take place in the field provided rather than impromptu in the centre of the camping fields.

The views from the site are outstanding and provides inspiration for tackling the good walks available in the area.

Ashford just down the road is limited to a small shop and three hotels/pubs.

Bakewell is easily accessable (one mile) and provides all the requirements as mentioned by other reviewers.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kramrams 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from greenhills, a nice site, great views, showers and helpful staff ( even though they seemed under a lot of preasure )

The camping fields are on a slope, so pitch right or you may roll out of bed.

The toilets and showers are new and spotless, the only down side is the shop only opens 2 hours in the morning and afternoon, you have to ring a bell and get the warden out from reception which made us feel guilty so we did not use it.

The town of Bakewell is wonderful but ask for a tart, they are puddings,

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bradleysp 2 reviews from this member

Stayed sun to tues on a special deal excellent value. Lovely site but pub was not open bit disappointed but suppose it was due to time of year. Short walk to Bakewell where the shops etc. are lovely.
Will definitely go back for longer and more into the season.Brand new facilities superb.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019