Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 189 Reviews
                8/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 181 to 189                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Mike

 August 2003
Nice location with the steam railway running along the perimeter.

It was nice and cheap - family ticket 9 per night (2 Adults & 2 Children).

Small but good shop, fields are on a slope.

Overall, a good site but would be cracking if the toilet/shower block was rebuilt larger and kept clean. 


Reviewer: sarah

 july 2003
Fantastic spot!! Loved the natural suuroundings and the view of the steamtrain chugging past!
Only a short walk into Corfe for a few beers..we forgot to take a torch!!
Good value and the facilities are more than adequate. We will be back! 


Reviewer: alison and mark

 25/7 to 3/8/03
A site we have used for many years and always enjoyed. Changed hands a few years back and the new owner likes to pack in as many as possible, without improving toilet/shower facilities.

Feel a bit let down and having just returned would suggest if you are planning an August camping trip it's probably not for you- unless you are a large group wanting to stay up late , make as much noise as you want with no fear of the owner coming round to enforce any kind of control!

Beaches and trains and pubs still as lovely as ever though. 


Reviewer: Gemma , Lucy

 july2003
When our owners pulled up it was all our dreams answered! peaceful and not full they picked a nice spot in field 1 near the far corner, thought ideal no one would be able to get near, how wrong could they be!!!

We got back from a walk and 6 tents and a large group had set up next to us and pushed us in to a tight space, so put up a wind break for loads of room,and put our car in a funny position.

Whe site was good, a good base for walking. Would of been quiet if not for tents next to us. Showers basic but they never had a cold shower, We will visit again but a suggestion for one of the fields to be dogs no CHILDREN!!!! as they are a pain when trying to sleep and they keeping coming up to stroke you it was our holiday!!!!!!!! We were on a lead they get to run about round the tent etc

Overall we had a ball and well worth the money very reasonable
 


Reviewer: Mike 2 reviews from this member

 2000, 2001, 2002
We've been to this site at various times of the year and like it. The facilities are basic but clean enough. It's a great location and there are lovely walks from your tent in all directions and usually the site is quite peaceful. I agree with some of the other reviewers that summer weekends can be very crowded as its one of the few sites you can always get into as a lot of people ignore the site full sign and the owner doesn't seem to mind, in a way it's the laid back approach that he has which is some of the charm. We now always avoid Bank holidays there as it is just too busy. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Mrs Jones

 2002
This camp site has become far too popular! On one occasion I was forced to pitch up on the edge of the entrance near the overflowing wheelie bins because it was so full!!

I discovered this site over 10 years ago when it was a peaceful haven away from the mobile phones and rowdy crowds of thirty somethings.
I keep those memories of the site, however I do still go to Woodyhyde out of season, quite simply because you can't beat it.
A good site, basic but peaceful especially in April/May.

PS.I f you don't like spiders you won't like the showers.  


Reviewer: Steve Putt

 August 2001
This site sounded lovely with the steam railway running through it.

When we arrived it was everything we wanted it to be (we have 4 small children) great views, large fields, plenty of space however....

By the Friday evening the fields were full, with no marked pitches it turned into a complete free for all whereby you struggled to drive your car to your tent (let alone park next to it). There was a knock on effect at the shower/toilet block, queues... queues... queues then cold showers!

Seems a popular site for big groups to gather, there was a large group that grew near us (which is fine if you want that) but not ideal if you want to escape from the rat race and have some quality time with your family.

If you're looking for peace and quiet then this is site is ok outside the peak season/weekend/bank holiday weekends. Like I say, the owner doesn't mind packing campers on at peak times.

 


Reviewer: Claire Sullivan

 We love this site but as travel time from London can be painfully long only try and use for 'special occasions!' 3 large fields and caravans free zones make this an ideal spot for lots of friends from all over the place to gather with tents and meet up.

The location near Corfe and Studland Bay is perfect for Summer weekends away, you feel like you've been to the Med.!

Site showers are a hit and run affair but get the right moment and they are pretty good.

Basic it may be but without a doubt a camp site that we will visit and visit! 


Reviewer: Martin Smith

 I have stayed on this site many times in past years, and it is probably my favorite camping site. The Swanage steam railway runs through it, witch makes it that bit more special.

The washing facilities are slightly basic but always clean. If you want a hot shower, they are free but you need to get in early in the morning or wait until lunchtime, as hot water seems to run out in the morning rush.

There is lodes of space for children to play, as the site is never full. There is a small shop on site, but Summerfield in Swanage is only 10 mins in the car.

If you want to stay in the Swanage area this is the site for you (no caravans). 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 189     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3846 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement