Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frisbeepaul 10 reviews from this member

We have just got back from a weekend at Rivendale, and I would highly recommend this site. I phoned on a Thursday, and was told by a very helpful young lady that all their pitches were fully booked - but if we didnt need EHU we could camp on the overflow field. We didnt arrive till after 7 on the Friday night - but there was no problem with us pitching wherever we liked on the field. The overflow field has fantastic views over the surrounding fields, with some trees and bushes for the kids to explore. Ours kept themselves entertained for most of the day making 'dens' in them.

Because there were no set pitches - most people kept to their own 'personal' space, and nobody was pitched too close together. The site is really peaceful (apart from when the sun came out on Saturday, and the local bikers were racing up and down the road nearby)

I was worried that the ground may be too hard, on the overflow field, there was no problems - my plastic delta pegs went in no trouble.

The showers and toilet were basic - but clean. The same could be said about the washing up facilities. We didn't use the ones on the main part of the site, as this was quite a walk from where we were pitched. The shop was stocked with although not everything you would need - it certainly offered alternatives. Most importantly it sold bbq coals and milk!

We didn't get to use the cafe or the Bar on site, which would have been nice, but it wasn't open until the evening time. So, we had to make do with some chilled beer from the shop fridge!

The nearest shops we found were in Ashbourne, which was probably 10 miles away, and very busy on a Saturday. Buxton is about 15 mins drive further north - and the kids enjoyed playing in the park near the opera house there.

The kids play area looked good - but our kids said it was just 'okay' and they preferred exploring the nearby fields etc.

All in all a great site - and we will definitely return (but only if we can use the overspill field!)

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mccarroll 10 reviews from this member

Camped over the mayday bank holiday weekend. Good bits = Lovely staff, very friendly. Shop met our needs. Location brilliant. Pitch, very spacious. Bad bits = problem with water pressure, water cold for two days, washing up facilities poor only three sinks, not enough showers. One large group near to us noisey at night, where was the warden? Would we go again? Yes,but out of season

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Midwife Jo 1 review from this member

We have visited this campsite for 4 years now and think it is excellent. The location is very unique being set in an old quarry. If the weather is not ideal for camping, as it often can be in this country, then the quarry offers good shelter. The down side to this can be the loss of sun on a sunny evening, but its a small price.

The staff at Rivendale are very welcoming and helpful. As first timers we were even shown to our pitch and help was given to push the camper into position. A warden patrols around 11pm to ensure campers are not getting too loud.

The facilities on this site are always of a high standard. The many toilets and showers are very clean and central for those in the main area. There is an overfill field which is situated near the entrance which has its own facilities.

The bar and restaraunt are also very good and offer a good variety of dishes. On sunny nights there is sometimes an outside grill.

The little shop is very useful given this site is much further away from outside facilities.

One of our favourate places to visit and just a short distance from Rivendale is Milldale. The children love to play on the stepping stones and is a great spot for a picnic. There is a good little shop to buy Cornish pasties or icecreams. This site is also very close to the Tissington Trail which offers wonderful views of surrounding areas.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moya27 1 review from this member

Have been to this site several times now and absolutely love it!

The showers and toilets are excellent and all spotlessly clean. Also has underfloor heating which is a nice touch! Access to toilets is via pin code given to you at reception.

The site itself is set in a disused quarry and is imaginatively laid out. Lots of effort gone into planting shrubs and trees between pitches which ensures plenty of privacy. Also really good for nature lovers too as there is a small pond in the pitching area and birds soaring over the cliffs - fascinating to watch. Also lucky enough to see a badger run past us as we were walking around the tent field at dusk! Can see why they keep on getting David Bellamy gold awards. Who needs TV?

Although there is a small play area for children in the centre ( easy to keep an eye on children from your pitch) we spend most of our time on bike rides up and down the Tissington Trail which is right next to the site. Have also had days out at Alton Towers and Chatsworth and have now booked to go back in May for the Tissington Well Dressings. Tissington village is beautiful.

There is a small shop on site which although uninspiring does sell the basics, however it's a great excuse to go into Ashbourne to stock up. Great for boutique shops, bad for the credit card!

Would also highly recommend the bar which does good pub grub using local ingredients - the gammon steak is excellent! The last time we were went there was a live folk band playing in the bar which kept my young son enthralled.

Great site, great location and nice friendly people. Feels like you've escaped from the rat race for a weekend. Don't all rush at once 'cos I still want there to be room for me!

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ajhut 7 reviews from this member

This is the second time that we have stayed at this site and would recommend it. The toilets and showers are excellent and always immaculately clean. There is a bar with a snooker table and a restaurant on site but it seems that they only open on Friday and Saturday evenings so we didn't use them. There is a small playground and area for kicking a ball which my son aged 11 seemed to enjoy. The shop on site does not supply much and after buying a loaf of bread which was frozen we didn't use again. There is a Somerfield and Co op about 10 mins drive away in Ashbourne though.

Would recommend asking for a sheltered pitch ours was by the cliff this time as it can get really windy. The first time we stayed we were up at 3 am taking our awning down as it ripped and needed repairing.This time I know someone had to move as they had the same problem with the wind. TV reception was ok next to the cliff but our freeview didn't work.

Site is approximately 30 mins from Alton Towers and Cariba Creek Water Park. Would also reccomend Heights of Abraham which has a cable car ride and caves. We went to Chatsworth House but to be honest not interesting for the kids although there is a farm and the grounds and maze are very nice.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Philliphowells 3 reviews from this member

Took 3 children to this site, we had a great time. Went downhill on the Tissington Trail on our bikes, had rest and cup of coffee at the booth in Tissington station ready for our slight uphill return.

We had problems getting our freeview to work but had a far better time because of it playing cards etc.

Would recomend, very clean and warm in showers no complaints at all.

Pub on site and barbeque area look like the would be great in summer.

Will return soon.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scalpal Sal 4 reviews from this member

Stayed there again,(4th time) it was just as good as the previous times. Ameneties are faultlessly clean and hygienic, small playing area for children.

We had 3 Super pitches for 1 van and 8 tents ! (as it was very early in the season. )

Staff were as friendly as ever and even remembered our name from the previous visits.

This is a site we will continue to book when in that area.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maz4Steve 1 review from this member

Went here for the first time last weekend and had a great time even in the rain.

The site is lovely but a bit rough under foot, especially for those who are wobbly on thier pins! like me.

The facilities were very good and very clean. The food in the pub was nothing special but good tucker on a cold and wet day and the beer went down well too!

I should have listened though to the reviews that told me to take a torch as the site does have low level lighting and can be dicey (especially after those few beers).

The staff onsite were friendly and helpful giving us tips for good walks with the dog.

Really enjoyed our stay would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fitzy72 2 reviews from this member

We went here with friends for my 40th Birthday weekend. Even though it rained we had a fantastic weekend and the staff were so helpful with my wife and her 'surprises', which made for a superb time. The site can get a bit 'muddy' from the old quarry when it's raining, but no worse than other sites I've visited. The bar is fantastic and the pitches were great with plenty of space. The toilet block is spotless and one of the best I have encountered. If you're under the face of the cliff you will struggle with TV reception. I couldn't get anything, even SKY, but so what. Great for walks and visiting the locality. Would I visit again??? YOU BET!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve + Gina 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights during the recent very nice weather and we are very glad we chose the site. This site had been recommended by campers at a different site a couple of years ago and we vowed to look it up when staying in the Peaks next. So, now we are recommendingit to all our friends and fellow campers too!

The area is very good for walking, if you are using the Pathfinders Guide for the Peak District you will be able to modify three of the walks (7,18and19)to start from the actual campsite, so, no need to take your car (you will also need the O/S Explorer map OL24-WhitePeaksto help with the modifications, only a little effort, but really worth it.

A lot of effort has gone into reclaiming this old working quarry and we believe that this work has paid off, the site was very quiet, despite the number still using it for the time of year, thankfully no kids running around etc. Ignore the comments about lack of room to play football or not getting a very good TV reception - who needs either? Soak up the atmosphere instead and relax. The site strikes a very happy balance with its surrounding environment, whilst remaining a very comfortable and pleasant site to stay at

During out stay, outside of high season, the pub/restaurant was open Fri/Sat/Sun and Wed nights only - but believe me, it will be worth you forgetting to bother cooking if only for one night - the food really is very good - what would make it truly amazing would be some cask conditioned real ales - go on, please! All credit to the staff too, who are all very pleasant, friendly and courteous.

The Tissington trail passes right by the site to, again, ideal for walkers and cyclists.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019