Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 314 Reviews
                10/10 from 314 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  314 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MJBS 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here to break our journey from Kent to Devon. We used M3/A303 but if we had wanted a quicker journey, M4/M5 would be best, as the site is relatively close to the M5. The site is immaculate, and well laid out.

Toilet block was quite busy at times, but did not have to wait. There are also 2 unisex bathrooms with shower and toilet which can be used when the main block is cleaned.

We stayed in the Top Oaks, it has a huge open lawned area, that, in my mind could do with some trees and shrubs to break up the open space.

The owners take recycling very seriously, which is a good point, but to recycle, it does mean a bit of a walk; recycling is not available at every rubbish bin area.

The entry road is about one mile in length, and does have some narrow parts to it. We often met fast moving locals using this road. On the day of departure, we found it quite difficult to turn left onto the A361, as our unit has a shipping length of over 27 feet.

Places that are worth a visit include Wells with its magnificent cathedral, plus a drive through Cheddar Gorge is worthwhile.

One drawback; we stayed here for 4 days and on each of those, there was the almost constant drone of low flying large military type helicopters and on one occasion this noise was replaced by a low flying fighter jet. I can only assume there is an RAF base nearby.

Would we return? Yes, we would.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pontyus 5 reviews from this member

Beautifully laid out and maintained. Great facilities and a very warm welcome.

The site is located down a b road in some very nice farmland. Good local footpaths abound. Very good shop and reception area and great facilities.

There are some tipi units owned by the site and these looked great. I guess very popular during the Glastonbury Festival. Well positioned for visiting the lovely towns in and around the area.

Only slight negative its a bit of a trek into Glastonbury on foot on a busy main road.

No wonder this is a 5 star site. Superb

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BillEmm19 1 review from this member

We camped in tent and really enjoyed our stay. The facilities are great and we made use of the microwave (and Tesco) to prepare a good cheap evening meal. It was easy to walk to the tor or Glastonbury town and return to the quite and friendly site. During our stay I managed to leave my watch in the shower room and we forgot our ground sheet thinking it was already packed. Both items were returned (ground sheet sent on) illustrating the the quality of fellow campers and staff - highly recommended, quite and safe.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris otoole 2 reviews from this member

My good lady and I stayed here for ten days in august and we wish we had booked for longer. It is the best site we have ever stayed on in ten years of camping. We have a very big tent;six and a half meters by five and a half and sometimes have trouble finding suitable sites to accommodate it. No problems at the oaks. We could have pitched two of them. The pitch was enormous. Apart from just a few the pitches are hard standing which we prefer. No worries if it rains and is definitely warmer underfoot. Facilities are kept spotless as are the grounds. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The on site shop has all the essentials and you can order fresh bread and your daily newspaper. Glastonbury is a nice little town with some very nice friendly pubs. There is also Morrisons for the bigger shop and if you prefer to eat in. Cannot praise this site highly enough and will definitely be returning. Chris and Gail

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lpandde 3 reviews from this member

This site is amazing. We absolutely loved it!

The shop has everything you could need including freshly made cakes!

There is a bathroom, 2 shower rooms and extensive shower/toilet/washbasin facilities. All of which are maintained to the highest standard, always clean.

Super washing up facilities, laundry, freezer and microwave.

The fishing lake is well stocked, so easy to fish for a beginner.

It is a super walk to thee Tor, and there are other walks worth doing also.

Excellent facilities for dog owners.

There is lots to do in the surrounding area, although we did have to drive to everything, we visited the Haynes motor museum, fleet air arm museum, longleat safari park (a must!), cheddar gorge and Street (a must for a shopper!)

The people on site were always very friendly and helpful, even bringing boards for us to use on the grass so that we didn't get a muddy tent!

Site is beautifully kept. I didn't believe the reviews but this site far exceeded expectations!

I would have given this site 10/10 if there was some sort of social area such as a pool or bar, but that is all that lets it down

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BarnsleyBelle 12 reviews from this member

What an amazing find! The site is set in beautiful Somerset countryside overlooked by the magnificent Glastonbury Tor (which can be easily reached on foot in about 20 minutes). The facilities are superb with great attention to detail, excellently manicured and welcoming and friendly staff.

We took advantage of the very picturesque fishing pond which seemed to be brimming with fish, albeit relatively small ones.

The shop was well stocked selling local produce including cider and perry and home produced meats. They also had a good selection of wine and other alcoholic beverages.

Glastonbury is one of my all time favourite places and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stop-off enroute back from Devon and will certainly be back next year.

We would have given the location a 10 out of 10 had there been a local pub within walking distance but don't let that put you off; overall it's a very beautiful relaxing site which we would challenge anyone to find fault with.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alan001 2 reviews from this member

We visited The Old Oaks in July and had an absolutely fabulous stay.

Having booked at short notice, we were delighted with the large pitch we had in the Top Oaks area of the site. This was a hard standing (we were dubious about this in our tent, but were able to obtain an extra ground sheet from reception for a small deposit (refundable on return of the sheet)) and we were amazed how comfortable this actually was, it also meant that OUR footprint sheet was much cleaner at pack up time!

The site was spotless, with great recycling facilities within easy reach of our pitch. The shower/toilet blocks were very clean and well maintained, with unisex showers available for when the separate Male/Female bathrooms are being cleaned. The site is beautifully landscaped, and very peaceful, as well as offering fabulous views of the local countryside.

There is a lovely walk from the site to Glastonbury Tor, and down into the town, and of course the fabulous old oaks, Gog and Magog, are on the edge of the site itself.

All the staff were extremely helpful; there was an occasion when I left a piece of jewellery in the shower block - this was handed in to reception where I was able to retrieve it - a testament to both the staff and our fellow campers.

Special mention must be made of the great dog exercise facilities, which are fully enclosed, our lurcher was absolutely delighted to have some off leash run about time.

Other things we loved - Electric hookup for the tent, and the ability to go to reception in the evening and order a newspaper for the following day, as well as fresh bread from the local bakery (Burns the Bread) for breakfast!

We'll definitely be returning to The Old Oaks, highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sgr2211 2 reviews from this member

We visited this park for a 3 night stay. First impressions of this park are good. It is nicely laid out with good pitches. It has some 'nice touches' that tend to blind you into thinking how good it is.

The sad fact is, the toilet/shower block is grossly inadequate for the size of the park and being so busy is not clean unless you go in after the cleaners. This park also suffers from noise in the shape of loud music from 11pm till 6am from a neighbouring farm that caters for youngsters. There is also a drumming ritual on the Tor that is most annoying.

There is a nice pond that offers very easy fishing as it is overstocked. The dog run is good and has a dog wash that is useful. There is sometimes a queue at the washing up point at busier times. Shop is OK if a little on the expensive side.

You can't hire a Bistro set as it says on the notice board. Overall my opinion is it should be downgraded from 5 stars until the planned toilet and shower facility upgrade is complete.

I feel this would be a nicer place in off peak times when the cleaners of the toilet/showers can cope.

The surrounding area is great for walkers and has something for everyone within quite easy reach if you have a vehicle. Morrison's super market is not too far.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

Wow! There are caravan sites and then there is The Old Oaks! We booked the last 4 days of a 4 week holiday here to break the journey home from Cornwall and at the same time take the opportunity to visit Bath.

The sign at the top of the drive announced the site was full but we had booked! You just had to look at the reception building to know that we were in for a treat! Inside the greeting was warm and friendly.

At the back of reception was a well stocked shop which has free tastings as well as home made cakes every day!

We were shown to our super pitch in Walnut Circle which had water and waste as well as electric. What a brilliant pitch it was with an immaculate lawn area next to the hardstanding which felt like a garden! The site landscaping was stunning!

Wifi signal was excellent! Great TV reception. The toilet and shower facilities were spotless and despite the site being full we never had to queue.

Laundry looked spotless too. Excellent recycling. There is a walk from the site up to Glastonbury Tor.

Wells and it's cathedral are just a few miles away, as is Cheddar Gorge. Bath lived up to it's expectations. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket at Street, about 10 mins away as is Clarks Shopping Village - much nicer than some outlet villages.

Glastonbury has much to offer the hippy in you! The weather was glorious when we were there so it would have been great to have a little more time to just sit back, relax and enjoy the views of the Mendips Hills.

Will we go back? You bet we will and for longer!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joan Larkings 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for seven nights with our caravan. We were a bit apprehensive at first as it was not our first choice. As soon as we had driven up the drive and then checked in at reception we knew that it had been an excellent choice.

The site was spotlessly clean

All the wardens were exceptionally nice, helpful and friendly.

We were escorted to our pitch and the warden explained the layout of the site etc.

Our pitch was 'the orchard'. We had a lovely secluded spot with grass on either side of our caravan. There was a tree in the corner giving the pitch shade on one side, whilst the other side had plenty of sunshine. It was absolutely perfect for us and our 14 yr old boxer dog. Who does not like to be too hot.

The toilet block was very clean with plenty of hot water.

The Orchard had a mixture of caravans, and tents. We would highly recommend this site to anybody who wishes to visit the Somerset area.

Previous     314 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


565 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1582