Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gary wright 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site - it is beautiful many different trees and flat pitches. The grass also was in wonderful condition Bbury st edmonds is 15 mins away. It would be a wonderful site to stay at if in the area we wish we were staying longer but theres always next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baileysman 1 review from this member

 On arrival we instantly knew we would like this site, a very warm welcome from Odell and the sun shining across the corn feilds which surround this little slice of tranquility. The site is situated in the heart of the countryside, just a short jouney to both Sudbury and Bury St Edmunds.

Being a seasoned camper I know a thing or two about what to expect from a camp site, the toilet and shower facilities were clean and well lit, 50p to £1.00 will get you your own 'wet room', so if you are a first time camper who is concerned about the old sterotype of 'having to use the showers' you will have peace of mind.

Being a smaller site you feel part of the community, not overloaded or squashed together, odell makes sure of this by never getting overbooked.

Everyone we met at the site was polite and nodded hello, quite a contrast to town/city life, this is why we get away for short breaks like this.

We will definitely come back as soon as possible, a very refreshing break. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark m 1 review from this member

 This is a beautiful site. It is very well maintained by the owners and is in a very secluded, and quiet position. I took my 9 month old, and 3 year old girls tenting for the first time so I was very nervous, however they thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I believe this was due to the fact that the site was so spacious, and the facilities were so clean and well maintained.

The owners are very friendly allowing you to basically pitch your tent whereever you wish. You can barbeque to your hearts content which also makes it more relaxed, especially after several bottles of beer!

The shower blocks and toilets are very clean, much better shower in the old blocks at 50p a go when the new ones are £1.00 a go
Although toilet roll is provided free of charge, it would be nice to have some hand soap to wash your hands. There is a local shop called Glebe Store which is literally 5 minute drive away, very handy. The main negative point about this site is the owners dog. First day it ran into our tent then into my daughters bedroom climbing over her bed which made me really angry. The third day it ran loose again (in front of the site owner!) and continued to pee against my tent and trailer. Again the owner just watched on without a care in the world which I find amazing.

Despite this I would return to this site as it is so lovely.definitely recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markos 6 reviews from this member

 My wife and myself, and two friends with their two small children visited this site for a long weekend.
 
It's certainly an out-of-the-way site and you get away from the noise of traffic and the day to day hum-drum.
 
I did like the fact that you can pitch where-ever you like. And, as other reviewers have said, there are two pitching areas. 
 
The one hemmed in with a tree line (and a few small trees dotted around) where people are encouraged to pitch up around the perimeter. This is where we stayed. We had the sunlight in the evening, but a bit shady in the morning until around 10'ish.
 
The other area is fantastic. You can pitch along the edge of a wheat / barley field looking across at field upon field as far as the eye sees. Unfortunately, we couldn't get both our tents into an available slot so that's why we weren't here. Arrive early would be my advice.
 
Showers (7/10): There are two showers for each gender that cost 50p. These are reasonable size "wet rooms" with a basin and a shower. The temperature is pre-set and your 50p seemed to go quite far. Functional, nothing too luxurious.
 
Then you have your £1 showers. There are four of these available to all. They're in cabins and are almost like your bathroom back home (no baths!).  A proper shower cubicle (with electric shower), a toilet, a basin, shaver socket & mirror and an on-the-wall electric heater. My first experience left me with my pound expired and me covered in soap suds, having to rinse off with cold water from the sink. However, the next go (in one of the other units) gave me ample time and even enough time for my wife to start her shower.
 
Toilets (6/10): I've down graded these a bit, but they're okay, functional, quite typical of campsite toilets. The urinals were a bit "ripe" on one of the hottest days of the year, but to be fair that's to be expected to a certain extent where the public are involved ;)
 
Pitches (8/10): Grass is neat and tidy, trees and shrubs were all quite pleasant. Slight slope going on, but nothing serious. What is a really good touch is that there are picnic tables (more or less per pitch) that included those rather nice wooden/canvas parasols.
 
Washing Up Area (7.5/10): This was indoors. Think of the kitchen area at your local village hall. Lots of cupboards, an oven, a fridge, a freezer and a double sink. We had very hot water one day, and then at a busier time it seemed to only have luke warm water, but it was free. I assume the oven was available for use but I've no idea! A big room! The fridge and freezer were handy, but I'm not a huge fan of sharing such things with other people! There's always someone who leaves it not quite how you would.
 
Out and about: I personally hate walking, and begrudgingly agreed to participate on the exploration. The farmer has done a fantastic job of making the walks available to the campers. You have to give him absolute credit for this. We only opted for the "short" walk though the wheat/barley fields and up into the village. Go left at the road and there's what seems to be a converted house that is the shop. It doesn't sell a whole lot, but the guy running it was pleasant enough. But had you gone right at the road (which we did by doubling back) and you eventually reach the pub. I think it was called the Swan. A delightful pub with an excellent beer garden where we scoffed down a ploughmans and chips. And maybe a couple of hours worth of beer :)  The mile and a half walk back seemed somewhat shorter than the walk there, but eventually we arrived back at the tent - possibly a bit of crimson colour thanks to the fantastic summer sun!
 
Final sum up:
 
Enjoyed it, would go back, but would try and get on the field side so we could take advantage of both the morning and evening sun. Take 50p's or £1 coins with you for the showers and take most if not all your food with you as you're in the wilderness somewhat!  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ecmustard 1 review from this member

 Such a welcoming, well appointed and spacious campsite; we pitched camp in our own field over a bank holiday weekend. The new showers are great and it was a real bonus to have somewhere indoors to wash up (or even eat).

The surrounding countryside is very picturesque - an OS map came in handy for navigating the lanes and spotting houses with moats.

Odell was really friendly and helpful. The farm is very good value: £12 for a weekend's camping for two plus a car.

We would definitely recommend the campsite, B&B and self-catering facilities to anyone wanting to visit the area.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: T H Clark 3 reviews from this member

 My wife Yvonne and I visited this Working Farm site in Sept 05 you might like to read my review for that visit. The site is still as well kept as it was then, Odell the manager, and son of John the owner of this farm had told me then that he was planning to replace the toilets etc with combination Shower, Toilets and sink units, and true to his word this he has now done. The site now has installed a brand new unit of four private rooms in each, there is installed a shower, a toilet, a sink,and a heater.

In all fairness I must mention, that Children seemed to be most welcome at this site, and while we were here, maybe up to twenty children were having the most fantastic fun, and in full control of thier parents who were also enjoying the Bank holiday weekend,This not a noisy site it is a site that you can relax on, this you can count on!

We drive 100 miles each way to relax here for a weekend, I think that says it all don`t you? 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *tilly* 4 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site! Our visit was over the Easter bank holiday and whilst there were a few people about the site was quiet and relaxed the whole time. There was plenty of wildlife, rabbits, ducks, chickens wood pigeons, woodpeckers and I could hear owls but couldn't see them!

The site is really well maintained and the pitches are lovely, sectioned off with young trees and flowers, there are picnic tables dotted about and we made good use of the one next to us as the weather was pretty good for our stay. The ground is pretty level and the lawns are immaculate. There looked to be plenty of hook ups and a number of water points around the site. There are great views of the little village 'Lawshall' across a field and there are numerous walks from the site that Odell will tell you all about. Talking of which Odell and his family we're really lovely, and could be found around the site when needed...always willing to help and offer advice on places to go etc.

We found atmosphere at the site to be very laid back and relaxed, everyone seemed to be having a good time. Although there isn't a childrens play area there was plenty of space in the middle of the site for children/adults to play games

There are lots of great places to go to from here, Bury St Edmunds is a beautiful city, with some good shopping too. There's a Waitrose and a Tesco here. Long Melford is picture postcard as is Lavenham and other surrounding villages...lots of lovely thatched cottages. We also went to The Imperial War Museum at Duxford, which was about half an hour away and a good day out with lots to do. Cambridge is about half an hour away and was also a good day. Newmarket is closer and was one of my favourite places, you can go to the horse racing museum and to the national stud (but check their website for tour times).

There are lots of quiet lanes to cycle down, and the whole area is very picturesque....wish we lived a bit nearer so could use this site more often!

As mentioned in previous reviews the toilets were in a porta cabin, however they are awaiting the construction of a new block which may well be in by now. As it was the toilets were spotless.....cleaner than any I've seen in C&CC sites.They were nicely painted and there certainly weren't any bad smells! Showers are in a separate block 2 for each gender, water was lovely and hot and a free hair dryer was provided (showers are 50p).

There is a small pub in Lawshall, (and a small village store) OH recommends the 'Titanic' beer, there are also nice pubs in the surrounding villages. Only place I wouldn't recommend was teh Rushbrook Arms on the A134 as get towards Bury St Edmunds, maybe we just caught them at a bad time but the food and service were awful.

Overall an excellent site that was warm and friendly, in a great location...at a bargain price.Can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: T H Clark 3 reviews from this member

 The site level grass, divided into two areas, one enclosed and the other looking out over the fields towards Lawsall. We chose the field view for our stay, in September, the Moon was full that week, and came up as soon as the sun went down, rising from behind the church, in half light, getting brighter as it got darker, hanging in the sky right in front of our window,with not a sound to be heard....

The site manager,owner, Odell is a very pleasant man,and lets you know he is there if you need him, in fact all of the family that we met, were very nice,and helpful,The layout of this lovely site is very well thought out,with outside large strong tables with bench seating, available to every van and M/home pitch as far as I could see, The walks on the land of Bright House Farm,are excellent,and in plenty,
The peace and quiet...Priceless!

Odell did say that the toilets,and washing facilities on his site will shortly be upgraded, if he is true to his word this site with its unspoilt natural beauty will be one of the best Farm sites you could visit! 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Willis30 1 review from this member

 The site had a lovely outlook, the area was nice, but my weekend was spoilt by the fact that the toilets were a portakabin, that smelt, was dirty and the ceiling had partially collapsed. I would not recommend this site if you have children as the owner (Odell), has put signage up in the Kitchen (saying NO CHILDREN) and he threw a pack of toilet rolls at my 7 year old niece, because the toilet door slammed when she was coming out (these doors are on springs, so they are going to slam behind you). The hot water to the shower also ran out by 8.00am every morning.  


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Yrob21 1 review from this member

 We arrived here and found Odell straight away, he was busy cutting the beautiful lawn. We left the car and he showed us around. We were able to pitch anywhere, so we chose a lovely spot next to a great picnic bench which are dotted all around for your use.

They are not interested in payment as soon as your car touches the land, which is another trusting issue they have. The family are all friendly and helpful. They have their own dog who wanders around and is very friendly, maybe that is why they are so relaxed and welcome anyones elses dog. Tasha ,our dog does not wander off so it was lovely to not have to have her tied up all the while like some places make you do.

Set in beautiful country side with mature trees , you have two options where to pitch. You can do so in a great open field, with views across the corn fields stetching for miles, or you can pitch in a more secluded, yet still very open area near the toilets and showers. We piched here and had a great time. Weather was glorious, relaxing beneath the huge beautiful trees.

The showers and toilets are very clean and tidy, and washing up is actually a pleasure, in the biggest kitchen I have ever seen! Dont worry if you are a persil or fairy liquid person , the truin family provide this and top quality toilet roll for your use. I left our cheap economy ones in the car!

Plenty of lovely walks to go on, a little shop which is worth the walk to and all the country side hospitality you need, you will find here.
We will be back. Our old dog lost her favourite soft toy while we were there, I emailed odell and they promised to look for it for us. If you want a peaceful, relaxing time with bury just ten minutes drive ,you must come here. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement