Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 215 Reviews
                8/10 from 215 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  215 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bungus 2 reviews from this member

This site is tucked up on the hillside overlooking Ullswater, and to be honest we hadn't really calculated how far it was for walking to the nearest village (Pooley Bridge). The staff were very helpful especially getting us on the pitch (it was our first time touring and could have been embarrassing). We stayed in the easter and the tarriff was about £22 per night for car and caravan which I suppose is OK.

The on-site shop was great and open at all times but the main selling point of this site is the wonderfully old and rustic pub with its huge open fire. The shower facilities were OK: they were clean but could have done with longer shower curtains! Sounds silly but as a consequence the water went everywhere and you were required to mop the floor after you. The one thing I didn't like were the bins - they were full when we got there and still full when we left four days later. There is a games room for the kids but no special play area that I saw.

This site was especially favourable towards dogs who were the main company around the pub fire on an evening!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phoenix69 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit back to this site.  We really love it with very friendly owners. They have both standard and flat pitches for tents (I'd advise spending a little more on the flat pitches as the hill can be an annoyance when frying sausages). Site is very well kept and the facilities are great; two big bathrooms where you can have a soak or standard shower rooms are available to all. 
Lovely bar too! Nice drive from both Penrith & Keswick. Keswick having a lot of great camping shops, so expect to take home more than you took!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alipatta 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from 24 hours at this wonderful site! Can't wait to get back there again. Apart from the stunning location, accessibility etc, the people are great and so helpful. Facilities are much improved since our last visit 4 years ago, with the addition of two family bathrooms complete with bath, toilet (with 2 way seat for juniors), potties, step stools etc. All immaculately presented. Didn't try showers as only there overnight.

The kids adventure play area is fabulous - our 2 and 4 year old boys had a great afternoon there. Everywhere is dead clean too - didn't see one bit of litter or dog poo anywhere. The bar opens at 8pm (a bit on the late side) and serves great local bottled beers (Tirrell Brewery yum yum) and okay stuff on the pumps. We were left in peace as they have a great playroom for smaller kids including lots of buggies, scooters, a playhouse, lego and other toys. The best thing is that the kids can be safe up there with no way to sneak past the adults in the bar. The people we struck up conversation with were all really nice too and there were plenty of nice kids around for our lads to play with. I can highly recommend this site and like I say, I can't wait to get back there.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bob+Jane 4 reviews from this member

Well maintained site. May be a little short of shower and toilets in peak times. Probably better for the motor home and fixed caravan user, as the tented area is furthest from the sites facilities.

Few electric hook-ups for tent users.

Site is well placed for places to visit by car, or for walks, close to Lake Ullswater.

Beware the bar is open for 8pm to 10pm, and in these cool spring nights, it's a rush to get close to the log fire.

Recommend site.

Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chip2 1 review from this member

We visited early season so the site was actually quiet which was nice but there was a lot of rain and this caused sticky mud around our pitch. This seems to hit the lower pitches more so. When the rain cleared the views are great though and its peaceful with good hot showers.

The bar is handy with some nice beer although its a bit spooky with many old stuffed animals on display. Its good when the log fire is going

Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul roden 1 review from this member

We had a nice week at the quiet site last Easter. It's well situated with great views over Ullswater. The toilets and showers can be crowded at peak times, and the staff have a strange habit of propping open the door to the facilities so that gusts of wind aerate shower users. Brrr! Having said that, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Big gripe however. We found the site overpriced for its facilities, charging 4 star prices for 3 star facilities. There is a major problem with electricity supply to the campsite, such that if usage exceeds supply over a short period of time, then sections of the camp are blacked out. This is a major drawback both for staff (who have to come round and manually reset the circuit breakers) and for caravanners who rely on the power for heating and lighting.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brittanicus 2 reviews from this member

I can only highly recommend this site. This was our families 1st camping experience, and it made us become regular campers. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower block wasn't exactly 5 star, but it was clean and pleasant enough. We took a boat trip on Ullswater and suddenly a thunder and lightening storm struck, my family were frightened but I found it awesome. A must visit place is the Aria falls, one of the most beautiful walks I have ever experienced. The nice thing about this area is there is plenty to do whatever your budget. We found the little pub on the site filled with a lake district atmosphere very homesome and also dog friendly. There was plenty for our children to do on the site that didn't constantly involve putting your hand in your pocket.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Intruder 2 reviews from this member

Arrived mid afternoon to find shop closed and note to effect staff would be there 5.30 to 6.30 for checkins. Bar to open at 8pm. Found a pitch and at allotted time returned to check in. At this time when I mentioned the bar was told it would not be opening because it wasnt worth it because the site was QUIET this weekend. If I knew this before we would not have booked. Shop pricy,toilets ok. Avoid the lower pitches which get a bit waterlogged. Bring your own drink incase it is QUIET!

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yeti185 1 review from this member

Had a great week despite the gale force winds & torrential rain, the site still suffers with waterlogged pitches. I have to say the staff are very friendly and helpful, the Bar is great especially perching in front of the log fire, Toilet block is clean with a small onsite shop supplying most of the basics with good walks within easy reach one such being Aira Force. Still undetered we have booked a pitch for a few weeks earlier in the 06 season.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Blue_bumble25 3 reviews from this member

We have been to this site a few times and would agree that the staff are very helpful and friendly. The site is good and has beautiful views from the top terraces.

However my only gripe is the price and toilets/showers. I agree that the toilets/showerblocks need a bit modernising and do get rather busy in peak times for the size of the site. I also feel that the price is a bit steep compared to other sites of the same standard. Having said that we have been a few times and find the location is stunning and no doubt we will return.

All in all a good site - we found drainage at the top is fine its only at the lower end of the campsite thats a problem but then its a steep walk to the top terraces from the loos.

Previous     215 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938