Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sanhozay 10 reviews from this member

Modern, up-to-date site at the foot of the Hardknott Pass in Eskdale. Formerly Hollins Farm (which seems to cause some confusion) but now the C&CC Eskdale site.

Staff generally friendly and helpful, although the man who checked us in was a bit stand-offish. Maybe because we arrived before the usual check-in time or maybe it was because it was the day after the Bank Holiday weekend and he was sick of campers. We didn't get a choice of pitch and were quite exposed to wind; others who arrived later were given a free choice. Well stocked shop selling food, including local meat, and camping supplies.

Toilet/shower/washing up/laundry facilities are first class. No additional charge for showers. Spotless, cleaned by staff thoroughly and kept clean by providing campers with fresh cloths and a bucket and mop in the showers.

Pitches are generally quite flat, reasonably sheltered by trees on either side and never too far to walk to the facilities. No noise after 11 o'clock is the policy and it was adhered to - except by a fox one night.

Excellent pubs nearby within easy walking distance. The Brook House Inn is about 50 yards down the road and has a great pint of Landlord. The walking around the area is, of course, fabulous. Easy access to Wasdale or back up the Hardknott. Longer routes to the Scafells are available from Boot.

Overall one of the best I've stayed at and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kjord79 7 reviews from this member

First visit here and we will definitely be returning.  The campsite managers couldn't have been more helpful, I messed up my booking when I rang but he sorted it with no problem.  When we got there he realised that friends of ours were there too and did his best to place us near them, and when he realised that where he put us meant our electric hookup wouldn't reach he lent us an extension cable so we could still pitch near them.  He also informed us which way the wind blew in the valley and so which wold be the best way to pitch our tent.

The site itself is lovely, absolutely beautiful scenery surrounding it and well looked after and kept clean. The toilets and showers were always spotless when I went in them and there was a mop and bucket there to use after yourself. There was also plenty of hot water for both showers and dishwashing. The dishwashing facilities also had a payphone in there (there were both outside and inside areas to wash up) which was very useful as there was no mobile signal being in the middle of the cumbian mountains!  There was also plenty of information about the local area and activities, walks etc were all mentioned.  Just behind the information room is also a drying room for clothes if they were wet from walking and also 2 washing lines to use.  The thing I found most useful was the list of menus from all the local pubs in the area.  We ended up going to the Boot Inn as it was very welcoming towards our new puppy.  The food was excellent and the staff really friendly.  
The shop onsite is licensed and also sells local produce including delicious cakes from the local bakery.   

The quiet times between 11pm and 7am were kept to and there was a direct line to he wardens outsde reception if there were any problems. 
They also had a trampoline for children and a small area with swings in and room for ball games etc.  Along with a family bathroom this made it a lovely site for a family. 
The only thin that could have made it better for us was a designated dog walk, but then maybe i'm just picking faults as situated where it is, there were plenty of places to walk the dog! 
There is also a miniature railway within easy distance walking of the site and hardknott pass was a 'fun' road to drive. 
We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbrian Ceilidh 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, not too crowded and great flat pitch. Situated just off Hardknott pass - very easy to find.
 
Facilities first class and kept spotless, also a family bathroom which is a great idea. On site shop for all the essentials, and meat and bread from local suppliers.
 
Kids loved the play area in the woods and trampoline was a winner!
 
5 minute walk to L'al ratty and Boot Inn pub - lovely grub!
 
Will definitely use this site again. Great for families.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: N3vm0 1 review from this member

Fabulous site. Very quiet, clean and plenty of space for all.

Good on-site shop for all the emergencies, including some very tasty local meat produce.

Facilities first class - immaculate.

The Boot Inn proved to be our favourite eating / drinking place. No more than a few minutes walk.

Guaranteed to be returning very soon!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinatunes 1 review from this member

This is the first time we have used a campsite in England and we were pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were slightly after the latest check in time and reception was closed but before we could even get out of the car one of the staff was waiting to book us in. Book in procedure was both quick and easy. We were give a brilliant location on the corner of a field with walls to two sides of the tent. The facilities were extremely clean and tidy with fresh cut flowers being put in the ladies toilets daily. There was a play area for the children with a trampoline and swings. There was an excellent washing up area both inside and outside and together with an excellent laundry room. We would highly recommend this site. Well done to the owners for their standards.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tophatter 23 reviews from this member

This is an absolutely wonderful site, the facilities are first class. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Showers and toilets are immaculate. The site is set in a valley surrounded by mountains.
We arrived in very bad weather but the site is well drained and we camped on grass with no problems. The roads are very narrow to the site, we didn’t try the Hardknott pass. The site doesn’t allow caravans but they do allow campervans and motorhomes, but you’ll have to ring the site direct.
A narrow gauge railway La’al Ratty is a short walk, which runs to Ravenglass, you can also hire bikes from here. You have a selection of three pubs all in walking distance, with a great selection of local real ales, they all do food and allow dogs. The site has a shop for all your essentials. Try the walk down to the church across the stepping stones and along the river to the Doctor Bridge, stop at the Woolpack Inn and then back down the road to the site, a very nice walk. This site is highly recommended

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrewbrown 5 reviews from this member

This site is a really beautiful site.The facilities are fantastic and there is also a well stocked shop.For walkers it is a paradise.The roads are very narrow approaching the site and I would not attempt to go to this site in our motor-home.
But we would definitely revisit

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona karen 21 reviews from this member

Just got back from here, and had a great time, lovely campsite, and really friendly wardens, its says no motorhomes on the listing but they are allowed, you have to ring the site direct not go through the C&CC.
 
Our motorhome is 21ft and 7ft 6in wide and it was ok going in, there is a coach company which runs from about a half a mile away and they manage ok, so give it a go, kept seeing a sign about a width restriction but never found it, after we turned right from the A595 we took the top road via santon bridge as this road appeared wider on the map and it was fine, it was after eskdale green that it got a bit narrow but with plenty of passing places, it was a bank holiday so was a bit busy but we took our time and will definitely be going again.
 
Wanted to mention about the eskdale  bike trail as well, it runs from boot station to ravenglass and you can then get back up on the train, but you have to book your bikes on in advance as theres only so many they can take, its mainly flat or slightly down hill most of the way with one big uphill section at chapel hill, we got off an pushed our bikes up, but it takes you past munster castle and the romam baths and was a really good day out, you can get the leaflets from the stations at boot or reavenglass and theres vouches off admission  to munster castle and the price of the bikes on the trail, it cost 1.90.
 
This campsite has gone to the top of our list of places to visit as there is so much to do and the area is lovely

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michelle + Kev 33 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 4 nights at this site, which was formally Hollins Farm I believe.
 
It is in a gorgeous setting, surrounded by fantastic walks.  Three pubs within walking distance, all serving real ales.
 
Toilet / shower block immaculate at all times.  Big Family / Disabled Shower room.  Washing up facilities both indoor and outdoor.  Information room. 
 
Reception sold all the essentials you might need, cereal, milk, bread etc.
 
Very pleasant staff and hope to return later in the year.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atherwitzend 7 reviews from this member

WOW . Stunning location!
First class facilities.
Flat fields.
Loads of electric hook-ups.
3 showers (FREE) and 5 toilets plus a hairdryer in both men's and ladies blocks plus a family/disabled room with toilet, baby-changing unit and 2 showers.
There are 3 indoor and 3 outdoor washing up basins with constant free hot water and a laundry room with washer, dryer, spin-dryer and iron all available for a small fee.
Site was kept tidy and facilities were spotless.
Well stocked small shop selling essentials, treats and local produce.
Run by a helpful couple and friendly staff.
Drive over Wrynose Pass and Hardknott Pass to get there is spectacular, especially as the mountains open up to the view of the valley. However should only be tried by confident drivers with a hardy clutch.
Plenty to do in the area, especially for walkers. Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway is worth taking a trip on.
3 family friendly pubs within walking distance.
We are already planning our next visit!

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth £457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7828 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016