Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samcave 2 reviews from this member

Yet again we arrived in Yorkshire just after a torrential down pour and yet again Crows Nest came to our rescue.

Staff went out of their way to open up extra fields for us campers who had been turned away from many flooded sites.

Facilities are great - particularly the on site shop which has a bit of everything and isn't too pricey.

We've stayed here before but this was the first time we visited the on site Fish & Chip shop. Be prepared to wait. A couple of the staff in the chippy are only able to serve one person at a time and definitely cannot multi-task! chips were OK but nothing to recommend in particular.

The on site pub / club has good all-round entertainment - ideal for British holidays and they cater for children well ( even though we didn't have any kids with us).If you want a quiet, adult drink away from the kids, this pub is not for you - but then that's to be expected at the seaside.

A lovely,spacious site, with good facilities and always a free pitch- whatever the weather. We will always come back to visit Crows Nest.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Croppa 1 review from this member

Decided to camp at this site after being recommended by a work colleague, very pleased with service and facilities (although does get a little bit windy especially when pitching a tent).

It was the second time I have been camping with my 8 year old daughter, there were plenty of facilities to keep her entertained, which included a large outdoor play area where she made some friends as soon as we arrived, the pool is good value at 2.00 per day, the fish shop had plenty of choices, the shop stocks everything you need and the bars were quite lively with entertainment for adults and children with good drinks, however a little disappointed that it did not open until 7.00pm for bar meals etc, although there is a pub about 500 yards away which serves good food and has a games room and play area for the children. The shower block and toilets are adequate and not too far from the camping area.

The site is in an excellent location for any days out, we decided to drive to Scarboro (although there is a bus service from the main road next to the site)and we weren't disappointed with the facilities there (hasn't changed since I was last there as a child).

Overall the site provided all that is required for a camping holiday or break, my daughter really enjoyed the camping trip and especially the facilities on site.

We will definitely be going back in the future !

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris1910 2 reviews from this member

Pitch was very small no room for awning and car on pitch. Toilet and shower block were dirty and water pressure in showers was low. Resorted to using the shower in the caravan.

Bins were full to overflowing. Wastewater disposal point was hidden under a dustbin next to toilet block was advised to use elsam point to empty waste hog. Well ye just lift it up when full and tip it in there !

9 year old niece was disappointed with location of play area , route march to top of hill.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicks 1 review from this member

There was 8 adults and 11 kids on our trip and we found this place excellent we all love it - the showers weren't great but its camping what do you want the ritz

The swimming pool was great all the other campers were friendly. Amusements kept the teens occupied for hours on end. The pool pass was a great idea, shop was well stocked and takeaway service great. All in all we didn't want to come home, we had 4 nights there and liked it that much we are returning in 9 days for 2 nights. I would recommend this sight to any one except if you don't like it a bit lively on a weekend especially Friday then go during the week we didn't mind this as we were having a laugh ourselves 10/10

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stecky 8 reviews from this member

Just returned great location,good showers nice hot water,good bar and entertainment ( johnny come up ) irish trio A1,good shop very little pool only for small children,ace walk along the cliff tops to cayton and the other way to filey. The camp site itself was poor dead end road and with it raining it was a right mess you would have thought they would put a few shale roads down. The street lighting finished at the last caravan and were the first tent was there was no lighting.

All in all we had a good time

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spireite1971 5 reviews from this member

Just spent a couple of nights at crows nest. The weather was atrocious with heavy rain prior and during our stay, making the tent field look like something from glastonbury. The tarmac road only leads onto the tent field and really needs to be extended so you can access all of the field for situations like these. Obviously with conditions like these its hard to tell if the toilets and showers have been cleaned so I will give them the benefit of the doubt, though there was plenty of loo rolls and plentiful hot water. There was also a decent kids play area, chippy, good sized shop, bar, swimming pool, laundrette and washing up facilities. My major gripes about this site was the noise, which went on until the early hours, I finally fell asleep about 2.30am, and the fact that the dog walking area had tents on. Theres a great view out to sea from the bottom of the tent field.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loukav 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from 3 nights stay at this park. Overall we weren't impressed.

The main problem was the toilet and shower facilities - quite a long walk if you are in the main tent field. The toilets were often without toilet paper, but the worst thing about the block were the showers. Unless you got there before 7am there was always a queue, and they were very small. Very difficult to get dry, found it impossible for myself and 6 yr old daughter to have a shower together. There was a disabled toilet with a shower in, but the shower didn't work properly.

There were 2 washers and driers, but a little pricey.

There is a decent shop on site, and a take-away which came in handy. Didn't visit the lounge or swimming pool so can't comment on those. There was a decent playpark to keep children amused.

Another problem was no set pitches, it was OK during the week but on Friday night it felt overcrowded - there was even tents on the dog walking field. We were surrounded by several large groups and there was music and noise until the early hours of the morning.

We visited Scarborough and Filey, and found plenty of things to do (even in the rain). Only downside was no dogs allowed on the beaches - we found a nice quiet beach at Cayton Bay where dogs are allowed - although it's a very steep path. Popular with surfers.

We liked the area but not the campsite - we will not be returning, and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lekytent 11 reviews from this member

Typical small holiday-camp not camp-site. Tight pitch, just enough room for awning & car, very close to the pitch behind and the need for the cars / vans on the opposite side of the access road to be 'in' properly to allow manoeuvring on/off pitch, and I'm good at reversing a trailer! I saw a lot of people unhitch and manually push the last bit. Having said that it was with it's own tap and conveniently positioned drain (straight down the hole, no wastemaster req).
Lots of statics on site, only about 50 touring pitches. Tent field at top of site is open to the wind, hardly a level area to be seen so we won't be camping here, but there is the possibility of cliff top tenting (tent hook-ups only available next to the above average kids playground, they're not completely level and on the wrong side of the hill to see the sea).

Toilets; Only four ladies and three gents sitters and three showers in each but they are only used by tourers so not a problem, cleaned everyday and stayed tidy'ish. Shower rooms are like the pitches, tight! good 'Mira' showers though.

Shop sells all essentials and a few pocket money toys. Entertainment on most nights in the clubhouse. The indoor pool; small with a small flume, two lifeguards on full time watch, charge of 2/day or 10/wk, it kept our 9yr wet and happy but the older ones weren't too impressed. No access to the beach, erosion of the cliff has seen to that. Beach access in a small bay just down the road (car park @ 2/day). Very well situated for Filey, Scarboro' and Bridlington as well as the N. York moors. Would we stay here again, Yes, but only because it is reasonably priced and well situated.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simplycamping 6 reviews from this member

Arrived to overcast skies and to discover that although we were booked in as a group (20 in 6 tents for 2 nights) there is no allocation, its simply first come first served and it doesn't seem to matter how considerately people pitch.

The bottom of the camp site was packed and so we ventured up to the top and quickly realised why it is called the crows nest with the wind already blowing hard from the sea right across the main part of the field.

All the partly sheltered areas at the sides were blocked by people pitching single tents and then putting up wind breaks and parking their cars in such a way as to take up sufficient area for another 2 tents.

We were left with no option but to pitch in the middle of the field. There is a decent slope down and it is nigh on impossible to get a flat pitch, still adds to the fun rolling off your air bed (?) The weather turned and was atrocious which obviously isn't there fault.

We went over to Flamingo Land the following morning and spent most of the day there and returned at about 3pm to discover 4 of the tents had been flattened by the wind and rain and most of the bedding etc was soaked.

We went down to see if we could get a refund (worth a go?) and to be honest the staff tried to be helpful in offering ways to repair broken poles (there was a reasonable queue of others who's tents had also been flattened) but to be fair did they really think that some tape would withstand the wind. They refused point blank to give a refund but finally agreed to a credit note (valid for a month I think, big deal).

The facilities were reasonable with a well stocked shop charging fair prices. The chip shop service was slow and portions a bit on the mean side for the price but they did taste good. The pool is very small but not many camp sites have a pool so has to be a plus.

We didn't use the bar on the first night but it looks quite small for the size of the site. The showers are hot but small and very difficult to get changed without your clothes getting wet, they seemed to be reasonably clean but are a bit of a hike from the tent area as they are situated in the caravan area (why?). There is a good kids play area.

There does not seem to be any policing of noise and as such may not suit people who are trying to get younger kids settled in spite of their hyperactivity and excitement!

All in all, the weather was not their fault but the main camp area is very exposed to winds and on a slope so I would not return and would not recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Phillyn 2 reviews from this member

Have visited Crows Nest several times over a period of 6 years. I have always received very good service and enjoy staying there. Have used the caravan pitches, which I found a little claustrophobic. Have used the tent area loads of times. There are EHUs but these are limited in number and they have to be pre-booked. Unfortunately these cannot accommodate large tents. I have just purchased a Vango Diablo 900 and it it too big for the EHU pitches. However, there is not problem using the larger tents on the tent field.
Last time I visited I took a small generator which didn't cause any problems. The site has plenty of good points, good play area for the kids and the club house provides some entertainment for the kids such as clowns and magicians. I've never seen a bad act yet and the site owner, Ian, likes to get involved to ensure that all have a good time.
The shower block for the tent area is a little sparse but it always kept clean. They have recently installed a pot wash area close to the EHU and tent area, but due to the strong wind the last time I was there, the pilot light kept blowing out and left us with no hot water.

There are terrific views from the cliff top which has a walk path, just be a little careful when using this as the cliff is eroding. Although it is a busy site I have never been disturbed with late night noise, any noise after midnight is usually brought under control by the security guard. There is a garage close by and a pub which serves good food and beer. There is also a good sized market and car boot every Sunday within easy walking distance.

The last time I was there the weather was awful and because most of the tent area is on a slight slope I ended up being flooded out, several times, so chose your pitching point carefully. It does level out the further you go towards the cliff edge but this means that you end up with quite a walk to the shower block and toilets and the pot wash.

The site does not allow bikers/scooters or single campers. It does allow dogs, which must be on a lease at all times and there is a dog area. This sites caterers for most families and I have always found the owners and staff to be very helpful. Would recommend this site to anyone.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019