Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northmonkeyboy 1 review from this member

 This campsite is fine but differs from the description on the pages here in our experience. We were expecting a rural environment with limited facilites and whilst the facilities are adequate the site is large and full of families with lots of children making it more like a holiday park environment than rural camping. Having said that if this is what you are looking for and have kids then its great. However, the local pub is expensive (£15 per main course) and the beach was horrible. Not a grain of sand in sight and the whole area is very run down and dilapidated. The area is reminiscent of a north east seaside town although that is perhaps an insult to some lovely north eastern areas! If you are looking for a nice weekend by the coast as a couple or adults only maybe give it a miss, if you want a site for kids with plenty of space it the place for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blobbyblobby 1 review from this member

 Came down from London for the weekend of 15/16 July. To put my review into context, my girlfriend and I have camped around Scotland / Ireland / England / Australia with a 3-man 10 year old Euro-hike dome tent. I would describe the camping style as basic but not self-sufficient.

The approach of bio-loos and recyling is good to see. To those a bit put off by the idea of the toilets, can I say give it a go. Its OK, honestly, and they are well looked after. The pitch is level and It is also nice not to have a bar/restaurant/play area/mega-shop i.e. Its a campsite, not a holiday park.

However I think there is some work to be done.
Mid-week this site may be fine, however during a summer weekend, to be honest I think it is a little bit stretched.

They could do with more shower facilities, and if you are in the far field, its a bit of a trek. I also think that there is a need for an increase in the number of toilets and taps/sinks in the field, again for the weekend crowd.

Also, while I am in favour of being able to pitch anywhere, perhaps an idea would be to mark out pitches, and let people choice from those. It was difficult manoeuvring the car between other tents when they can be pitched higgedly-piggedly.

I am most definitely in favour of this campsite and would love them to continue their approach. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Estelle 5 reviews from this member

 This is one of our favourite sites in Sussex. It is very relaxed & how camping should be, three big fields with plenty of space & about 15 mins walk down a lane (or 2-3mins drive) to some of the best beaches on the South Coast at Bracklesham & the Witterings. The new facilities have helped cope with the recent busy hot weekend rush well but it still retains the rustic charm of an old fashioned site & hopefully the owners will not develop too much as that is part of its charm. It is also one of the very few eco friendly sites we have found. It is also very family friendly with plenty of space in the middle of the field for the children (and adults!) to play.
 
The other bonus is that most of the people on the site are pretty chilled out and friendly & most of the rowdier set tend to go to the bigger Scotts Holiday village the other side of East wittering leaving this site fairly peaceful thankfully!
 
Its a bit of a "Marmite" site, you will either love it or if you are an urbanite & want bars, clubhouses & loads of facilities, you will hate it! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Therm0stat 6 reviews from this member

 Quite liked this site, but I was the only one out of theparty that I went with that did like it. First the likes: I thought this site had a great deal of charm. It was rough and ready and I liked that. The pitches were flat and the fields were small. The site is down the end of a dirt track and peaceful and relaxing. The dislikes from the rest of the party: It was too long a walk to the beach if you’ve a lot of gear and young children. The site was basic. The composting toilets were fine with me, but no one else in the group would use them and the children were scared that they’d fall down them. This put too much pressure on the two normal toilets that were very, very busy. Stupidly the flushing toilet is in with the shower, so this meant that it was effectively unusable most of the time. The facilities were too thin on the ground for the rest of the group.

It was fine for me for a weekend, but any longer and I’d have found it to be a difficulty. You also had to pay £1 for a shower. I’ll write that again in case you think it’s a mistake - £1 per shower. The guy that owned the site and farmed the area was veryn ice. He was helpful and talkative.  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiwimitch 4 reviews from this member

 This is a delightful secluded site, during the weekdays we pretty well had the site to ourselves and, even though the weekend was one of the hottest of the year so far, there was still plenty of room for everyone. We came back to this site this year because we enjoyed our last visit so much, the beach is only 15 mins walk away, there is a good village nearby for shopping & a convenient pub only 10 mins walk down the lanes. Since our last visit the owners have installed some more toilets, showers and water taps, moved the recycling point & generally improved the facilities a lot, but it still retains that old fashioned campsite atmosphere.

The owners are very friendly & regularly check things although it is a working farm. The other thing we like about this site is that it tends to attract a very friendly bunch of fellow campers (unlike other sites we have been to!). We highly recommend this site and especially recommend coming during weekdays as site & local beaches are usually pretty well deserted! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fekq 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely chilled out campsite, with plenty of space (pitch where you like) in a huge field full of luscious grass to lie out on watching the clouds in the blue sky (and getting horrendously sunburnt but hey ho.). We reckoned 20-30 mins saunter to the beach, although our teenagers claimed it to be a "mission": (I think they got a bit lost). Don't even think about driving down the the lane past the campsite to the beach - there are potholes like craters! I thought the ecoloos are great (and having a dodgy tum, I tested them out plenty) and smelt fine thanks to the woodshavings, although the teenagers were a bit suspicious. There is a flush loo in the house with the shower, if you've got a fussy child with you - although the younger ones on the campsite seemed to find the fact you could see the, erm, "waste" in the ecoloos rather fascinating! 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surreybunny 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet lanes to site and absolutely no traffic which is heaven! The children absolutely loved it and it was nice to not worry about nearby roads. The nearest beach is about 15 minutes walk and there are plenty of shops for supplies in the village or if you are lazy like us, lots of places to eat to save cooking!

Very friendly site & owners. It is a very simple site with no frills but does have the basics - two showers, five toilets (three of which are ecoloos) which are a brilliant idea and so much better than the portaloos that you find on some sites, a washing up point plus the usual drinking water & chemical waste disposal. There is no shop onsite but plenty withing a short walk including a good Co-op.

We liked the eco friendly approach to both the farm & campsite, The farmer was very friendly and as a keen birdwatcher it was fantastic to see so many species around the farm including the first time I have ever seen a Little Egret. The site seems to attract a lot of regulars, one family made us feel very welcome & invited us over to their tent for drinks & rather chilly early season barbecue!

Definately will come back when it is a bit warmer! 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harlequin 3 reviews from this member

 Super old fashioned site in a really lovely location near the beach - we stayed for a week during the holidays and had a great time with the spring lambs in the next field, this site is actually on a proper working farm, so many sites which call themselves "farm sites" are not. There is plenty of room, the camping fields are huge so you are not packed in like some sites.

Facilities are basic but that is part of the charm and does keep the "essex boy" types away! The owners have put in an extra shower which is welcome and extra ecoloos which are ideal given the water shortages. Also some new hedges & fences which give more privacy between pitches. This is the only truly environmentally friendly campsite we have been able to find in this area. Be careful though to follow the directions properly, the site is hidden away and there is another very cramped site at the far end of Stubcroft Lane called Gees camping which some of the reviewers seem to have confused this site with. 


Reviewer: Alleka 1 review from this member

 August 2005
We stayed three nights at the site with our children. The location is gorgeous and we really enjoyed the walks to the beaches but our stay was definitely spoilt by the lack of decent facilities. Over the weekend the site was busy and the one toilet and shower were nowhere near enough. The ecoloos were ok as a backup but we really felt that proper facilities should have been available for £12 per night. For a site this size you need a proper shower and toilet block. The recycling containers were too small so gave the impression that the site was overflowing with rubbish, although they were emptied regularly. The owner seemed very pleasant but I agree with some of the other reviewers - if he does not invest in his facilities I would probably not go back despite the lovely location. What a shame.  


Reviewer: Happy1 1 review from this member

 August 2005
This is a convenient site for Chichester, the beaches and the surrounding area but it's not one for getting away from it all. During our weekend stay, we felt we were very packed in and surrounded by other tents that were very close. It is obviously popular with families (some of them seemingly quite bad tempered) so one to avoid if lots of children isn't your thing.

The 'ecoloos' are nothing to be frightened of and were well maintained. If you like your shower though you might be in for a wait as with just the one for such a busy site, demand is high. Fantastic spot too for star gazing, we've never seen so many shooting stars. Probably not somewhere we'll return to but if you're looking for flat, short grass it could be one to try.

The owners were very friendly and considerate of the environment although that seemed to lead to a lot of rubbish being stacked up by the entrance which is not a welcoming sight or smell.

Advisable to book (they require a deposit) 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement