Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 181 to 189                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SZTE 6 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful camp site with facilities that will take a lot of beating. The toilet and shower unit are new and state of the art, fitted with the latest Dyson hand dryers and Radio 2 piped through the building. Some of the shower units also had sinks fitted and there was plenty of room to shower and room to take small children in with you. Very well thought out. Oh and the showers are now free to use. The on site shop has all the basics you could need and the pub and fish bar is just a few minutes walk along the main road and there is a small play area with climbing frames and slides on site for the younger kids. The site itself is well spaced out. I agree with the 6m rule stated on previous reviews. It's not well managed but did not cause us a problem but could be an issue if the site is very busy.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizjones 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a family holiday and absolutely loved it! 
 
The campsite is huge, we had electric hook-up which also has your own water supply.  We did not need to use the water carrier at all.  The pitches are huge - we have a big tent, an Outwell Norfolk Lake which is 7m x 4.4m and the pitch was more than adequate to take the tent, our 4 x 4 car, a friend's 2 man tent and loads of space for our table, chairs etc.
 
The toilet facilities are new, and lovely.  7 sinks, about 8 toilets and 6 or 7 shower rooms, which have a bench seat, a sink and then the shower at the rear.  The showers are free and plenty of room to get dry, dressed etc.
 
The washing up area is great as is the laundry room with 2 washers and 2 dryers.
 
There is also another toilet and shower block which must have been the original block - but it is still modern and clean.
 
All of the toilet, shower, washing up facilities are spotless and you never had to queue for any of them.
 
There is CCTV which covers the whole site, so the site feels safe.  There is a big dog walking field which is well lit.  The whole site is well lit, all the paths, walkways and even two standing lamps outside each tent pitch. 
 
The week we were there, 3 - 10 August, there were no loud kids hanging around and all the campers, old and young were nice.  No groups, loud music etc.  Our kids, age 10 and 14 could play hide and seek etc, even when it was dark and they were safe.
 
The camp reception is nice, as are the staff and the camp shop is adequate for milk, bacon, juice etc.  The sister site, Caerdanniel is a 5 minute walk away which sells everything, even wine, beer etc and also home cooked food to take away.  The access to the beach, over the railway line is here also.
 
Barmouth is nice, about a 5 minute drive.  It has a large beach, which is clean, the small harbour and shops, pubs etc.  It gets really busy for parking but once you get your bearing and find the car parks, it is fine.  There is a Spar, Woolworths, Co-op and Iceland so it is worth stocking up there rather than using the camp shop all the time.
 
We will definitely go back some time.  Hope this helps!  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcintyresteven 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a very pleasant visit to the Trawsdir camping park (2 nights - 2-4th Aug 07). First impressions were good and we were shocked at how few tents were pitched on a site which offered full panoramic view of the coastline. Picked the perfect spot with just 4 tents on site.
 
The facilities were 1st class with the shower/toilet block being almost brand new and free shower/hand dryer too. The site was quiet even with a main coastal road running along the front of the camping field. Plenty of space to play with the kids and there is also a separate dog walking field which also leads to the nearest family pub just 10 min walk away.
 
All in all and excellent stay - shame the weather turned as we decided to come back a day early. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clsk68 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, this was our second visit and this year they have new toilet and shower facilities, the best we have ever used. Really up to date, plenty of showers and toilets, very clean and hand dryers I have never seen before.
They have also built a new area for washing up which is spacious and plenty of sinks.
We were put on a new electrical hook up pitch in the front field, we were next to the road but didn't cause us problems. The view was spectacular, the sea to the front and the welsh mountains behind.
Barmouth is only a short drive away with supermarkets and plenty of shops and pubs, didn't use the shop on site so not sure how well stocked they are. There is a fish and chip restaurant with bar within 5 minutes walk but didn't use.
If you want a friendly, quite site (depending on neighbours) with excellent facilities and beautiful views, this I recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burty 10 reviews from this member

 A totally gorgeous site, the front tent field is close to the road but doesn't disturb you, and the amazing views are fabulous! Good facilities, a clean toilet block very close by. Plenty of room on the field,but they do charge for gazebos and extra pup tents. They didn't mind our 8 berth tent but they are wary of the extra large tents, might be worth asking in advance, they are very approachable people. Great access from the road, and close to so many attractions. Worth stopping at just to see the view first thing in the morning! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fudgybrown 7 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this campsite. After this trip we both agreed we prefer smaller sites that are less crowded.
The site was clean and tidy. The field for tents appeared that it would be large enough to ensure plenty of space between tents. However despite the owners insistence of a 6 metre minimum space between units it was clear that this was not enforced. Coming back from a day out we discovered another couple had set up their tent no more than 3m away. We felt a bit crowded!
There is a shop with some basic supplies (but we did not use it). The toilet / shower / laundry block was clean, however we felt that the charge of 20p for four minutes shower time was a bit of a cheek considering we had paid £17 a night.
The site is ideal for Barmouth and there is a pub only 100yds away and the site does have very pretty views out to sea. This explains the high cost. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevtiffandmeg 2 reviews from this member

 To start with the good points:
The site is very clean, organised and the owner very helpful. We arrived late on a Friday night (10pm ish) which would have been a problem for some sites, but not for here. The location is lovely with old stone walls enclosing the site and fantastic panoramic views over the sea. The shop on site stocked the essentials : milk, drinks and bacon! The site also had a dog walking field - which was nice.
 
The bad points:
The showers were awful! For 20p you had a trickle of hot water that lasted 4 mins. I would expect more for my £17 per night (which I think is very expensive).
The camping field is along side the main road from Barmouth - the traffic does eventually stop; by then you've fallen asleep from Fatigue anyway!
 
I would give this camp site 5 out of 10 - and will not be going back! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yates266 1 review from this member

 This campsite is a little gem, can't believe there aren't more reviews about it, unless everyone who's been there wants to keep it a well kept secret!
Showers and toilets clean and modern, warden lovely, friendly bloke. Busy road passes by, but not enough to disturb you if you are on the back field. Pitches are spacious, grassy and well kept. Lovely views over the sea and a nice beach accessed through sister site a few yards down the road.
I absolutely loved this site, it's perfect for kids and for relaxing too. I will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Vinny1955 1 review from this member

 Campsite has great location, beach within easy reach and majority of pitches are setback from the busy road. Well laid out and organised, very friendly site manager. Facilities very clean and well maintained, only drawback was only 3 male and 3 female showers available for the whole site and only 2 washing up sinks, also showers usage charge is 20p for 4 minutes which is steep as overnight stay in not cheap. Overall, really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 189     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


722 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement