Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 4th November 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 109 to 114                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: StewnJo 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend from this small very welcoming 52 pitch site. The current wardens were friendly & very helpful. The site is located amongst trees, each pitch having its own area of hard standing & electric hook-up.

You will definitely need heavy duty pegs for awning on the hard standing. The toilet block is small but very well maintained & plenty of hot water.

There is a local motor cycle circuit close to the site so it is recommended to check via the web link on the caravan park website if any motorcycling event is on. Would we visit again, most definitely.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rambling sid 2 reviews from this member

Not for me I'm afraid.

Being almost totally shaded by trees and without a grassed area for public use it felt like we couldn't enjoy being there. Mixing with other people was more difficult, didn't see kiddies out playing, it was more like being 'confined to barracks'.

Even though it was one of the hottest weekends to date, we were in permanent shade, yet could see through a gap in the perimeter hedge sunlight!

Oh, and Ashbourne is a little too far to walk, and so it's everywhere by car.

Even though the staff were helpful and the amenities block were first class, I have no desire to return or recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donna vosper 3 reviews from this member

We had a great weekend of peace at this campsite. Our two children aged 4 and 2 both had a great time playing in the woods and surrounding fields. It was our very first time caravanning and the staff and other guests were so friendly and helpful. This is a definate get away from it all site just what we needed. The toilets and showers were always clean and plenty of hot water at all times. The pot wash area is lovely. I was told to shower my children in the disabled shower as its much bigger allowing me to shower both at the same time, this was great as it had temperature control on the shower and a constant water supply compared to push buttons on the others. We really enjoyed it here and good weather helped we have already booked to return. The only way to improve it I think would be to have a play area.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KarennJames 4 reviews from this member

What a marvellous site!

We chose this site due to it being far enough for our maiden voyage.

Beware if you approach from the A50 along the A515, The sat nav tries to take you a right turn to Yeavely this is wrong, carry on along the A515 towards Ashbourne, you will see Windmill Lane, on the left, on a sharp bend. Charles realised we were late and being physcic to the situation knew where we would be and came and lead us in.

As detailed in message forum, Charles the Site owner, must have a NVQ 16 in customer services, he was an absolute angel sorting my 'first time out hitches'.

The site is a gated site to which all visitors are issued 2 keys. One is for the gate so you can lock when you go out for the day and unlock yourself when you return. The second key is for the truly spotless showers and toilets complete with hairdryer. Showers have external changing rooms as an annex to the shower itself so you don't get your clothes wet. Separate utility room with Microwave if you need it. Site office has all local numbers on display so even if its not manned you can still get some information.

Lovely dog walk area which is enclosed with mesh to stop your dog doing a runner if he's that way inclined. But also to add to this there is a very large field to let him run loose in if he has good recall!

All hard standing, don't forget your rock pegs for the awning with night courtesy lights above the ehu unit. Water and fire points in the curves of the turning circle.

Sanitation Blue, is for the toilet waste area and rather nicely you can dispose of your own waste in a little shed, with the normal hose and requirements. Grey water washing up water and caravan waste waster, is disposed of up a little ramp and enables easy emptying of your waste hog.

Site is very peaceful, watching squirrels and other wild life is marvellous.

Charles the site owner, also gave us a local O/S style map with a circular walk on it and this can be as long or as short as you like with the minimum being 35 mins. Great photo opportunities for photographers. Large stand of monkey puzzle trees if you want something a little different.

Being camped in trees offers you a very sheltered site. We took all our own food requirements so had no need for food other than cheese and tomato sauce that we picked up from Marks and Spencers food hall not more than two miles away.

Nothing much for children to do, other than play in the woods and ride round on bikes, but I think youngsters with parents who love wildlife would find lots to see and do.

We would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Preg68 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Woodlands for a long May Bank holiday weekend and what a treat. The owners were very friendly when we booked and so welcoming when we arrived showing us around a lovely woodland site

The toilets and showers were amongst the best we have seen and were always immaculate. The pitches were very generous in size, all being separated from each other with more woodland. My children, Twin Girls aged 7 (children under 10 are free and you don't see that much nowadays), loved it, climbing trees and dragging logs and branches around to make dens.

The site is in a great location, only 5 minutes away from Ashbourne and we all did a 16 mile bike ride on the Tissington Trail (10 Minutes away) which we would recommend to all. Also the walk from Dovedale to Milldale is great for a short hike which is also only about 20 minutes away.

I would like to thank the owners very much for a great stay and will definitely be visiting again, Probably in a couple of weeks.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berliner Beer 5 reviews from this member

What a warm welcome from the site owners, Really nice site. The Kids loved snooping around the woods making houses out of sticks n stuff. Would love to go back.

Our first time out in the caravan. Easy to find. Really close to Ashbourne and the Peaks as well as Alton Towers. On site facilities were clean. Dog walking area was fab.

Very nice to be in the woods and not on a huge open site.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 109 to 114      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1700 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0938