Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindsayv1977 1 review from this member

This was our 6th stay at Amerden. We keep returning as we love it so much. It's lovely being greeted as old friends when we pull up.

The site is off a quiet lane in Dorney. As such it's a very quiet site but there is traffic noise from the M4 and Air traffic noise as we are very close to Heathrow. However it's funny how quickly you stop noticing both. They do sell ear plugs in the reception just in case.

During the day the site is very peaceful as most people are out exploring the area. There is a time when everyone returns from local attractions and families come home from legoland where there's lots of kids about having fun but then it goes very quiet at quiet time, the wardens are careful to ensure that it it's quiet so we get a great nights sleep.

The site is beautifully maintained and clean. The toilet/ shower facilities are kept clean and there are plenty of toilets and 4 showers in the ladies (do t know about the men's).

There's a large washing machine and dryer for a fee and washing up facilities including free dishwasher soap.

There's also a vending machine for chocolate and sweets and drinks.

The best thing by far is the camp kitchen which has power points for charging. An ironing board and iron, fridges and freezers and a microwave, it makes camping so much easier and means you do t have to pay for EhU if you do t want to.

The site is situated in a very handy place, it's on the river at Bray lock and you can sit and watch the boats pass or walk/cycle to Maidenhead or Windsor

It's Inbetween Maidenhead and Windsor, easy to pop to either and very handy for legoland. There's loads to see nearby and it's also very handy to hop on the train at Taplow into London. It's 15 per adult and. 1 per child to go into London, travel round the city and come home again.

I cannot fault the site. I must also mention that there's a large gate that closes at 10pm to ensure everyone is safe and sound. You are given an access code to enter and exit after those times.

I'll definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianMoore 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights while touring in England. Of the 5 sites we stayed at this was our favourite. Really well kept, really friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, the site reflects this with a very relaxed atmosphere. We picked this site like many for it's proximity to Legoland, but visited Windsor Castle as well, and took a day trip easily by train, from the nearby station, and underground, into London. With a six and a 4 year old this worked surprisingly well. Facilities very clean. Kids loved the play area. As others have stated there is noise from the motorway but it did not annoy us at all. No shop on site, but a large Tesco is just up the street.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andtra 15 reviews from this member

What a great little site! Ok the M4 runs literally at the bottom of this compact site so there is a constant hum of traffic, which you very soon become accustomed too. Honestly you get used to it and it is actually a very relaxing site with a small playground, good amenity blocks (obligatory push button showers) that are kept immaculately clean and everything else you need. It is close to Legoland and Windsor, with London obviously within easy reach also so is ideal to use as a base for exploring the area. The owners Stuart and Beverley work extremely hard to keep the site immaculate and are very friendly and helpful, they even make time to chat to the kids when approached. This is quite simply a fantastic site that we will certainly be returning to in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstenandsarah 2 reviews from this member

We arrived late first night but were made very welcome; owners really friendly - came out in rain to direct us to pitch- and site level, grassy, treelined and very pretty. Playground was great hit with grandchildren;toilets and shower spotless. We stayed 2 nights with trip to Legoland on the Saturday -queues to get out making us too late back to really enjoy the site-which was a pity. Site is securely gated;easy reach of many attractions- lots of info and leaflets in the reception.

Only downside was noise from traffic [I am a VERY light sleeper] but kids sleep like logs.

A lovely site, nothing to fault- thank you for lovely stay [wish Legoland had been as restful![

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DaddyWeston 2 reviews from this member

A perfect little site for families. The toilet/shower facilities are always immaculate and the small children's play area is in excellent condition. This family run site has always been a favourite of ours (we have been here half a dozen times now) due to the location. Sitting right on Bray lock it is lovely to sit on a sunny day and watch the boats come through. Or take a short walk into Bray for some lunch in one of Heston Blumenthal's pubs. Then, a short drive away, you have Legoland for the kids. Perfect. If I had to find a fault I would be hard pushed. We look forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pengi1 3 reviews from this member

Very clean site with large pitches. It is great for visiting London and its local expensive attractions.

It seems to be used for short stays by most people, but we stayed for a week and very much enjoyed our stay.

The M4 is very noisy especially at night when the camp is quiet but if you knacker yourself out sight seeing then you'll sleep like a log, If not then I found a few cans of cider did the trick.

The planes did not bother us at all.

Toilets were always clean.

My only recommendation would be a small on site shop selling the essentials of bread and milk, Yes there is a Tesco locally but sometimes the traffic made a 5 min drive into a 30 min traffic jam.

The train station is very close and takes 40 mins to get to Paddington station.

I would recommend it for Families and couples.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ljm18706 15 reviews from this member

Good clean site with excellent facilities. Staff were welcoming and helpful when needed but left us alone to get on with enjoying the area. Perfect spot to explore LEGOLAND, Windsor and cheap family rail tickets from Taplow to London. The only down side to this location is the airplane traffic and motorway traffic. It is not loud but is constant so not exactly quiet countryside relaxation.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Saf1 4 reviews from this member

I used this site as I was working in the area. The site is clearly sign posted from the main road down a country lane. When you first arrive on site you are greeted by a very pleasant site team who are friendly and helpful. The has good clean toilet and showers with lots of free hot water recycled waste and chemical point washing machine and cooking area if you need to use them. The only downside is the constant noise from the m4 which runs right at the bottom of the site but that's just a minor point on such a lovely well laid out site

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reptile Smile 7 reviews from this member

This was a cracker. The warden couldn't have been more helpful - accommodating our late arrival and late departure. The site was level, and though we were next to the M4, it was remarkably concealed.

The facilities were generally clean, though there were a load of dead bugs in the morning.

It was shady - would suit some, not others. I really rated it, and in particular its convenience to use as a base to stay, whilst getting the train into London.

We'll be back!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Binda 4 reviews from this member

Just stayed on Amerden Caravan & Camping Site, Paul and Anne were perfect hosts couldn't have been more helpful and friendly! nothing was to much trouble.

Flat pitches, immaculate toilet and shower block,

Nice touch of a wooden bench table/seat for four, which you could move near to your unit.

Great location nice cycle ride into Windsor (mainly off road by the river) with Maidenhead also close by. Close proximity to the motorway, which admittedly can be heard in the background but in know way spoilt our stay, We will definitely be revisiting.

Belinda and Paul

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019