Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cherry Cottage Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Camelford > Cherry Cottage Camping Reviews

Cherry Cottage Camping
Cherry Cottage
Valley Truckle
Camelford
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL32 9RT
Tel: 01840 211574
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 41 Reviews
                10/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John_B 1 review from this member

 Good level site that takes 18 units, with very friendly and helpful owners. It's just off the main road, but road noise is not a problem. The site was full when we were there, so the washing/toilet facilities were under pressure. They were kept very clean all the time and plenty of hot water. We had to wait occasionally at peak time in the morning, but not too long so it was fine. The site is well placed to visit North Cornwall and being on the A39 easy access if you want to travel further south west. There is no dedicated play areas for children, but the pitches are a generous size. We had 3 young children with our group and they played happily around our tents. Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Terryi48 1 review from this member

 A perfect site for touring Devon and Cornwall, the site is as good as you will get. A small friendly family run site, the cleanest, most

Well run and welcoming site we have stayed at.

The owners Chris and Tracy put themselves out to make sure your stay is as good as possible, we could not be more happy with our stay and without question will be back again. Thank you for a very good time.

Terry and Irene 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chesterton 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite which is superbly maintained by Chris, the owner, and has plenty of space on each pitch. The toilet/washing block is warm, clean and always has plenty of hot water. Perfect for a relaxing holiday the site is pretty to look at and calming to be a part of. Opposite is a very stocked garage ideally placed for emergency purchases of almond fingers and plain chocolate Bountys! We could put the kettle on, nip over to buy some milk and be back before the kettle boiled. Spot on for exploring the area we easily took in; Boscastle, Tintagel, Newquay, Padstow, Port Isaac etc. Road noise is not a problem, handy access to the A road is very useful. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Freyasmum 37 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Ticks ALL my boxes. I have camped 130 nights in the last 12 months and this site is easily in my top 3 sites

Friendly welcome

Good price (13 for campervan, 2 adults and dog; extra 3 for EHU)

Small (approx. 17 pitches)

Dog friendly

Completely flat

Huge pitches, all landscaped with trees, bushes, plants between each pitch. Site is completely surrounded by mature trees

Very quiet despite being close to A39 and a wind turbine

Great facilities; ultra clean toilets and showers

Fierce and heat adjustable showers

Heated washroom / showers

Indoor and heated dishwashing area

Tv in dishwash area

Lots of local information

A great shop / garage opposite the site

Walks and sustrans cycle routes nearby

Camelford is one mile away and has free all day car park

Secure; not visible from road

No areas for children to play, so this site may not be ideal for families with young children

Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Berenice 2 reviews from this member

 I actually feel really bad that it's taken me over a year to write this review as its such a great site. This was the first time I had camped for a number of years, first time ever for my husband and son of then nearly two years old. My husband has never been keen on camping but having started a family finally agreed to try it ( kids are expensive so he agreed investing in camping equipment would allow us to go away more often on a budget). Considering this was make or break with hubby I was anxious he enjoy it, or at least not hate it. I need not have worried! Cherry cottage is a lovely quiet site which is well maintained. The toilets and showers are immaculate and the owners are very welcoming. It is not an all singing all dancing site, if you want play area, pools, restaurant etc you've come to the wrong place. However, if you just want somewhere quiet, friendly and clean, then this place is for you. We stayed a week, loved it. Great area with plenty to do. The garage across the road is great for essentials (not to mention a great selection of local bacon, sausages etc). There is a big tesco not far away. The best but is it doesn't cost a fortune. The owners charge enough to make it worth their while but do it for love of showing off the area and the outdoors. I can't say enough good things about it! We didn't camp last year due to pregnancy but hubby is keen to go again this year. Thanks to cherry cottage! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pbrad39 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site no noise even though its just off the main road, as stated by everyone the best facilities on a campsite we have ever encountered. As for dog walking cross the road go down the hill and there's a lovely river walk just perfect for dogs. Really nice people who are really friendly and have made a truly lovely site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 10 reviews from this member

 Just back from a long weekend at this lovely little site.

We chose it because it wasn't too far from home and because of the reviews on here.

The site is very easy to find with no narrow lanes to negotiate. The entrance is a little tight and you need the road to be clear both ways to leave the site with a caravan.

The welcome was lovely and he was very helpful.

The site itself is immaculate with level ground and huge pitches. We paced our pitch out and estimate it to be about 10m x 15m!

We stayed during the school holidays and were surprised that there weren't more units camped up. I suppose people with kids prefer the bigger campsites with facilities for their children.

We brought our two dogs along and we were pleased to see a doggy hook up outside the loos and a bowl of water. There is unfortunately nowhere to walk them on the site.

The washing facilities as mentioned in other reviews are first class. I loved the power shower and TV in the washing up area. The campsite was only about 1/3rd full and I never had to queue.

Cherry Cottage is in a great location for touring North Cornwall and is about 20 mins from Polzeath beach and Doc Martin country. We spent the Saturday on Harlyn Bay beach with is dog friendly.

There was a little noise from the road (and from the wind turbine) but it was remarkably quiet, considering its proximity to the A39.

The campsite is very good value money - 16 for our caravan, awning, dogs, electricity - highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne0905 4 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from this site and have nothing but praise. The owners were there when we arrived and allowed us to select our pitch which were more than ample in size. The shower block was always clean and tidy. When we arrived the site was very quiet so it was great for our 3 kids who could run free. If we needed anything the owners were there to help. It is in a great quiet setting, in a great location to visit loads of places. We will definitely be booking soon for next year hopefully for longer 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamscott 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back after spending 6 days here. Easily found and a good base for visiting different areas of Cornwall.

On arrival we were met by the owner Chris who couldn't be more helpful. He walked us on to the camping field and helped us choose a pitch. He told us to pay on our last morning as we were leaving and said to give him a knock if we needed anything.

The camping field is immaculate and there are only 15 or 16 pitches, but all are level, well maintained and with EHU.

The facilities block was spotlessly clean all week with access to a fridge & freezer. There are 2 showers/toilets for ladies and just 1 for the gents again spotless. My only concern was only having one gents toilet and shower, but I never experienced any problems while we were there. I think the addition of one more toilet/shower would make a great difference when the site was busy.

There is also a recycling area and chemical disposal point again very clean and well maintained.

The level of service we received throughout our stay was superb and I will be returning to this site and thoroughly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a one night stay at a cheaper campsite with close proximity to the A39 and Cherry Cottage fitted the bill exactly. We initially emailed the site to check for room and replies were prompt.

We turned up on the Saturday afternoon - site is easy to find if you look for the garage just as you pass the 'Valley Truckle' street sign. As soon as we pulled into the drive we were met by the very friendly owner who took time to chat to us and show my husband around the facilities.

There was only one other unit on site, lovely and peaceful and we were given the option to pitch where we wanted.

Pitches are HUGE! Plenty of room for unit + awning plus bits and bobs, grass is lush and green and extremely well kept - as is the whole site. There is shrubbery separating pitches and we loved how they kept the hedgerows with wildflowers growing. We picked a pitch right at the back of the site with a hedge at the rear backing onto farmland.

If you're a bird lover, you will love it here - we heard so many birds, it really was a pleasure to sit out and listen to them.

Road noise was surprising - I was expecting the road noise to be more considering the proximity of the A road. This was minimal, don't be put off by the site being close to the road as apart from a noisy motorbike now and again it was peaceful and relaxing.

Facilities - absolutely immaculate. I have been to some posh sites over the years and this one is up there with the best, if not THE best for cleanliness. Spotless showers and toilets - even had the radio playing when I went in at 6am! The dishwashing sink has a TV next to it, everything is modern and well kept.

We left early the next morning as husband was surfing at Polzeath which is a 20 minute drive away - site is very handy for Camelford, Wadebridge, Port Isaac, Boscastle, Tintagel and all of North East Cornwall.

To sum up - fantastic little site with friendly owners and superb shower/loo facilities. From 13 a night you simply cannot go wrong. If you are after a quiet site with easy access to come back to after a day of exploring then this is the site for you. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cherry Cottage Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cherry Cottage Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cherry Cottage Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Camelford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2383 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement