Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cashel Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glasgow > Cashel Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Cashel Camping In The Forest Site
Loch Lomond
Rowardennan
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G63 0AW
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 168
Open: 26/04/2021 to 18/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
                8/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emily43 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 3 night stay at cashel and must say we loved it. Site basic, toilets and showers were clean. But if you are looking for a few nights away to relax this site is perfect as it has amazing views across the loch, stunning ! Manager drives around on his moped to ensure no problems. Only downside is they put the barrier down at 22:00 so you are locked out, c'mon we are not children if you go out for a meal you have to rush back or you are locked out and have to spend the night in the car park. Also no bins around the site only at the shops. We had a dog with us but had to walk full length of site to put dog poop and rubbish in the bins. Same with chemical disposal, only one point at the shops again had to walk full length of site. I would not let this put you off. I will be returning very soon. Great for quiet break with amazing views. Ps read a few reviews about the state of the roads in the campsite but these were being repaired while we were there. Had a great chilled out break. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ultraquasar 5 reviews from this member

 Spent one night on here breaking up the journey home, having spent a week on their sister site Glenmore. Its a little more older, basic and smaller, right on Lochs Lomonds shore line, a small shop with supplies with food and equipment for those that might have forgotten something with reasonable prices.

Its a short drive from anywhere nearby, more of a country lane than a main A or B road to get there so expect it to be single track in places. A gate pass is needed to get in and out of the site, but there's not a lot to do nearby other than walking down to the Ben Lomond centre which is a starting point to hiking up Ben Lomond or head back into the small town where you'll find the usual stuff like pubs and a few shops, but you'll probably want to drive there rather than walk.

No playground on site for kids if that's what you are looking for, but if you keep your eyes open around dusk you may be lucky enough to see a Pine Martin crossing the road heading towards tents looking for food when we were there.

Can be a bit windy & chilly when its blowing across the Loch onto the site with not a lot of shelter from it. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nrjones 23 reviews from this member

 The main positive about this site is the amazing loch-side location. We were lucky enough to bag a pitch with an unforgettable view - there is no guaranteed reservation so we were lucky. Facilities are good with showers in main toilet block clean and warm. Site was extremely windswept and this might be worth noting - we were unable to bbq or sit outside - it was April I guess.

Site is well situated - we climbed Ben Lomond and loved the island at Balmaha (Inchcailloch). Oak Tree Inn worth visiti g - pub at Drymen also very good.

Only negative is pot-holes on entering and leaving (wouldn't take much to repair?). 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Welshy165 9 reviews from this member

 This is my 3rd time visiting Cashel and was very disappointed. My last visit was four year ago(2012) and it looks like nothing has been done in four years. When we arrived we were half way through checking in when the woman left to chase a couple off the site as they had started to walk through the campsite. Turns out the couple were staying on site! Then we found out that if we want a pitch at the front you have to pay extra. I had booked online and this option was not available on the website. Next up was the drive down to the pitch it was like a 4x4 test track with the amount of deep pot holes. The pitch was nice and flat and the view across loch Lomond is amazing. The main toilet block is now very tired, the showers were very dirty, black mould covering most of the silicon. The paint on the roof was peeling off and mouldy, the shower curtains were very dirty and there was a used plaster sitting on the top of the shower for the 2 days I was there(used the same shower for as it was the cleanest of the 4 available). The flooring was dirty and lots of cob webs etc. There is no motorhome service point, no hose to fill the water tank etc. This could be a great site as the location is fantastic but a lack of investment in the road and facilities is taking the shine off it. I was expecting more from a camping in the forest campsite. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 28 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed the location. 2. 50 per night for the loch side location was well worth the money

Many of the pitches were let as seasonal pitches. Very few tourers seemed to be visiting when we were there although it was half term in Scotland.

As mentioned by another reviewer the roads do need some repair. This was very evident after heavy rain. Toilets and showers were kept clean but some work needed to maintain standards

The wardens were very pleasant and helpful

Could walk the West Highland way from the site. We preferred the walk to Rowardennan, although there were some steep sections.

Good road to Rowardennan and spacious car park when we took the motorhome out and tried to climb Ben Lomond. Unfortunately weather was not good and we retreated.

We thought the area could be very busy in summer and were pleased it was so quiet, 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thegrinch 16 reviews from this member

 My favourite site ever. On arrival the staff said I could upgrade to a Loch side pitch for 2. 50 a day and it was worth every penny. Great showers and despite the rain I already miss it. Great pub a couple of miles away in Balloch but the shop is good and they bake to order every morning which was nice. Park could do with a little revamp but overall this is a brill place to have stayed. They even had machines around the site to keep the midges away. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vicbrown 11 reviews from this member

 When it comes to location, this site is quite superb, with motorhome pitches given three 'ranks' right by the Loch side.

The welcome, and general level of services on site are good, but the access surfaces are in need of repair, and the general appearance is a little tired ( in need of some tender loving care).

As long as you are aware of this, there is nothing to give you reason not to book as I am sure the owners will have the upgrades in mind for the coming year. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saz pez 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic campsite, I would highly recommend it. The toilets and shower block are clean and pleasant. The showers are free and actually work, they don't just dribble on you! and the hairdryer actually dries your hair! I have stayed on many campsites and generally speaking the facilities don't compare! The people are friendly and the shop is inexpensive, again a pleasant surprise compared to a lot of other places. Needless to say the scenery is stunning and its great being right on the banks of the Loch. My only complaint would be it would be nice to be able to have small campfires near the tents. All in all a very enjoyable experience. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

 Beautiful views over Loch Lomond. Nice walk down by the Loch and opposite site too. Only stayed the one night but saw a gorgeous sunset.

They price was a bit more than other sites, but this is usual for these Camping in the Forest sites. 13. 50 EACH! We asked for the OAP discount, so that made a big difference. Only hubby the OAP though, so that got it down to 18. (Not Bad).

Only other down side, and its only very minor, is that the only member of staff I encountered was not very friendly. Bordering on rude (maybe cos of my Scouse accent, I've encountered this before, should try not to talk). Lol 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DianneDFoy 4 reviews from this member

 We decided last-minute on Easter Sunday that we fancied an overnight camping trip and thought we'd be lucky to find a space at a campsite. Luckily I remembered Cashel campsite and my husband was cheerily told we could just head up, as long as we could be there by 6pm. We arrived at about 3pm and Sue, one of the site managers, was as cheery in person as she was on the phone! She was having some technical issues with her booking system and suggested if I had cash, she could try and put the booking through later, so she didn't keep me back. So the other manager (her husband?) showed us the site. In a rather unusual (compared to some very rigid sites we've been on!) way, he just suggested we find a pitch we fancied the look of, as long as it wasn't along the front, as they were pre - booked. So we duly found a pitch - huge hardstanding with a good bit of space either side - and settled in.

The views are glorious, the location perfect - right next to the Loch and to the West Highland Way and a forestry reserve, so plenty of places to walk or cycle and places to launch a boat or kayak from.

The toilet block was adequately sized, we didn't need to wait for a shower or a toilet at any point. The wee shop at Reception was well stocked with essentials and the machine for tea, coffee and hot chocolate was good.

We were able to extend our stay absolutely no problem, when the weather turned out to be lovely for a second day. There was a nice presence of the managers buzzing about and chatting, but in no way intrusive.

There was a decent wee playpark and areas of grass that weren't used for camping which the kids could play on.

All in all, loved the site, loved the surroundings and the friendly, helpful and accommodating staff were the best bit. 


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cashel Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5502 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement