Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Crystal Palace > Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crystal Palace Parade
Crystal Palace
London   (Browse area)
SE19 1UF
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 01/01 To 16/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buksang 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent location but need to keep your wits about you to access entrance given the succinct directions on internet!

We stayed here to visit Hampton Court Palace and drove there easily at about 9. 30 am on a Friday.

Coming back was a different matter and took over 2 hours but peak time 5. 30 pm. The staff and facilities were good but toilet block is looking tired though no wonder being open all the year round.

Some suggest that Chertsey Caravan and c club is nearer for H Court palace but we were pleased we came here as we would have missed the Crystal Palace museum which is free on admission and is very informative and educated me on an important part of British history. Well done CP! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsmstuart 5 reviews from this member

 We hired a motorhome which came with 'honoury' CC membership so stayed in a lot of sites we wouldn't normally.

We used to live in London so knew what to expect, however, had never been to the CC itself before which was fascinating in itself. Got the train into London Bridge which was great, even with 2 dogs.

Be warned that the nearby Sainsburys closes early for a reason, some real nasty types hanging around sadly and this is from someone who used to live near the Goldhawk Road. But, do not worry the site itself is about a Km away from all that and very safe.

Toilets were fine and clean, have clearly been given a soft makeover at some time with new tiles to showers etc. We will definitely come back in our trailer tent! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aldabra 1 review from this member

 We were pleasantly surprised to find a little oasis surrounded by trees and birdsong and squirrels.

The hum of the traffic was negligible (in fact the birds made more noise).

The facilities were spotless. The proximity to the park, bus stop and various local shops and restaurants makes it an ideal spot to stay.

We will definitely be staying there again next time we visit London. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JayneBerry 24 reviews from this member

 A great base for sightseeing in London, this site does what it says on the tin. The best way to get to all the attractions is to walk about 300 yards to the bus stop on the other side of the main road, hop on a no. 3 bus and either get off at Brixton tube station and make your way around from there, or else get off at Lambeth Palace, Piccadilly or Oxford Circus all of which give you access to Central London.

The site itself is slap bang on a busy road, with Crystal Palace Park stretching out behind it - it's also right underneath the BBC's Crystal Palace transmitter which mucks up the signal to your digibox if you have one, so be warned!

The one toilet block probably isn't enough for a site with this many pitches, and although cleaned to a good standard it's certainly not the nicest one on the CC network although everything still works fine. The floor gets a bit wet and muddy but that could be improved with a better doormat for people to wipe their feet on entering the block.

A handful of pitches (about 7 grass pitches just to the right as you enter the site) are right next to the road and suffer from a lot of traffic noise despite the trees and bushes screening the site off. At this site they allocate your pitch on arrival, you can't choose your own and I would have felt a bit miffed if we had been allocated one of those. Also there is a constant distant drone from aircraft but as people are out all day seeing the sights these things should not really affect your stay.

The wardens are friendly and welcoming and there's a good information room with folders giving you travel instructions on how best to reach all the major attractions.

If you're just after a cheap way of 'doing' London with your van, this is definitely the place to stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasmo 10 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to the. The first visit in 2010 it was the best kept site I have ever visited, the Shower block was immaculate with piped music, flower arrangements and pristine surroundings; the paths and grounds were well cared for and every hedge and tree was kept trimmed with beautiful flowers and well pruned shrubs.

The wardens then worked so hard to maintain a beautiful site. Sadly our visit in 2012 and in July 2013 showed how fast and far a site can slip when staff change.

On this visit the shower blocked smelt awful, the floor in the ladies side was constantly awash and the drains took ages to clear away in the showers. After some days I worked out that the water covering the floor was coming from a leaking toilet bowl!

I reported this and after a day or two of the toilet being closed and the water still leaking one of the wardens attempted to fix it. As it was cleaned every day why did it take my complaint to get this done when wardens doing their job correctly should have noticed it? The ceilings and walls had mould spots' areas that were badly cleaned and the filthy water in the bucket used to mop out the showers was disgusting.

The area around our caravan was covered in weeds, some 4 foot high, which also swamped a neglected rosebed. I spent a useful hour or two attempting to weed this myself as I was so sad to see all the previous Wardens hard work go to waste. The entire site had an area of neglect, and the wardens attitude to my 11 year old son and a German friend he made was rude and unfriendly.

Good area for a site but the neglect of the staff spoilt our visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gumpandwoo 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night prior to the London to Brighton Mini run. The site is easy to find but obviously the London traffic is a nightmare. Once you get there you would not know you were in the middle of London, the site is pretty with lots of plants and landscaping, we had a hardstanding pitch which was nice and level and we had plenty of room. The toilet facilities were very good, nice and clean, just would have preferred a code entry rather than a key as we kept forgetting to take it with us.

The site is within easy walking distance of buses into town and also lots of pubs, restaurants, shops and of course Crystal Palace park which backs onto the site.

It was a bit noisy but only due to all the minis camping in the park next door but that's only once a year and what we were here for so did not cause us any issues as it was expected.

All in all a great site for visiting the nations capital 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ericonabike 12 reviews from this member

 Very pleased with this site. We were on hardstanding, which given the torrential rain we experienced, was most welcome! Site facilities were clean, warm and adequate for numbers - site was full yet we never had to queue during the four days we were there. Wardens were friendly without being officious and there was a pleasing lack of 'don't do. ' notices!

Location is brilliant. Bus from main road goes to Piccadilly circus - if you're wanting a faster time, get off at Brixton and change to Underground - the bus stops directly outside the station. Crystal Palace is full of history if you look around - Parade Road was built especially for the Crystal Palace itself, whilst the park is great for views, walks and exploring. Check out the 'city farm' in particular.

The 'village' is perhaps a ten minute walk and has lots to offer. The first pub you see is the Grape and Grain, and this is wholeheartedly recommended! Discount for CAMRA members, live music and good food. I suggested they should do a discount deal for campsite/Caravan club members - if you do the same they might get the idea! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasmo 10 reviews from this member

 This was the second year that we spent October Half Term at this wonderful site. In a lush wooded setting, it has passing flocks of parakeets, squirrels and all sorts of birds and attracts a multinational clientèle. The campers from NZ were v brave given the almost incessant rain!

The security is very reassuring and the wardens and assistants keep the site to a very high standard. The hardstanding stood up to the flood like conditions well and the facilities were spotless at all times. They could not have been more helpful in providing local information. The winter offer on the Original Bus Tour was good value and gave us 48 hrs to tour the city getting on and off where we wanted. The bus service from Crystal Palace Parade is frequent and cheap and takes you right into Trafalgar Square.

The Park is a delight and the history fascinating, the dinosaurs brought back happy memories of Blue Peter in the 1960s! The lake is also home to a colony of cormorants and a heron !

For visiting the sites at a reasonable price this site could not be beaten! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joybug 4 reviews from this member

 Good site. As others have mentioned does not feel like you are in London. Lots of trees, squirrels and other wildlife (foxes and parokeets!).

Usual high standard facilities of a club site. Wardens very helpful. Those with satellite tv may find getting a signal a problem with all the trees. However, all we needed was a length of co-ax cable to get a signal from the TV mast which stands next to the site.

Some road noise in the distance, did not disturb us. Planes take a bit more getting use to, though not a problem overnight.

Great location. Crystal Palace park next door. Trains into London Victoria or London Bridge from the local station approx 10-15 min walk away through the park. Bus stop 5 min away with no 3 bus going to Oxford Street.

Some nice places to eat in walking distance at the triangle and a sainsburys about 1 mile away. We never used our car all week. I am sure we will return again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hampshirehoyles 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 5 nights in June. We had been lucky in the ballot and been allocated tickets for Trooping the Colour. We made a holiday around this and took in 2 shows, Beating Retreat on Horseguards Parade, walking tour of the Olympic Site and Greenwich Park and Cutty Sark. The wardens were brilliant.

They had printed small handouts for all the bus routes/stops for all the tourist attractions. Buses seem to arrive every 5 minutes, near the site, next to the garage for your paper and any supplies the site shop does not stock. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very safe, even coming back on the night bus number 3. (we are country grockles, not used to the big cities).

It really is a haven, we spent our first evening cycling around Crystal Palace Park exploring the many paths. The site is immaculate, very secure and in a beautiful setting. OK there is flight noise, but I don't think people go to this site to sit outside their caravan/tent all day.

The toilets and showers are immaculate and entrance is by your key given to you at reception. There is a fish and chip van on a thursday, although there are numerous small restaurants nearby that the wardens will recommend.

As a matter of interest, on the wall of the reception I was very pleased to see a defibrillator, newly supplied, and the staff are all first aid trained and sound very confident when we had a chat. Lets hope they never need to use it, but at least it is there if the worst ever happened. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crystal Palace      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement