Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southview Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Southview Camping > Reviews

CLOSED: Southview Camping
Maypole Lane, Hoath
Whitstable
Herne Bay
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

 We initially used this site as a base for exploring Canterbury, but liked it so much that we extended our stay in order to explore further afield. The castles of Dover, Deal and Walmer kept us amused as did Richborough Roman Fort, which is the most likely landing site of the 43 AD invasion. Deal, Herne Bay, and Sandwich are all worth a visit, and there are some interesting historic churches in the area.

The site has quite a few seasonal pitches, which reflect its popularity. It is also a popular overnight stop for continental visitors, given that is around 20 miles from Dover and handy for both the M2 and Canterbury. Our Garmin SatNav took us directly to the front gate when programmed with the postcode. We found useable 3G with O2 but the EE signal was better.

The facilities were kept clean and the showers perfectly useable if you only took along what was necessary (no room for large wash bags or a change of clothes). I noticed a couple of German visitors taking cold showers but never established whether this was through choice, or because they had overloked the need to operate a pull switch, which is located outside the cubicle.

We found the owners to be welcoming and friendly and will certainly visit this site again, when next in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Russ1664 2 reviews from this member

 Great site.

This site had the best grass I have ever camped on! Nice and short without a clipping in sight.

Well kept and maintained site, and above all lovely and peaceful.

Shower block very clean and the (free) showers were OK.

Nice and close to Herne Bay (nothing special), Whitstable (lovely and a bit posh), Ramsgate (charming and nice beach) and Margate (didn't go to).

Welcoming staff, all you want for a quiet break. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arabscot 6 reviews from this member

 Great site in quiet location. A single, flat field with caravans on one side and tents on the other. A tent can only realistically get an electric hook up if you have a very long cable.

One single water point is located next to the twin basin outside washing up point by the toilet/shower block. As mentioned in all the other reviews the toilets and showers are kept spotless at all times.

At the back of the block is a utility room with a mini-freezer which can be used for free, and a washing machine and tumble dryer.

The local pub, 150 yards from the site entrance, serves decent beer and quality food. The food is the main earner.

For kids there is a single swing, and kites, frisbees and ball games are not allowed - so not a lot of on site fun for the family, but if you want a quiet get away this is a gem. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Montanatx 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Southview mid-May 2014. What a great site! Friendly owners, nice flat standing, well mown camping area, toilet block

Very clean, hot water/showers spot on, washing facilities very good, waste disposal ditto. One very minor niggle, partner says no sockets for hair dryer. Would we go there again, definitely. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Apintofstones 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with very friendly owners and the cutest campsite dog.

Showers and toilets are very clean and well stocked although as previously mentioned the shower cubical are tiny.

We were lucky enough to almost have the site to ourselves, so I can't comment on what the site would be like when full.

The field is very flat and the grass is cut short, which I think is important especially during wet weather.

The pub at the end of the road is beautiful, the food is good, although a little expensive, in a (you pay for what you get way).

Overall a really nice little site and one I would definitely revisit.

Canterbury Cathedral is a must visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chaffchaff 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for two nights in a tent and found Southview to be an excellent campsite.

It was quiet, very well maintained (the grass had been cut just before we arrived) and the facilities were spotlessly clean.

We had heard about the pub on the corner but we cooked our own food both nights on our BBQ.

The shower room was well equipped and everything worked. It is a short direct drive to Canterbury (10 mins) and is situated in the small quiet village of Maypole. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Prospect35 17 reviews from this member

 Thanks to Viv and Keith, oh and not forgetting the lovely Archie, the camp site dog, who was so friendly, we fell in love with him.

Southview is a lovely site, very good grass, and even after all the rain that has fell these last few weeks it was not boggy.

The facilities were excellent, very clean, nice and bright. Dishwashing sinks undercover.

There is a fabulous pub The Prince of Wales, just 2 min walk down the lane, and the food there is fab. Had a great 10 days here and would definitely recommend it, a real chill out time. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

 My wife and I are trying to emulate the BBC Coast programme by driving round the UK coastline.

We came across this rural site almost by accident after heading inland from the coast due to a very unfriendly reception at the seaside site we first aimed for (they were far too big and commercial for the likes of one small motorhome staying only one night!)

The owners of Southview site were at a wedding and we were welcomed by a Senior regular who directed us to a pitch and answered all of our questions before we had time to think them up!

The site and facilities were spotless, quiet, clean and friendly. It isn't a large site, but that works in its favour - it is effectively situated in the large rear garden of the owner's house!

Later, we were directed to the local ale house - The Prince of Wales - where we received an equally warm welcome from the landlord. The food and beers were excellent quality and value but we managed to walk the 100 metres back to the site unaided!

A brilliant site to be thoroughly recommended, even if a little pricey for a one night stand! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairet 1 review from this member

 A great little site with everything you need as long as quiet, clean and no karaoke clubhouse etc is what you are looking for! The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean and loo roll is topped up regularly- things like this make a difference! Top tip is to take a plastic bag to the shower with you to put your clothes in as the cubicles are a bit small. Lots of hot water even for washing up- again spotlessly clean.

Everything is thought of even down to bricks for putting BBQs on. Caravans and hook ups are on one side and tents on the other. There are a couple of swings for children,a few trees for shade and several picnic tables scattered round the site. A couple more tables in the middle for all to use would be good as currently the tables are monopolised by the people pitching their tents next to them.

The nearby pub is a real gem, with great food and live music on some nights and is literally 2 mins down the road on foot. Ideal position for visiting Canterbury and Whitstable. We will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil41 1 review from this member

 Arrived after a long scooter ride from London. Was greeted warmly and told that I could pitch my tent anywhere in the tent area so found a nice quiet spot next to the hedge.

Toilet block was very clean with hot water.

Asked if we could use a disposable BBQ (lots of places don't like them) and was told yes and that there were some bricks I could use to raise it off the grass.

As for the surrounding area, an amazing local pub. Seriously amazing. Wonderful infact. And about 50 metres from the campsite - which was needed. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement