Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sunnyoak Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Sunnyoak Caravan Park Reviews

Sunnyoak Caravan Park
A49 Tarporley Road
Whitchurch
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4HF
Tel: 01948 664936  or  07938 965450
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 A superb Adult only site about four miles north of Whitchurch town. Stayed four nights including the weekend. Mid-week had only a few units on site; by Saturday pm the site was well occupied, although there were still about half a dozen pitches available.

Met at the gate by the warden 'waving like a dervish' to attract our attention (his words!). The entrance is a bit abrupt off the fast and busy A49 road, so need your wits about you - especially coming from south as there is another drive immediately before the caravan site.

Entrance has a coded padlocked gate, which is a nuisance; an electronic lft-aem barrier would be better and safer, as there isn;t room for more than one car and caravan in the entrance.

Facilities all newish; (I'm told four years old). Kept well cleaned and regularly checked.

Leave the site by the rear 'hole in the hedge' and you're in the pub carpark. Pub is over the canal bridge. Interesting selection of local beers, and lovely food at reasonable prices. Does get busy!

Whitchurch is a sleepy little town with no big stores. It does have buses, but many routes are not too frequent, so your car is essential. A decent Sainsburys as you run into the town.

Really enjoyed our stay; site on our 'must go back to' list. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kathy Sparrow10 9 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews, we had high hopes for our five night visit. However, we were allocated a pitch near the entrance and the traffic noise from the A49 was very loud.

Our end of the site looked like a car park with pitches very close together. We were all lined up with no space between awnings and vehicles.

The facilities were immaculate, however every door had a code lock with an extremely heavy door spring which, on occasions, proved difficult to open when carrying washing up etc.

The canal walk was lovely for the dogs, however we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyjack 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Everywhere is spotless. Possible the best shower blocks we have used.

Bill and Donna, the owners, are very helpful and on hand if you need them. Site is next to the canal with some great walks with the dogs and some nice dog friendly pubs on the way.

Been here twice now and also done a linked weekend. Will be back again. Keep up the good work.

Thanks again Andy & julie Milly Milo (the newfoundlands) 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Puggysusan 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a very relaxing weekend at Sunnyoak Caravan Park. We had a lovely warm welcome and met some really friendly people there. Short walk to the canal and lovely pub dog friendly.

The toilets were kept lovely and the showers the only comment I would make would be that the windows opened in the toilets to let fresh air in, we were there when it was boiling hot so I felt it needed some air circulating.

Other than that we would go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nw126kazandspen 12 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome. Very helpful on arrival. Newly hardcored due too bad weather. Lovely site and area. Toilets clean. Showers 1 for 5 min. Only think l missed was a stool in there.

Clean site and area. Next too pub canal. Open 12 to 2 6 to 9. Recommend booking. Very busy place. Site and pub dog friendly. Booked a taxi dog friendly too into whitchurch. Fossies l thi k it was. Ask the site they will give you number.

Not far along canal too horse and jockey pub. Another dog friendly pub. Camp site adult only.

Security high. Locked gates etc. Love this place! So laid back quite ideal. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a great weekend in late October, booking friendly & easy by phone, followed by a really warm welcome. Site well laid out with great access to the canal & local walks. The amenity block is spotlessly clean with modern walk in showers & relaxing music playing.

The is a quiet adults only site set in lovely countryside.

The Willeymoore Taven is by the canal a short distance away is Olde worlde and is very friendly including for dogs with great value pub meals and nice beers.

The local area of the welsh borders is easily accessible by road. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunny Oak thank you. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jan Evans 3 reviews from this member

 Well we loved it the first time and loved it even more the second. The site is a credit to its owners, young and old. We had to check out the Willeymoore Tavern again to be sure that was still good, and I confirm it certainly was,

Will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jan Evans 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a two night break here at Sunnyoak, and I will Definately be back. Great find, well run, no invasive site. This is an adults only site, so it was very peaceful (apologies to those with kids, but we've been there and done it and enjoy the tranquillity these days), the shower block is wonderful and spotlessly clean. This site is a credit to the owners and we will Definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyham648 9 reviews from this member

 Very warm welcome from the owners, pitches are nice and spacious with electrical hookups. New toilet block, very clean, close to Willey Moor lock inn lovely food. I would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lms0110 50 reviews from this member

 A lovely adults only site located on the Llangollen Canal. Able to pick own pitch, and they were my favourite sort, enough hardstanding to park the Moho but surrounded closely by grass, ideal with three dogs. There is no dedicated dog walk, there are plenty of grassy areas that you are free to exercise the dogs on lead, and the canal and pub are located over the footbridge at the bottom of the site.

A central amenities block houses the showers/toilets and pot wash/launderette. Showers are 1 for 5 mins which is more than enough and discourages shower blocking, 2 showers and 3 toilets for each gender, and of a wetroom style.

The centre of Whitchurch is just over 4 miles by foot along the canal, so good walk with a coffee pitstop on the way and cider pitstop on the return! In the other direction a 3 miles brings you to Marbury Lock, no cafe/pubs en route but it does have a couple of picnic tables so takes a flask etc. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sunnyoak Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sunnyoak Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sunnyoak Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shrewsbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020