Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mlcreed 7 reviews from this member

The location of the campsite is fantastic, you are literally surrounded by fells on all sides. The site itself is well set up with a separate areas for hard standing for vans and plenty of well kept grass for tents,

The staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very clean and well kept and the showers free and warm.

The general vibe was quite peaceful despite lots of different groups using the site.

The running around here was excellent with so many accessible peaks but in bad weather there are also quite a number of low level walks possible.

The pub was also great to be able to access, really lovely beer, dog friendly and amazing views, will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kallithea 5 reviews from this member

We arrived quite late, after 19:00, but the warden was there to greet us, see us to our pitch and settled in. We found the Warden and the staff at Brotherswater Inn very helpful, with good local knowledge and advice. The local weather report is pinned to the noticeboard in the Inn daily and as we stayed through the week as storm Doris approached this was useful for planning the day. The Inn is dog friendly and, with a captive clientele of like-minded people, the ambience in the Inn was enjoyable.

The facilities were good but located to one side of the site so for some pitches there was a fair walk for chemical disposal and the only fresh water tap. Others have complained about the showers being cold but there weren't many staying while we were there and the showers were very hot and welcoming after a day’s walking. The lights are on a sensor and timer and went off sometimes leaving you soaped up in the dark until someone else came in.

The scenery around this site is beautiful, mountains on three sides and Brotherswater lake to the North with a good many walks of varying difficulty starting from the site itself.

The only disappointment was the aggressive and abusive farmer who works the nearby farm: at our first (but not only) contact with him he threatened to shoot our dog. We spoke to the site owner he said that this was an isolated incident but it clearly isn't as other reviews show that the farmer has blighted this site since at least 2004

With so many positive things to say about this site we are sad to say that this incident marred the stay and we won't be going back - which may well be what the farmer wants

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

A remote site in a stunning valley location. An excellent base for some excellent mountain walking.

The pub on site is excellent and site facilities are very good.

One of our favourite sites - no doubt we'll be back soon!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 41 reviews from this member

This site is definitely 'location, location, location'. It is set in a bowl in the Lake District hills. Plenty of walking but you may struggle to fill a week with activities for small children. The neighbouring pub also sells meals. Reception was well stocked with basics. There are corner shops in Patterdale & Glenridding. The nearest supermarkets are in Penrith, also home to the largest Go Outdoors you could possibly ever need!

The best pitches (NB no electric for tents) are around the edge of the site. The middle looked swamp-like after heavy rain. Sheep cut the grass. They are clearly used to dogs but you should bear that in mind if your dog doesn't like being around them.

Facilities are good. There is a freezer for ice blocks. Also a washing machine & tumble drier but no drying room for coats or boots. Likewise no hair driers.

Staff were friendly and no problem with late night noise on our visit.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cnew10 1 review from this member

Just returned from a long weekend camping at Sykeside with the family, stunning scenery, very helpful staff, clean and comfortable site with good facilities, free showers that do get busy, amazing little shop that stocks all you would need and at reasonable prices too.

First time camping with the wife, and both young children, ages 3&8, was a great experience, felt very safe on the site.

Enjoyable break, great site, great people.

Just booked for another long weekend!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charley 2005 5 reviews from this member

A perfect stopover for the third night of our C2C walk (the site is just off the walk but worth it). A pub on site as well with the bonus of breakfast available that set us up for the next section of the walk. Good clean wash facilities on site as well.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SianG-J 2 reviews from this member

Two night midweek stay, level site quite empty. Toilet block always clean, showers hot. Pub conveniently right next to site; gentle walk alongside of Brothers water very pleasant. Well stocked shop on site too. Large section of middle of site had been roped off as just looked water logged, this didn't affect us but might campers.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnyclaret1973 31 reviews from this member

I have just spent a very cold weekend at Sykeside Camp site near Brothers water. The site is beautiful with stunning scenery all around. There are many of the Lakeland fells around so you'll never be bored of somewhere to walk. The pitch cost £13. 95 per tent, 2 people and a car which I thought was about the going rate and it is open all year round! The toilet and shower block were more than adequate and very clean. There is no extra charge for showers! The nearest shop is in Glenridding which is a 10 minute drive away. On site there is a lovely bar / restaurant we didn't eat there but the food appeared and smelt great. There is also a fantastic selection of Whiskeys which we made good use of! The site owners are really friendly and can offer advice on anything in the area.

Would I recommend this site? Definitely. Would I visit again? Soon. I hope.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

This is an excellent campsite in a beautiful, remote location. It's behind the Brotherswater Inn, which serves good beer and decent enough pub food. A couple of miles from Patterdale and access to Ambleside over the Kirkstone Pass. Some superb hill walking to be had here!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leemcad 1 review from this member

I've still rated this '10/10' as the only reason we left a day early was due to disrespectful and noisy fellow campers (some of which the campsite were going to tell to leave that day anyway). Why people feel the right to let children run riot just because they're camping or adults stop up all night until the early hours talking. We left early as it was impossible for us to do the walking we had planned as we had very little sleep.

Facilities: Excellent little shop which stocked all your needs. Toilets and showers were excellent (hot water was hot!) and the bar and inn were excellent too. The food portions at the inn were more than generous and had planned our further breakfasts and evening meals (if only we hadn't left early).

Staff: Also excellent. So friendly and helpful. Check in simple and advice given on 'best pitch area'.

Pitches: We pitched at the far end on a slightly raised area which had wonderful views (a bit stony to peg in but benefit of better drainage). The main middle field got a bit waterlogged so was avoided by new arrivals making it a bit cosy in places!

Overall we enjoyed a two night stay (instead of three) and would return but it would definitely be during school term time and in the week day as Thursday evening was so much better (despite the weather) than Friday once all the new arrivals had pitched up.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


171 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019