Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Claireuk 14 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 2 night stay. Great place to camp to explore this area. Basic campsite ( it's a farm !) but toilets, showers (free ) and dish washing area are kept amazingly clean ! This is a turn up and pitch site. It's got a tricky entrance and narrow track leading down to it so anything bigger than a campervan don't think I'd chance it ! Views are amazing. We had a beautiful sunny day and we walked from the site to Stickle Tarn. Next day was wet and the views around you are just as amazing with the low clouds. There are lots of walks from the site we just didn't have the time. We will have to go back ! 6 per person plus 3 per vehicle was good value.

We camped on the field near the toilets and it rained really heavy one night. The campers in the field nearer the entrance looked really water logged so beware.

Couple of pubs and a shop with a tea room close by. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hilly V 5 reviews from this member

 My husband and I visited Baysbrown farm campsite this summer for two nights and loved it!

Bit tricky to find the entrance - could have better signage and then there's a narrow track to drive down - about 3/4 mile but the road is okay. Check in at the farm house and then it's free range to pitch in any of their many fields. Far fields are quite a walk from the facilities though.

Although not near a lake, the views are wonderful - you are in the valley below the Langdale Peaks. It's quiet and serene, apart from the noise of cows and sheep. About a 20 min walk to the local shop (with lots of local produce and essentials)and pub, which served excellent food. About a 15 min drive to lovely Ambleside with all the shops you need and a quaint arthouse cinema, art gallery and selection of take aways, if you want to eat in the tent and enjoy the view!

The facilities were fine - plenty of hot free showers, although no mop to clean your cubicle before or after use and good washing up area. All kept clean, if you don't mind the odd spider's web etc - which you expect.

A few school groups were on site but there was no noise or disruption and you can drive up next to your tent - very handy. The prices were very decent too - one of the cheapest we found in Lake District

A lovely relaxed site with lots of space - highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mlcreed 7 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we had ever stayed in the Langdales and were really impressed.

The campsite was very spacious with lots of flat places to pitch. We arrived on the weekend which was relatively busy but still had a really nice ambience. It got much quieter during the week.

The owner was very friendly, the toilet facilities were spotless and the rates very reasonable for the lakes.

There was great access to Causey Pike and the Stickles, on the longer days we also made it over to Bowfell and Scafell. There were plenty of pubs in walking distance. It was dog friendly but didn't charge extra for having them there which was lovely

We were camped at the very bottom of the field near the road so it took a good 5 minutes to get to the toilet and shower block, having a bike to get there and back was a huge bonus.

Only negative the recycling was really difficult to work out. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Earlyriser 3 reviews from this member

 The site is amazing. Back to basics camping. Loads of room for the kids to run round and a lovely stream to play in too. Stunning views and the Langdale Coop is a 10 minutes walk for basic provisions. Never had to queue for the facilities.

It can be very windy so bear that in mind. The farmer will freeze your freezer packs for you and charge phones for a small fee. Just spent 5 nights there. Will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 60 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fantastic 3 night break at Baysbrown Campsite. The site was busy due to school holidays and excellent weather, but plenty of space for all. Occasional queue for wash-up sinks but showers/toilets were always available. Access is via a single track and over a narrow bridge (not suitable for caravans or large motorhomes). Middle of stunning views -. As other reviews have said, if you are camped in the bottom fields, it is a trek to the toilets/showers but we were happy to do that for more space - we camped against the hedge on the right hand side as you drive up and had no-one between us and the views - fantastic for evening sun. Various footpaths from the site. Dungheon Ghyll, Sticklebarn and Wainwrights pubs in walking distance. Great co-op in Chapel Stile that sold everything we needed. River walk through wood leads to Elterwater. Opposite way leads to the Langdales. 516 Rambler bus connects with Ambleside although we didn't use it. The drive up to the farmhouse and facilities is busy as some campers chose to drive up rather than walk. Very short list of rules and very informal campsite. No kids play area but field next door appeared to be available for ball games and shallow river had small beach areas and rope swing. I would say that this site suits families particularly with older children and also keen walkers. We would love to visit again - particularly if we can time the weather again! I particularly liked the fact that we didn't need to drive anywhere - plenty to keep occupied within walking distance. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glynjo 2 reviews from this member

 After looking at a couple of sites, we decided on Baysbrown, as the views are stunning, especially from the top of the camp, where you can see the run of the valley. As mentioned in other reviews the facilities are basic, but nice and clean. At 5 PPPN it's a real bargain, given the surroundings.

The only local shop is in Chapel Stile, a few minutes walk away, where I was expecting to be robbed. Thankfully the prices were very reasonable, and the shop is really well stocked, not only with food, but with outdoor equipment and kitchenware.

We found the local pubs quite expensive, but The Sticklebarn does have excellent food and service, with amazing views, and the Old Dungeon Ghyll was a great place to spend a Wednesday evening.

Great Langdale Valley is well worth a visit and Baysbrown Farm is an ideal place to stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darreneccles 1 review from this member

 A simply lovely site. Very reasonably priced. Clean toilet and showers (which can be a trek if you camp away from the buildings), just a short walking distance to the local pub where the beer is tourist prices, and tables hard to get when it's busy, but is good for a bite to eat and a cheeky pint, the local co-op has a hidden treasure upstairs with its own little shop where you can buy just about amulet thing you need if you have forgotten something. It's a gem of a shop.

Location is easy to get to (a little tricky for large vehicles and not suitable for caravans) and what a gorgeous view to make up to the langdale hills.

Facilities are limited on site, it's a farm with campsite and no frills, but what more do you need? 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheila knaresboroug 1 review from this member

 BaysBrown campsite is in a beautiful location in the Langdale Valley near to the village of Chapel Stile. Facilities are basic but clean. Hot showers, toilets and washing up facilities. There is a well stocked shop within a 5 min walk of the site and a pub within a 15 min walk. Our first visit was over a Bank Holiday. It was busy with families but everyone adhered to the rules of being quiet after 10. 30 and although limited the facilities worked well. We enjoyed are visit so much we decided to return. What we were unaware of is infact this campsite welcomes large groups mainly of school children/teenagers on adventure trips. Each night during our three day stay different groups arrived. One night they were designated a field well away from other campers. On our last night the group decided to stay in the top field near to the facilities where ours and about six other tents were pitched. There was plenty of space to pitch their tents elsewhere. The noise was relatively acceptable after 10. 30 but the morning was unacceptable. What the owners of the sight/and organisers of the trip should realise is that there are other campers on the site who want to enjoy the peace and tranquillity. Although there is no facility to prebook I would definitely recommend getting in contact with this site prior to a visit to check if there are any large groups booked in. It does state in their description that they don't accept groups. This needs to be altered in their description as it is misleading. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campintent 24 reviews from this member

 A lovely basic campsite with spectacular views along Great Langdale. Beware of the wind. I pitched our tent backing on to the wind direction on the first day, but the next day the wind turned 180 and came tumbling straight off the mountains at the end of the valley and stayed that way for the rest of the week. As a consequence, my tent snapped a pole. I would recommend that you check prevalent wind direction with the owners, who are very friendly and helpful. Other reviews are correct about the spotless facilities and I would add that the showers are free, so the limited time on the button is nothing more than a mild inconvenience. I would agree that more hooks or a shelf in the showers would be very useful for stashing discarded clothing. We didn't use the Co-op shop in the village, but can confirm that it does exist. We ate out every night, but found the Wainwright's Inn to be a little unfriendly and overpriced, being a bit 'touristy'. Much more to our taste and with better real ale was the Britannia Inn in Elterwater. You must try the steak pie with suet pastry. Also recommended is the Old Dungeon Ghyll, which is a real gem but very, very basic. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PnKT 4 reviews from this member

 We visited the site for 2 nights at the end of May. The site was pretty easy to find from the website instructions and the view absolutely breathtaking. As there was no-one in at the farm we followed the instructions on the sign and pitched our tent then returned in the evening to pay -cash only, as you might expect. The wind was pretty fierce putting up the tent as the site doesn't really offer any natural shelter, but worth it for the view. The ground was tricky to get pegs into in places. There are several fields to choose from and no marked pitches so you can pitch where you want, but some of the fields are quite a long way from the toilet and shower block. The toilets and shower block were very clean, basic and obviously recently redecorated. The only criticisms I have is that the push button showers don't stay on very long and the worktops and sinks in the ladies shower block were really high, meaning it was hard for my young son to reach to clean his teeth. It would also have been really, really helpful to have had a shelf or stool to put your washbag on in the shower cubicles. There was a plug socket on the wall but it was 50p coin slot so we didn't try it. We had a nice meal at the busy Wainwright Inn in the village and a great time throwing stones in the river at the campsite entrance. Not too far to drive to Ambleside and Windermere and we loved Chester's by the River at Skelwith Bridge - a fantastic cream tea! All in all a basic, clean and well maintained site - we'll be coming back again. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement