Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vashka 15 reviews from this member

Dirty, run down, small pitches, poor facilities, would not recommend and won't visit again.

Spent two nights here in early March and was very disappointed. The main problem was the site was filthy, there was work going on to build new pitches and obviously the mud had become churned up and the campsite was a mud bath, there was no warning of this on booking and the site fees of 22. 50 per night didn't reflect this. Other issues were:

- dirty toilets and really small shower cubicles

- only one water fill up point which wasn't suitable for motorhomes and which meant parking your motorhome on the road and blocking the whole campsite!

- shop and bar not open even though the site was very busy

- tiny pitches. Our motorhome is fairly small but we were virtually on top of the caravan next door, we couldn't even have put our roll out awning out if we'd had wanted to!

- rubbish and recycling facilities, not marked out which bin was which and also had to tramp through a mud bath to get there

- no indoor washing up facilities which really is a necessity in a site that's open in winter

Overall a real disappointment. The only positive is it's close proximity to Ashford and Bakewell

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

I think we pick the wrong time of year to visit this site as I think in summer months it would be ok.

Main issue was mud, you expect it in winter but it was particularly bad. They are installing new pitches and dumpers and machinery have no doubt contributed to the mess, but you couldn't even go to the loo without getting covered in it.

We were disappointed that everything was 'shut for the season' no bar or shop open, yet this wasn't mentioned on the website. Nothing in reasonable walking distance either.

Pitches are very close together and the lanes around site are also very narrow.

The showers and loos however were warm and spotless, always a big plus for us.

Location of site is an excellent base for bakewell, Matlock, chatsworth etc.

Dogs : I have two large dogs and I was pleased to see a large dog exercise field with a mowed path cutting through it, plenty of dog poo bins too. Shame the selfish dog owner on site ignored the keep dogs on leads signs and let his lab poo right in front of a pitch in broad daylight for all to see and just left it there. YOU are exactly the person that ruins it for the rest of us

I would probably visit this site again but not out of season.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JennyTulls 1 review from this member

We loved this site, would highly recommend and we'd definitely stay here again if we visit the Peak District.

First impressions were very positive as we drove up the neatly manicured drive way, which by the way is very easy to get into from a main road (it was our first time driving a large LHD Motorhome so it was nice that it was such easy access!)

There was a delightful young lady at reception, pretty sure her name was Amy - so friendly and charming and chatted away to us and gave us lots of helpful info, she also said we could have a look around and select a pitch we liked (we hadn't prebooked)

We chose a lovely pitch with nice views, nice bit of grass for the camping chairs and for the dog to stretch out and sunbathe!

Shower and toilets were modern, immaculately clean and that matched our overall impression of this lovely site.

Bakewell is a 25min stroll if you follow the main road but Amy also let us know of a cross country route following a way marked footpath that took about an hour to get to Bakewell but it was well worth it. It follows the river and it was just lovely :)

Bakewell itself is a nice town to visit, plenty of gift shops and pubs, cafes etc. We ate at the Peacock pub and it was great.

Also ten minutes stroll from the site is Ashford-in-the-Water, a very pretty little village and we had a delicious cooked breakfast in the tea rooms there. It has a pub and a little shop too.

Well done to the owners of Greenhills, and a special mention to Amy who is a real asset to the site

Highly recommended

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GoldieCat 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night midweek

Lovely site close enough (just!) To bakewell to walk.

On arrival the staff were very friendly.

On site there is a small shop which caters for the forgotten nessecities. We didn't use it so I can't comment on prices.

There is also a small children's play area.

There is an on site bar which was reasonably priced and had a lovely atmosphere in the evening.

We were right next to the bar and didn't get any late night noise from it

The toilets/showers were very clean.

The bar doesn't serve food and we couldn't be bothered walking back to bakewell so the staff kindly gave us a selection of takeaway menus

Overall a great site which we will be staying at again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stephiejk 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site, great location, booking easy, good amenities.

We arrived and they thought I'd got there already as they'd put someone on my pitch! Slight panic moment as I'd booked this for myself and some family back in March. It was resolved but we were very disappointed with how close each camper was to us. Either side and very close in front of the van too. Very impersonal so we won't be going back again which is a pity as so much else was good about it.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rogjo 1 review from this member

Booked 9 nights but only stayed 8 disapointed with the site, pitches on the small side

Vans pitched untidily giving problems with erecting awning and car parking, there did not seam to be

Any organisation of the pitches which are on the small side, this led to disagreement between campers.

The toilets and showers could be better but they were clean

The saving grace of this site is its location within walking distance to Bakwell and Ashford.

Would I return I don't think so needs better management

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Burgess 9 reviews from this member

Well, we phoned in from the road a few miles away, and they had a pitch available. We didn't need EHU.

We were directed to a lower field and given the impression the site was busy, but it really wasn't so there was plenty of space. But after pitching we did find a rabbit burrow very near the front entrance of our tent, and had to fill it with BBQ bricks to prevent putting a foot into it inadvertently.

The water tap was rather far away, and wash facilities even further!

Showers were clean and quite adequate for our needs, WiFi near the bar was welcome. We used the car to get around and didn't try to walk into Bakewell, though I'm not sure it looked like a pleasant walk.

Would we use this site again? Almost certainly not and only as a last resort. High season and therefore top tariff starts before most sites, and it's way more than justified for two people, a modest tent, a small car, and no electric! We discovered at least one other site nearby which we would far prefer and with sensible prices. We wish we'd found them first.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave and Val 3 reviews from this member

Over night stop - Booked over the phone 20 minutes before we arrived; it was on the Bank Holiday Monday (Easter) we found the large site easily as it is well signed, the site was emptying as people were on the way home after the Easter weekend. Our pitch was close to the facilities luckily for us; the site looked like the rain had hit it hard over the weekend with some very large puddles around and some people bailing out around their pitch but all in all the roads and hardstanding were solid. Facilities were a mix of brick building and porta cabin Loos/showers so more than enough to go around, a few different disposal points, bins, water top up, grey water disposal (Cassettes type) with an on site shop and pub. As we hit the Bank Holiday Monday 1500 we were charged full BH rates which at 29 was a bit of a sting.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Larton 2 reviews from this member

Very disappointed with this site, showers were tiny, and ready for a makeover, also no heating on in November! The grass was immaculately kept around the the static caravans unlike ours. The whole site was untidy, shop was closed bar was closed, still paid the same money though! The best thing about this site is the great pub in the village serving excellent food. Also location. Having said that I still wouldn't go back.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whatevers 3 reviews from this member

As below very disappointed with this site, pitches not very generous, shower block had no heating later in the evening, shower cubicles were far too small, overall site looking tired. The Bar and shop were not open yet the nightly fee was not reduced.

Another grudge was the dog bins are set against the hedge row which meant I had to trudge up a very slippery, muddy bank to use them, they could do with either making a gravel path to the bins or position a couple down at the grass edge closer to the road way.

This site is very near Bakewell, within walking distance if you don't mind a 20 minute walk, that's the main reason we chose to stay here but untill they update facilities (which in my opinion can make a site) and overhaul the site we won't be back, such a shame could it be so much nicer.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5036 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019