Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: Ist Marchto 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 72 Reviews
                7/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 The location of this campsite is fantastic. The beach can be reached directly across the road to the site. Southwold is beautiful and a 15 minute walk along the beach. The working harbour is in the opposite direction and is well worth a look persevere walking along the harbour to find a lovely cafe and pub.

The site itself and facilities are very basic and exposed to the elements. If is council owned and run, we stayed Thursday night and wanted to stay Friday as well but the whole touring field was being used by school groups for the weekend, we escaped as the marque's were being erected! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markm100 1 review from this member

 I stayed for 3 nights on pitch 210 in a tent. This site is fantastic, great facilities, great location and very friendly staff. Southwold is a lovely place to visit along with Walberswick which again is beautiful. The showers and toilets are very clean and there is a lot of space in between pitches which is great. Only 1 negative comment or rather only 1 top tip for people and that is do not pitch your tent, or caravan near the trees. For some reason this site is full of wood pigeons and magpies and they not only make a mess of your tent but also start making a racket as early as 5am and don't stop until 10pm. Apart from that its all good. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gerrysw 2 reviews from this member

 Well I have to say for a Local authority camp site this was the tops. Inches from one of the nicest beaches anywhere. Staff were more than helpful, facilities limited but that is just the way we like it. The joy is that on arriving your jaw drops as all you can see are rows and rows of statics. But in the next field just tents and vans. Southwold is just a 10 minute walk along the beach and must be amongst the the top ten of seaside resorts, working lighthouse, wonderful pier, great pubs, lots of independently owned shops. We loved it. On the other side of the camp site the river estuary with working harbour, fantastic chandlery, and the best fish and chips (huge huge portions beware). There is also a rowing boat ferry (90p) to cross to Walberwick, very upmarket, we had the best gourmet lunch at the Anchor (55 for two of us with drink!).

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 This site is very big. You drive through the static site to a large field split by a couple of hedges. There are a few hard standings in the second field. Were we pitched with ehu. There are two toilet blocks which I have to say need some tlc. In the block next to our pitch the loos and basins were clean, but while we were there the floor was only clean once, the rest of time it was very muddy, I think this was due to a leak somewhere. I checked the showers in the other block and these too were muddy in the trays, I think this was just people not cleaning up after them. There was a pot wash area. The site was next to the sand dunes beach and sea. There was a nice walk on the sand dunes into the town which was lovely and had every thing you would need and more. Took me 15 minutes (each way) to walk each morning for the papers and milk, turn right out of the site and onto the harbour which has a walk to the Harbour Pub about half an hour (each way) for us wrinklies, but worth it as you passed shacks selling every type of fish and seafood you could imagine and a fish and chips shop/restaurant. This was very busy. The pub also sold food and was very popular, a little pricey but we enjoyed the atmosphere and watching the world go by. We would go back as we love where it is. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynnpin 1 review from this member

 We love this site but it's the location that is key - right next to the beach and the lovely river area which faces Walberswick which is so laid back.

There's a great fish and chip place there, a lovely wet fish shop where you can go along with your own wine and bread and enjoy a plate of seafood or just try out the wonderful scones at the cafe down the river a bit. The pub's lovely for a drink but the food is quite expensive and not that good in my opinion but lovely to watch the sun set with a pint.

The site is, as the previous reviewer said, council run and could be a lot better but as long as you know the toilet blocks are closed for cleaning in the morning and have a shower in the afternoon when it seems you're guaranteed hot water, it's fine.

One tip - get a pitch along the edge that faces the town as you get wonderful views of Southwold and there were Marsh Harriers and Skylarks to entertain us when we were there.

There's no shop on site which is a shame as it's a bit of a way from the town but the office does sell milk and a few other basics, will charge your phone for 1 and freeze blocks.

My son loved it, met loads of new friends playing football and the main attraction - crabbing.

Only one big downside - no fires allowed although we used our barbecue as did lots of others on the site and that way nobody seems to mind. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 20 reviews from this member

 This is a standard municipal campsite with clean facilities and clearly marked, reasonably-sized touring pitches in a large, flat and fairly exposed field.

We had to pay the full pitch fee in advance and could select the pitch we wanted by looking at the map on their website.

The toilet block in the touring field was clean with ample loos. However, there were only two showers in the ladies section and two in the mens. Added to this, the block closes for cleaning between 9. 30 and 11. 30 so I would imagine these get very busy before 9. 30 at busy times. The showers are the fixed to the wall type in basic cubicles (e. G. No shelf for toiletries) but they are warm and clean. Plenty of basins and two hairdryers (20p required to use them). There is a laundry room, but we didn't use this.

There are several washing-up sinks with plenty of hot water but they are not very sheltered and our dishes kept blowing away whilst draining as it was very windy during our stay!

It's a ten minute walk into Southwold and a 45 minute walk along the river and over the footbridge to Walberswick. The site is near the sea and you can hear the sea at night and see the lighthouse's beam which is rather atmospheric.

If you are travelling in a car with low ground clearance, take care on the speed humps on the road through the site! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy-snapper 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in may 2013. Must admit it's more than I would pay especially as I am single and 2 people are included in price, but it was best situated for my means. Currently run by local council although was told there are always talks going on as to takeovers! Weather was very windy and torrential rain so didn't stay for all time I have booked as I wanted my proper bed! at one point I was the only person camping! Huge big field with lighthouse in distance- could just get glimpse of the light turning at night from tent! wondered what it was at first!.

Site was extremely quiet-although next to a road the road only goes to harbour so not used much. Site was very tidy and maintained- reception also stocked few things like milk, juices etc but no camping type stuff. They will also charge batteries and freeze ice bags.

Shower block very tidy and clean. Didn't count but in the block I used maybe 10 toilets? and few showers. Hot water is free although if I want to be picky the showers don't have much force to them.

As its council run there is no one on site 24/7 but didn't give any problems.

Harbour area is a few minutes walk away, ferry boat to walberswick at the moment weekends only otherwise its a longish walk. Fish and chip shop at harbour has the best fish and chips I have had in a long time!

Southwold is a shortish walk away too. There is also a lovely bike ride which I did from the site to kessingland beach. It's about 10 miles each way with no major hills. I am in my 50's and did each way in about an hour to give you a guide.

All said it was a nice site, handy for various places, quiet, clean and would prob go again if I was that way 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lexy100 7 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site, situated right next to the beautiful sandy Southwold beach.

Facilities were good, welcome was efficient but not brilliantly warm. When we did contact reception again to see if any spare dry pitches for our friends to turn up, the response was very unhelpful asking us to go & check the pitch ourselves. (The weather was wet with gale force winds!)

Fortunately we didn't have to speak to reception again. The pitches were ok, a bit rough with quite a few larger ankle twister holes. We were a group of 3 families with a large gazebo and we were very happy where we were put and with the layout.

The shower block which was next to the camping field did the job and was probably one of the better ones I have been into, clean & tidy with enough toilets/sinks. Apart from being closed for cleaning between 8. 30&10. 30-peak period which was odd. The other blue shower block was brilliant, lots of strong, hot running water in the showers & no panicky timer to wonder if you're going to manage to rinse out all shampoo before the water stops. A lovely heater to hang your clothes above with lots of hooks in the communal area. All clean & tidy.

We eventually had to admit defeat & leave the campsite after losing a friends tent & gazebo to the winds. But finished off on a high when we spent the rest of the afternoon playing in the sea & eating a curry in the hired beach hut, which I would recommend doing if you're going for more than a couple of days.

Would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pacey 1 review from this member

 Well located in the Suffolk town of Southwold, only a short walk from the Harbour and 15 minutes into an old fashioned Market Town.

Our group of 5 families arrived 2 hours before check-in and guy in charge was fine and let us in and gave us a tour etc. Pitches were excellently located for a group, however the ground was a little uneven in places, so it was very much a case of first come, first served within out group.

We camped during absolutely horrendous conditions and the field drainage did start to have its own river running right under one of our tents after 2 nights of torrential rain.

The toilets were clean and well maintained and showers always lovely and warm.

Apart from festivals this was our first time camping, and first with a family and despite the weather we haven't been put off doing it again soon! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sianangharadgrant 14 reviews from this member

 Great location in a lovely town, 15-minute walk into Southwold and all it's lovely amenities.

We ate at the Sole Bay Inn which we can thoroughly recommend, pubs and restaurants do get busy so book ahead or turn up early. The site seems to have lots of rules and regulations but ticks along in quite a relaxed manner when you're there.

Despite there being no hook ups Our friends in their camper van were also very impressed by the site; we walked to the harbour then ferried to Walberswick and continued along the beach to Dunwich, the museum there is well worth a visit.

We then walked back along the marshes before wandering into Southwold for a quick Adnams/Aspalls at the Harbour Inn.

The facilities on site are great, those who moan obviously didn't make it to the 'blue' shower block which had piping hot showers each morning and evening.

2 gripes: why is the main block shut for cleaning between 8. 30 and 10. 30 each day, peak shower time? Plus the admin fee of 10 to change our date of booking was incredibly steep for a computer tweak and a confirmation letter through the post

Saying that, we will without a doubt return. Nearby Minsmere is a gem - bittern, bearded tits, marsh harriers and hobbies - fantastic! 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southwold Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southwold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement