Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Edinburgh Road
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1TU
Tel: 01368 865956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 8th March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dickiebird 19 reviews from this member

 Good location with lots of open spaces and plenty for the younger children to do and explore. The site itself is reasonably well laid out with a section of owner statics with a few available for rent, and other sections for caravans, motorhomes and tents. Apart from the hard-standing pitches which were quite spacious, the other pitches were not well defined and this meant a very haphazard sprawl of caravans/tents with cars parked at random. There was a small section for wigwams and this looked quite inviting.

The town of Dunbar is within easy walking distance, either along the road or more interestingly along the coast. However, there is a regular bus service with a stop outside the site for those who do not want to walk or take their vehicle. There are several pubs, restaurants and fish and chip shops in the town itself to suit all tastes.

The receptionist was very welcoming and cheerful, and provided us with useful information.

Unfortunately, the biggest draw-back is the toilet/shower block. It is one of the poorest I've experienced and would benefit from being completely pulled down and rebuilt - totally inadequate for the number of pitches - 4 toilets and 2 showers per male/female - very, very old-fashioned, with nowhere to place toiletries for just washing/cleaning teeth. We had to queue each morning for a shower. I expected a much better standard of sanitary facilities for the price I paid each night for the pitch (29. 80).

Finally the door to the male toilet/shower section was held open by a brush with a long handle, causing an obstruction in an already cramped walk-way between the gents and ladies section, where shrubs etc overhung the wooden structure, whilst the ladies' section was propped open by the fire extinguisher - a breach of health and safety rules, I think. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alanakerr 8 reviews from this member

 We had a great weekend with the kids at this park.

KIDS - This park is laid out great for kids with two play areas and grassy areas for them to play on. We were sitting outside our caravan with books just watching the them play with all the other kids in the park. There is a little forest part they can play in also, my kids loved it here and want to go back. East Links family park is also a mile away, a great day out with the kids.

DOGS - It is only a few minutes walk to the beach with the dogs. Though you have to walk over a metal bridge to get to the sea. One of my retrievers decided she would prefer to swim across.

TOILETS/SHOWERS - Not the best we have seen but we arent too fussy, so it didn't bother us. It might bother others more.

FOOD - There are no facilities on sight. I am not sure what is available nearby. There is also no shop onsite for essentials but one about a mile away.

Overall we liked this park and will definitely return. I have to add though its not the cheapest as they charge per child, per dog and an awning. So for the price I paid for two nights I was expecting better toilet/shower facilities and a shop with essentials would have been good. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WendyandWul 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site with very good facilities which were clean. 3-4 toilets and 2 showers in each facility. Big pitches and some have a picnic bench next to them. Lovely walk through the tent area to the beach which is stunning. Places to visit near Dunbar-North Berwick, Eyemouth, Cove and follow the road to Berwick upon tweed. Play areas for kids on site and an 'insect utopia' keeps the kids amused waiting to see if they see any ha ha! Booked to go again the end of may and hope the weather will be as good as last year. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jsswalton 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights on this site recently. Really friendly welcome at reception and even loaned me 2 wine glasses as I asked for directions to supermarket to buy some. A lovely touch.

Got onto our pitch (hard standing) no problem at all. Good sized pitch.

Apart from getting a freak hailstones shower the weather allowed us to get out and about. Site is real good for younger kids with plenty of grass space and 2 small play parks. My liitle one loved following me to do my water and toilet cassette duties on his bike. The openess of the site means that when the sun is out then the majority of the park gets well covered.

Would definitely recommend this site as a good base and also nice and quiet to chill out on.

Site would benefit greatly from bigger and more modern toilet block. 2 showers in each side not enough if site was busy. Fully serviced pitches would also be a useful addition. Toilets were spotlessly clean (as was rest of park) but are very outdated. Wouldnt stop me from returning though. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 185 reviews from this member

 This site is owned by the same chain that runs Mortonhall, outside Edinburgh. We'd planned to stay 3 nights, but cut this back to 2 due to the high cost - we thought 31 pn for EHU & hardstand was too expensive (it's little cheaper on grass). We've willingly paid over 30 pn on other sites that provide an individual water pipe and grey water drainage to each stance, and have modern toilets. Here the one toilet block for 60 pitches - though clean enough, no complaint there - has a temporary 'portacabin' feel. It is very cramped for space, you have to juggle as there's no shelf to rest your wash pack on, the ladies have men's toilet seats, and there is no 'modesty cubicle' (sink in a private cubicle).

On the positive side, families with children seemed very happy as there's a good range of play equipment. Showers are free. Recycling is comprehensive. The motorhome service point was useful. If you arrive late, a list of available pitches is posted on the office door. For dog owners, there's a good run with bins and rabbits beside the site's wee loch, and ready access to the John Muir Way; turn right (east) if you want to walk to the sandy beach as you can't just hop over the high sea wall. For delicious local lunches, we recommend the tea room at the excellent Seaton Plant Nursery signposted in nearby East Linton. And the community-owned bakery in Dunbar is a prize winner. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camken9810 1 review from this member

 Just back from our first camping trip as a family, 2 adults and child of almost 4. The weather was kind to us which made it all the more enjoyable. Check in was quick and time was taken to give direction and leaflets etc of what's on and things to do around the town etc. Ok, the Campsite has 4 Tourer/Tent fields 3 with electric hook ups 1 non electric. Each field is surrounded by trees so offers some protection from the wind. The fields share one toilet block, mens, ladies, disabled/baby change, and a laundry room with, laundry facilities, ironing board, freezer and 3 sinks for washing up. The showers/toilets are fairly small, 4 toilets and 2 showers and could get really busy I would imagine in high season(the site was fairly quiet on the particular day I used them and I had to wait, this however didn't bother me)they were adequate for our needs, but probably could be improved, this wouldn't put me off returning. You provide your own entertainment on site, but that suited us as we were only staying for 2 nights, there are 2 small wooden framed play parks which my daughter loved, but would imagine older children would tier of them quickly.

The beach is 2 mins from the site(no sea views), but you can hear it (just) when its quiet in the evening. That brings us to the noise factor, the tent fields are fairly close to a pretty busy road and you are aware of it all the time, again this wouldn't stop me returning. We also encountered a biker party, I think its common and annual for them to meet on Easter Sunday for a 'ride out' they did make a lot of noise in the evening when they returned from, I'm presuming the pub(which is around a 10 min walk away), and my Daughter wasn't keen on the noise from the bikes. There was no warden to monitor evening goings on, I don't think, and they were fairly rowdy into the wee small hours. If this particular group of Bikers used this campsite as their annual place to stop, this would put me off going at that time of the year, it would maybe be worth asking if you want tranquillity during your Easter bank holiday stay. The evening after they left(Sunday) the campsite was peaceful and I slept soundly.

Dunbar is a small town, handful of shops, swimming pool, leisure centre, and East Links Family Farm park very close to the site, we got a discount voucher from reception, which was a nice touch, and visited on Easter Sunday, which we enjoyed.

To sum this up, we enjoyed our 2 night stay, my daughter had a total ball running around at the play park, and we were happy to let her as it was right on the tent doorstep, I would return, but for us it would be a long weekend campsite, and perhaps not at Easter if its a favourite with the Biking community. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nidi 1 review from this member

 We booked for 3 nights over the Easter holiday weekend and found the site to be busy but not overcrowded.

On arrival the lady at reception was friendly, welcoming and full of useful information. The site was flat, the ground was well maintained and one of the best sites we had visited.

Facilities were clean and although there was no club house or shop on site there are several pubs and stores within a 5 minutes stroll of the site.

The real beauty of this site is its location to the beach, less than 100 feet to the sea wall and 'the bridge to nowhere'. However if you intend to venture further afield Edinburgh is just over a 20 minutes train ride away from Dunbar station.

Overall a fantastic site that we intend to visit again and is extremely good value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thurso 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site. We were promised a new toilet block in 2012, and early 2013, but it has been delayed yet again until 2014. The site appears to have new people managing it, and the standards have dropped a lot since our last visit. The toilet block is old and dated, and not big enough for the size of site, and not good enough to deserve the 4 star rating and the 5 star prices to camp there. The small (shop) is very expensive for the sweets and drinks, you are cheaper going to the Westbarns shop just along the road. No one seems to patrol the site at any time of day, apart from a mower cutting the grass at 8. 00am! one Sunday morning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoylake 3 reviews from this member

 Great site in a great location. Our tent pitch we were initially given would have ruined the kids play area in centre of tent area. When we pointed this out we were given, and happy to take, another location that was perfect.

Toilet/Shower block is good but in need of upgrade and I noted that they have poster up with plans for brand new block. Coming 2014! Looks excellent.

With these upgraded facilities and the cracking location this will be a very special site indeed. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Markhale10 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic site. The location is just superb, you pop through the trees, which shelter the campsite from any sea breezes, and you are at the sea. There is a small bridge which takes you onto the beach, though be careful as it is known locally as 'the bridge to nowhere' once the tide comes in.

The site is split into different sections which gives the site a homely, cosy feel though the whole area must be quite large.

There is a camping area, a grassed electric hook-up area (where we were with our VW camper), an area of hard standing pitches and another section of static caravans.

The site facilities were very clean.

There is so much to do in and around Dunbar. The beaches are incredible, the site sits on the John Muir Way (a coastal walk), the East Links Farm Park is minutes away and great for kids up to about 9 or 10.

Dunbar itself has an old harbour, a selection of nice shops, a large supermarket on the outskirts, a good indoor pool and a fantastic large park.

We have been a few times to this site and will definitely be back. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2994 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement