Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jscadden 6 reviews from this member

 We made a last minute booking through Red Funnel and got a good overall price. Alternatively you can book through the camp site and receive a similar overall price.

The pitch was adequate for a caravan, awning and my large car (8-seater 4X4). Even had space for the picnic table! Hook-up was included on the serviced pitches.

Site facilities included good quality showers, toilets and washing up facilities. There was also a good laundry room. A small shop in the reception provided basic goods and freshly baked French Sticks. The site also had Glamping modules for hire including three retro-caravans. There was also a 'lounge' were entertainment was provided occasionally and wifi reception was available. Because of the location, mobile coverage was extremely sporadic.

Recreational facilities were available on the site across the road in the newly refurbished clubhouse where evening and some day time entertainment was provided. There was also a bar/restaurant further up the hill which provided good quality meals at a reasonable price. This complex also housed outdoor and indoor heated swimming pools. Some entertainment was provided on the lawn in front of the complex which afforded a good view of the bay. Access to the bay was by a footpath which lead down to the beach. A rather nice cafe was situated on the beach offering refreshment and beach goods.

Children's activities were available but needed booking. Some were free but the more complex, including snorkeling, archery etc. Attracted a 4 charge. This could be further reduced by taking advantage of the special offers. These needed booking the previous day at the main reception.

The local village of Bembridge had a few shops and a bank. A free ATM is situated inside the Co-op and is available during shop hours. There is also a Fish & Chip shop. The harbour at Bembridge had a couple of sea-front cafe/restaurant and there were several pubs in the vicinity offering food. Ryde was only a few minutes drive. Other attractions on the Isle of Wight were within easy reach.

The site was owned and operated by Away Resorts Ltd who were investing heavily in the site. It was refreshing to go to a site that was receiving investment rather than being run on a shoestring which seems the norm. Much had been spent modernising the 'clubhouse' which boasted two stages thereby allowing continuous entertainment during the evening. The resident band and entertainment staff provided most of the good quality entertainment with one or two visiting cabaret acts. As well as the obligatory games machine, there was also a take-away which supplied bar snacks and light meals. Quality and price were good. The only criticism I could make is that there was no 'real ale' on tap although there was three beers from a local micro brewery available which I can recommend.

We found all the staff to be very helpful at all times especially the site managers on the touring field who kept the site clean and well maintained.

Our party consisted of three adults and three children spanning three generations and everyone enjoyed themselves. We would definitely consider a return visit at some time in the next year or two. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ben1012 2 reviews from this member

 Firstly the touring area is not clearly signposted so upon approach turned into main park on right only to be told touring is up the road on the left when pulling a caravan makes this quite a task to turn around ! When we got to the touring site found it very cramped and overloaded with tents and vans situated together (shared a pitch with a tent !)didn't like the fact that I booked 2pitchs for my family and my sisters family 6 months ago only to be told on day of arrival that they don't reserve pitches so we may not be near each other. All the facilities are on the park on the opposite side of the road which is quite a dangerous trek with cars coming in and out constantly. Playground is on main road where cars are entering and leaving. Showers are dirty and staff said there's no hot water until later on in mornings I went at 9 they were very cold ! Swimming pool very old and dirty in need of updating. Electricity on site was poor went out one night and wasn't sorted until the morning which resulted in frozen food being thrown away. The only plus was the entertainment they deserve a pat on the back excellent for both adults and children. All in all it was a terrible site for touring we regularly go to their park in Lincoln and expected this park to be on the same immaculate level-was very disappointed don't stay here there are plenty of other parks on the island. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fuzzypaws 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for our main holiday, & was very under whelmed.

Pitches are small, vans face up hill so the only view is another caravan, instead of the great views behind your unit, shower block grubby as they try to clean it while its in use instead of shutting it for a deep clean, roadways tight & disabled loo/shower was disgusting, broken tiles covered in dirt etc.

On the plus side, food at the top bar was great, & the location is good, & is it cheap.

When we were there, it was very hot which was great, however the club in the evening was baking hot, a lot of people wouldn't go in it was that uncomfortable.

Could do with a complete redesign then might be a top park. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katycymru 12 reviews from this member

 We visited this site, as one of the few sites with space over the bank holiday weekend, and with the heavily discounted ferry included, it made sense. We were directed to a small pitch however enquired about other pitches, and were happily directed to a few more we could have our choosing of, despite being full.

This was our test for a trailer tent purchased the day before, and despite choosing a larger pitch than the one offered originally, we could still not erect all of it and have the car on the pitch also. This was at the top of the hill, and I suppose the drawback of having a lovely view was the uphill walk from the toilet block, which was clean enough with nice hot showers. There are larger pitches on the bottom field, however these got quite soft and muddy with the persistent rain we had. I suppose after touring Europe for several years, I was used to more space.

Anyway, the site is easily accessible, and the staff very helpful and friendly. They even managed to get us on an earlier ferry, as maybe it was a bit of beginners luck, we got our TT down in a lot less time than we planned for!

The facilities were good, and the entertainment team upbeat and lively. The newly-refurbished Culver Club was a really nice environment, and the food was decent value for money, as well as being piping hot. The entertainers were nice and friendly, and our son loved the entertainment live show. We also had the treat of an open-air cinema on the cliff, watching the boats go by. We didn't use the pool, although it was well-used due to the weather.

The layout is strange with the touring and statics being on different sides of the road, however was not really an issue for us. This is a fairly lively site, however due to our location, we never had any problem with noise. Probably our best nights of sleep under canvas! This could partly be put down to there being no open spaces for people to congregate, as every bit of grass was part of a pitch. But I think getting people outdoors and out of their caravan/TT/FC/tent/awning is all part of camping, so was a little disappointed.

This site has everything you could possibly need, and the ferry discount is brill. However this was tempered by my feelings towards the size and closeness of our pitch to others. Can't wait to go back to the Isle of Wight, but maybe we'll try somewhere else next time. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Melmel74 33 reviews from this member

 We stayed over Easter in one of the new 'canvas cottages' and I actually believe we were the first to stay in ours as all the cutlery etc was still sealed up in new boxes so we needed to unpack it!

There are also some bell tents and a touring area - the whole camping part of the site is across the road from the statics which is nice.

There is beach access and a club/restaurant on the main site.

This was the first time for us 'glamping' and I have mixed feelings about it. The cottage was quite large and set on wooden decking. There was an outside area with patio style furniture and the view from the front of the tent was lovely, looking out over open fields. On arrival we were shown to our tent and given a key! Yes, that's right folks a key for locking up the front of your tent door via a chain type thing. We didn't actually do this as it seemed rather strange as we're used to tent camping.

Inside there was a kitchen area with a wooden table and chairs, a wooden unit with a baby Belling type cooker and kettle and another kitchen trolley type affair with pots and pans etc. There was also a small fridge.

They provided a breakfast pack containing bacon, sausages, eggs, bread and butter which was helpful. There was also a washing up bowl provided. I did find cooking on the cooker a pain and actually prefer my own camping kitchen kit. I am 5'7' and the top of the hob was rather high, I think anyone shorter would struggle to cook on it. I also think that in future the top sloping walls of these tents run the risk of getting ruined with splashes of cooking oil etc as the hob is so high up.

There was a futon sofa and tv in the 'lounge' area and some fairy light type things. These were a bit annoying in that you have to scroll through settings a bit like Christmas tree lights if you just want them 'on' rather than flashing!

In the kids room there were 2 sets of bunkbeds and a wardrobe. A nice touch was the fleecy blankets and kids scatter cushions on the beds. In the other room there is a double bed, side tables and wardrobe. Again nice throws and cushions on the beds.

The decking is covered with a type of rafia style carpet and rugs but there are gaps around the edges and it gets quite breezy - more so than an actual tent on the ground.

They provided 2 heaters but they were not very effective - we took our own camping portable heater with us which was much better.

Outside the tents are strung with large lights all around - these are quite bright.

We were lucky when we stayed in that from Sat to Thu there were only about 3 of these canvas cottages occupied and it was idyllic. Things got busier towards the weekend with more cottages occupied and also a rally taking place in the field in front.

It was when it gets busy that things start to become less idyllic. I'm not sure how they work the EHU but it started to trip out a lot from the Fri night when it became busier. Lots of the cottages were occupied and with all the lights on in front of the tents it was bright like a multi story carpark all night!

The toilet block was clean enough (although did start to look dirtier as the site filled up) and there is a small children's play area on site by the amenities block.

We enjoyed our stay and it was lovely being the first to use the 'cottage'. I do wonder though how these will look over time as the fittings etc get more worn. The tents have bunting strung up inside which may get tatty and need replacing frequently.

We had a few people walk in to our tent one night (must have been a bit confused) and also the candles form our lanterns on the patio table strangely disappeared as did some of the cups and plates from inside. I guess they provide you with a tent key for a reason!

They market these holidays as just turn up - but you do really need to take some of your kit esp if going early in the season. We took our sleeping bags, heater and thermals and without these would have been far too cold. We also needed to buy a few kitchen things (that I normally have in my own kit but didn't take)and I really think I would have found the whole week easier cooking if I'd taken my gas stove with me.

All in all we enjoyed our stay but will be returning to our trusty tents for the rest of the season! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Thehoogs 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 weeks at whitecliff bay. As previous reviews would like to say how friendly and helpful the staff were, they couldn't be faulted. The pitch as mentioned by others was difficult to find and it was unclear where our pitch started and finished - I'm sure this could have been a problem with less friendly neighbours.

We stayed on the bottom field, which couldn't have been further away from facilities or the entertainment. The site has quite a strange set up, the pools, bars, shop, launderette crazy golf etc are all on the static caravan site which is over the road from the touring park. This meant that a visit to the pool or the beach involved a trek through the touring park, cross over the road and then another trek to the top of the statics park- probably 10-15 mins with our kids in tow. Don't let this put you off though, its great to have all this separately. It did mean, however that lots of people chose to drive from one park to the other so there was a lot of cars going up and down.

The beach was nice, but a steep concrete slope down( and back up!)The activities were very different to the norm- some for adults as well as kids-I can say I have never seen axe throwing offered before! Our kids enjoyed crossbows and a learn to ride your bike course and water-walking- all very reasonable at 4. The outdoor cinema was fantastic, a really social event enjoyed by many with free marshmallow toasting over the fire and the shop selling BBQ, popcorn, candyfloss etc.

I know a few people have put some comments about the toilet and shower blocks, they were dated but they were always being cleaned and the water was always hot(no charges for showers either- which is becoming quite uncommon these days). I never had to queue either, which surprised me in peak school holiday weeks. At the end of the day this park is comparatively cheap so you get what you pay for.

We didn't go far from our site as the weather was great- perfect for the beach. We did visit Sanddown- an old fashioned seaside town, and its dinosaur Isle attraction( ok for a couple of hours if its raining) Shanklin is lovely with is old village of thatched cottages and its seaside prom. Godshill was also worth a visit for its tea rooms, chocolate island and the quaint model village- loved by the kids. As a final note pop to the propeller inn over the road for great food, and a perfect view of the airfield with its light aircraft coming in to land just feet away. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rower ned 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from 2 fantastic weeks @ this park. Weren't too sure that we'd booked the right place after reading previous reviews. The toilets on the camping field were very clean and were constantly being cleaned. The general facilities were clean and the staff polite and helpful. Only downside for me was that the Nab bar, the place where adults could go for a quiet pint, shut at 9. 30 some nights ( at the supervisor's discretion ) and so we stopped using it, choosing instead to walk to the Propeller Inn down the road. We had several meals here and also at the crab and lobster in Be bridge. Great view from the site of aircraft taking off from the airport. First time on Isle of Wight but will be back. The fixed tents on site were very popular as was the outdoor pool, but there was always plenty of room around it. Osbourne House and the Needles are a must see. I even got the wife on the chair lift. The inclusive ferry travel was stress free and another plus on a great break. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jelly900 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the first week of August with our 2 young boys on a service pitch in our trailer tent, on arrival the staff were very friendly but on arrival to our pitch it all got a little confusing! The keystones were missing from most of the pitches on our row this lead to lots of confusing as to wear to pitch even the staff were unsure where our pitch started and finished. This lead to one camper van having to move as on his return on a day out his pitch was no longer there! This could all be fixed if the keystones where put back.

The services pitches are not flat and the general camping field is on a slope! (not ideal when camping!)

There was no time set as to when people had to be quiet by, people were still playing music at 12. 50am at night and children out playing until way pass 10pm.

Lots of dogs on site, most were kept on leads as the rules state but there were a few left to run, this was not monitored by the staff, not ideal with small children.

The toilets were in need of updating, but this shouldn't stop them from being kept clean, there was a rota on the wall but this I feel wasn't kept to. Due to lack of staffing. The ladies showers in the bottom field were not nice to shower in! Basically there was dirt and hair all over the floor and the drainage was filthy dark yucky water sat in the drain gullies and the window seals had not been cleaned in a long time, meaning no where to place any of your items as there was not over shelving. The other toilets by the play park were a lot better.

The men toilets were just as bad as the ladies but the toilets were frequently out of toilet paper, blocked or even on one occasion there was poo over the toilet seat!

We have stayed in other camp sites in the New Forest with more people using less toilets and showers and these were kept spotless or what you would except to find! (this was also a rainy weekend in the new forest)

The camp site is a good 5 to 10 min walk to the clubhouse, pool or anything else on the main holiday site across and main road.

We found the food at the Nab bar to be of average quality we paid 7. 50 for a bowl of nachos to share which was not anything special, just nachos heated with some sauce squirted on.

The staff that we did see seemed nice but on the touring field it did seem very under staffed!

Would of marked this below average but felt poor was to low.

Will we go back to this campsite NO! But we will be going back to the IOW

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babycake 10 reviews from this member

 Was unfortunately very disappointed by this site. I had maybe expected more after my pre holiday experience being so good.

We were directed to the bottom field about as far away from the facilities as possible. When I'd booked I'd explained about travelling with a disabled child and a toddler and was told that they would try to pitch us close to the facilities. In reality that meant the furthest point possible away from every thing, next to the public footpath opening onto a busy road right under the flight path of the local airfield. When questioned the man at reception said its only a minutes walk to the toilets. After dragging both boys there 3 times and not making it, we bought a potty!

Let's look at the pitch. Good size covered in massive troughs like a tractor had attacked it. We struggled to pitch our tent but did manage it. We struggled to find peace with people and dog walkers constantly passing us at all times of the day and night. There was a wonderful aroma of urine in the heat as the dog walkers would let there dogs pee on the corner of our pitch (the opening) and the smell of pooch poop also became overpowering in the heat as the poop bin was kindly hung on a pole at the footpath. Not relaxing constantly having to prevent your children running onto a busy road during a bloody scooter rally. Those things were speeding up and down day and night!

The site facilities as mentioned by others are all on the static side. More effort could have been made by the sites entertainment team to venture over to the touring side to get people involved/ entertained.

Showers and toilets were adequately clean but they could definitely do with an additional showers/ toilets in the far corner of the bottom field.

Site security. We didn't know they existed till our last night there. Having been kept awake for 6 nights by a few large groups and people playing music till the early hours, I was shocked when security came to our tent at 11pm as there had been a complaint regarding our noise.

Kids play area on the touring side was very sparce. It needed a few swings or bits for the smaller children.

Shop was reasonably priced.

Extreme lack of first aid point became very evident with the number of wasp stings happening. Wasps were a major issue made worse by the lack of care taken to keep the site clean. Bins were often over flowing and could have done with at least a hosing out when thy had been emptied!

Did we have a good time, yes, because we left the site everyday and treated it as somewhere to sleep only.

Would we stay there again? Maybe if the price was right and only because I would complain and not pitch until they organised a suitable pitch. I should have complained instantly! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SunshinecamperDR 18 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 nights here, 2 families, tent and caravan. When we arrived someone had put their tent on our pitch so we had to wait for another 2 pitches to be allocated to us. The pitches are a good size, we have a Kalahari 10 and we had plenty of room. The toilet block facility was average, in my opinion these need to be cleaned more frequently as they are not kept clean and tidy for me, because the site was so busy they couldn't keep up with it, no toilet roll on occasions, be prepared to queue for a shower at busy times. The dustbins where regularly overflowing. The Isle of Wight is lovely, the beach next to the campsite is pebbly, if you go to Sandown which is only 10 mins drive, this is lovely and great for the kids. Because the Island isn't big, you can be anywhere in only a short drive which is brilliant. We would definitely return to the Isle of Wight but not to this campsite. Cleanliness for us is important. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement