Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cartmel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Cartmel Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cartmel Park
Wells House Farm
Cartmel
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Touring Closed From 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kamikazekaz 3 reviews from this member

 We visited on one of the busiest racing weekends of the year.

The site was pretty, enough space, the owners did a great job fitting everyone in, but leaving space in the middle for play.

Toilets spotless and packed full of loo roll. Only 2 showers in ladies, but never waited. 20p's for hairdryer and it lasted ages.

Cartmel is so pretty, from site amazing view of racecourse and priory. Great pubs and fab food in the village. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FamilyH4 2 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at this site many, many times over the last 10 years, it changed hands last year. The village is great and growing each year, Playing in the stream (river!) is still the most amazing way for the kids to spend an afternoon and the playground outside the site is brilliant, and the pubs are family and dog friendly and if you want a weekends camping there are probably few sites that beat this one for its location and charm.

However being objective ( and I love what it is ) it is now in need of serious updating, and the service needs to improve somewhat. The shower block whilst always basic, the couple of times we visited this season was dirty, the shower curtains smelt, and the floor mats were filthy. Previously there used to be cloths and spray to wipe the sink area, which has been removed and the mops and brushes to shift the water out of the cubicles to the central drain had also gone which means that there is no way of improving the state they get in during the day. The toilets ran out of loo roll and We never saw the owners after check in, which again is not how it used to be, and whilst it wasn't an issue - they were not around and we did want to give them some feedback.

My understanding is that they haven't run a campsite previously and their aim is to replace the current site with lodges rather than static and camping, which may be why they are not particularly focused on improving what is there, (still only 3 electric hook up points!) but for what they charge (very expensive really as there are no extras, not even free freezer blocks) it is beyond basic! Having said that, would still stay again as Cartmel is so lovely and the children love it, but for the price the site in Hawkshead, with washing and drying facilities is much much better value. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catnip 7 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site, I'll be brief:-

Very pretty, quiet site, good flat pitches and grounds kept well.

Showers are adequate but are not kept very clean. Manky shower curtains and if you don't like spiders, don't look up!

Concrete floor cold and again dirty.

Also quite pricey, charged us £16 for 2 adults and tent, then £10 for 1 child and pop up! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geoffholland 2 reviews from this member

 A nice campsite in a great village. First impressions were good but after 6 nights here some not so good things were observed. First the showers and toilets could be modernised and cleaned better. No local info available on site, no washing/dryer facilities or freezer/fridge available. Would be nice if the owners took the trouble to even say hello/is everything going ok. Had the idea they don't like children too much. Offsite a good playground for the kids and a very nice village to explore. Good pubs the best and friendliest being the pig n whistle. The village shop was well stocked and a nice cafe above with very friendly staff. Try cartmel coffee for the real caffeine hit and the cakes were top notch and the service friendly. Overall a reasonable impression. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smeg4brains 2 reviews from this member

 We are a family of four (two adults and two children age 6 & 9) and we stayed at this site for a week. We called at the cottage upon arrival and received a friendly welcome from the owner.

We pitched in the bottom field (there were two) because we used an EHU. The site was clean and well maintained with shower/tiolet block located centrally.

There is a playground located just outside the site which the kids loved.

The village of Cartmel is a real gem, there are a choice of four pubs in the village but we loved 'The Cavendish Arms' because the food and staff were fantastic!

There are some lovely shops selling local produce and gifts, although they aren't cheap. However the local Spar was reasonably priced and only a short walk from the site.

The village has a racecourse, and historic priory both well worth a visit. We visited the 'South Lakes Wild Animal Park' which was worth every penny (my eldest even got to feed the giraffes!).

In summary we are definitely going back, this was a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harper7 2 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Wells Farm this year.

Overall this is a good site with two large camping fields, good facilities and a 5 minute walk to Cartmel town.

It can be difficult to find a flat pitch with the better spots quickly taken and apparently can be pre-booked?

The facilities are always clean & tidy however the bare concrete floor and painted block walls can feel a little cold and un-welcoming.

The town of Cartmel is small but has everything one could need with 3 pubs, a cheese shop, bread shop, wine shop and plenty of ice cream shops. Cartmel is famous for it's sticky toffee pudding and having tasted one they don't disappoint.

One word of caution the couple who run the site can be a bit strict with clear rules regarding the number of people in your party and your pitch location (i. E. The amount of space taken).

My advice is to be clear when booking the site with the amount of people in your party including children and pets. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zeddman 2 reviews from this member

 Ok. Here we go, back again, on the the Kawasaki, to have a nice quiet couple of days in Cartmel, and a look round the lakes. The village of Cartmel, which I've come to love, due to the friendliness of the whole place, my wife, loved it here, due to the fact, that all we need is good basic facilities.

Its still nice and clean and tidy. Mind my only gripe is the cavendish arms pub. I know a business has to make money. But you boys are stretching it a bit.

Royal oak for good food. Pig n whistle for good crack. So see yer again soon 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckylee 3 reviews from this member

 This is one the best sites we have recently stayed on for many reasons, the location is great, just a minutes walk from the centre of Cartmel.

The atmosphere was good and is a quiet and relaxing site. There are 2 camping fields, we chose the top field which has the best views across the village and over the racecourse. The only let down is the toilet block which is incidentally one of the worst we have come across on a site (to be fair I only book sites where the toilets have good reviews!)

The concrete floor picks up every bit of dirt and is cold and unpleasant to walk on, the showers aren't the best but did give hot water whatever time of time of day.

Cartmel is a lovely little village, perfect for sitting with a beer from one of the 2 pubs in the square & watching the world go by, The Royal Oak is a really friendly traditional pub (and the sticky toffee pudding is to die for!)

The Kings Head is slightly more gastro pub and also very nice we did not eat there though. Just outside the square is the Cavendish Arms, again a nice oldie worldy pub with tables outside alongside the river.

The Pig & Firkin is the last pub in the village near to the Spar shop (handy for those forgotten items) we found the pub to be the friendliest and has a nice beer garden at the rear.

This is a good location to explore the lakes but without having the mad rush of crowds everywhere you go.

Would visit the area again but fingers crossed that the loo's have improved. I have marked the overall rating as 8 out of 10 but this would easily be a 10 out of 10 if the toilet blocks were improved. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dilbert1968 5 reviews from this member

 I've just returned from a long weekend at this site and would largely echo the comments made by Redders499 about the site (and town) though I would (partially) disagree with his assessment of the toilets & showers.

Yes, they are basic - but they are clean, bright and functional. In fact, the only thing that I desperately missed was a chair (or something similar) in the shower area to enable me to place items somewhere other than the floor (which as Redders says, gets very wet). The showers are powerful but are a fixed temperature (which was a little cooler than I would have preferred).

There is a decent sheltered washing up area (only two sinks though) but the hot water throughout is ‘free’. We never once had to queue for anything (water, showers, toilets, sinks) but then the site was only about 1/3 full.

The site is picturesque and very peaceful (other campers aside - see below) and is only a couple of minutes from a children's play area, shops and other amenities. There are 4 decent pubs in the town (the Pig & Whistle being the best in my view) but watch out for the food prices in a couple of them.

We pitched in the top left-hand side of the lower field (the flatter of the two). This is a largish field and only had half-a-dozen other tents on when we arrived but even with so little competition for space, all the properly flat areas were taken. We settled for a gently undulating plot and 35 minutes later, the kettle was on and I was quite pleased with life!

Then darkness fell.

Without naming names, we'd just got our 3 year old to sleep before a lady began limbering up for her chosen sport of 'power snoring'.

A logging factory, a pig farm and an airport could have opened up in the next field and she would still have been heard over the top. The noise was simply incredible and on that performance we've got a guaranteed gold medal should they ever decide to introduce her event to the Olympics.

Anyway, in summary. The site is great (with the minor niggles I mentioned) but the general camping public are a little hit & miss.

At under £20 a night for the 3 of us, I'll probably risk it again though. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fudge59 23 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the Great North Swim in Windermere. Lovely quiet site right in the village with fantastic local shops, pubs and restaurants.

The Kings Arms pub was excellent value in particular, and Rogans restaurant is great for a special occasion. The sticky toffee pudding is not to be missed.

Holker Hall is only a two mile walk away and is well worth a visit.

The toilet and shower block is basic but clean with nice warm showers (only drawback - push button showers).

Would definitely return.  


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5149 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020