Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merlot65 11 reviews from this member

 Small site mainly with campervans. Couldn't get electric hook up for tent. Nice views and you can walk straight onto beach.

Midges are evil though. Two showers in both ladies and gents with further cold showers in another building. Showers were a bit tight for space and shower head not at a great height for tall people and push button.

4 toilets in ladies that didn't flush great most of the time. Undercover bbq area and free WiFi available in games room which consisted of tables and chairs a tv and some board games.

Tent pitches were a bit slopey where we were. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cessie 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely spot for wildlife watching. Facilities all clean with some nice extra touches like the undercover cooking area.

However, whole experience marred by difficult owner who took offence at my (cheery) hello when I found the office empty and proceeded to be subtly sarcastic and difficult about everything I then said or asked. Also changed his telephone quote (for a van and small 2 man tent on the same pitch) refusing to recognise what I was saying.

Definitely wouldn't go back -his attitude completely spoiled my stay there. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jonny h 1 review from this member

 WE arrived here mid April 2018 and it was all we have read and hoped it would be. We were a bit lazy and had booked a camping hut rather than the usual tent but it was worth it for the 4 nights we were there. The owner was friendly and welcoming and showed us all the facilities and the hut (we named it the shed).

Firstly, the shed. Wonderful cosy little place to stay. There is a small heater which was more than enough on our first night which was a bit chilly. There are also 2 power points and a light. The fold out sleeping platform isn't the largest width, our double airbed hung over the edge a bit but it was fine to be honest.

I wouldn't want to sleep 4 in there, 2 would have to be on the floor and it would be a squeeze, but for 2 it's perfect. There is no cooking in the shed or on the little balcony but this is perfectly understandable and fine. The door locks nice and secure so leaving anything of value behind when you go out isn't a worry like it can be in a tent. A great little home from home.

The site is real nice indeed. We went after the school break and it was nice and quiet. A few motor homes and caravans and a couple of tents. It is right on the sea front and a nice rocky shore to explore. There is a sandy beach a few minutes walk away if that's what you want but I enjoyed exploring the rock pools etc. The toilets were spotless, the showers the same. The showers in the same block as the toilets are good but there are four others which are more like small wet rooms which are much better.

There is a microwave and fridge, day room, undercover BBQ area but we didn't use any of those. There area for cleaning your dishes is nice. We never used the on site shop so can't comment on that. Overall I couldn't find any negatives with the site.

A quick word about Arran. The most friendly place you could visit. We were blessed with perfect weather and couldn't of asked for more. Only a couple of downsides. The road surfaces on a lot of the island are awful. Thank the lord we had gone in our old 4x4 which could take a beating. Saying that, there were a lot of roadworks going on and signs for road improvement schemes so I imagine this is being taken care of slowly.

Don't let it put you off, just be aware not to take a low slung sports car. 2nd downside. For the love of god don't eat from the only chippy on the island which is by the port in Brodick. I'm saying no more, just don't.

So to sum up, brilliant campsite which we will certainly be going back to later in the year after midge season. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The2Lees 3 reviews from this member

 Beautiful small beach-side site ringed with palm trees! Facilities are very good and the site has a relaxed homely feel.

The owner is very helpful with an interesting background. The adjacent hotel and bar is an asset on cold wintry days and, we guess, balmy summer's evenings. What more do you need. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 119 reviews from this member

 Breath taking views South towards Ailsa Craig. Easy access to the beach. You could spend all day just looking at the view. Gently sloping field, surprisingly sheltered for the location but watch out for the rabbits!

Arrival somewhat marred following a discussion with the owner and his pricing policy. He wanted to charge us for the maximum capacity of the tent, not just for the two of us! We came to an agreement that a Berghaus Lomond 3 is only a 2 man tent (the 3 must be for the number of poles!) Be warned / prepared.

Facilities are fine, clean and tidy. Free wifi (patchy service) and camping kitchen/ bbq/ information areas.

The Kildonan Hotel, next door, is not what you would expect inside. Good atmosphere and a short stagger home. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aclassownersclub 5 reviews from this member

 Such a beautiful location and view. Good facilities including free wifi, BBQ area, use of microwave for free.

Hotel next door good for food and drinks. Nice size pitches and site smallish making it great for children. Everything kept clean and tidy including the chemical disposal point.

Friendly owner. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We had a lovely holiday here. Recommend this campsite and recommend Arran. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night in a motorhome, stunningly beautiful location overlooking Ailsa Craig and Pladda Island and lighthouse.

We had amazing weather although being right on the coast it was windy but with pure blue sky and sunshine who cares.

There is a lovely beach where we revisited our childhood and spent a couple of hours rock pooling. There is a pub/hotel almost next door but we didn't use it as the weather was so good but would imagine on a cold wet day it would be good.

Welcome was very friendly and would definitely visit again. Toilets and showers were good and very clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JCockcroft 6 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, right on the beach with stunning views.

We went with another family and choose to use the camping pods instead of our tents but we were highly disappointed. The pods themselves are very basic not even offering a mattress to sleep on, there are only beds for 2 people, all others have to sleep on the floor, which when living next to the beach is not great as you end up with all your bedding covered in sand!

We were also disappointed with the location of the pods, they are not next to each other, had we known this we wouldn't have booked as we wanted to spend the time together to split up, this made bedtimes and cooking difficult. One of the pods did not have sea views and the other had a hard standing pitch in front of it which ruins your view.

The facilities on site are ok and kept clean but there could be more washing up areas. The kitchen facilities consist of a fridge and microwave, the addition of a kettle would be helpful for those staying in the pods!

We found the staff on reception a little rude on arrival as we complained about the pods but I am sure this is not their usual manner as they seemed ok during the rest of our stay.

We would go back to this site but definitely choose to camp! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pie*face 10 reviews from this member

 Everybody has said it all. The location is stunning, The site is welcoming and well run.

Camping just doesn't get any better than this.

Well apart from the obvious lack of fridge magnets with 'Arran' on it! Ha ha! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 51 reviews from this member

 One night in the gypsy caravan. Superb!

Bottled out of pitching up for the night with heavy rain forecast so paid 25 for a night in the small gypsy wagon. Really pleased that I did. Cosy and warm in my sleeping bag watching it lash down for most of the afternoon. Shame the wood burner didn't work. Caravan has electrical sockets and lights.

Other aspects of the site remain excellent. In particular, the undercover cooking area is excellent when the weather is bad. Plus there is a day room to eat your meal in comfort. Small kitchen with kettle, microwave and fridge. Free wifi if you want it. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement