Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennine View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Pennine View Caravan Park Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Union John 5 reviews from this member

 Great site about twenty-five minutes walk outside Kirkby Stephen. Site is well-laid out with plenty of level hard-standing pitches.

The toilet block has just been refurbished and the floors won the award for 'Shiniest Toilet Block Floors 2016' as awarded by me.

At the back of the site is direct access to a lovely river with waterfalls leading onto a disused railway cycle/footpath.

I attempted to drink in the Nateby Inn which is just ten minutes away in Nateby village but they keep 1960 opening hours so check before going down. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skiloony 4 reviews from this member

 Great location and easy access from both the M6 and A66. Centrally located in the town of Kirkby Stephen. Lovely walks along the river Eden and surrounding areas (Nateby).

The site is basic and overlooked by housing but every pitch is level with water points close by. Lots of 'site rules' which seem slightly oppressive.

£10 deposit for gate key.

Slightly expensive per night (£26. 50) for only a hardstanding pitch. (I've paid less for fully serviced).

One complaint would be that we were not offered a choice of pitches on arrival merely told which one we would use ! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fairlie 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Pennine View, stayed 3 nights excellent site and location was really quite though.

We will certainly return as Kirkby Stephen is a fantastic we town with loads of places to eat and nice pubs also.

River Eden runs behind the camp site of which you can go loads of walks down the side of the river.

We will be returning that's for sure ! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gordon53 6 reviews from this member

 Having stayed at Pennine View twice this year we find it an ideal location, about 75 minutes from home.

The site is beautifully kept, with the grass and shrubs immaculately presented, a credit to the family who run and maintain this excellent site.

The facilities are just as well kept as the grounds with lots of hot water complete with music playing in the shower/toilet block.

Pennine View is a short 10 minuet stroll into the beautiful historic market town of Kirkby Stephen. There are several pubs and cafes but we found the “Coast to Coast” chip shop to be the best.

There are several scenic and pleasant walks that radiate from the site. Our favourite is along the old redundant Stainmore railway track which has a poetry walk where poems are carved into the rocks along the route.

At Pennine View you are greeted with a warm welcome by Sharon the daughter and co-owner of the site. She will direct you to your pitch and is always on hand to sort any problems you may have.

I was so impressed with the staff and facilities at Pennine View that I immediately booked for next Easter as it can get booked up well in advance of school and bank holidays. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vanmanmike 2 reviews from this member

 Only our second trip touring with a caravan, arrived to find a lovely clean site, ten minute walk from the small but very nice town,

The site had clean showers and wash basins, plenty of waste disposal and water taps all around for easy use for everyone. The pitches were fine, a good mix of tourers, motor homes and tent fields.

There was a very good disposal unit room, an area for washing pots a laundry with tumble dryer and ironing facilities.

Everything we needed for a short stay, but most of all was the friendliness and help given by staff and other campers, we had a few teething problems as we are only beginners and everyone came over to help and was very friendly.

We hope all sites and parks are as good as this. Thanks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ncc.wal 12 reviews from this member

 This site has been a very pleasant surprise and we are sure we will return soon and regularly.

Stopped off for a few days while returning from Hereford and not expecting site to be so well laid out and have such nice facilities it being only a short walk into the town.

Pitches are mainly very big and all level only short distance from water/waste areas and the toilet block which was always very clean.

Lots of very hot water (take care) and showers were roomy. No shop on site but there are two co-ops and a spar in town.

Site handy for Wensleydale (20 minutes from Hawes) but the immediate countryside is outstanding and walking possibilities endless. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stormthenorm 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a few years ago originally. Returned this month and can say the site is as lovely as ever.

Beautifully kept, large pitches. A short walk brings you to the small town of Kirby Stephen with plenty of place to eat, drink and shop.

There is a pub two minutes walk from site. There is a co-op at the far end of the town for all your grocery needs. Easy access to plenty of places to visit no matter which way you turn when you leave the park.

Children can be noisy and some dogs were left to run off leads even though there were plenty of notices regarding dogs being kept on leads at all time.

Really enjoyed our stay though and will definitely return.

Showers and toilets lovely and clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tench 10 reviews from this member

 This is an immaculate little site situated about ten minutes walk outside Kirkby Stephen.

The site owner met us on arrival and told us we could pitch wherever we wanted to. All of the pitches are very big with hard standing and well kept grass surrounding.

The whole site is very flat and the tarmacked roads ideal for the many kids around to cycle on.

There are plenty of water/waste points and bins around the site.

The toilets and showers (both accessed via an access code lock) are spotless and there are plenty of them.

Kirkby Stephen is easily accessed on foot and features all of the usual food outlets. We chose the Black Bull which served good food at reasonable prices. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tangoman69 3 reviews from this member

 An wonderful visit to this fantastic site. The welcome was friendly as we were allocated our pitch.

The site itself is level and very well maintained, the pitches are hardstanding and massive, there are also grass.

Kirkby Stephen has all the normal takeaways, (Curries, Chinese and fish & chips) as well as a decent co-op supermarket.

The walks nearby are suitable for all (buggies & disabled) and show the local scenery in a fantastic way.

We will definitely be visiting this site again 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cybbib 5 reviews from this member

 We were welcomed by a pleasant lady who explained where and how we were to pitch.

he owners are obviously justifiably proud of the site, which is beautifully kept. The grass between the hard standing pitches is well maintained.

The more than adequate toilet facilities are kept very clean. We enjoyed our stay here immensely. I would recommend the Northern Viaduct Walk as a pleasant stroll.

The viaducts are very impressive and we enjoyed the history of the train line which was written in the huts as we walked past. The poems, carved into stones along the way were an added interest.

I love Kirkby Stephen with its shops and cafés a short walk away. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pennine View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennine View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pennine View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement