Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Holywell Bay
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5PR
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 41
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Srpayne1974 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from a one week camping holiday at Holywell Bay Park (five of us in total including three children aged 12, 10 and 6).

Whilst easy to jump on the bandwagon of previous reviews, the one toilet block (separate for gents and women) could do with a lick of paint and modernisation. That said, the shower cubicles are plenty big enough and the water was always hot. I understand the development this year was the entertainment area, it would be nice for future budgets to be spent on decorating the existing one or even adding a second block.

Positives:

Location – walking distance to an absolute fantastic beech – if you get the weather you couldn’t ask for better – buy some body boards, everyone on the beach has them for surfing.

Pitch size – We have a large Sunncamp family 900 tent and sometimes struggle with normal pitch sizes, here though the pitches were really large ours was 14m long by about 8 wide, plenty big enough for the tent, trailer and car.

Entertainment:

Swimming pool + water slide – decent size swimming pool with a 300ft water slide which the kids enjoyed. Friendly lifeguards on duty all the time who didn’t seem to be whistle happy Hasslehoff wannabes – with the beach being very close the pool never seemed overly busy.

Evening entertainment – The entertainments team run by Clare was really good providing fun for smaller children early evening, bingo and evening entertainment for adults afterwards. Our 12 year old was too old for the younger bits but enjoyed playing pool and air hockey in the amusement arcade.

Restaurant + Bar: I think this is a new bar for 2011, bar staff are really friendly, prices for drinks are around normal bar prices, good choice on the food menu and of good quality although I thought a bit expensive for a family of five and perhaps served as a reminder that I should have been cooking in the great outdoors more.

Overall we really enjoyed our week at Holywell and would recommend this site certainly for family camping holidays. The touring pitches are about a 5 minute walk away from the main club and became quiet at a reasonable time. The staff are very friendly and provide a good service, the beach is superb, decent tent pitches, good entertainment, well stocked shop etc etc. Yep, all in all a good fun holiday, and already talking about returning next year with more of the family. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sp1sweet 2 reviews from this member

 Came here for two week and was really pleased that after a 7.5 hour drive was very glad of the over night holding area. Park very easy to find and accesa very easy even with my big hobby 700.

As soon as reception was open we were allowed down to our pitch which was clean and the grass freshly cut,. The park itself was very clean. After setting up we had a walk down to the beach which was a 10 min walk and I could see why so many people come back just for the beach alone.

Now the park. As mentioned on loads of other reviews yes the toilet block does need updating but its still very functional but a lick of paint and a good tidy up ie new pane of glass a new door lock and even may be a little bit of local radio playing would be nice. We also found that the children's playing area was not quite what the brochure makes it out to be and from the touring area its about a 10 min walk and to be honest there not much there, but even with this my two boys (4 and 6) loved it.

Club. Well what can I say. Scott and gavin are great but after 2 weeks here the same jokes etc do get boring and could do with some new material but I think this is down to park dean and not them. We all enjoyed the show and I was well impressed with the guns and roses sweet child o mine version. The hall needs updating as the mens toilets is very poor with only 2 urinals for a max of 400 people.

Food here is the biggest issue with no restaurant and the take away was very limited and a bit hit and miss, please get a restaurant which is open all day!

Bar was good and priced quite fairly. Staff all very good and pleasant.

All in all a good holiday and would I go back? Yes I would but would want know things have improved before booking

The pubs nearby are also very good but the one on top of the hill we thought was bit dear but St Pirans is great and you get a very warm welcome and great food. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parsons23 1 review from this member

 Very good campsite, we were allowed in as soon as we arrived with our tent. Very clean site,showers and toilets all cleaned regularly, maybe they could do with a bit of modernising but otherwise no queues for either of these all week. Other facilities were good, the take-away was excellent ,may have to wait 10minutes at the most for your meal, but you could pop next door for a swift half while you waited. Cant comment on kids club as our youngest was 15 years old. Shop was well stocked at all times.Pool was good. Other entertainment and beaches etc very close to campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nicky clark 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, all staff were very friendly and helpful. Only a short walk to beach, with lifeguards. On site pool very good, the kids loved the slide
The toilets (always had toilet roll) and showers were very clean. Have booked again for this year and will be going next year
Newquay is a great place to go with the kids, lots to do and too see. Cant say about the club house as we didn't go in, but the onsite shop was well stocked and the prices were good. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speedymcgreedy 2 reviews from this member

 Was camping with friends and we booked this campsite in advance.

The pitch was excellent and the staff were really friendly and helpful when we checked in. The facilities were fantastic and the fact that it was just a short walk from the beach was a bonus!

There is also a nice pub a short walk away that does very good food.

In short - a great holiday! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Dippy27uk 19 reviews from this member

 It's holywell bays fault that we have purchased our first touring caravan! (in the nicest possible way) we had a 10 day stay in a static last summer. We arrived late at night after a 12 hour journey from scotland & was happy with our first impressions.

However, our caravan was the 2nd last static at the very furthest away point on the site. The kids park, swimming pool & entertainment complex was too far to let the kids go on their own. Our 2 spent most of the holiday playing in the touring section with their toys. I think a couple of nights would have been long enough on this site, which was what influenced our decision to buy the tourer. The village is lovely with 2 good pubs for meals & the beach was beautiful. We have fallen in love with cornwall as a whole & are currently planning our 2008 trip. Can't comment on the touring pitches, but the folk we spoke to seemed happy with the facilities.I used the launderette which was a godsend. The site was really not our cup of tea but each to their own. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Someara 3 reviews from this member

 This site is badly let down by the size and layout of the pitches. We were unable to use the pitch allocated to us on arrival as it was partly occupied by a tent on the adjoining pitch. We were eventually allocated a different pitch but it took about an hour to get this sorted out, not the start we wanted after a 3 hour ferry and 400 mile drive to get here.
Thankfully that was the only problem we had here. Excellent location, facilities well maintained and all staff we met very friendly (even while sorting out our problem on arrival). The atmosphere overall on the site is very good. 
The nearby beach is great for the kids. Two local pubs serving good food. Also the  Smugglers Den outside Cubert well worth a visit, you need to book a table here.
I would stay at this site again but only if Parkdean do something about the pitch sizes. The area has lots to offer for a family holiday. Someara 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gorjulin 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here , lovely site , location is fantastic for the fabulous beach of Holywell bay. The beach has great huge dunes and a freshwater stream meandering through it, where you can make base if you don't like the sea but like a bit of sand between your toes.Don't worry, the stream is only just over your ankles deep ! The beach proper is excellent for swimming , and especially body boarding and surfing.with a very active and efficient life guard service, so no worry about the kids. There is also a lovely pub,which serves grub only 2 minutes walk from the beach!

You can't miss it, as you pass it to get onto the beach. Great pool area on site. Local area is great, fantastic beaches, country pubs, and big supermarkets towards the bigger towns for all your supplies at reasonable prices. Have to recommend The Smugglers Den , gorgeous old pub just outside Holywell Bay/Cubert brown signposted off the road that leads to the main road, food is really good and produce local.

Downsides to this site are smallish pitches, shower block not kept very clean, showers are great but the sinks are stained with grime, which just shouts out negligence to thorough cleaning over a long time to me. Gunfire noise from the adjacent MOD firing range, and entertainment was not to our liking , we being Wife and I, though we could see how families with kids to be kept entertained would love it.

Overall, a well recommended site for the area/location, but a bit rough around the edges. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigel16 8 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 4 days at Holywell Bay. The site is situated very close to the beach (about 15min walk) and is situated on low ground so there is no mobile phone coverage. The site facilities are good, cafe, laundrette take-away, club and good shower/toilet block. Staff are very welcoming and ready to lend a hand or offer advice when needed. There are about 130 statics on site and around 40ish pitches for tents, half ehu and half standard. The pitches are however a little small (approx 7m x 10m) with back to backs so an even pitch at the front has to leave access for an odd pitch at the rear. This is my only gripe with the site as we had to find an alternative pitch for our Diablo so that we didnt block someone else in. it was very quiet in the evening despite the club and it was easy to chill out with a bottle of wine and a few beers while the kids were in the club. All in all I would return to this site as it is situated well to tour Cornwall and has all the facilities you would need. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DENISE MASTERS 15 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Holywell Bay, it was our 2nd visit. Great value for money (we were out of season though). It's within walking distance from the beach, which is an asset because the car park fees can get a bit pricey elsewhere. There happened to be hot rod cars there for the week we were there which was a great sight to see! Down side there a cadet camp right next door, some days you'll hear guns going off then helicopters going up and down, but you get used to it! Another downside is the pitches are tiny, we go out of season, but I wouldn't like to camp there peak time, looks too cramped. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holywell Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3553 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement