Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eastholme 5 reviews from this member

 I first visited here about 40 years ago and slightly more recently about 18 years ago. Sadly I don't think the facilities have been updated since those times.

As a base for the famous 'Three Peaks' it is perfectly placed and also only a few paces off the route of the Pennine Way.

The field is quite uneven in places and can get quite busy over weekends.

When all is said and done, generally you don't visit the Dales to sit around on the campsite so for most purposes the site would meet your needs, The pricing structure is a bit strange and the extras (like a tent, car, people. ?) soon bump the total price per night up. Had we inspected the facilities first I don't think we would have stayed but I do think you could turn up at almost anytime day or night and you can find a space. One downside is that you cannot park a car next to your pitch (unless you pitch nr the car park) and the site is next to the main road which starts to get busy with lorries for the quarry from 0600 onwards.

Chris, the owner, is a friendly character though and is worth chatting to for his local knowledge.

A good base for 'hairy-arsed' walkers but not one for a longer stay on a family holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Padmcpad 4 reviews from this member

 Nice site well laid out. Friendly guy called Chris running it. (slightly) pricey for the available facilities but not too bad. The toilets are a bit cramped and only one shower per male/female for the whole campsite but as it happened this didn't cause any issues. My only real down point to this campsite is there is no hot water (outside the showers) in the toilets, otherwise highly recommended and superbly placed for the three peaks which we did over three days, anyone doing this in 24hrs or less must be mad and very fit!

All in all a lovely site only slightly let down by the facilities.

Pubs close by and good food / friendly. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garys1969 1 review from this member

 Stopped here whilst doing the 3 Peaks Challenge.

Nice owner, very laid back.

Facilities are basic, but OK. Although if the site is busy, expect to queue to use the loos etc.

Use of the showers(one in each block)is 1, which I gave a miss due to it's state. Do need a refurb!

Prices per night are:

3per person

4per tent

2. 50per car

More pros than cons. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debom 1 review from this member

 A group of us, One man, two women and 2 Kids stayed at this campsite 'for' four nights whilst we completed the Yorkshire 3 Peaks Challenge for heart research uk.

Having stayed here on DofE back at school, some 15 years ago and after reading previous reviews about the campsite we were somewhat sceptical about what awaited us, but we can honestly say that this campsite is a fantastic place to stay, no fuss, no messing, no ridiculous curfews (grown adults being treated like grown adults).

It was quick and easy to pitch the tent up before we went to meet Mr Sutcliffe the campsite owner. We found him so helpful and friendly when you consider how many people he sees everyday, he made us feel very welcome and introduced us to Bobby and Ronnie in his marquee. What characters! but so helpful. Coning car park spaces for myself and family vehicles and generally organising the whole show, during an extremely busy weekend. This team made our stay.

The facilities were basic at the very least but exactly as I remembered 15years ago. The amount of people on here that have complained about the facilities alarm me (shouldn't you have booked in 5 star accommodation if you wanted 5 star treatment?). The showers were hot, toilets clean with loo roll, mirrors etc. 3 for pitch, per person, 2. 5 per car. 1 for the shower. No frills just affordable happy camping. Loved it

The campsite is ideal for accessing the three peaks challenge and has views of all 3 peaks, Pen Y Ghent being the clearest. Would defo stay again. Thank you Mr Sutcliffe Bobby and the team for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mec1 8 reviews from this member

 For tents, the site looked good - a grassy field with lovely views. For a campervan, it was very poor. We were on a patch of hardstanding, separated from the road by a stone wall - loud road noise, and walkers looking down on us from the path. On the other side of the van was some scruffy broken plastic tape fencing.

The toilets were basic, but I don't mind that. The man who checked us in was friendly too. There's a nice walk along the river if you go 100 yards along the road, and the pub is very close and server good beer and decent food.

I'm giving a low rating just for people in motorhomes. We left after the 2st night and went elsewhere with privacy and no road 4 feet from our pitch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babyloon 1 review from this member

 I have camped here several times now and love this site. Ok the showers etc are basic however if that kind of thing bothers you too much then maybe camping isnt really for you ;) The owner is a lovely man and is helped by his friend when they are busy. They are fantastically helpful and if you are having any problems they are always there to lend a hand. The surrounding area is beautiful with plenty of walks of all types close to hand. No snootyness about having a fire (cant see the point of camping without one) and our dog is welcome and not charged for. The golden Lion allows dogs in its front bar but the other pub(think its the Crown) doesn't. Will return again soon and keep coming back. I hope it doesn't change as there are too few real campsites left in my opinion. Audrey, John and Buster 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luketranmer 1 review from this member

 Came back today after doing the Three Peaks and stayed over for three nights. The location of the campsite is excellent, a 10 minute walk from the train station and also car parking, amazing surroundings with an excellent view of Pen-y-Ghent especially when the sun rises over it and is on the starting route for the walk. There is a cafe and a nice pub 5 minutes down the road on the left and another pub a few houses down to the right both serving food. The campsite owner is a very nice man and will always answer any questions and help out. Facilities are good there are showers for 1, toilets and a wash room with instant hot water, washing up liquid, brushes etc. There are loads of bins that can be placed where ever you need them that are cleaned out and picnic benches too. The prices were amazing too and I will definitely be returning there often. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gamba2010 1 review from this member

 Very friendly site with a very warm welcome. Staff were very helpful and polite as is everyone in the village. Bare in mind this is a working farm with amazing sheepdogs(a real treat to watch)but still look ater the site. It was very clean and tidy. Toilets are a bit old and the showers are mad hot but who wants to spend their time in there when you have wonderful views all around. The local shop is now closed but there is a mobile shop close by with basic provisions. Good food at both the pubs and cafe (closed all day Tuesday). Really enjoyed the stay there only draw back would be the large lorries coming from the quarry would recommend to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waynef1978 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed here for the 3 peaks walk. Its situated in the perfect place. Its really good value for money, staff were really helpful, if slightly under the influence. I would recommend this as the perfect place to start and finish the 3 peaks. I don't even mind the slightly eccentric owner singing at midnight. My only one complaint is the toilets and shower. One shower in the mens and one in the womens. I had to wait 20 minutes to get a shower and when I eventually got in I didn't dare take my trainers off. The toilets also are not clean. It looked like someone had left a 4th peak in one of the toilets and this was still there on the 2nd day. All it needs is a bid of work, maybe extend and a clean the toilets place would get a 10/10. They could make an absolute fortune from this place if they just gave it a bit of TLC. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vjholding 1 review from this member

 After reading the comments left about Holme Farm (all dated last year) I think the site has changed owners. We paid 22 pound per night for 1 car, 1 tent, 3 adults and 1 child which I do think this is quite steep for a basic campsite. Although the campsite itself is more than pleasing, it's in a good area, 2 local pubs, clearly marked pitches and very nice cafe. The only let down was the toilet, although I do not expect the ritz standard it was very unclean and a bit pongy. The gentleman farmer was extremely polite when we arrived, unfortunately I can't say the same about the lady. We were also told dogs weren't allowed so we were a little disappointed when we saw numerous dog during our stay. All in all had a lovely time at Holme Farm (our little girl enjoyed feeding the sheep, playing on the swing and paddle in the stream that runs just behind the site) but I won't be rushing back due to the toilets and the price! 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement