Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Campsite Malham Cove

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Riverside Campsite Malham Cove > Reviews

Riverside Campsite Malham Cove
Town Head Farm
Malham
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DJ
Tel: 01729 830287
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jimmystuart 9 reviews from this member

 One of my favourite campsites went during the Malham Safari, unfortunately the weather wasn't good and the turnout was poor, but there is some lovely walking around Upper Airedale some of it very challenging on the feet !

Facilities are still very good and Mrs Moon is a joy. Will be returning someday. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnebabe 1 review from this member

 Stayed for two nights with my husband, lovely place! Very well kept site and the toilets were spotless. Woke up to the sight of beautiful Malham Cove, doesn't get much better than that!

We will definitely be returning to this campsite, it had everything we required. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

 Just one night here over the weekend. The owner asked me to leave my car in the carpark and carry things into the field which was no problem, but we did wonder why other people had their cars on the field.

Toilets, showers, dish wash etc were in good clean order and perfectly adequate even though there were about 50 DoEs camped next to us. Incidently they were asleep long before us as they had come over Penyghent that day but they were up sixish.

There is a covered area with bench and stools for backpackers.

Malham is a short walk with two pubs. We used both.

The site is perfectly located for Malham Cove etc.

We paid £18 for a tent with two people and £12 for a tent with one person. I think backpackers were £7.

I'd happily use this site again but will pack mozzy spray next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NuCampers 9 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, fantastic location surrounded by stunning views and walks, really don't understand some of the more negative reviews on here. The owners are BOTH really friendly and chatty, couldn't really do enough or anymore.

Yes there are rules all over the site but I'm sure there's a reason for the rules as it looked like they have Duke of Edinburgh kids camping and if they don't know the rules or haven't been camping before the rules will mainly be aimed at them.

The site is a great base to explore Malham and beyond. It has good working toilets, washing up facilities and 2 showers. Yes the showers are a £1 for 7 minutes but for us that was more than enough time for 2 adults to get showered and it's only a pound!

Malham is fantastic and has 2 great pubs and a lovely cafe. Buck Inn is nice, great selection of ales and food looked decent. Lister's Arms is fantastic, amazing selection of ales and spirits, food is amazing, really really good and is why we didn't try to food in the Buck Inn.

Make sure you take a torch on a night time if walking back from Malham when its dark as the road back is pitch black.

All in all a great stay and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coypu 3 reviews from this member

 Nice little site a few minutes walk from the village, unbeatable location with mostly flat pitches, can access all the local sights and trails on foot. Ideal hikers. Unsuitable for caravans and truck sized campervans. Nice having the stream running alongside the site. Spacious showers and kept very clean, but locked at night. Only two showers so might be overrun at weekends. The token system for a shower was a bit antiquated; would rather have an inclusive tariff. Couldn't find anywhere to refrigerate ice blocks, so our milk went off.

Just be aware that groups of D of E students use the site and usually camp at the far end. We ended up having to move pitch to get a peaceful night.

Other people mention the notices - I tend to agree there's too many so in the end people don't read them. I missed the one about calling at the house. It just needs one simple message. Behave, respect the facilities and your neighbours, or leave. Nice to have the cars away from the tents which avoids disturbance from door slamming etc.

All in all a good place to stay. Would go back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LisMorris 1 review from this member

 This is a charming, well-run campsite in a gorgeous location, literally on the doorstep of Malham and within very easy walking distance of two excellent pubs.

The owners (names redacted due to the review rules) are very friendly, helpful, and always ready for a chat (if you're reading this, Mrs M. , the plant I identified for you was called Ornithogalum, so you might guess who I am!). The facilities consist of a washing up area, an undercover concrete bench area for backpackers who want to cook (I was in a car, but I felt this was a brilliant idea), toilet facilities and a shower block.

All of them are impeccable- clean, well-designed and decorated with tubs of flowers and cheerful pennants. The showers, in particular, were the best I've seen in any campsite, hands down. They cost £1 per seven minutes, but was absolutely worth every penny, with big shower rooms divided into a dry and a wet half and even a box for muddy wellies outside!

As others have mentioned, there are signs with rules on them, but they're nothing an experienced camper will not already do instinctively. I suspect they are there for the benefit of DofE walkers who may be camping for the first time and aren't used to the usual camping etiquette.

There were two rules that were a little unusual: first, due to the softness of the ground (I didn't even need a mallet), cars are not to be driven off and on the turf repeatedly. There is a gravel carpark if you wish to park away from your tent and make frequent trips. Secondly, frisbee and ball games are forbidden due to previous complaints from campers, which I felt was a shame for family campers. However, there is plenty for children to do because there is lots of space to run around and a little bit of the stream was diverted through the camp and gives them an area to splash about and play in.

This campsite is justifiably popular and books up pretty quickly in the high season, so I recommend booking ahead. They have a policy of always accepting backpackers even when fully booked. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: XFMGx 4 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely bank holiday weekend camping in Malham. The site was lovely and clean and not short of notices telling what you can and can't do! The amount of notices actually made us laugh. There was just me and my son (age 14) and the dog camping.

My son had a good time however was a bit disappointed that you weren't allowed ball games, frisbees etc. Also no 3G internet. Nightmare for a 14 year old boy, great for me! There were some wifi spots in the local village, thank heavens! The campsite owners were always knocking about and very helpful.

The site is situated at the bottom of the path to Malham cove which is very handy to go exploring. The village is also only 5 minute walk away. The village was very busy with a Malham Safari, local groups made a trail of statues and figures of different animals to find. The village had 2 pubs, both welcomed dogs which was great!

I would definitely recommend this site as it is in a perfect location, we didn't move the car all weekend as we could walk to the places we wanted to explore! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dw5110 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here having been disgusted at the facilities and lack of cleanliness at another local site. The owner willingly showed us the facilities before paying up and reassuringly the toilets and shower room were immaculate.

The pitches were easily accessible with the car, it being a quiet night anyway. Good access into Malham village and two excellent pubs a short walk away and very close to Malham Cove and other local attractions, we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LucyF75 1 review from this member

 We have just arrived home after two nights at this incredibly well kept campsite. In total we were 4 adults with 2 tents. The field is split into two, one side where you can park with your tent and the other where you have to leave your car in the car park (due to drainage issues on the field) - we arrived quite late on Friday evening so had to pitch up on this side and carry our tent etc from the car park. It's not a long walk though and no trouble. The site was advertising full when we arrived so I was glad that I'd booked but we did notice that they don't turn away hikers even when full. Even though the site was full the field wasn’t crowded. Quiet time is between 11. 00pm and 6. 00am – an alarm is probably not required as the resident ducks can be quite vocal in the mornings! The toilets and showers were cosy and very clean (you need to buy tokens from the owners for £1 which gives you 7 minutes of shower or 7 minutes of electricity) and the water was hot. We ate both nights in the Lister Arms (5 minutes walk into the village) as we were so impressed with the food and had a lovely walk to Malham Cove and Gordale Scar where we scrambled up the waterfall. We will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camp chaos 30 reviews from this member

 This was our first outing in our new van so apologies to the others on the site who were possibly woken by our alarm going off every time we moved during the night! Hopefully that's sorted now.

We stayed for one night at the end of the Easter holidays. We were warned in advance that the ground was too boggy to drive our van onto the field so they reserved us a space at the end of the (small) car park, next to the fence and field. This was fine as it was a very short stay and we were planning to eat in the pub but for anything longer it may have been a bit grim!

The site was lovely though and the rules weren't too bad - just obvious things that people should really be doing already, without being told. The toilets were clean and adequate, I didn't use the shower so can't comment on that and the field, particularly down by the river, looked good. I like sites where cars are parked away from tents.

I'd recommend the food in the Lister Arms although maybe not the bar service - it was very busy and there was a long, slow queue for a lot of the evening. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Campsite Malham Cove?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement