Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Butterflowers Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Millom > Butterflowers Holiday Park Reviews

Butterflowers Holiday Park
Port Haverigg
(lake District)
Millom
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA18 4GY
Tel: 01229 772880  or  07718 392654
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dancinglilly 2 reviews from this member

 This is one of my favourite sites, even though very close to home. The site itself contains toilet and shower block, indoor pool, washing up facilities, waste disposal and games room (never been in so couldn't comment on it) everything is clean and well maintained. Pitches are all even and all with ehu.
Just outside the camp there is a playground for both young and older children and its right on the beach. There is a shop, post-office, pub and a very nice chippy that is yummmmmmy but closes at 7.30ish. Just found out on last visit that they also fill up gas bottles or replace them. At £16.50 a night with ehu its a bargain, pay by the pitch. 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trucker47 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to Butterflowers, and we will certainly be going back.The site was spotless, toilet, showers and amenities block the same. The staff who dealt with us were very helpful and friendly. The site is adjacent to a lovely sandy beach and Hodbarrow lagoon and rspb site half a mile away. The walks on the beach and the dunes were great. In the village of Haverigg there is a Chip shop(recommended) Londis, Post office and a few pubs. The only drawback to the area was the dog mess left by a few idle owners. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: G.W.02 2 reviews from this member

 It was the first time we had been to Butterflowers, me & the O/H liked the place. There's plenty of walks all around to keep the walkers happy, although the rest of the family never bothered they went in the swimming pool every day. It was handy being indoors with the weather you did have to pay a couple of pounds though. There was a kids room with table tennis & a small pool table & a couple of arcade machines. There was everything just 15 mins walk down the road from the site even a post office which was still open at 7pm. A bigger town was about 3 miles away called Millom we walked there then got the bus back. The bus stop is only 15 mins from the site in Haverigg were the shops are. The site itself was fine nobody bothered if you had washing hanging out. I know some sites don't allow it. It did get very muddy were we were but it was the summer of rain. I thought the toilets were lovely especially the flowers even the mens had them in. We actually know all around Haverigg with the lovely walks we did & enjoyed our stay there ,hope to go back there one day . 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tenting8 1 review from this member

 Great site for families indoor pool, toilets ok, but near to tents so very good for us with a young family. Owners very helpful, would defintaley stay again if I was in the area.


Loads to do nearby, good beach, local shops and bar. Nearby many attractions including the south lakes zoo which was a brilliant zoo, we have safaried in Africa and normally don`t like zoos.

Safe, clean site. 


Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sahara 17 reviews from this member

 I read all the reviews on ukcs and had been to Butterflowers website so was really looking forward to going. We paid full price even though it was out of season, same price all year round.

The owners were friendly and very helpful. Lots of electric hookups and what would be a nice field in the summer. Cannot see the sea from the site and is surrounded on two sides by houses. The park is not on the site itself but over the road and next to the sea. I wouldn't let my kids go to the park on their own. The road next to the park is the one leading to a farm and to parking for people wanting to go to the sea. We didn't see the swimming pool so I cannot comment on that.

The walk along the beach and dunes was lovely but had to watch our step for all the dog mess.

The toilets were clean but had cctv at the entrance. The shower cubicles were small with only 2 hooks and no where else to put clothes. The showers were the push in type and only lasted a few seconds so had to keep my hand on it all the time as the water seemed to get hotter if I let it go off.

To be very honest I was disappointed overall and have thought long and hard about writing a review 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seven of nine 6 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at this camp for a marvellous 5 days, the camp is very clean and tidy, the staff wonderful, brilliant for kids and adults the local pubs and sports clubs are very cheap most with outside seating, the beach cafe very good value if you cant be bothered cooking only downside was the showers, I think they had a problem with the hot water so the showers only stayed on for about 20 seconds per push and the water just got hotter and hotter. Thank goodness for the pool. Very probable I will be returning soon I hope. 


Reviewer: tracyw 1 review from this member

 9th july 2004
this was our first ever trip out in our camper and we have to recommend this site! We met some wonderful regulars on the site who are there most weekends of the year, the staff were very helpful, the facilities were ample, they were very clean toilet and shower blocks, very nice with flowers too! there was a kitchen room available with sinks to wash up, an oven to cook on and a freezer to store your frozen stuff! a small games room with what looked like table tennis and some games machines, and a great swimming pool, with lovely clean changing room facilities. Right on the beach with a childrens play area accross from the entrance, lovely golden sands to play in too!
our kids loved it!
 


Reviewer: kar j 2 reviews from this member

 July and aug 2003
First went to butterflowers some 20 years ago. The pool used to be outside but has now been made into an indoor pool. Have been back for the last two years for 2 weeks at a time, the kids love it. Hoping to camp there for the 6 week holidays this year, (hubby stays Home, we only live an Hour away ).
All the facilities are exellent, They have a free cooker in the kitchen, if you need an oven. The site Can get a bit crowded in high season , But pitches are a good size. You get a lot of people returning year after year and everyone is willing to help others with any problems Staff are really helpful and if you stay longer than 2 weeks you get a great discount.
As for things to do in bad weather, travel up the coast a bit and take a ride on the L'al Ratty at Ravenglass, or visit Maryport aquarium, or even Sellerfield Visitors Centre. 


Reviewer: keith n marie 2 reviews from this member

 August 2003

This is a site that I first went to as a child 25 yrs ago with my parents and enjoyed many weekends and weeks there. Having not been there for some 20 years until a couple of years ago I was pleasantly suprised that little had changed. The site is still as clean and well run by friendly staff, the shower and toilet facilities are first class and the outdoor pool has been replaced with an indoor pool which does have an attendant there, younger children must be accompanied by an adult. There is water available close by and a refuse area. There is also a launderette and facilities to do the washing up.

The beach is a 5 min walk from the camping area and is ideal for long uninterupted walks. Haverigg town centre is only a 10-15 min walk away and little has changed there down the years.
If you like hussle and bussle then this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a place with great scenery, peace and quiet, somewhere to relax and a base to explore Cumbia, this is ideal.
The kids always found something to do and you can drive to the nearby sea wall and do a spot of sea fishing. You can find anything you want within a 30 min drive, from supermarkets to chinese takeaway.
We look forward to going back everytime we leave and have just booked our first visit of the year there for the may bank holiday.

All in all it's a great place to relax and unwind and we can't wait to go back.  


Reviewer: Peter Eccles 5 reviews from this member

 Many times over many years
I have not stayed at Butterflowers campsite but I know the area well. The campsite always looks clean & tidy. It is on the edge of sand dunes & only a few minutes walk from a lovely beach. The beach can be very wide especially at low tide. It goes on for miles & very few people on it. Not idea for swimming though.
An ideal place for walking & mountain biking. 5 minutes drive to a large area of water with water skiing & good for sailing, wind surfing. Close to the mountains.
Within five minutes walk to pubs & shops, also even closer to the Rugby Club which you can use as a private club for a drink for a small fee, very welcoming for campers there & not full of rugby players in the summer.
2 miles to the town of Millom with a Safeway’s Supermarket. Millom is like going back in time about 20 years, most of the shops shut Saturday afternoon but not the Supermarket. Haverigg often has its own micro climate & can often have really good weather while the rest of the North West is having bad weather but don't rely on it as Haverigg is a bit out on a limb and you can soon run out of things to do if are unlucky with the weather. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Butterflowers Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Butterflowers Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Butterflowers Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Butterflowers Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Millom      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5854 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement