Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Anchor Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stafford > The Anchor Inn Reviews

The Anchor Inn
Peggs Lane
Old Lea
High Offley
Stafford
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST20 0NG
Tel: 01785 284569
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S.Ball 15 reviews from this member

 This is a charming location for a quiet and peaceful weekend away. There are a couple of fields, one which seems primarily for caravans and the other which is a little less formal and is for caravans / campers / tents.

We stayed the bank holiday weekend, as there are no showers 3 nights really was as long as we could stay. There is one ladies toilet (remember to take your own loo roll) and one male toilet. There is a good assortment of recycling facilities and a cold water tap, there is a point for caravan toilet waste also.

We visited the inn, and sat in the beer garden where children and dogs are allowed (children not allowed in the inn itself) there was 1 beer, 1 cider and box wine to choose from to drink. The selection was minimal but the charm of the inn makes it all the more appealing.

Food is not available at the pub.

The campsite is right next to the canal and this means you can have lovely long walks in both directions, a 2 and a 1/2 mile walk takes you to 'norbury junction' where there is a pub with good food and plenty of choice of drinks.

We visited eccleshall where you can find plenty of pubs, supermarket, local shops, butchers, chip shop and kebab house- all 5-10 minute drive away.

All in all we would visit again for a quiet weekend away, we paid £56 for three nights, 2 adults and 2 children with out electric hookup 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ceidio 2 reviews from this member

 A real gem in a fantastic location, hidden away down narrow country lanes.

There are no showers or hot water. There are however, two toilets, though these are rather antiquated and do not boast loo roll.

We soon forgave the lack of facilities when we set foot in the delightful old-fashioned pub next door. Pity the pub doesn't serve food though as that would have been the icing on the cake.

With lovely walks along the towpath, this is an ideal little site for a quiet, relaxing and cheap weekend away. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 18 reviews from this member

 A true gem of a site set in an idyllic location.

Very basic facilities, so if youíre camping in a tent and are expecting hot water and showers, this isnít the site for you. If youíre looking for peace and quiet (except for the sounds of the wildlife), fantastic views, friendly folk and good beer then this is the place to go.

The toilet block isnít as horrific as previous reviews have mentioned Ė and Iím quite scared of creepy crawlies! Yes, there are swallows nesting in both the ladies and gents toilets but they arenít doing anyone any harm, nor do they make a mess. It just adds to the charm of this place.

Good beer and cider is served in the pub by Olive and her daughter Elaine. Locals from the boats on the canal seem to be the main customers who entertain with their instruments and sing folk songs in the evening.

Lovely location right by the canal and a gentle 2 mile walk to Norbury Junction where there is another pub which serves great food.

At only £4 per person per night we look forward to returning again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pj_skydog 8 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews we weren't sure what to expect. This is what we got - an idyllic location by the canal, where many narrow boats were moored up.

It's in the middle of nowhere. There are two fields, one is a CL (Certified Location) and the other isn't. We parked up in the non CL site which meant we had to share with tents, which is not in itself a problem except that the campers were noisy.

The pub is gloriously old fashioned - it doesn't look as if it's ever been updated, at all. The cider was good. Opening times are a bit sketchy, so check if you are going there for the pub amenities.

The loos are clean but in an old (as in original Victorian) outhouse, complete with house martin nests, which I found charming, but others might not. There are no showers or hot water - we used our trusty camp shower.

The lanes are very narrow - our caravan is tiny, so we were OK, but bigger units might struggle. My advice is don't go if you expect lots of mod cons. However, if like us, you enjoy the experience of stepping back into the past, you'll love it. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Freya9 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on the Thursday before Good Friday and were disappointed to find the pub was not open until the following evening. They had not told us this when we phoned to book.

It was a wet cold evening so we were at a loose end. We walked to the Cock Inn, Woodseaves (took over an hour!) who offered a very warm, friendly welcome to 4 wet campers and 3 dogs - they even found a taxi firm that would take us all back to the campsite.

The toilet block was very basic - more of a shed than anything, no loo roll, no hot water - in serious need of updating. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thegoose 1 review from this member

 We arrived on the Monday no one to greet us so we set up on the CL site. At the night time we went into the pub well it was lovely the only alterations inside the pub was to have modern pumps fitted, high backed pews to sit on, roaring log fire. Olive was behind the bar (lovely lady) serving. The boat owners made us welcome & chatted away with us. We have a shower/toilet in the van so we didn't mind using them, on the week end nights general sing along with the lads, excellent ale's/lager. Canal fishing tickets from the pub & a beautiful garden maintained by Olive's daughter Elaine, we had a great time & will definitely be back we can recommend this site to anyone it certainly ticked our boxes. The only downfall is the price per night £12,but hay ho we were on holiday & we have been to a lot worse. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping mummy 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from spending one night at the site.

The actual site itself is in a lovely peaceful position - however its facilities and welcome ( or lack thereof) by the owner left a lot to be desired.

Despite ringing up twice, the lady hadn't made a note of our booking though they were empty when we arrived so there were no problems caused by this.

Firstly there were no directions as to where you went once you arrived, to book in. Then, we were just told to go 'anywhere on the left'. The field at this point was empty save for two stored caravans in the corner.

We had our tent up and pegged out when the old lady came out and told us we were in the wrong place ( I harp back to the lack of assistance/welcome she gave us when we first arrived save for taking our money and telling us to go to the left). She actually made us remove the pegs and cart our tent all the way across the field on the off chance that she may be overun with caravans that night!.

The ladies toilet block had one sink which did not have hot water, and two toilets. There were no shower facilities, nor was it possible to have a strip wash as there was no door to the toilet block and therefore not at all private. I gather that the mens was the same.

We didn't bother going into the pub - though we did wonder why they didn't make more of their site by offering food.

We had lovely weather and that certainly helped but I doubt that we would go back there again and I don't really think that I would recommend it.

The cost, by the way, was £8 which at the time we thought was cheap - we now know why!

We also found the directions to the site very difficult to follow when actually it's quite easy to get to - but once you leave Woodseaves, a few signs wouldn't go amiss. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave+Dee 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this canalside pubsite from 12th to 19th of July in what can only be described as mixed weather. Having negotiated the narrow lanes (car+caravan=42ft) without problem we were delighted to see that we had the pick of the pitches on the lawned cl or the choice of hardstandings on the lower field. We chose the top field (the cl), which by the weekend was full (5 units only), while the lower field was also full.

The hookup is 16 amps and the toilets are shared with the pub and the barges.Yes, the loos could do with a lick of whitewash but they are adequate and in keeping with the originality of the pub.

When we booked over the phone we were told that the old nightly rate had gone into the CC book by mistake and that it would be £12/night all in.After saying that I thought it was a bit steep, we settled on £10.50. It pays to haggle!

The beer in the pub is gorgeous and the company is good.

It didn't get the 2008 Caravan Club Pub CL of the Year Award for nothing! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gordonanddawn 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for 4 days from Wednesday to Sunday.

It was difficult to find being down narrow lanes, on arrival we had to wait for the owners to return and were shown onto the larger rear field, we choose the bottom end which was extra wet due to the heavy rain and thunder we were having.

We visited Newport, about 5 miles away and Telford about 13 miles, and Norbury Junction,an interesting place for canal enthusiasts with a pub, teashop and loads of boats.

The site has no showers and the toilets are shared with the pub.

The site filled up on Friday night with tents, caravans and motorhomes and appears very popular,we visited the Anchor pub on Saturday night, it filled mainly with boaters and locals who brought instruments and made it an enjoyable evening.

This is unusual site, well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stanamara 2 reviews from this member

 I visited this Site last year along with a group of friends. The site is located alongside the canal making it ideal for gentle strolls along the towpath. The site facilities are basic, but the essentials are there. The charm and character of the Inn itself must be seen to be able to appreciate the uniqueness of this traditional Inn which has only been updated by the very necessity of modern day living.

It is a family run Site and the owners are extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We spent a couple of evenings in the Inn and were thrilled to be entertained by local celebrities. The ambience given out was second to none. I have just made another reservation on this site for late July of this year. That for me goes to show just how much I treasure this Site as I make a policy of not visiting the same Site twice. Really looking forward to my stay here in July.  


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Anchor Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Anchor Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Anchor Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stafford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1501 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December