Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Roadway Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Little Roadway Farm > Reviews

Little Roadway Farm
Georgeham Rd
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7HL
Tel: 01271 870313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisfest 1 review from this member

 Good;

The location regards to getting about.

The size of the pitch is large and has little wooden stakes so you know how much you have.

Price

Decent shop

Bad;

The toilet and shower block could do with updating as looking very tired.

The shower block is closed from 11-1 for cleaning.

On the top of a hill so open to the elements (like sleeping in a wind tunnel) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Honolulu 1 review from this member

 I spent the August bank holiday here with my two little boys and we had a great time. I think it's a lovely place and the play area in the middle of the green field is fantastic.

I only bought a drink in the little shop but it seemed well stocked and the takeaway service was popular.

The showers and toilets are adequate. Trying to wash the 3 of us in one shower which kept going off every 10 seconds or so, with my boys screaming because it was cold and because they were covered in soap which I couldn't get off quick enough because the water kept stopping wasn't good, but those were my circumstances.

The washing up area is adequate. I had to queue which is to be expected as it was a busy bank holiday weekend. There is also a laundry room and a fridge/freezer which was handy. Some other campers were friendly and the owners were helpful when I asked a couple of questions.

With regards to it being a stones throw from the beach, for me without a car and two children it wasn't a convenient location but again those were my circumstances. No problem in a car. I was told by one of the staff in the shop that there was a right and left hand path down to the beach. I found the right hand path but couldn't find a left. We had a lovely winding walk down the right hand path through fields and over stiles and it brought us out onto the pavement less steep hill which takes you up to the site. Going down the hill you eventually get to a pavement. We also walked down the hill from the site into Woolacombe one day which is fine as long as you tuck in as vehicles go by, but some come up pretty fast and when there is traffic coming in both directions it can all get a bit hairy with the smalls. There was another family coming down behind us and somebody running and cycling up as well. It's doable but not especially safe. You do get to a pavement eventually. I would have walked back up no problem but after a whole day on the beach I would have met with resistance from my boys! However, we got a lift back up and there is a taxi service if required. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Easeys 1 review from this member

 I felt compelled to write a review after a brilliant week at Little Roadway Farm last week.

We have visited the site 3 times now and have never been disappointed by the site or the fantastic staff - we will be back again next year too.

The site is relaxed enough to make you feel 'at home' but with enough rules to make your stay pleasant and make sure you are able to get to sleep at night!

On site shop with takeaway food available for breakfast and in the evening, they even do Gluten free chips!

Fridge freezer available for all to use at no extra cost. Laundrette facilities also available and wet suit washing area.

Washing up area does what is needed, 4 sinks with draining areas.

Play area is brilliant for the kids, even the older ones seem to enjoy it.

Toilet/shower blocks are cleaned in the middle of the day to a good standard, it would be impossible to keep a busy site spotless, especially when it's wet!

There is a toilet block and a shower block which also has toilets. Separate disabled / baby washing facilities. Showers are free and are always hot, there is also a mop and squeegee provided to 'freshen up' the shower area once you have finished, leaving it nice for the next user. Not something I've seen anywhere else we've stayed. At the end of the day, it's a campsite, not a maid service. People using the facilities should be capable of leaving toilets etc clean when they have used them!

Staff are very helpful and approachable, they have also apologised for some of the 'cosmetics' not being finished following the massive storm damage the site had at the start of the year. All facilities are fully useable while the repair work is ongoing.

All in all, a great campsite in a great location at a great price. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ginge91 2 reviews from this member

 Very very disappointed, we'd read all the reviews we were expecting good things, the only two male and female shower areas on the site are shut promptly at 11 o'clock for 'cleaning' and supposedly opened at 1 o'clock after they have been cleaned yet at half 1 when they are finally reopened they are disgusting. The other toilet block is half built, the flower beds are overgrown and reception car park is a builders yard. For the money there are much better locally. Avoid 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sadkate 9 reviews from this member

 This is a nice family site with a good wee shop and a nice location up on the hill outside Woolacombe. Good value too.

Five minute drive down a scary road into Wooly or you can do the lovely walk over the cliffs (can be done with an all terrain buggy). Taxi back was about a fiver. You can't see the sea from up here but it's still a lovely location. The sky is massive, if you know what I mean. It's a lovely big field to fly kites in but not particularly windy on ground level.

The staff were lovely and there was a good supply of groceries and takeaway food in the shop, which is open at sensible times in the morning and evening. The shower and loo area could do with a bit of work - the ladies showers were often an inch deep in water - but were clean and did the job. There is a good baby room where you can change nappies or bath babies and young children in a big sink. Great big children's climbing frame in the top field too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosiew-fnr 4 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a Bank Holiday weekend stay here and in the whole it is a lovely site. The views are lovely and the site is very clean and tidy.

I booked the stay on the internet and paid the deposit on paypal, but then did not hear anything from the campsite until I phoned them to check my booking was still ok. It was and I was able to pay on arrival for the balance of the stay.

We were a mixed group of 7 (and a dog) all in our late twenties early thirties, we told the owner on booking that this would be the case and there was no problem in spite of the no groups rule. The site was very quiet even though it was full.

The site was full while we were there and this created some problems. There are very few toilets, showers and washing up facilities. Every time I wanted to use any of the above I had to queue. The showers were luke warm at best and as mentioned by others there was a puddle of water to stand in which wasn't very nice. There had also been problems with children leaving a mess in the games room over the weekend and I heard the owner saying that they are going to close it for good.

The campsite shop stocks the essentials and the take away is very good and reasonably priced.

We choose this site because it is close to Woolacombe beach which is good for surfing and body boarding. It is a 20 minute walk from the campsite, although it is a very steep hill, but the views are worth it.

We would visit again, although would appreciate more showers with warm water. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Emyloo 1 review from this member

 What a lovely campsite this is! Situated above woolacombe beach with lovely walks and views only a stones throw away. The views of the beach from the lane heading down to woolacombe are outstanding. A nice walk down but a bit of a stomp back up!

The site has a relaxed feel with spacious pitches. The shop on site is great, although quite small it stocked all the essentials we required without having to shop in the (1) local supermarket in woolacombe itself (which we felt was over priced)

Pleasantly surprised by the varied takeaway menu, we didn't sample anything but others in our party did and were very complimentary.

Yes the toilets are a bit tired but cleaned thoroughly daily and perfectly adequate, don't let this issue prevent you from visiting Little Roadway Farm.

We shall definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jdadams 3 reviews from this member

 Have visited woolacombe many times but due to the busy summer holidays I was unable to stay at my preferred site so carried on up the road to this one. Was a little disappointed to be honest. It was a very basic site and although not very busy we weren't offered a choice of pitch. The toilet facilities were again very basic and just about clean enough. For the same price per person that I usually pay to stay elsewhere with a good deal more and better maintained facilities, I wouldn't return here. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sambob 4 reviews from this member

 As the name suggests it is located on a little road, which in some places is very narrow so if you have any problems reversing your car and caravan you will have a problem.

However the site is beautiful with lovely views across the country side.

The shop is fairly well stocked and to my surprise the breakfast in a box was very good as was the other food on offer at reasonable prices.

The actual pitches are well spaced and it is ideal for families with small children as the park is sited centrally in the top field so you can keep an eye on them.

It is a good place to stay for days out to ilfracombe, woolacombe, lynton and lynmouth and a whole lot of other places nearby.

The only downsides we could find were

The fire bell is in reach of small children and can get annoying sometimes.

And the field did start to get very muddy by the time we left, it wouldn't take much to put in a gravel road to access the pitches as at other sites, but saying that a lot of the problems were caused by other campers needlessly driving to the toilets and showers? which are only a short walk away! and at times can get messy, but this in no way affected our holiday.

We will hopefully be going back again as the site is as I said beautiful.

One word of warning! saunton beach is amazing but unfortunately has been taken over by nudists, which is a shame if you have children. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purple princess 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite is in a fairly good location. We chose it as it was a short drive to Woolacombe beach and ideal for bodyboarding etc. The site also has a wetsuit wash (a shower on an outside wall) which is handy.

The site is quiet and we had no trouble with late night noise. The fields do seem to be very exposed and the pitches have no dividers or hedges.

I don't know whether we were just unlucky the week we stayed but we did have a problem with high, gusty winds and needed extra guy lines and longer pegs to keep our tent in place. It was impossible to keep a gazebo up and had to take it down after a day. I agree with another reviewer in that the weather was always different at the site ie windier and colder than other locations close by. I assume this because of it's exposure on the top of a hill.

The shop is ok and stocks essentials and the takeaway is good. The site owners were always friendly and helpful. We went on a bit of a hunt to find the animals as there are no signs up anywhere. We eventually found them at the end of a long track between the yellow and blue fields and are worth a visit if you have children.

The play area looked good and is in a good location in the middle of the green field.

There are two toilet blocks, one of which has toilets only and the other that has showers and toilets. The one with toilets only had very limited facilities ie no hot water, no hand drying facilities and had no soap for most of the time. The other block did have a hand dryer and a plug for hairdrying etc but again, often had no soap. There are 5 showers in the ladies and 3 in the mens. The ladies showers had very poor drainage and dirty water from adjacent showers came flooding in when in use. I would recommend wearing plastic flip flops with a substantial heel to avoid having other peoples dirty water washing over your feet!

The actual cubicles only have a couple of hooks on the door so make sure you take all your clothes and toiletries in a bag so you can hang them up as there is nowhere else to put them. Getting your clean clothes on without getting them wet is quite a feat unless you want to streak out to the one bench outside the cubicles. A plus point is that there was always hot water and we never had to queue. The floors were always dirty but we did have quite a lot of rain. The washing up facilities were adequate and there was always hot water here. There are some good places to eat nearby.

The Kings Arms in Georgeham was great and we had a lovely meal here one evening. The Fortescue Arms in Woolacombe had a good carvery and the food was good quality - a lot better than some carveries we'd been to.

The best place we visited in Woolacombe was The Captains Table. This cafe is a little gem. The food is reasonably priced, fresh, good quality and the service is excellent. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Little Roadway Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Roadway Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Roadway Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement